Ratings based on 1,208 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad

A wonderful experience

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Everything was perfect. Great food, efficient, courteous and friendly staff, lovely surroundings, a host of activities and entertainment. Couldn't have asked for more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Cons: The musty smell in some of the rooms. I realize it's an extremely humid climate, but if at all possible, it would be more much appealing.
Amazing staff! You couldn't ask for more. We felt like celebrities. Quality food overall...beer selection was lacking, but the mixed drinks made up for it. I would definitely recommend this place to any couple...of any age.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

"Excellente"

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The hotel was clean and spacious. Offered activities for it's guest and night time show.
Cons: One evening they offered a "beach party" on the beach. Decorations were nice but the food was cold. Perhaps change the theme of the evening?
From the moment we arrived at Excellence till the moment of our departure the staff was amazing. Super friendly, efficient and "walked the extra mile" to make it happen. I would recommend this place for any special occasions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort. 15-20 minutes from the airport.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Location: Markets are about 30 minutes away to Cancun or the other way to Playa De Carmen. Both fun excursions to check out.
Pros: 15 minutes or so from the airport. The staff is wonderful and top notch. Very nice resort. Clean rooms. Well maintained and beautiful throughout. Many dinner and bar choices. Lots of activities to do. Lots of bands and shows throughout the week. Awesome pool. Cons: Beach was full of seaweed and the water leading up to the shore was brown. Bad time of the year I guess. Not their fault, I know, just a bummer. There was a sewer back up smell you'd catch every so often. The tennis courts smell terrible of a sewer back up and you couldn't even stand to walk over to them much less play tennis. It was gross. Overall, we'd for sure go back. Just need to see next time when the beaches are better and they need to look into that sewer smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from macomb, mi

Exactly like pictures show

Posted Oct 15, 2014
This was fantastic and we are so happy with it we are already planning on going next year with friends. Staff was very helpful and so nice. Very friendly,rooms were always clean as well as the whole resort. Good food and fantastic drinks especially martinis!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

A couples retreat

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Went to the hotel w my wife for our anniversary. We stayed 3 days.The staff is amazing they're always there to help you and serve you. The facilities are very clean with top modern rooms the landscaping is great the palm arrangement the trees so beautiful. There's an easyness to get around within the hotel they have 6 or 9 different restaurants so you never out of choices when it comes to food the pool set up is gorgeous too if you dont wanna go into the beach but wanna be close enough while having a drink they have bars inside the pool w cement made stools so you can seat and never get out of the water. If you want a place to relax w your wife this is the place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Awesome!

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: The grounds are spectacular.
Cons: The only thing that was a little off were the pillows. A little hard for my taste but who cares?
Location: We never had to leave the resort but our friends went snorkeling one day and deep sea fishing the next.
This place is spectacular. The staff bends over backwards to accommodate you in every way possible. The food is good, the alcohol is endless. Anything you need or want, just ask. I will be back as soon as I can be.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, MO

Beautiful resort UNFORTUNATELY beach is awful.

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: The grounds were beautiful. The rooms are fantastic and the staff is very accommodating. Unfortunately the seaweed ruined it for me.
Cons: The resort itself was nice. The beach was a disappointment.
Location: You can walk or bike to Puerto Morales. The water there is also not very pretty but you can shop in the little stores.
Let me start with saying, I'm not a pool person. I am a beach person. If you are a beach lover, you will want to read my review. Excellence Riviera Maya is such a beautiful piece of property. The grounds are well kept and everything is clean and fresh and tropical. The sandy beach is big enough for everyone and has nice loungers, sun beds and palapas.....HOWEVER, the massive amounts of seaweed washed up on the beach and in the water was a HUGE disappointment for me. If you are a pool person, you would be very happy with Excellence Riviera Maya, because there are lots of beautiful pools, some are quiet, some are more rowdy but there are lots of pool choices but I am a beach person. I couldn't even get in the water without getting tangled up in large amounts of seaweed and, due to the seaweed, the Caribbean did not have that beautiful azure blue color that it has in Isla Mujeres or Cozumel. It looked like dirty Lake of the Ozarks water. It was dark and muddy looking. I didn't even enjoy dipping my toes in the water because the seaweed would get tangled around your ankles and toes. I would not go back to this particular property due to the seaweed problem. I understand that is NOT Excellence's fault, it is nature, but I want to spend my vacation in beautiful Caribbean seas, with bright colored fish and turquoise water, not in dank, dark, dirty-looking water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great Honeymoon Spot by the Ocean

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Relaxing. Great Spa. Lots to do if you want to stay active.
Cons: More rafts/floats for the pool. Better Room Service
Location: It is about a 20 minute ride south of the the Cancun Airport. Not too much to do outside of the resort.
This was a honeymoon vacation for us. Getting to the resort was a little difficult as there is no shuttle service (without reservation weeks ahead of time and paying more than just a taxi). Once at the resort things were great. Prefect reception with cold towels and champagne. Smooth and informative checkin. Enjoyed the brief tour from the bellhop. Room: Great views, clean, and a very refreshing scent. Booked the Junior suite. Lots of room and comfy beds Pools: Expansive, lots of chairs, different vibes (more social around the swim up bar, more relaxing on the lazy river.) Ocean: Lots of beds/chairs. constantly cleaning up seaweed. Very few solicitors. Not the clearest of water though Bars: different vibes help to differentiate the bars. friendly staff. not very strong drinks Restaurants: best part of the trip. Great food at all of them (French was our favorite). Good variety. Lunch buffets were amazing, food for every appetite. Room Service: left more desired. Hard to believe the food was coming from the same place as that dinner. Wish this were better. Excursions: Lots to do in the facility: yoga, kayaking, volleyball, bingo, etc. Not too much to do around/outside of the resort. Scuba Diving was great (just a quick 5 minute boat ride to the Reef) Nightly Shows: Fun way to end the evenings, Michael Jackson and Fire Shows were the best. Spa: Amazing hydrotherapy and excellent massages. 5-6 days seems like the perfect amount of time to do/try everything that you want
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very very misleading...not at all like the picture

Posted Oct 7, 2014
This was completely not like the pictures or as shown online...very old and dirty and I will NEVER ever stay here again...not sure what else to say...