Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

THEY DONT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Treated with the most disrespect I have ever had at the resort. I went to the managers with problems and nothing was resolved. I called twice about the problems and they said the manger would call back, he never did. I will never go back to Karisma resorts again because of the staff they hired!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning

Posted Jul 2, 2014
What an incredible place! I have traveled all over the world and never been anywhere that remotely compares to El Dorado Royale. I was planning our next trip before we ever came home. Incredible service. Beautiful resort. Loved being treated like royalty.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Beautiful Hotel, Friendly Staff

Posted Jun 27, 2014
The hotel grounds were absolutely beautiful!! It is large though. I've read that some people did not like that, but for my boyfriend and I it was just fine. We usually took a nice stroll along the resort after dinner, but if that isn't your thing there are plenty of golf cart trolleys that pick you up and take you wherever you'd like to go. The food was good. Presentation of the food was gorgeous however it was slightly lacking in flavor... now take this with a bit of salt because we are foodies. BUT, I would still classify their offerings as above your average all inclusive. There are bars everywhere and if you don't feel like leaving the beach, they have servers that come around and bring you drinks. The staff was always curtious and hospitable-- very willing to do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. As for excursions, we booked a tour to chechin itza (mayan ruins) and a snorkeling trip in puerto morelos. Both are a must!
3 out of 5
by Todd from oklahoma

the beach sucked

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: room service.
Cons: price. price. price.
Location: not impressed.
everyone was nice and the place was beautiful, the beach sucked and it was way, way over priced. i would never recommend this at the rates I paid.period.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Pittsburgh

Impeccable!!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
This was our first trip to Mexico and we were a little unsure if we picked the right spot for our honeymoon......it was PERFECT!! Adults only, all inclusive, 5 star accommodations and food.....we've decided that we're going back!! LOVED IT!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Charina from Texas

Wonderful!

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Very quiet and relaxing place. Perfect for couples!
Cons: Need good coffee! We like a good coffee in the morning. We can overlook the coffee issue because this place is definitely worth going back to.
Location: Location is wonderful. Don't really need to go anywhere else.
The staff was absolutely amazing! The resort was beautiful, clean and very well kept. The attention to detail to keep everything in order was outstanding. Food was great! My favorite place to eat was Jojo's. They had the best staff and the venue is very relaxing and the water view was breathtaking. We are definitely coming back! It will be very hard to go anywhere else after the experience we had in this dreamy resort. Me and my fiance are very well travelled and vacationed in many places. El Dorado made the top of our list!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Resort!

Posted May 31, 2014
Food was amazing and many of the vegetables came from the greenhouse on the resort which made the food fresh and safe to eat! Many spots to relax. Massage on the beach was amazing! Nightly entertainment was great!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just got back.....

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Grounds were very well kept. Staff was very friendly. Always a "olah".
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Close to the airport and other attractions.
Great hotel. Staff was very friendly. The room was great. Food was good. When we got there we made reservations for the Santa Fe and La Fuentes. The dress code was very casual. I brought a pair of nice pants for dinner but didn't even need them. They don't turn people away unless you are really dressed like a slob. Just some tips for people going to Mexico for the first time. When going through the airport, just before you get outside to find your transportation, they will try to pull you to the side and have you talk to a person pushing a time share. Just say "no thanks" because it's waste of time. ALSO they have you talk to a "Best Day Travel" person at the hotel to set up tours. If you sign up for one you get a free trip to Playa Del Carmen. That is the shopping district. DON"T GO. First they make you stop at a jewelry store for almost 2 hours before they take you to Del Carmen. Try to take a tour through another provider. Plus Del Carmen is nothing but VERY pushy shop owners selling made in China junk. If I had to do it all over again, I would have just stayed at the hotel the entire time and relaxed. There is plenty to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Hotel was awesome

Posted May 30, 2014
Hotel was the best all inclusive I have been to. Service was great, rooms were very comfortable, and there were lots of choices with regards to restaurants. Not a lot off buffets as everthing was freshly made.
2 out of 5
by Dean from Chicago Illinois

Not what we are use to...

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: The food.
Cons: The rooms and the nightly entertainment and put some theme nights for everyone to enjoy...
Location: Go to Playa del Carmen in the evening...there are sooo many stores.
We rely heavily on reviews when booking vacations and the reviews are usually dead on. Needless to say, this time they were wrong. While the food was really good it is not the only thing that you wish to take advantage of when on vacation. We were HIGHLY disappointed with the room. Granted maybe it's because we have been spoiled with swim out suites and would never go back to a regular room again. We upgraded to the Casitas side and this was a whole different story. If i was rating the Casitas side i would give it a solid 4.5 out of 5 with the exception of the nightly shows, those were COMPLETELY a waste of time. The other hotels we have stayed at have a "formal" theater and the shows are pretty good and great costumes This was more like amateur nights in high school with just fold up chairs and very few loungers.. (keep in mind that upgrading to Casitas side is expensive...you might as well book your stay to that side from the beginning of your reservations if you are thinking of trying this hotel out)