Ratings based on 1,419 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Relaxing vacation

Posted May 28, 2015
The basic room is comfortable with a well-stocked mini-bar. We were a group of 6 and never had a problem finding palapas or being seated in the restaurants at night. The food was uniformly good with the French restaurant being excellent. The staff is helpful and friendly. There are many pools to chose from, depending on your mood. This is not a loud party resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2015
It was a great resort. I would highly recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fayettevile

Honeymoon in Paradise!

Posted May 28, 2015
My wife and I just returned from a week at this resort for our honeymoon and had the time of our lives. everything about this hotel really lived up to the "excellence" name. The entire staff provided warm, friendly service without exception, and even took time out of their busy work schedules to talk with us and get to know us. After a week, we familiar with most of the staff and they made a genuine effort to greet us by name, which was astounding. The food was absolutely amazing and offered a wide variety from different areas around the world. Not to mention, it was all included and alays available at any hour to stuff your face. My only complaint about the food was that I definitely gained some weight because I couldn't stop eating the great food. The beaches and pools were amazing and offered many options for lounging, whether you wanted to be louder and drink by the swim up bar, or go to one of the pools in non the back and read. Basically, everything was great and far exceeded our expectations and we will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice upper end hotel for adults only

Posted May 27, 2015
Cons: A crew worked every day to remove all the seaweed, but no way to keep it all off the beach.
Great experience from start to finish. The entire staff worked hard and seemed very happy to ensure that our stay was memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Normal

Great accommodations and even better staff!

Posted May 27, 2015
Pros: Restaurants, bars, lazy river, pretty much everything.
Cons: I'd have to be pretty picky, but the coffee every morning was not the best.
Location: No need to leave the resort! The only time we did was to go snorkeling on the reef which was a 5 minute boat ride from shore.
I had never been to Mexico, nor an all-inclusive resort and I cannot wait to go back. From the second you walk into the resort & are handed champagne, the staff makes you feel like you're the most important person there. There was not one bad restaurant we ate at and all of the bars kept cold drinks flowing. I didn't tell staff it was my birthday during the trip and I came upstairs one afternoon to find the room decorated and a big piece of cake sitting on the bed. I can't say enough how much the staff went above and beyond to make our experience great. The only complaint I would have is out of the control of the resort, as the ocean was very dirty near the shoreline and was not even remotely "swimable". Every morning the ocean would produce giant piles of seaweed which required a guy on a tractor to go back and forth for hours picking it up. Again, not a knock on the hotel, likely just a seasonal thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Oakdale, CA

Amazing All Inclusive Resort

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Everyone is greeted like royalty from the moment you arrive, where you'll find beautiful flowers, pristine landscaping, and a safe private entrance.
Cons: Although this is an adult only resort, I did catch it annoying to find topless sunbathers. But the property is large enough to move from those folks.
Location: There's snorkeling, massage, Mayan ruins, sailing, scuba diving and touring Islas Mujeres where you'll find many shops, clubs and white sandy beaches.
My first all inclusive resort was simply amazing. Excellence Riviera Cancun has "all inclusive" figured out! Nine themed restaurants, twelve bars, a special daily lunch menu, live music every night, theater shows, countless pools, Spa treatment, and beautiful beaches are just a few of the amazing things you'll find. The divine experience of this resort, designed for both young and older adults, makes for a difficult decision to explore the rest of Cancun. The friendly well spoken staff, like Miguel and Carlos from the Agave Restaurant, or Luis from Barcelona's, will enhance your experience by providing first class service. And if you like water sports, beach volleyball, mechanical bull riding, bike tours, bar tending lessons, pole dancing lessons, or just relaxing by a quiet pool with a book and an adult beverage, you too will enjoy Excellence Riviera Cancun in Playa Morales. Without a doubt, I will return to this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Excellent

Posted May 26, 2015
This resort was amazing, you truly can do nothing but relax. The rooms clean and kept clean the entire time. There were no corners cut. The staff was personable, pleasant and very attentive!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MPLS, MN

Posted May 26, 2015
My best friend and I went to this resort. The overall experience was great. One thing I wish we would have known was that you can sign up for complimentary taxi to go shopping. Space is limited so if you know when you would like to go shop make sure you sign up early in your trip. The entertainment staff is wonderful, there is always something to do. There were a lot of couples at this resort. I would say it's a better place for couples not 2 single friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bristol, UK

Excellent hotel, wonderful staff and superb food.

Posted May 25, 2015
My sister and I were looking for somewhere special to celebrate a 40th Birthday and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. The staff were lovely and couldn't do enough for you. There are loads of restaurants to choose from all serving excellent food. Such a nice change from the usual all inclusive buffet. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. It could do with an update but nothing more. We had a great time and would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houston, TX

THANK YOU FOR AWESOME!!

Posted May 24, 2015
Haven't seen the sun in months and this was the perfect vacation. Thank you Excellence!