Ratings based on 1,161 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A-MAZING!!! You will NOT regret it!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
This place is amazing!!! Very relaxing and beautiful! The people are wonderful and extremely friendly! The food is great and the service at the restaurants is spot on! From the moment we arrived everything was wonderful, front the front desk to the house keeping! Very clean and well maintenanced resort. We will for sure be going back!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Food, Pools, staff
Cons: Offer scuba diving from the resort, include a jazz band.
Food, staff, and facilities are excellent. This is by far the best resort, I have ever stayed at, you WILL get your monies worth.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Awesome

Posted Aug 14, 2014
One of the best vacations I have been on. Everyone was nice and the food was the best part. I would go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami,Florida

Nice Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 14, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC, Canada

Relaxing time in paradise,

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Very nice Hotel, good for couples, nice pools, nice beach, food above average , room with jacuzzi . Only negative: the ocean it self is dirty and there is no big waves like in the hotel zone of cancun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Our spa session was amazing and well worth the money. Our spa valet, Gerardo, was wonderful and made the experience as good as it could possibly be.
Cons: The drink service during at the breakfast was very slow. This was our only real complaint. Be prepared for a wait at the more popular restaurants.
Location: The gated property allowed us to stay separate from everyone else.
We had a great time. The staff was excellent and were as very helpful. The concierge arranged our excursion and it went off like clock work. The food was generally very good and room service arrived quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Wonderful resort. Food was alright but the Asian restaurant is hands down the best. So amazing! Had a blast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Wonderful honeymoon

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Drinks were great. Just ask for what you want. Make requests like "margarita with Cuervo and Grand Marnier" and they will give it to you.
Cons: The sand fleas on the beach after sunset were bad. My feet were in the sand and they were bitten terribly. Thankfully I brought cortison cream with me
Location: Kayaks and catamarans were fun off the beach. The water had sea grass so go elsewhere if you want pristine water. Whale sharks were awesome excursion!
We randomly choose the Excellence a week before our wedding for our honeymoon. What a great choice! It was just perfect. The pools are fairly quiet. The swim up bar can get a little rowdy but that's to be expected. The lazy river and other pools are so quiet, almost spa-like, that it makes up for any of that. Plus it's nice to switch it up and chat with strangers over a drink too. The food was great. The Mexican restaurant, Agave, was excellent. The chicken mole was great, the stuffed poblano, and the hanger steak were excellent. The Indian restaurant, Basmati, was out of this world. Order the lamb, vegetable masala, chicken korma, chicken vindaloo, garlic naan, the 3 sauces, etc.... (spelling may be wrong) everything was so yummy. Breakfast at the Lobster House is the way to go!! Skip Barcelona buffet if you don't care about having a "make your own omelette" or some American and Mexican breakfast food. The entertainment team was fantastic. The fire show, the authentic Mexican dancing, and Columbian dancers, the "strong men" show, and even the Michael Jackson show were really good. These dancers could be in music videos or on "dancing with the stars," they were that good. We realize a lot of people were not as interested in the shows as us, but if you love visual arts, you will love the shows. No need to do the Excellence Club, our room was beautiful, large, had a spa tub and balcony, and all of the staff waited on us as if we were "special" guests. No need to pay extra!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good all adult resort

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The spa
Cons: Concerigne awful!
Overall, it was one of the nicer hotels/resorts I have visited in Mexico. The housekeeping and spa staff were excellent! The spa in particular was above average! I don't think there is a spa experience anywhere in LA close to this resort! I think the concerigne could have been more accommodating! We rented a car through one of their onsite vendors, but the process to get the car was terrible! The hotel made us return the car to a different resort when we finished, this took over an hour! It also took 2 days to get a car rental arranged! Therefore, if you need transportation, you better arrange it before you arrive at resort, the concerigne was lost! The resort assured us there would be a big Mexican food outside buffet our last night, then without proper notice, the event was cancelled so we had to go back to room, change clothes so we could eat at inside restaurant. The dress code was so annoying, in 90-100 degree weather my fiancé had to wear long pants,dress shirts, closed shoes...while women were allowed to wear bathing suit coverups and flip flops... It made no sense! I also found a few of the bartenders and front desk staff less than polite! Read resort policies before you book this resort! It is not for everyone ... I will more than likely not stay again... Need a place with better concerigne and with more resort flexibility !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Arlington, Tx

3rd stay at the Excellence

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Be aware that this resort does not guarantee a king size bed for their Excellence Club, Ocean Front rooms. We ended up in a room with two doubles. Not what we had in mind for our romantic get-away. After spending a couple of hours speaking to the hotel staff, they agreed to move us the following day. I understand the Excellence Resort north of Cancun does not have this same issue, so we will book that hotel in the future. We love this resort, but don't want to risk this happening again.