Ratings based on 1,380 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent attentive staff

Posted Apr 19, 2015
All fine. The only thing I didn't like was having the bath in the room and not being able to close of the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Nice resort, a little big for our liking

Posted Apr 19, 2015
The resort was beautiful and food was wonderful! You did have to get up pretty early to be able to find a spot by the main pool, but there were many spots by the other pools. The staff were good, but being a bigger resort than we were used to, we didn't get the same service we were used to. Also, being in a more traveled area, the beach was not secluded and had lots of seaweed and traffic. The sand on the beach, though, was so soft!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Beautiful beautiful beautiful

Posted Apr 19, 2015
The grounds, buildings and rooms are so beautiful and super clean. The workers are very nice, personable and more than willing to help in any way needed. The only slightly negative thing i have to say is the food is about a 7.5 out of 10. Nothing was bad, just not as flavorful and special at times as u would expect when compared to the other qualities of the resort. The flavor market, the grill and the french restaurant were our favorites. Oh and barcelonas buffet was always good. The other thing is the smell of the resort, which i think is the cleaners used started to get to me by the end of our trip. It wasnt a dirty smell or funky just different. I dont know how to describe it. But it definitely wasnt a dirty smell. Overall it was an amazing time and experience and i would def recommend it to friends and family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Wonderful experience. Top notch resort. I only wish they have a faster and more reliable WiFi. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom w

Excellente

Posted Apr 14, 2015
We have gone here twice and their sister hotel in playa mujeres 7 times. We stick with a good thing !!!!! We are tryin the excellence in punta Cana in dec and I'm sure it's going to be awesome too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Suburban Philadelphia, PA

Lives up to its name

Posted Apr 14, 2015
This is the second time I have stayed at Excellence Riviera Maya, and I have stayed at the Excellence at Playa Mujeres once. Both facilities live up to the name excellence. The facilities are in perfect condition and are clearly maintained. The staff are exceptional and everyone was pleasant in every interaction, which is hard to maintain, even in the service industry. My only complaint was that the bed was firmer than I like and the pillow not as supportive as I like, but that is my preference and may not be an issue for someone else. I would definitely stay here a third time, and would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Strong Island

The name says it all EXCELLENCE!

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The Indian restaurant Basmati was amazing along with the other restaurants.
Cons: More variety of shows
Location: Only left the resort to go shopping. Everything else is right at the resort.
Everything about this resort was excellent. The restaurant selections were superb along with the staff and facilities. The beach was beautiful but the seaweed did take over the water. I highly recommend the swim up room if you would like peace and tranquility.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, Ohio

Great resort for couples!

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: It felt as if you were in your own little world at this resort. Lots of different places you could hang out at!
Cons: I think the waiters at the breakfast buffet could be a little bit more friendly and more attentive and some of the bartenders a little more friendly.
Location: The location was great for the swimming pools and views of the ocean. The only thing about the ocean was that there was a lot of seaweed!
We were in building 1000 in the junior walk out swim and it was fantastic. Every morning we drank our tea on the day bed outside our room and looked at the lazy river pool which surrounded the spa. We would then eat the breakfast buffet which featured just about everything you could imagine! We would then go back to our room and put on our swim suits and float around the lazy river for a couple hours and listen to the music emanating out of the spa...very peaceful! Next we would pack up and head out closer towards the beach to where there was more lively action at the swim up bar and the bar next to the ocean. Each afternoon they would have a theme on the beach for lunch...TexMex, Asian, fishfry, etc. This was nice b/c you could sit on the beach(under cover) in your bathing suit and look out at the ocean. They had numerous activities throughout the day. Most days there was a live band by the bar. In the evenings there were at least 5 choices for restaurants with pretty decent food. The lobster house (lobster tough) and Italian were probably my least favorite places. We loved the filet at the French restaurant and the sushi at the Asian restaurant. The last night we were there they had a huge Mexican celebration with buffet style eating outside by the theater. Nice tables were set up and live music was played. It was incredible. They also had new shows in the theater every night and these were high class shows with lots of talent! Very impressive!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Never too crowded, slightly older crowd.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Food was just OK. Plenty of areas to relax. We always found a chair on the beach or by the pool. Tons of activities. Staff was very friendly and spoke English very well. Spa was extraordinary. My one knock was that the food was not that good. I felt that they had all of these gourmet restaurants, but no one overly impressed me. I would say on a scale of 1-5 I wouldnt place any of the Restaurants above a 3
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome and relaxing time.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
My husband and I stayed for 4 nights and we loved it. It was very beautiful and relaxing. The only downfall was how hard the beds were, but I'd definitely come back!