Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Great place to stay, walking distance to everything.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

smelly little hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: The staff was helpful...that is all.
Cons: See my comments...clean the pool, charge less for the one bedrooms, get rid of the sewage smell and get rid of the boats blocking the view
Location: There were good restaurants nearby
First, the room is like a box with no view at all. The small pool was dirty every day and was used by packs of kids from 9AM to 10PM. There is a smell of sewage in the air. The beach is extremely small with not enough seating for guests. The view of the ocean from the beach is blocked by numerous small boats which service the fishing and other activities. Overall it was overpriced and not worth half of what was charged. I would not recommend it to anyone let alone a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel adorável !

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Decoração hindu muito charmosa e de bom gosto, aptos novos c/ toda infraestrutura de cozinha c/ utensílios, sala de estar espaçosa, equipe mto gentil
Cons: Na opção do restaurane Imprevist não há buffet, então o café da manhã é limitado.
Location: Localização perfeita, embora próx.da 5a. avenida é silencioso, mtas opções de restaurantes, malls e divertimento noturno indo a pé, área mto agradável
Equipe prestativa, infraestrutura perfeita, boa internet free nos aptos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Adrienne from Birmingham, MI

Great location, great service but a few cons

Posted Apr 12, 2015 on Hotels
El Taj is in a fantastic area- in the middle of all of the restaurants and shopping. It is quite loud at night (near the clubs and bars) but when you close your door, you don't hear much. The service is incredible and people are very detailed oriented and friendly. The only cons- first, they have boats anchored in front of the hotel/chairs that are a bit of an eye sore. I want to be looking at the beautiful sea, not a bunch of ugly old fishing boats. And more importantly, BE CAREFUL ABOUT THE CANCELLATION policy. I contacted Hotels.com and El Taj directly 2 weeks before my arrival because I accidently booked an extra day (originally I was planning on staying in Playa Del Carmen until Sunday and we decided to change the stay to depart on Saturday instead). The hotel said they would see if they could sell the room but I find it very hard to believe that in a two week time during the prime time spring break time in a great hotel, they were not able to sell the room. I was forced to pay for the final night that I did not stay in the hotel- even given 2 weeks notice. This left a very bad taste.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Patrick from Highland Park, Il

Patrick's El Taj Review

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
Great location in the heart of Playa Del Carmen. Walk to restaurants, night clubs, shopping, spa, and gym. Service at Indigo Beach Club was top notch. Breakfast at Imprevist was outstanding. Would definetly stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Can't swim in the ocean because boats are docked right in front of hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Convenient Beachfront

Posted Mar 29, 2015
The restaurant Indigo is not so great, but The Taj is convenient, offering various local discounts and was great for the kids, too. Music at night from the parties is a bit much some nights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Great hotel and amazing staff!! The waitstaff was great and we will def be back in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and on the Beach

Posted Mar 21, 2015
Next to 5th street and on the Beach, great location on Playa, huge 2 bedrooms payments whit 2 bath , perfect for families, and if you like bars and discos, all in the area. Breakfast complimentary and gorgeous. This is great for condo hotel holidays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Great experience! Clean hotel, right on the beach and very close walk to Quinta avenida.