Ratings based on 1,407 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Excellent service and great place!

Posted May 21, 2015
Wonderful stay the only complaint is we wish they cleaned the room in the morning not afternoon when we were trying to take a little nap. Overall we were very satisfied with the experience!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

The name says it all! "Excellence"

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: The service provided by the Staff is Excellent! All the restaurant menu served Excellent Food. Julian Avila, made our Anniversary very special!
Cons: To step in hot tub is very low near the beach.
Location: There are many actives to do right at the resort. But you can always venture out on a sightseeing tour.
We celebrated our 40th Anniversary here at the Excellence and we enjoyed everything the resort had to offer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, Ontario

Five Stars is Not Enough... Needs 10 Stars...!

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: Absolutely Everything!
Cons: Absolutely Nothing!
Location: Tulum, Coba, Ziplining, Cenotes, Dolphins & Turtles!
Where do I begin to describe the Excellence of This Resort?? ~ First Words Staff Spoke To Us Were... "Welcome Home".. ~ Seamless Check-in... Met with Champagne & Cold Lavender Scented Facecloths.. ~ Literally Didn't Open One Door Except My Room Door... Room 6114.. ~ Miile Spa was Absolute Paradise.. Massage Therapists Were Second To None.. ~ Best Hydrotherapy & Massages My Husband and I Ever Experienced... ~ Restaurants, Food & Drinks Were Superb & Mouthwatering ~ Incredible Selection.. ~ Spotless LARGE Room & Balcony with Mini Bar Fridge Plentifully Stocked Daily.. ~ Fresh Roses, Rose Petals & "Swan Towels" Decorated Our Room Every Day... ~ So There Is A Pillow Menu... Yes... A Pillow Menu... :-) ~ Lovely Turn-Down Evening Service Complete With High Quality Chocolates... ~ Resort is Very Intimate So You Don't Feel "Lost"... ~ Grounds are Immaculately Groomed...Resident Iguanas are Adorable... ~ No Garbage Anywhere... No Food or Room Service Trays Left Laying Around... ~ All Staff were SO Polite, Helpful and Catered To Our Every Need.. ~ Pools were Sparkling and Ample Beach Towels Available.. ~ Beach was Very Clean & Lots of Lounge Chairs Available... ~ Evening Entertainment Was Varied & Fun!... ~ There is NOTHING Negative About This Resort... :-) During Our Week Stay At The Excellence Riviera Cancun We Were Treated Like Royalty and It Was Very Hard To Return To Normal Life... We Are Returning in February 2016
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington

If your even considering this resort!!!

Posted May 10, 2015
Pros: The staff, pools, drinks, food etc.
Cons: There was a lot of seaweed.
Location: The location is not far from the airport. Taxi ride was around 500 paseos $35.00. Not bad at all. Very quiet area!
If your even considering this resort... Do not hesitate for one single moment! This resort is awesome as well as the staff and activities! This was my first all inclusive experience and I do have to admit it's kind of weird at first, but definitely got adjusted quickly. Hands down this place is awesome!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Perfect place

Posted May 9, 2015
Hotel Excellence is correct name. Amazing holiday! The location, room, hotel facilities & food all amazing! Would def go back. Staff all so friendly & helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kansas

Nice all inclusive in Riviera Maya

Posted May 6, 2015
Our stay at Excellence Riviera Cancun was a great experience. We have visited the area multiple times, but this was our first stay at ERC. The spa was amazing! The resort was beautiful. Good food, drinks and helpful staff. I would recommend this resort to anyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Truly Excellent!

Posted May 6, 2015
My wife and I spent 5 nights at this resort during the last week of April. I had never stayed at an all inclusive resort before and had never even been to Mexico. All I can say is WOW!! This place is amazing. The hotel staff is top notch from the greeter at the door to the check in counter, the concierge, the wait staff, cleaning staff, etc. Everyone is so friendly and all stop what they are doing as you pass by to simply smile or say hello. The food was outstanding. Our favorite restaurant was Basmati (Indian food). We also really enjoyed the french restaurant. We looked forward to hanging out in the Martini bar before dinner for a drink. The entertainment on site was exceptional and high quality. There was really no need to leave the resort. Of course, there are many options for excursions and the concierge will help you to arrange them but we just wanted to hang out and relax at this 5 star resort. The pools were fun and clean with multiple options. The main pool had a swim up bar and was more lively. Other pools were quiet and isolated for a more relaxing setting. The rooms are clean and very nice. Beds were comfy. Some rooms were being renovated but I never once saw or heard construction. Our room had not yet been updated but was still quite nice. Room service is available 24/7 and is quite good and very fast. We enjoyed it in the mornings each day. We can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Greensboro, NC

Posted May 3, 2015
Overall, great time and the staff is excellent. Hotel is showing a little age but still in excellent condition. Food and restaurants are fantastic. Pools were great. The seaweed wasn't as bad as we had heard but still present. Swim up room was excellent. Housekeeping can be a little slow but they do a great job. Just remember your on vacation and time moves differently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bettendorf iowa

cliche but it's in the name!!!

Posted May 3, 2015
This was our third trip to the excellence Riviera Cancun resort. Again we loved our stay . The staff was friendly and always ready to help. There were so many people I can't remember most of the names but the service at all the bars and restaurants was phenomenal. Moses at the excellence bar outside was the best. I would highly recommend upgrading to the excellence club. I love the concierge service at the pool and on the beach and you never have to worry about fighting for a beach chair in the morning if you upgrade to the excellent club. there are also many of the perks that come along with being an excellent club member. There is definitely no shortage of restaurants or bars throughout the resort you have your choice of French Italian Mexican and several other restaurants. I have seen other reports that people have complained about some of the restaurants but you're never going to please everyone.I have also seen reports that people complain about the seaweed on the beach I found the reason for this has something to do with having the second largest reef in the world and being so close to the shore. It was windy a couple of days and we had a lot of seaweed but after a few days when the winds died down and the seas calmed the seaweed was gone they also do their best to clean the beach as much as possible when there are days like these. l'm not going to complain about something the resort cannot really control. I would always highly recommend this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fredrikstad, norge

Flott hotell rett på stranden

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Nydelig hotell rett på en vakker strand. Ingen koraller. Fine solsenger og cabbanaer. På excellens stranden er det drink serverving. Den andre vet jeg ikke. God mat fra mange fine restauranter. Flotte og service innstilt personale. Gode showet og mange aktiviteter. Ingen ting å gjøre rett i nærheten men det finnes jo taxi. Et herlig sted å feriere.