Ratings based on 1,074 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ang from Portland, Or

Beautiful resort, fun activities, very nice people

Posted Apr 20, 2014
We travelled with 2 other couples and were able to have rooms right next to one another. Jr. Swim up suites were nice, quiet, and close to everything. Comfy beds, clean rooms, amazing service from the staff. Activities were fun. We did beach and pool volleyball, water yoga, kayaking, Zumba, bocce ball, and poolside games. Food was incredible. Service is very slow at times though. The French restaurant was my favorite. Lobster house my 2nd favorite. If you want to try more than 1 entree they are very accommodating. The buffet has MANY options as well. The nightly entertainment was fun. The beach is pretty, and the sand is very soft. The only drawbacks are the sea grass that builds up throughout the day on the shore, and the unfinished pier sticking out of the water. Other than that it's great!! I would definitely recommend this as a wonderful couples destination. We had an amazing time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant beachfront resort

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Clean, well-maintained grounds. Very friendly and helpful staff. I tried to practice my Spanish, but they all speak English well.
Cons: We did not have hot water in our shower.
Location: Waterfront but 20 minutes from Cancun and the ferry to Isla Mujeres.
This was my second trip to the Riviera Maya. My husband & I only take one big trip each year. So we like rest & relaxation. We booked an Excellence club room. And from the moment we arrived, everything was taken care of. We were met with cool towels & champagne. And the bellboy took our bags & escorted us to the VIP check-in lounge, while giving us a tour of the resort. There were activities all day & entertainment each night. But enough space and swimming pools that you could pretty much be alone if you wanted. The beach was very clean (not the same experience we had at our resort last year). And so many food choices that we didn't get to try them all. My only complaint was that we didn't get hot water in our shower; plenty in the sink but shower only got lukewarm. We will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Georgia

Beautiful grounds, great beach and many options.

Posted Apr 19, 2014
Pros: Beach, pools and shows.
Cons: overall great experience. No recommendations
Location: close to airport, Cancun and Playa Del Carmen. amazing beach property.
Second time to Mexico. Great location. Close to airport and just amazing grounds. Many options for food, drink and pool/ocean spots.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melissa from Texas

Honeymoon Paradise!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: The staff and excellent service everywhere we went.
Cons: More beach towels often I found myself running around to find one
Location: Chichen Itza, Coba and Tulum
This is really one of the best adult only hotels I have had the privileged to stay in.The staff was very pleasant and all the food was amazing. A bar in every corner so you hands are never empty. The pools are always maintained and room service is very accommodating. They put on a very entertaining night show every night which were all a must see. We will definitely be returning to this hotel for our anniversary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from New York City

Book NOW...you won't be disappointed!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Loved the nightly entertainment, superior restaurants, daily activities, cleanliness of room and resort, friendliness of staff and service was great!
Upon arrival the staff was extremely friendly and we were greeted with glasses of champagne. Our room wasn't unavailable until 3:00pm (check-in time) but we didn't mind and enjoyed lunch in The Grille. The grounds are clean and absolutely gorgeous. The room was extremely clean and the we loved the night entertainment. Pool service is a bit slow but you can go to many of the endless bars located around the resort. It definitely did not hinder our stay. I did so much research when it came to booking the perfect hotel to fit our standards and this hotel was certainly it. Do not look any further...you won't be disappointed at the Excellence.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Great all-inclusive

Posted Apr 15, 2014
My husband and I celebrated our 10 year anniversary at this resort. It was great. The service was really great everywhere except Basmati, their Indian restaurant. It was ok just not great. The spa was amazing and I highly recommend the therapist, Olivia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel great service

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Great service , agave restaurant was the best , beautiful view , on the beach , huge buffet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Vickie from Chicago

Beautiful resort for couples

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff was wonderful. All were so nice and very responsive.
Cons: Pool side drink service is slow. You can't order food at the pool. Also, we needed to ask for a pillow top for the bed. Internet connection is bad.
Location: Hotel is close to the airport on a beach that is nice; not too remote and not too crowded
We really enjoyed the resort. Rooms were large, clean, and comfortable after they added a pillow top to the bed. Lots of space at the pool though we didn't like not having pool side lunch service. Spa is awesome and so were the fitness classes. The restaurant selection was vast (men, bring pants you'll need them at most restaurants). There is lots of entertainment though that really didn't interest us. The staff was very welcoming and responsive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rhonda from Utah

Nice resort on the beach

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: All inclusive, good restaurant choices, beautiful sandy beach, clean, friendly staff
Cons: Service time at some restaurants
Location: Quieter location away from the touristy hotel zone. Concierge people there to arrange various tours for shopping, snorkeling, the ruins, etc.
Stayed first week in April with our 2 adult children. Booked 2 rooms, one with 2 double beds and 1 king bed. Arrived to find both rooms had double beds. Were upgraded to an ocean view king room which was wonderful. The rooms, grounds, beach were well kept. Drink service on the beach was a real treat. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We were treated by our kids to a couples massage and dinner on the pier. We don't usually add these extras, but it was a highlight of our visit. The spa was an especially wonderful experience. Restaurants were good, never a long wait to be seated. Some seemed to take a bit long to get food, but we're on vacation and not watching a clock. Room service menu was extensive and service was very good. There were plenty of activities offered each day. There was some confusion over a tour we booked. We got up early to find the tour didn't run that day. Went the next day on a catamaran to snorkel and visit isla Mujeres. The boat ride was nice with bar service. Staff was friendly. It was overcrowded however, and the water was choppy, so snorkeling was short, maybe 20 minutes. Did not see a lot of fish. Stopped for a lunch buffet. It was average at best. Took a golf cart to get around the island, but were rushed to get to the recommended view point and back on time. Overall, the vacation was great. I would definitely return to this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jackie from New York

Wonderful hotel on the ocean

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Our 5 day stay at Riveria Cancun Excellence was wonderful. The only negative would be our disappointment with purchase of the Excellence package. Have purchased at another nearby Hotel & received reserved palapa either by pool or beach and were able to make dinner reservations. Having to stake out our spot everyday for a palapa was stressful and will be a determining factor for us not to return.