Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by KB from Wisconsin

Good location, but....

Posted Jul 18, 2013
Pros: Really great location. Friendly housekeping staff. Gorgeous balcony/patio view.
Cons: General upkeep. Only one lounge chair pad on the two patio loungers. Patio furniture is in need of repair. Patio table smells of mildew.
Location: Great location. Beach is superb. Ave 5 is one block away.
We stayed at Corto Maltes for a week, starting 7/8/13, room 204. The place has "good bones" but needs some upkeep to be really top-notch. A new coat of paint would be a start. This is a condo that is rented out by the owners and managed by the staff at El Faro - those folks were pleasant but did not solve some of the issues that needed attention. The electronic equipment wasn't functioning (tv in the master bedroom didn't work, tv in the living room was semi- functional, stereo was balky) but El Faro staff couldn't help. We had to sign for an elaborate inventory list of items included in the condo, but many items were missing. Housekeeping services were reliable, but didn't include washing dishes. There was a dishwasher, but no Cascade or similar product. It would have been nice to know this ahead - we just had a few glasses and coffee cups- no big cleanup job, but had to buy product to wash the few things we used. No paper can be flushed in the bathroom. Would have liked to know this ahead, as this is not the case in other hotels and resorts in the area. The bed was very firm and had a plastic layer that made for a very hot, damp night's sleep. Bar with loud music - right below our patio and room. This was enjoyable most of the time. Wi-Fi was only available intermittently, on the balcony. Washer, but no dryer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location was good, the room was ok. No phones in

Posted Jul 6, 2013
Pros: The staff was nice
Cons: Everything!
Location: a lot stores ..& beaches
No phones in the rooms. The front desk loop me into a time share meeting for 2 hours! That was really low of them. I did not go on a vacation tried to be looped into a time share condo. I would not recommend this "hotel" because its not. Needs a Jacuzzi The food was awful but the staff was very nice overall.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by halle

Perfect location but poor management

Posted May 12, 2013
Pros: Location is perfect. The rooms (apartments) are really spacious and probably too big for 2 people. The swimming pool is also big and comfortable.
Cons: Staff at the reception is totally unprofessional and lying. The room cleanliness is poor. They don't do wet cleaning and didn't wash the dishes.
Location: Location is really perfect, close to everything you need.
The Condos and El Faro Residences are both under the same management and situated in the neighboring buildings. Our initial booking was made to the Condos but we spent there only first 2 nights (room 302) and then moved to El Faro (room 103) for the next 7 nights. Upon arrival to the Condos we discovered that not all was as described. The room has NO internet access at all (while it is stated as amenity) as it "too far from wi-fi spot". That was the main problem for us as we planned to finish some work and needed a connection. After several complaints on the internet unavailability and 1 hour of promises to repair it we were finally told that they couldn't do anything with it. After mentioning that internet access is promised in the contract we were told that it's promised but not specified that you get it in the room so we can use it at the reception. They added that they followed the contract and couldn't do anything for us as they are fully booked and can't move us to any other room. We were literally shocked by that. We looked at the Expedia and it showed that they did had some rooms for our dates. After stating that and several more problems that we discovered (the ceiling fans didn't work, the safe didn't work, the ice dispenser didn't work etc.) and telling them that we were going to write an official complaint, they made several phone calls (probably to the responsible manager) and finally were able to find a free room in El Faro with working internet access.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by cbg from erie, pa

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice location .. by the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by retired duco from California, USA

first time playa

Posted Apr 16, 2013
Pros: size, location
Cons: a bit loud at night
Location: great will come back to same location
my only complaint a bit to loud at night even with the door closed. great location first time in playa will be back in 9 mounts
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by R

beautiful condo on the beach

Posted Dec 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
the 2BR, 2 bath unit is beautiful, contemporary, very spacious (over 1400 sq feet) and the price was great. terrific value if you can fend for yourself a little. For example, there's no phone capabilities to call the front desk. there was no wi-fi in the unit, but i hooked up by going on the balcony and tapping into the bar's wi-fi. The beach is beautiful and there is a nice pool next door. the facility has a bar/restauarant is on the beach and the staff was very helpful, as I've found to by typical in Mexico. Great drink selection and decent food. They had live music every night and the band played a nice mix of rock, pop and some Mexican songs. Location is close to 5th Ave and there is a great nightlife scene nearby. For a family or somone who really wants peaceful nights, could be an issue, but I didn't find any noise in the room with the doors shut. Gym is 3 blocks away and costs $8 US, well worth it! Beware, the free breakfast deal showing on the website is not honored by the hotel. Otherwise a great deal and I would stay there again even without the breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maria from Mexico

Great hotel to experience Playa del Carmen.

Posted Nov 30, 2012
Location: GREAT!!
Really nice hotel, it has a great location, right on the beach and within walking distance from the heart of Playa del Carmen but without all the noise of night parties. You have a full kitchen which is great when travelling with kids as you can arrange for snaks without having to go to a restaurant. Units are clean and very well equipped. Been in Playa del Carmen several times this has been the best choice of hotel experience this wonderful place and having a nice relaxing vacation. Great for families.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location but noisy @ night.

Posted Nov 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
We reserved a 2 bdrm but got "upgraded" to a 1 bdrm oceanfront corner unit, #307. the unit itself was ok although sparsely equipped compared to our later stay at The Royal Palms but convenient to 5th, and partially obstructed ocean view. Only real complaint was noise from club downstairs late into the night and then early morning noise from unloading dive tanks directly below. Would suggest an interior pool view might be quieter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2011 on Hotels.com