Ratings based on 1,259 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice property, almost perfect

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Second time staying at an Excellence property. Very nice, only downsides were cold pools in December and part of the resort smelled like sewage at certain times, thankfully not where our rooms were though (bldg. 9).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Best Resort out there!!

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, beach, pool
Cons: Nothing
Location: The hotel is only 20-25 min from CUN, the beach is great and many day adventures available.
The place is in great shape, the staff and welcoming and the food is fabulous. There is always something to do or you can choose to do nothing and enjoy the scenery!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Disappointing...

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: The spa was excellent.
Cons: Food. How about some fresh, locally caught seafood...
Location: There is not much nearby. One day we walked to the town - about 45 minute walk along the beach.
We had stayed at another resort, Now Jade, a few years ago. We loved it with the exception the food was only mediocre. A friend raved about Excellence, including the food. We were expecting excellent food and it wasn't even as good as Now Jade. The rooms weren't as nice or roomy. There was not even a dresser to put our clothes, only a closet. In each location we stayed in the preferred sections. Now Jade was much nicer. The vacation cost us considerably more at Excellence and it was disappointing that it didn't live to our expectations. I would not return - perhaps next time we may try a resort in Playa del Carmen where we can go to some local restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom S

Very nice beautiful landscape

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Great service, very friendly, we would recomend it to our spoiled friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Beautiful hotel. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Top-Notch All-Inclusive

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Proximity to airport, quality of facilities, staff, atmosphere.
My wife and I had a great experience at the Excellence Riviera Cancun celebrating our anniversary. The staff was great -- attentive, courteous, and eager to please. All meals were good -- we liked Basmati the best. The atmosphere was relaxing and peaceful (we're not interested in a loud party scene) and the entertainment in the evenings was enjoyable (we particularly liked Bohemian night). We had two minor issues come up but the staff addressed them and offered appropriate compensation. We will definitely return to Excellence Rivera Cancun in the future and will highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago Area

Very Nice resort! Great Restaurants! Great Staff!

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Cons: only negative was bed was firmer than my liking. They did furnish a matress topper which helped somewhat.
Enjoyed the many Restaurants & Bars! Lots of Swimming Pools & hot tubs! Really enjoyed the Excellence Club Features. Staff were very attentive accommodating! Great Bang for the Buck!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, Oh

Perfect resort

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The environment, the food and the staff
Cons: The deserts could be better, they fell flat. The drinks could be stronger too.
I will be returning ASAP, second trip to excellence and not disappointed. Love it.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom El Segundo

It's Just Ok

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: The resort grounds was was well maintained, allot of space to relax and lounge. Pool areas spread around resort was nice.The spa was awesome.
Cons: The smell in the room. I had to light incense everyday.
Location: It was close to airport, Tulum & Playa Del Carmen
The resort was was well maintained, allot of space to relax and lounge. Negatives were: staff were not as friendly as other resorts I've stayed at, room had an odor like mildew & wet towel. The sheets felt moist and pillow was flat. A jaccuzi out in the open next to the bed was odd/weird. I expected more from a top notch resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas, TX

Top notch hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The rooms were clean and comfortable, the service was impeccable, and the facilities were great.
Location: We took an excursion to Selvatica when we were there and loved it! The zip-lines and ATVs were great and the staff were a lot of fun
My wife and I traveled here from December 3 - 8 of this year and we had an absolute blast. The staff were incredibly helpful and courteous - nothing was ever too much trouble for them. We stayed in the Club section of the resort (would recommend) and loved the cabanas on the beach, relaxing as the days passed us by. We would definitely recommend the hotel and will be looking to return!