Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Cons: Too many "cards". Card to charge to the room, cards to have breakfast, cards for beach towels, cards for discounts.
Nice condo type hotel. Not too many rooms which is nice. The rooms were very clean and the hotel staff very friendly. The staff that works the beach were WONDERFUL!
2 out of 5
by Lala from Boston

Hotel is nice!... but so much noise!

Posted May 13, 2014
The Hotel is very nice! , but is located next to the night clubs...... The noise is CRAZY and goes ALL NIGHT LONG! I was not able to sleep at all! .... also at the beach was so many boats... no able to swim... we have to go far from the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Great amenities, friendly staff, and perfect location close to everything.
Location: Minutes from 5th ave shopping, restaurants and bars.
We stayed at El Taj 5/3/14 to 5/9/14. This resort is very nice and comfortable and feels more like a home away from home than a hotel. The full kitchen and inviting decor makes you feel right at home. The staff were all very nice and willing to help in any way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. They offered cleaning service everyday. The hotel is situated minutes from just about anything! Restaurants, shopping, or grocery stores all within walking distance. The only 3 negative things i can come up with are that all the fishing boats are anchored directly in front of the beach at the resort so you have to walk around them or go down 200ft either way to get in the ocean. The second is that on the beachside resort of El Taj doesn't have an elevator and walking up 3 flights of stairs multiple times a day gets old. Finally, It seems that the resort has multiple buildings, along with a gym, spa, and 2 restaurants which are spread out over 2-3 blocks. However, these negatives really do not take away from all that El Taj has to offer and I would recommend anyone to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from ohio

El Taj

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Newer fully equipped condo, good Wi-Fi coverage, nice beach club, free secured parking.
Cons: Better representation of view from room.
Location: 5th av shopping and restaurants, mayan ruins.
Great condo, great location and friendly staff. Only complaint was that wife and I booked and paid extra for a partial ocean view room. Upon arrival we were sent to a room in the front corner of the building (rm 352) with absolutely no view of the ocean from the room or patio. When we questioned the front desk we were given a line about some complex arrangement between the condo owner's and management and that the room given to us was the only one available-they would somehow be able to upgrade us for an additional 475.00 USD. We refused the back-alley souvenir shop-style extortion ploy and made the best of the vacation minus a partial ocean view room. During the remainder of the stay we observed that at least half a dozen ground level rooms closer to the ocean remained vacant even through Monday morning when we departed. Expedia did redeem the wrong by giving us a credit for future travel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mister yim from Ann Arbor

nicest staff

Posted Mar 8, 2014
the staff were ready to offer their service around the clock. they even offered to work out some of the troubles we went through with the private rental companies for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maida from CHILE

The Beach in front is full Of boats!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
The hotel is nice, near by restaurants, bars and shops. The condo is great, but we where traveling with 3 boys 7, 5 and 2 yo and we news to go out by taxi or walk long distance to get in a clean Beach.... Consierge service is not good, more expansive and they got confuses causing problems in our trip, they fixed, but we had the hard time... Swimming pools are great and the kids love it. The prívate terrace, with the BBC and jacuzzi, is fantástic!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chick from Rancho Mirage California

Fun in the sun

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The location and having to resort right on the beach was great
Cons: Swimming pool is visually beautiful but Lacks sun and a swim up bar
Location: Location is perfect everything is nearby
We had the three bedroom three bath oceanfront very nice.it was close to everything breakfast on the beach was great would recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from Austin, TX

The Jewel of Playa...

Posted Jan 20, 2014
If your bored of Mega resorts that don't allow you to experience the local culture, but still want to enjoy that personalized attention you've come to expect, try El Taj or any of the Condo Resort hotels. We really enjoyed the balance between the tropical zen experience, and wild nights in Old Mexico on 5th street. I highly recommend a massage on the beach, followed by drinks and a meal at The Indigo beach club on property. All the bartenders and waiters are friendly, helpful, and easy to talk to...plus it's on the beach, and there's nothing like a cold margarita and seafood cocktail while your feet are in the sand. The pools are amazingly beautiful and rooms top notch. The location on the beach is great, but you do have to deal withe docked boats. Shopping, dining, and partying on 5th street are only one block away...enjoy a day of shopping, an all night club, and a street taco. For a more high end experience...stick to the high end shops, a massage at Mayan massage Palace, and a meal at Plank or Imprevist. Thank you El Taj and all of our new friends in Mexico. We will be back soon...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose from Austin, TX

Great Location, some things to know ahead of time

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Location, quality of the rooms, the beach club personnel were very friendly and the food was good
Cons: More chairs around the pool that aren't in sand, need more clarification on Expedia site about security deposit and other unique condo arrangements.
Location: Location is great for beach access and just 2 blocks to 5th Ave for bars, restaurants and shopping.
El Taj is on the beach and within walking distance of restaurants, bars and shopping, so the location is perfect if that's what you want. The rooms are very spacious and very nice with several amenities like free WIFI and TV stations (mostly in Spanish but enough in English). It is close to some bars that are loud and although we weren't bothered, people on the other end of the hotel said they could hear some noise. These are condo buildings and units can be rented out if the owner's opt to. That means that we had to put down a security deposit (read the fine print on the Expedia site) and were asked to put down double that if we wanted to charge anything at the hotel. Also, your room is cleaned only if you ask for it to be, or you can just get new towels. The beach access is run by a different company that has the concession for that part of the beach. You receive tickets to get your free breakfast at that beach club but there are charges for some things like any drinks but coffee and orange juice. The beach chairs are almost exclusively on the beach, and run by the beach concession, which means no outside food or drinks. There is a relatively small pool for each building and you are only supposed to use that pool. There were only 5 chairs around the pool and they were in a small area of sand. You also get a VIP card that you can use 2 blocks away at the Spa or Health club, and gets you a 10% discount at their associated restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

True Paradise

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Location: Right on the beach and two blocks away from Quinta Avenida
The condo was luxurious! The location right on the beach was amazing. Would return again.