Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Great place for foodies/couples.

Posted Mar 28, 2015
The resort is quite large yet never feels "crowded." I was there to eat, drink, and relax. The food was the best that I have ever had at an all-inclusive resort. A wide variety of cuisines...quality ingredients and nice presentation. Good quality spirits and wines. Great pools, spa, and a lot of options for younger honeymooners as well as couples celebrating anniversaries. Great hospitality and value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: The Grounds and Staff
Cons: Drinks and quantity of food.
Location: Great locate.
Grounds were A+, Staff was A+, Where it lacked, pretty sizable, was the drinks they served. The Grey Goose was tremendously watered down. I ordered a double martini and, to show my wife what i was talking about, I finished it in 2 gulps and it didn't even burn. Any other time I'd almost yak. The quantities of food weren't up to par, but you could always order more. Marg's were all sugar too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Great resort for Couples

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Staff and accommodations.
Cons: Beach needs improvements and more meal options that aren't "Gourmet Style".
Location: Close to all outside tours and activities.
Top notch resort. Definitely recommend the Casitas side. They are beautiful. The staff does everything possible to serve you and always has a smile and answers "My Pleasure". The beach huts made the beach more pleasing but it was a little hard to look past the rocks and the large sand bags in the ocean they placed for erosion control. The food is good but you have to get used to the "Gourmet Style" meals. They are Chef prepared and small portioned. We got around this by ordering more than one entrée. I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone wanting a great "Couples" getaway. My Wife and I went there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary and they made it really special. We had a couples massage, candle light dinner on the beach and beautiful arrangements left on our bed every night as part of the turn down service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lauren

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary

we had really good time our vacation~~~

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: service location room rate.
Cons: n/a
Location: n/a
we had really good time. food activity all room service was so good. we want to back again on near future for sure~!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Amazing

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Just a wonderful experience from beginning to end. The staff is friendly, warm and very accommodating. The grounds are beautiful. The food (and drink) are top notch in both choices and quality. My only complaint is that time seems to move way too fast while you're there. Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

El Dorado Casitas

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Food, pool bars, room all fantastic.
Cons: The resort is a little too big for my liking. Golf cart rides to dinner 3 of 5 nights. Beach is under repair. Usable but not great. View impaired.
Location: Lots to do but did not partake this time. Chose an all inclusive just to relax.
Over the top opulence. More than expected. Food was amazing. Pool and swim up bar was great. Beach was not great (under construction). View was partially blocked by palm trees even in our second floor unit. Resort was a bit large for my taste. Had to take a shuttle back and forth to restaurants, lobby and entertainment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Beckie from Wentzville, MO

Unbelievable!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Service was excellent! The Casitas Suites is the way to go. You can also get your own butler service! Food was unbelievable in EVERY Restaurant!
Cons: Honestly the only thing I can think of is instead of having an infinity pool on our deck, to have a hot tub. I think I would have used it more.
Location: Never left the resort, didn't feel the need to!
Absolutely worth the every penny! Loved it! Stayed 4/9/14 - 4/13/14, was not long enough. My husband and I are 38-45 yrs old and have been to many wonderful all-inclusive resorts in Mexico, Jamaica, and the Bahamas but the El Dorado Royale Casitas Suites was by far the best and we will certainly go back! We had the best food you could ever get at an All-Inclusive Resort. Every night we went to a different restaurant and received nothing but the best service and cuisine. We stayed in 2nd level due to it having an infinity pool....Yes, a pool of your own right outside your door! Not all of the buildings have infinity pools on the 2nd floor, the 2 furthest North buildings do. I'm not sure if I am supposed to say this or not, but we got lucky, for once really lucky! Reason is, we booked with Expedia on 2/17/14 and somehow we got the best section for what we found out was a crazy good price. I'm not sure if I'm able to say how much but the other guests in our section were all "members only" and they couldn't believe it was booked through Expedia. No one else in the resort was able to use our amenities like the swim up pool bar. butler service, and beach access so that made it less crowded and great service. Our room was by far the best I have ever stayed. Very spacious, great view, and very CLEAN! Did I tell you about the outdoor shower? I can go on and on, trust me, it's worth every penny!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tim from Tulsa, OK

Luxury vacation to escape work.

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: We liked everything about the hotel, food, room, pool, service, beach and even other people. This was our second visit to this hotel and we loved it.
Location: Shopping at Playa del Carmen is always fun. We really just enjoyed being at the resort and relaxing.
This trip was everything I expected it to be. Excellent resort with great food, great beaches, great pools, great bars and great service. This is a beautiful resort with everything necessary to have a completely relaxing and enjoyable vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Annual trip

Posted Mar 20, 2014
We visit each March and truly fall back in love each year with this property! I have reviewed this property multiple times and am always impressed that each time we return something is better than it was the year before! See you next spring el dorado!