Ratings based on 1,137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Beautiful getaway

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Overall experience was great. Resort was beautiful. Would have liked more night life. There was not much entertainment after dinner. Staff was amazing . Spa was above and beyond , highly recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Be careful with ocean view rooms in building 6.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Ocean view rooms over look the pool. No knobs on shower doors. Glass table had no glass. Food was awesome. Pools awesome. Entertainment awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Perfect stay once again

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: I struggle to think of anything.
Location: A short ride from the airport, easy to get to main attractions from here within 1-2 hours drive. Excellence snorkelling on the reef by hotel us great!
This was our second time at ERC and we absolutely loved it. As we last went for our honeymoon 3 years ago we were worried that it wouldn't live up to our memories but everything was just as good as we remembered. The hotel itself is beautiful, the staff will do anything to make your stay amazing - all with a smile in their face! - and the restaurants are fantastic. Our personal favourites were the Agave Mexican, and Chez Isabelle. Plus you can't beat breakfast at the Lobster House overlooking the pool and the beach - bliss! We didn't watch many of the evening shows, choosing instead to watch the great bands playing out in the square in the early evening before going to a late dinner, but from what we saw they were very good. To summarise, if you're thinking about going - do it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice adult only all inclusive

Posted Jul 17, 2014
Nice property but a little dated. The beach isn't what we expected -- a lot of seaweed which made for murky dark water. Not the turquoise waters we were longing for...if you are a beach lover this beach will be disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Highly Recommend - Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: I loved everything about Excellence Riviera!
Cons: N/A
Beautiful Resort!!! Very clean room and the A/C was amazing! Fun activities throughout the day and Awesome night entertainment/shows. Delicious food in all restaurants! Outstanding staff and customer service! Thanks for making our 4 day vacation great :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Our honeymoon was absolutely amazing and more than I could imagine! We love love loved it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

GOOD WEEKEND GETAWAY

Posted Jul 14, 2014
This was a good weekend getaway. I recommend upgrading to the Excellence Club. Rooms were good. People were nice. The gulf was full of sea weed and not as nice as Cancun beaches. Food was decent. The bars typically only had one bartender so getting a drink at times was challenging and drinks were very weak. The key to the hibachi restaurant is to get there when they open to get on the list for a grill top table. It was disappointing that we did not know this bc they state no reservations. The food is different at the grill top and better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Egg Harbor NJ

Nice hotel dirty beach water

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Hotel, food and pools. The beach was nice but not the water.
Location: Take excursion as you like
We traveled with another couple July 4th to the 11th 2014. We have gone to many all inclusives in the past 15 years. I think we are experts. We loved the hotel, pools and beach but the water was dirty with seaweed and some trash (cups, plastic bags). The beach was clean and they picked up the seaweed daily. The sand was very fine and did not get hot. Food was excellent except for the Italian which we all hated. We did not go to the Mexican or Indian. We went two times to the Spice and two times to the Lopster House and once to the French and a buffet on the beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable but our friends room smelled of mildew. The hotel was quick to try to fix it but didn't. All was good except for the dirty sea and the smelly room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - but fell short of 5 stars.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: The swim-up pool is nice and the food and drinks make for a wonderful compliment to the ocean views and comfortable amenities.
Cons: The hotel appears to be much older than the Cancun site. It seemed like the maintenance done on the site was poor. Staff was not as friendly as Cancun
Location: Mayan Ruins are our favorite along with the Snorkeling
This was our first time at the Riviera Maya location - we've stayed before at the Mujeres location on prior vacations. The Excellence properties seem to have it together - the food is great, the service is good and the grounds are usually well maintained. We gave the location a 4 because of the poor maintenance on the grounds - it's a nice place, but it was a shame to see mold and cracks in the pool and shower. We also did not have good luck with room service - both times the food was old and under a warmer for a long time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Bad experience at check in

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Housekeeping good but inconcistent Food generally excellent with some glaring excections
Cons: Internet was totally useless. Pool areas not cleaned for days. Authenticity of Italian restaurant very poor. Breakfast buffet stripped down
Location: Location is great, near airport
We arrived at 1PM after spending 5 great days at Secrets Resort. We were really looking forward to Excellence because of our previous experinces there. The desk said our room would be ready in less than 1 hour so we went to the lobby bar to wait and get a drink. After about 1 and ½ hours we checked on the room. We were then told it would be 2 more hours until the room was ready. We then gave up waiting and went to the pool. After 2 more hours we returned to check on our room once again. Somehow at the pool the pager we were given got wet. Either someone spilled something on it or splashed it or something. They are designed as coasters to survive getting wet and will be fine once it dries out. The woman at the front desk then told us we would not be able to check in at all and should leave unless we gave her $50 in Cash. Having no choice we paid the $50. I do not know her name because she had no nametag. We asked to see the manager but was told they were all in meetings. I do not appreciate extortion. Finally, after 5PM, we got our keys and went to the room. The room we were given smelled like raw sewage and had no air conditioning at all. We then went back and told them the problems and went to dinner. After dinner the room was exactly the same. I then went to the Concierge. She sent maintenance to the room. After another 1 ½ hours they pronounced the A/C dead and the night manager arranged for a different room. We finally got to our room at 8:30