Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Not as expected.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: The front line staff was fantastic and truly the best asset this property has to offer. The pool area is also beautiful - intimate and well designed.
Cons: Better locking mechanisms on doors. Better hot water system. Update website to better reflect rooms.
Location: The location is great for restaurants and bars. A bit noisy but worth it if you are interested in the nightlife.
I booked this hotel based on descriptions from both Expedia and the hotel website. I chose a "penthouse" for what I hoped would be a luxury experience. Unfortunately what is actually offered really isn't a "penthouse." Rather, it is a nice enough condo with no balcony or attached terrace. Rather, you must leave your condo, go up a flight of stairs to the roof to access the hot tube and terrace. It is not all convenient - a rather awkward set-up for something being billed as a penthouse and presented as high end. Had I known this I would have skipped the "penthouse" and taken a lower level condo on the beach/ocean side of the complex.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Beautiful condo, great experience

Posted Feb 9, 2015
El Taj was a wonderful place to stay! Great location within walking distance to everything and right on the beach. Staff was helpful. Beautiful (slightly small) bathroom, comfortable bed. Outside noise was not a problem for us, partly thanks to the thoughtful sound machine in our bedroom. One complaint- our unit was billed as partial ocean view, but this was not at all the case.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Keep Coming Back

Posted Dec 15, 2014
This was my third stay at El Taj and each time I love it just as much as the last. The staff are incredibly nice and helpful with recommendations for eating around town and always there to help with anything. I can't wait to come back, sit at the beach club and have a few drinks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Peterfrom Malmö

Bästa servicen.

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ett bra, välskött hotell, bra frukost och soft musik vid strandkanten och superb personal. Även att vi dricksade dåligt första dagarna så hade vi den bästa tänkbara servicen från alla, när sedan dricksen ökade blev servicen än bättre! Rekommenderas varmt !
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JPfrom Tamaulipas

Perfect

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was all perfect... no complains at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The best in playa del carmen

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great place..... Very clean, excellent service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom austin tx

Noice outside

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Cons: I ll go again
Location: all the stores and restaurants
Everthing was great, love that 5th street is around the corner, food is nice, the only problem is that there is a disco that is next block and is hard to sleep and rest at night because of the noise and it ends at 6 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ft. Worth, TX

A week in paradise!

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Loved the lush, tropical, Asian influenced grounds. Awesome pool with, glass infinity wall. Private hot tub and roof top terrace.
Cons: The roof top terrace was great for relaxing, but it could use some TLC. It looked a bit weathered.
Location: You could spend all your time in the condo, but you are right in the middle of the city, with lots to do within walking distance. & Snorkel a Cenote!
Such a unique experience in Playa. Felt as though we owned half of the hotel, and only saw a few guests in passing. Probably due to when we traveled, but I can imagine even when the resort is completely booked, it still has a secluded feel. Definitely spring for the Penthouse or larger condos with a roof top terrace. We hung out their often. Lounging on the couches, spending time in the private hot tub and grilling out, was awesome. We weren't on the beach, but had a nice view of the ocean from condo 312. I'm not sure why other reviewers complained about the breakfast. We thought it was awesome and there were lots of options, at two different locations. Also it wasn't a boring buffet. You choose from a large menu, which is uncommon for a complementary breakfast. You can use your free "breakfast cards" from 8am-2pm. So no more worrying about missing breakfast. Only complaint was the weak, strange coffee. You will want to bring your own roast from home and make it in your room. The beach was not very nice while we were there, due to sea weed. That's not entirely the hotels fault, though it does seem as though they could do something more to keep it clean. The beach lounger and large bed options were awesome and included at not additional charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Janfrom Atlanta, GA

Great Location + staff as friendly as close family

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hated leaving, discussed returning as we drove away. This hotel is in the best location, not cheesy, not all inclusive, but can come with free breakfast (available at 2 nice restaurants), and they give you discounts to the nicer restaurants in town. Secured parking - free. Nicest gym in town - free. Fun party area 1 block away, yet it is not noisy at night. Great restaurants within blocks...the location can be better. The building is 5 years old and impressively beautiful. The staff is super nice and treats you like friends. The give you advice (like don't use the street ATMs) and explain everything in detail. The rooms are clean and spacious with full kitchens
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Curitiba, Brazil

Amazing!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location and room size and comfort.
Location: Don´t miss "Imprevist", best restaurant in Playa.
The Hotel is located on the beach, but also really close to "quinta avenida", where all the best restaurants and shops are located. Room is huge and extremely comfortable, pool area is quite and very well kept..