Ratings based on 197 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belize

Needs better signage, facilities need upgrade

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: We like the spaciousness and comfort of the room.
Cons: It could do with better signage, room cleaning could be a little more detailed, the pool could be kept cleaner.
Location: The location really wasn't bad if you're looking for quiet relaxation, but the walking to the nearest store or supermarket is about 30-40 minutes.
We drove up to Playa in our own vehicle and had difficulty finding the place. We recognized the hotel from the pictures on the website, there weren't any signage. It is a little secluded, which could be a good thing, but there isn't much to do at the hotel if you're staying for more than a day or two. The pool is small for the size of the hotel and with the extensive useage, especially through midday (after 2:00 p.m. the place is isolated) the water felt dirty. We stayed in the Royal Suite and it was spacious and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

The Hotel was just a 20 minute walk from Shopping

Posted Aug 6, 2014
It was very nice. Clean rooms and nice comfy bed. We were just a 20 minute walk from shopping and Restaurants Downtown. The Breakfast Buffet was fresh and delicious. While the location was a little hard to find, once we figured it out, we realized how central it was to all the attractions. Rent a car and venture the beaches, the ruins etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell

Pleasant Surprise

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Grounds, and style of main building. The spa/gym area looks like an old ruin of a ball court, inside is a beautiful modern spa/gym. Room size nice.
Cons: update of the rooms...for my taste. window coverings in the living area are sheer, so in the evening there is no privacy. Difficult to locate.
Location: Golf! Looked like a nice course, we didnʻt play. Short drive to town/beach, or a 15-20 min walk. If you have a car, itʻs close to eco parks.
We stayed 4 nights in Playa Del Carmen so we could be close to the Eco Parks (Xcaret/Xel-Ha). When we visited last year, we loved the eco-parks and stayed at the hotel adjacent to Xcaret, which was beautiful, but was also all-inclusive which cost much more. We were not fans of the food there, and preferred to eat at the parks this time, so wanted to find a different hotel (not all inclusive) that was nearby, and large enough for 4 of us. We had a car to get around so, although it is not close walking distance to Playa Del Carmen...the actual beach area/town, I much preferred it because that area feels a little sketchy to me, and I didnʻt see any really nice places to stay in that area anyway. This hotel is right in the middle of a golf course, beautiful...it feels traditional and older in style....almost like you were visiting a wealthy friend from an earlier time period who build a large home to welcome friends and family. Rooms are very large, we had a suite, which almost felt too big for only the 4 of us. Full kitchen, living room, dining area, master suite and additional room with 2 beds. Love the outside, and the grounds, landscaping. The interior decor is not really my style, little out dated. My kids took a photo above bed area which looked like a shell, they were pretending to be mermaids. Colors are pink/coral and off white. I think others may find it very charming. Breakfast buffet is included. Price is very affordable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 18, 2014
It was a great experience! We loved it, it was very relaxing. We loved the scenery!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: We loved everything!!!!!!!!
Cons: Only thing would improve is food to be available past 3 pm....
Location: Beach is walking distance 15 minutes, 5 mins. in a car.
First time in playa del carmen, we loved it and loved our hotel too. Very nice secluded hotel, loved our royal suite just perfect for a family of 6... Would recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place, tropical charm!

Posted May 1, 2014
Cons: Walkway to beach through golf course. Not a simple walk to beach,
Location: With car everything is close, Tulum, Coba, Cancun. Centrally located.
Very pleased with hotel and staff. Best to have a car if visiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jackie from calgary

Quiet hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was pretty good very simple but good never the less. The space you get in the suites was quite big. It was very quiet.
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: There isn't much to do unless you golf or like to walk .
First off this hotel is quite a ways from playa del carmen 5th ave but you can walk in about 45 minutes not 20 unless you're power walking ! The suite is comfortable but not very clean , I mean the basics are done like the floors counters etc. but the door handles , the toilet walls , the taps , the cupboard doors and pulls were like they were never cleaned . I bought Lysol wipes to wash them . The living room has beautiful white leather furniture in it but it has a lot of mold stains on them , we did not sit on them and then I at least bought a blanket and was able to sit and watch tv. The kitchen is not very well equipped for cooking , they only had a pan , no pot , No coffee pot , no toaster etc. I would probably stay here again but it will not be my first choice !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Sasha Gruber from New York. NY

I go here every year! Love, love, love this hotel.

Posted Apr 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bottom line: I wouldn't stay anywhere else. This is a hidden gem in Playa Del Carmen. Stellar service, fantastic food, very comfortable, spacious and quiet rooms, and their suites are amazing! I got the best rate through Hotels.com. If you're renting a car, they have on-site free parking, and it's easy to get in and out of the lot. I would highly recommend their spa - the prices are reasonable, and the ambience is very relaxing. Time well spent!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sasha from Colorado

Great quiet location; great pool.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
The hotel was located in a secluded and closely guarded area in Playacar. It was wonderfully quiet, and surrounded by a beautiful golf course. The 20-minute walk in to Playa Del Carmen for dinner was quite pleasant; the exercise was welcome because we always eat too much in Mexico. We enjoyed the morning complementary breakfast; there was a good variety and always plenty of everything. The suite we rented was spacious and attractive and well-kept. Our only complaint was that the beds are truly too hard. Get softer beds and we will stay longer next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dennis R from North Idaho USA

Close to down town Play Del Carmen

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoy our stay here the staff were pleasant professionald helpful. Away from the beach and hard to find at least the first time. Beautiful setting in a upscale residential neighbourhood by a golf course.