Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mister yim from Ann Arbor

nicest staff

Posted Mar 8, 2014
the staff were ready to offer their service around the clock. they even offered to work out some of the troubles we went through with the private rental companies for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maida from CHILE

The Beach in front is full Of boats!

Posted Feb 17, 2014
The hotel is nice, near by restaurants, bars and shops. The condo is great, but we where traveling with 3 boys 7, 5 and 2 yo and we news to go out by taxi or walk long distance to get in a clean Beach.... Consierge service is not good, more expansive and they got confuses causing problems in our trip, they fixed, but we had the hard time... Swimming pools are great and the kids love it. The prívate terrace, with the BBC and jacuzzi, is fantástic!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chick from Rancho Mirage California

Fun in the sun

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: The location and having to resort right on the beach was great
Cons: Swimming pool is visually beautiful but Lacks sun and a swim up bar
Location: Location is perfect everything is nearby
We had the three bedroom three bath oceanfront very nice.it was close to everything breakfast on the beach was great would recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from Austin, TX

The Jewel of Playa...

Posted Jan 20, 2014
If your bored of Mega resorts that don't allow you to experience the local culture, but still want to enjoy that personalized attention you've come to expect, try El Taj or any of the Condo Resort hotels. We really enjoyed the balance between the tropical zen experience, and wild nights in Old Mexico on 5th street. I highly recommend a massage on the beach, followed by drinks and a meal at The Indigo beach club on property. All the bartenders and waiters are friendly, helpful, and easy to talk to...plus it's on the beach, and there's nothing like a cold margarita and seafood cocktail while your feet are in the sand. The pools are amazingly beautiful and rooms top notch. The location on the beach is great, but you do have to deal withe docked boats. Shopping, dining, and partying on 5th street are only one block away...enjoy a day of shopping, an all night club, and a street taco. For a more high end experience...stick to the high end shops, a massage at Mayan massage Palace, and a meal at Plank or Imprevist. Thank you El Taj and all of our new friends in Mexico. We will be back soon...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose from Austin, TX

Great Location, some things to know ahead of time

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: Location, quality of the rooms, the beach club personnel were very friendly and the food was good
Cons: More chairs around the pool that aren't in sand, need more clarification on Expedia site about security deposit and other unique condo arrangements.
Location: Location is great for beach access and just 2 blocks to 5th Ave for bars, restaurants and shopping.
El Taj is on the beach and within walking distance of restaurants, bars and shopping, so the location is perfect if that's what you want. The rooms are very spacious and very nice with several amenities like free WIFI and TV stations (mostly in Spanish but enough in English). It is close to some bars that are loud and although we weren't bothered, people on the other end of the hotel said they could hear some noise. These are condo buildings and units can be rented out if the owner's opt to. That means that we had to put down a security deposit (read the fine print on the Expedia site) and were asked to put down double that if we wanted to charge anything at the hotel. Also, your room is cleaned only if you ask for it to be, or you can just get new towels. The beach access is run by a different company that has the concession for that part of the beach. You receive tickets to get your free breakfast at that beach club but there are charges for some things like any drinks but coffee and orange juice. The beach chairs are almost exclusively on the beach, and run by the beach concession, which means no outside food or drinks. There is a relatively small pool for each building and you are only supposed to use that pool. There were only 5 chairs around the pool and they were in a small area of sand. You also get a VIP card that you can use 2 blocks away at the Spa or Health club, and gets you a 10% discount at their associated restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

True Paradise

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: Everything!
Location: Right on the beach and two blocks away from Quinta Avenida
The condo was luxurious! The location right on the beach was amazing. Would return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by MC

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: The condos were very nice and fully stocked
Cons: The pool and the communication with the front desk. Big language barrier. Needed to go to emergency room and it took way to long to get information
Location: Shopping and bars on 5th avenue. Wah Wah beach bar down the beach was a lot of fun. The owner's band plays a couple times a week.
Great location, easy walk to 5th avenue. Condos are fully loaded. Kitchen equipment was awesome, they have everything, even washer and dryer. We had rooms 329 and 319. Pool was a little outdated and no sun gets to the pool. As everyone else says, direct beach is full of fishing boats but you can walk down a little where there aren't any boats. Too windy and rough to get in ocean anyway, which made it more disappointing they didn't have a more attractive or inviting pool to gather around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Luke from Sydney, Australia

Amazing stay at the Taj

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Amazing hotel with a great location and some of the best staff we've ever had in a resort, so helpful and incredible service. The only criticism is the 'partial sea view rooms' don't really have a sea view, but other than that we'd definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bubbles from Covington, WA

El Taj

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: no extra charges when arrive or leaving. all in the price and anything extra is marked with price.
Cons: sofa and throw pillow covers need to be wash before the next guest arrive if the guest stayed long term. a better coffee maker
Location: I love Xel-ha worth going.
We stayed at the partial ocean view 1 bedroom. Place is clean, and comfortable bed. The sofa and throw pillows covers should be washed more often at least before the next guess arrived, you can smell it only if you lay your head on it. Love the small kitchenette, when using toaster oven need to wait for the heat to lower before opening the cover, it sets of the fire alarm. I like having to make a light meal. For some reason the coffee maker made the coffee hot only, I like mine steaming hot. No hidden charges or extra charges.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com