Ratings based on 1,495 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Best vacation ever!

Posted Jul 31, 2015
We had a junior suite, which was amazing! You can order the type of pillow you want off of a menu! The mini fridge is stocked once a day. The shower is huge! you get your own bathrobe and slippers if you are into that kind of thing. The pools were so relaxing I fell asleep on my complementary floating mat several times. You can't underestimate how great it is to have NO kids in the pool! The beach was pretty great. Lots of places to relax. The beach beds are so great! The area does have a pretty bad seaweed problem and unfortunately the ocean water wasn't clear, but that is not the hotel's fault and they do a lot to try to control the seaweed on the beach. The food was absolutely top notch for dinner just about everywhere we went. I especially loved the Japanese restaurant and the grilled lobster at the lobster house. I preferred room service for breakfast (give them about an hour to make and deliver). Lunch options were just ok. I wasn't too interested in eating a lot for lunch anyway. One thing I would like to have seen more of is fish on the menus. Overall, the best, most relaxing vacation I've ever had by far. The entire staff was absolutely amazing. Check out the Juice bar by the lazy river and the aroma coffee shop in the hotel lobby (just like starbucks!). Please, please, please tip these people. They are some of the hardest working people I've seen in my life!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Just got back

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: The Excellence Club was worth the upgrade and the roof top terrace was by far the most amazing set up. A couples MUST.
My wife and I along with our two 20+ yr daughters just returned. We had the pleasure of staying six days. My wife and I stayed in the Excellence Club Roof Top room 7351 and it was simply wonderful. The girls stayed in a spa pool view swim out. I am going to make this easy; food, entertainment, staff, rooms, drinks, and overall experience was GREAT. The beach had tons of seaweed but so did the entire stretch of Cancun. for $40 you can walk out to the beach, catch a boat and in 5 minutes be snorkeling on the reef. A must do. We are looking for dates for a return and have only been back two days. I really can not see how you can give this vacation a bad review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton, OH

The name says it all!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The food is AMAZING! Also, you do not have to make reservations to eat at any of the restaurants, just show up and eat!
Cons: Not a thing!
Location: Property is on the beach and about a mile down the beach is a small town with shops and a couple of restaurants.
This resort really is EXCELLENT!!! We spent a week here for our honeymoon and it was everything we could have hoped for! The property is clean and the ocean is only steps away from the rooms, staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are well stocked with comfy beds and furnishings, ours had a jetted tub, and mini bar. We also enjoyed the 'lazy river' that winds around the property!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

10th Anniversary Trip

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Attentive staff, abundance of pools and activities to choose from, and many food choices as well.
Cons: water pressure for filling up hot tubs. It literally would have taken an hour to fill the tub for use.
Location: With it being an all inclusive we only planned on leaving once for an excursion, but we tried to book that too late so we didn't leave the resort.
We decided to stay at the Excellence this trip after staying at another resort a couple years back to compare the experience. We had a wonderful stay this vacation. The hotel staff for the most part is constantly seeing if you need anything and for the most part is cheerful. The room had everything we needed and there were plenty of pools to choose from if you wanted to socialize or have some peace and quiet. We chose a swim out room when we booked, but one wasn't available when we got their. We were upgraded to the Excellence Club for free. So we traded a swim out room for an ocean view and some other perks. All in all, a very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Amazing All Inclusive

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Spent 5 days here in July 2015 and had an amazing time. The restaurant variety is excellent, food was delicious, bars, bartenders and wait staff were excellent and the food was amazing. The grounds were immaculate, the rooms cleaned and up kept wonderfully. Their were ample pools and chairs, the activities and shows were the best I've seen at any all inclusive in Mexico. The spa and the hydrotherapy were one of the best spa experiences we've ever had. It's a little pricy, but the staff and the other guests at the resort made our vacation amazing. A few small downsides were the mattress wasn't terribly comfortable and we didn't find out they had a pillow menu you could order from until the last day. Would recommend looking at that first thing. The other downside which was out of the resorts control was the abundance of seaweed on the beach and in thewater right off the beach due to recent tropical storms. The resort had crews on the beach 12-14 hours a day clearing it and trying their best to remediate the problem, which we appreciated, but was a bit distracting. However guests we'd met who'd been there 4 or 5 years in a row all told us the seaweed had never been like that on previous visits, so I assume in time that will subside. However their are 9 pools and swim up bars that can keep you occupied. Overall by far the best all inclusive we've ever been too and I would love to go back. The staff was just amazing and bars and selection of drinks and food was great!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Great activities and hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2015
I just got back from this wonderful resort after spending a week there with my old college roommate. We both really enjoyed the resort. The staff was friendly and always there to help answer questions. The spa is a must. We signed up for the 100 minute massage, exfoliating, and facial, but didn't realize that we would also get the hydrotherapy. It was fantastic. The group in charge of activities were top notch, especially Hermena and Ximena. There was something for everyone from yoga to water aerobics to water volleyball to bull riding to a bike ride to sailing. I would highly recommend this to anyone. We want to return again with our husbands.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Beach!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The hotel itself was very pretty.
Cons: Service and food.
Location: We went in to Purerto Morelos and not much to really see there.
The beach was horrible! For what ever reason for the seaweed it made the beach and the water up close to the beach intolerable. It smelled like rotten eggs or sulfur. There was no getting in the water close to the beach. We did go out on a snorkeling excursion way out by the reef and the water was fine. Just no beach experience! The service at the restaurants were overall bad...long wait times and they just seemed to be understaffed. The food was nothing to write home about. Breakfast was the best meal of the day. The brick over pizza that we heard about that was served by the pool was nothing more than a tortilla with little to none sauce and cheese. The meat pizza had hot dogs on it! The drinks were good but unless you went up to the bar you wouldn't get any kind of speedy service along any of the pool sides. Overall, we spent more on this resort than any in the past and it was not worth the extra expense. We have had a much better time in resorts where we didn't spend as much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We had the club level room, upgraded everything!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
The club level is definitely worth it. Upgraded everything plus special treatment from the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great shows and live music though mediocre Food

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: GREAT shows and excellent live music soloists and groups.
Cons: Food. The "taste" in general can be improved. Were disappointed about the Tapas (Spanish) and Agave (Mexican) Restaurants - no true flavor just name.
Facilities are nice and clean. Friendly staff though could improve daily activities with more variety. Would be great to match the quality of food with that of alcohol. Enjoyed the catamaran but need to maintain equipment better - both need to replace broken parts. Gym is well equipped but AC didn't work - you don't need a Sauna.......just lots of towels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, New York

Excellent hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2015
The hotel was everything amazing! Staff was great, food and drinks were out of this world! And I loved the spa. The only downside was the seaweed on the beach. Wasnt able to swim on the beach the during the whole stay.