Ratings based on 1,300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Magnifique hôtel avec une vue magique !

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Nous étions en chambre excellence club Two story roof top Terrace. Vue imprenable du côté excellence club . Service parfait ! Tout le monde était à nos soins pendant toute notre lune de miel !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Red Deer Alberta

Fabulous food, amazing entertainment.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
We stayed a week recently and were sad to leave. The food was great at every restaurant but we were really happy with the buffets at breakfast and lunch, which can be a disappointment at resorts. There was a lot of variety and it was very well prepared. And we loved Basmati, the Indian restaurant. Beautiful decor and atmosphere and wonderful food. My husband is a chef and was very impressed with the food in general. And the entertainment was better than some things we've paid to see. The nightly shows were very professional and entertaining, but the best was the live music in the early evenings. We particularly liked the three tenors, and were amazed by a singer named Claudia Trevino, who was accompanied by a very talented guitar player, I'm sorry to have forgotten his name. She was outstanding-will be watching for her on iTunes! All in all a wonderful holiday and would go back in a minute!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mantorville, MN

Excellence's name says it all

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Excellent service! Great location! Just an overall great place to stay on vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, Ohio

Great hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Many activities available if you want to participate. Also appreciated that it is adults only!
Cons: It would be nice to have some of the specialty restaurants open for lunch sometimes.
Location: Not far from airport. You can bicycle to nearby towns. Also many, many off site excursions - usually for an additional cost.
Overall great experience. Greeted at the door with champagne and the journey begins. Room is a great size - spacious with separate sitting, sleeping and grooming/ bathing area. Several great pools - some with more activity near some of the bars. Others more secluded and quiet if you prefer. Provides daily newsletter to highlight events and help you plan for the next day. Nightly activities/ shows. Offers concierge services to help plan off site events and also has other groups that advertise in the lobby for off site excursions. Several great restaurants open for dinner. Food was good at most of them. Beach area had great places to lay out, but was not impressive for swimming. (May have had some bad weather just prior to our arrival)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Springfield, MO

Upscale hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The lazy river, evening bands and singers, food, and top shelf alcohol.
Cons: The beach was full of seaweed, but the hotel worked constantly to clear it. I think it was a bad weather time. Lots of wind and waves.
Location: About a half hour from Cancun airport. One hour from Xcaret, where we swam in an underground river, saw a wonderful show at night, plus more.
January 2015 - Secomd time at this resort. The last time was 5 years ago. A few things have changed to make the resort better. Two more restaurants ( Indian and Flavor Market). All the restaurants are good but the Italian was our least favorite. Staff is very good and friendly. The grounds workers do a fabulous job and work very hard. The lazy river pool was wonderful. It was great for exercising by swimming laps around the spa. The beds around the pools and at the beach were very comfortable. I would highly recommend this resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom calgary, alberta, canada

Amazing hotel!!!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Best hotel ever. Super friendly staff. And older crowd for sure but super relaxing and the spa is amazing!!! I would go back in a heart beat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas area

Excellent week at the Excellence.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Great place. 4 rather than 5 overall rating due to slight issues with food and ocean water quality. Beach is great; powdery white sand. Staff is excellent. Avoid the beef. Only other complaint is a bias against wine drinkers; lots of top-shelf liquor and its all included. But if you want anything other than the very mediocre house wines, that's an up-charge. Great experience in the spa and overall. Definitely would return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

Excellent experience

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Really nice experience. Food was fabulous. Staff was genuinely friendly. Beach was okay. Plenty of towels and chaise lounges. Included alcohol decent quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Schaumburg, Il

Excellent

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: It was very well run. The food and overall service was great.
Cons: The restrooms by the pools were often dirty and the plumbing did not flush. Create a rule that you are not allowed to reserve chairs.
Location: Cancun is long ways away. Puerto Morelos was a quaint town that was near by We took the bike ride there.
Overall the hotel was very well run and the staff excelled in providing service. Any request we had was quickly responded to by the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Terrible Pillows

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: French restaurant very nice.
Cons: Pillows are very uncomfortable.
Location: Never left the resort, so not sure what is in the area.
Very nice. This was our second time visiting this particular resort. Pools are not heated (ugh). Ocean and shoreline coated with seaweed. No way you could swim in the ocean (maybe its a seasonal thing?)