Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Keep Coming Back

Posted Dec 15, 2014
This was my third stay at El Taj and each time I love it just as much as the last. The staff are incredibly nice and helpful with recommendations for eating around town and always there to help with anything. I can't wait to come back, sit at the beach club and have a few drinks.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom austin tx

Noice outside

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Cons: I ll go again
Location: all the stores and restaurants
Everthing was great, love that 5th street is around the corner, food is nice, the only problem is that there is a disco that is next block and is hard to sleep and rest at night because of the noise and it ends at 6 am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ft. Worth, TX

A week in paradise!

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Loved the lush, tropical, Asian influenced grounds. Awesome pool with, glass infinity wall. Private hot tub and roof top terrace.
Cons: The roof top terrace was great for relaxing, but it could use some TLC. It looked a bit weathered.
Location: You could spend all your time in the condo, but you are right in the middle of the city, with lots to do within walking distance. & Snorkel a Cenote!
Such a unique experience in Playa. Felt as though we owned half of the hotel, and only saw a few guests in passing. Probably due to when we traveled, but I can imagine even when the resort is completely booked, it still has a secluded feel. Definitely spring for the Penthouse or larger condos with a roof top terrace. We hung out their often. Lounging on the couches, spending time in the private hot tub and grilling out, was awesome. We weren't on the beach, but had a nice view of the ocean from condo 312. I'm not sure why other reviewers complained about the breakfast. We thought it was awesome and there were lots of options, at two different locations. Also it wasn't a boring buffet. You choose from a large menu, which is uncommon for a complementary breakfast. You can use your free "breakfast cards" from 8am-2pm. So no more worrying about missing breakfast. Only complaint was the weak, strange coffee. You will want to bring your own roast from home and make it in your room. The beach was not very nice while we were there, due to sea weed. That's not entirely the hotels fault, though it does seem as though they could do something more to keep it clean. The beach lounger and large bed options were awesome and included at not additional charge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Janfrom Atlanta, GA

Great Location + staff as friendly as close family

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hated leaving, discussed returning as we drove away. This hotel is in the best location, not cheesy, not all inclusive, but can come with free breakfast (available at 2 nice restaurants), and they give you discounts to the nicer restaurants in town. Secured parking - free. Nicest gym in town - free. Fun party area 1 block away, yet it is not noisy at night. Great restaurants within blocks...the location can be better. The building is 5 years old and impressively beautiful. The staff is super nice and treats you like friends. The give you advice (like don't use the street ATMs) and explain everything in detail. The rooms are clean and spacious with full kitchens
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Curitiba, Brazil

Amazing!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location and room size and comfort.
Location: Don´t miss "Imprevist", best restaurant in Playa.
The Hotel is located on the beach, but also really close to "quinta avenida", where all the best restaurants and shops are located. Room is huge and extremely comfortable, pool area is quite and very well kept..
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nivaldofrom São José dos Campos

Acomodação excelente

Posted Aug 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
O hotel é muito bom, acima da expectativa. O café da manhã em ambas as opções oferecido I(indico e imprevist) é acima do esperado, estão de parabéns. A localização do hotel próximo a 5.avenida é muito importante.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio

Our family loved El Taj

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The room and the staff were wonderful!
Cons: The boats on the beach prevented us from swimming in front of the hotel.
Location: We went to Tulum and Xel-ha and enjoyed it very much.
We stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse. We loved the room. The staff was very friendly and attentive. There are boats on the beach in front of the hotel as the only downside, but we still enjoyed the beach club very much. We could also use the beach club down the beach which was associated with the hotel and there were not boats at that location. The snorkeling was good. The breakfast was wonderful and included with our room. We would love to come back and stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Distrito Federal

Super ubicación, las suites son amplias y comodas.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Impecable el servicio, hotel en excelentes condiciones, suites cómodas y bien diseñadas. El jacuzzi muy agusto. Los restuarntes afiliados muy buenos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Cons: Too many "cards". Card to charge to the room, cards to have breakfast, cards for beach towels, cards for discounts.
Nice condo type hotel. Not too many rooms which is nice. The rooms were very clean and the hotel staff very friendly. The staff that works the beach were WONDERFUL!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The penthouses are great! Great stay