Ratings based on 1,360 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ridgewood, nj

True relaxation

Posted Apr 1, 2015
No signing out towels. No making restaurant reservations. Attentive staff that will listen to your requests and go above and beyond if needed. Rooms are well appointed and the grounds are nice. The beach was meh and the food could be a little better, but the selection is great and the quality is very high for an all inclusive. Well worth the value.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom MN

Decent stay, but not without problems.

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Nice grounds, good restaurant variety, nice rooms, access to bars and restaurants, good evening entertainment, sandy beach.
Cons: Inconsistent service, poor housekeeping, worn out/broken beach chairs, inconsistent food, poor response to problems, weedy/smelly beach.
Location: There are many things close to the hotel (Mayan ruins, snorkeling, cenotes, etc), and the tour companies on site were helpful in planning excursions.
Overall we mostly enjoyed our stay, but there were some annoying things I wouldn't expect to deal with at such a highly rated and fairly expensive resort (or any hotel for that matter). The resort and grounds are fairly nice, and reasonably well maintained. The beach was not so great. Many of the chairs were worn out or broken. The beach also had a thick row of seaweed, and there were tractors and front end loaders going back and forth much of the day. Not pleasant. The smell of rotting seaweed also permeated throughout the resort. I've never seen this further south. The food was a mixed bag. Some meals were quite good, and others were really poor. If you’re expecting “gourmet” you will be disappointed. If you’re expecting mostly food you’d find in a decent, not great restaurant I think you’ll be satisfied. Service was also a mixed bag. Housekeeping did not replace bottled water in the fridge, or toilet paper in the bathroom. You need abundant bottled water because you can’t drink water out of the tap. We called the front desk, politely asked to have items replaced, but nothing ever happened. We were going to the bars to restock our mini fridge ourselves, and finally had to go to the front desk in person to get it resolved. Service at the bars and restaurants was also mixed. For much of our stay we felt like service was lacking, and the staff couldn't be bothered to do even the most basic things. Not terrible overall, but annoying, and not what you’d expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

Excellent service

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Service was great again. This was our second stay at an Excellence property and would go back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mosinee, WI

You can't beat this resort!

Posted Mar 29, 2015
The resort staff are super friendly and very helpful. The resort itself is in a great location, awesome beach, and great food. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Excellent All-Inclusive with Incredible Amenities

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: We loved everything about the hotel and appreciated all that the staff put into making it a memorable, relaxing vacation for all visitors.
Cons: We had to request a mattress topper for our bed due to it being pretty hard. They brought one right away and it helped quite a bit.
Location: We stayed at the resort the entire time of our visit. Make sure to book a shuttle prior to your visit, preferably a private one as it is well worth it
We did a bit of research prior to booking at the Excellence Riveria Maya and ultimately choose this resort based on the reviews we read, specifically the restaurants. We wanted a resort with healthy and plentiful options and this resort has nailed it! We were so pleased to have options ranging from authentic Mexican and French to garden fresh salad bars (very clean) and a smoothie bar (prob too much sugar). The staff were incredibly helpful and hard-working. We were shocked with the number of employees on staff and how hard they worked. The lazy river side of the resort was relaxing, quiet and peaceful which provided a perfect place for relaxing all day long. Many people complain about the seaweed on the beach but we weren't bothered by it and the staff did an excellent job of keeping the beach clean. They can't control the ocean tide, so relax and enjoy the view, the sunrise and sunset! This is a wonderful escape and we would come back in a heartbeat. In fact, several guests we spoke with return year after year because of their satisfaction with the resort. Please do bring cash for tipping, preferably ones and fives. The staff work hard and get paid wages but they earn and deserve every bit of their tips. We typically left $2 at the table when we dined at the buffet and $5 when we were at table service restaurants. We also tipped the bellhop, room service, bartenders and housekeeping - again it's up to you but $2-$5 depending on the service. Bring plenty of sunscreen!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Almost Perfect!

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: Service, Wi-Fi connection, cleanliness, great food, beach, ocean, location
Cons: 1. have more restaurants open for lunch 3. entertainment shows and live music 4. bikes at gym
As my title says - this was an experience near to perfection, probably most disappointing were nightly shows. Must be more entertaining and target US/Canadian audience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama

Excellent resort.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Everything was comfortable and service was excellent.
Nice rooms with good view. Choice of many restaurants. Plenty food and rinks. Beautiful grounds. Enjoyed the lazy river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Salt Lake City

Perfect Beach Resort

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Staff is awesome, food was great! Other people raved about the French restaurant but my group all thought the Indian place was by far the best food.
Cons: They have a variety of pillow options. I failed to order extra pillows on my first night and the one that was on the bed wasn't good.
Location: We hardly left the resort. We didnt feel we needed to. They have lots of excursion options but enjoyed every minute staying at the resort.
This place was everything I hoped it would be. I did the swim up suite room which I highly recommend. Be sure to take enough long pants to wear at dinner, almost all of the restaurants require them. The ocean front at the resort is not ideal for swimming (a lot of seaweed), but the beach is very nice and I recommend this place anyway. (We did swim in the ocean a bit anyway). Be sure when you arrive at your room, test your pillow and order more or different ones if you need. My first night sleep wasn't great because the pillow on the bed wasn't good, but I ordered others for the rest of the trip and they were fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Nashville, TN

Have sent 3 other couples here after us! BOOK IT!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING. but especially the amazing number of pools and chairs! The poolside service was amazing. I was never without a drink, towel, pool mat.
Cons: I wish that we could have stayed longer. And I wish that it were cheaper so we could go more often! but the quality is so worth the reasonable price!
Location: We rented a car and drove the the next city over to explore. We hopped on a Ferry to La Isla Mujeres and had a blast exploring the local restaurants!
My husband and I booked this hotel for our ten year anniversary. We can not wait to go back!!! The pictures online did not do it justice. The resort IS Excellence. Everything is immaculate. The staff was tremendously on point with their hospitality and joyful attitudes. The entertainment each night was so Fun - catch the Fire Show if you can! And the food was incredible - so many options. We had Indian food at our Wedding and the Indian restaurant was such a treat. We loved that you did not need reservations and that the food was delicious at each different restaurant - every time. My husband was a huge fan of the onsite Humidor and Cigar Bar - and my only regret is that I did not partake in any of the Spa Amenities. There was Plenty of chairs at the many pools or on the beach. No need to get up early and fight for the perfect spot. EVERY WHERE was the perfect spot! The pools, the bars, the food, the beach, the HUGE rooms, the service - i could not rate this place higher. We will recommend this EVERY time to anyone looking for a vacation spot. We have sent THREE other couples here since we got home. And every couple has agreed with our review. WORTH it. We just wish we could have stayed LONGER!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom St-Jérôme,Qc,Canada

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: Tout
Cons: Renouvellement des chaises de plage
L'ensemble du complexe est parfait, qualité de la restauration,propreté du site.Il n'y a rien à redire de cet hôtel.