Ratings based on 86 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Our family loved El Taj

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The room and the staff were wonderful!
Cons: The boats on the beach prevented us from swimming in front of the hotel.
Location: We went to Tulum and Xel-ha and enjoyed it very much.
We stayed in a 3 bedroom penthouse. We loved the room. The staff was very friendly and attentive. There are boats on the beach in front of the hotel as the only downside, but we still enjoyed the beach club very much. We could also use the beach club down the beach which was associated with the hotel and there were not boats at that location. The snorkeling was good. The breakfast was wonderful and included with our room. We would love to come back and stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Cons: Too many "cards". Card to charge to the room, cards to have breakfast, cards for beach towels, cards for discounts.
Nice condo type hotel. Not too many rooms which is nice. The rooms were very clean and the hotel staff very friendly. The staff that works the beach were WONDERFUL!
2 out of 5
by Lala from Boston

Hotel is nice!... but so much noise!

Posted May 13, 2014
The Hotel is very nice! , but is located next to the night clubs...... The noise is CRAZY and goes ALL NIGHT LONG! I was not able to sleep at all! .... also at the beach was so many boats... no able to swim... we have to go far from the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Home away from home

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Great amenities, friendly staff, and perfect location close to everything.
Location: Minutes from 5th ave shopping, restaurants and bars.
We stayed at El Taj 5/3/14 to 5/9/14. This resort is very nice and comfortable and feels more like a home away from home than a hotel. The full kitchen and inviting decor makes you feel right at home. The staff were all very nice and willing to help in any way possible to make your stay more enjoyable. They offered cleaning service everyday. The hotel is situated minutes from just about anything! Restaurants, shopping, or grocery stores all within walking distance. The only 3 negative things i can come up with are that all the fishing boats are anchored directly in front of the beach at the resort so you have to walk around them or go down 200ft either way to get in the ocean. The second is that on the beachside resort of El Taj doesn't have an elevator and walking up 3 flights of stairs multiple times a day gets old. Finally, It seems that the resort has multiple buildings, along with a gym, spa, and 2 restaurants which are spread out over 2-3 blocks. However, these negatives really do not take away from all that El Taj has to offer and I would recommend anyone to stay there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mike from ohio

El Taj

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Newer fully equipped condo, good Wi-Fi coverage, nice beach club, free secured parking.
Cons: Better representation of view from room.
Location: 5th av shopping and restaurants, mayan ruins.
Great condo, great location and friendly staff. Only complaint was that wife and I booked and paid extra for a partial ocean view room. Upon arrival we were sent to a room in the front corner of the building (rm 352) with absolutely no view of the ocean from the room or patio. When we questioned the front desk we were given a line about some complex arrangement between the condo owner's and management and that the room given to us was the only one available-they would somehow be able to upgrade us for an additional 475.00 USD. We refused the back-alley souvenir shop-style extortion ploy and made the best of the vacation minus a partial ocean view room. During the remainder of the stay we observed that at least half a dozen ground level rooms closer to the ocean remained vacant even through Monday morning when we departed. Expedia did redeem the wrong by giving us a credit for future travel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by raul rodon from atlanta

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
not impressed at all. first of all the price of the hotel does not correlate with what we got . the beach in front which is not bad is full of fishing boats and its difficult to walk thru them .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was great. 2bdrm penthouse. Great gym down the street. Breakfast on the beach every day was the best. El Taj staff does everything they can to make your stay enjoyable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mister yim from Ann Arbor

nicest staff

Posted Mar 8, 2014
the staff were ready to offer their service around the clock. they even offered to work out some of the troubles we went through with the private rental companies for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maida from CHILE

The Beach in front is full Of boats!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
The hotel is nice, near by restaurants, bars and shops. The condo is great, but we where traveling with 3 boys 7, 5 and 2 yo and we news to go out by taxi or walk long distance to get in a clean Beach.... Consierge service is not good, more expansive and they got confuses causing problems in our trip, they fixed, but we had the hard time... Swimming pools are great and the kids love it. The prívate terrace, with the BBC and jacuzzi, is fantástic!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chick from Rancho Mirage California

Fun in the sun

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The location and having to resort right on the beach was great
Cons: Swimming pool is visually beautiful but Lacks sun and a swim up bar
Location: Location is perfect everything is nearby
We had the three bedroom three bath oceanfront very nice.it was close to everything breakfast on the beach was great would recommend this hotel