Ratings based on 1,384 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Gorgeous Hotel. Loved all the tropical flowers!

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: You felt like you were in paradise! Elegant restaurants, tropical flowers everywhere. Very clean indoors and out. Plenty of pools. Nothing was crowded
Cons: Bathroom lighting - very hard to put makeup on in the dark. Few more menu choices for a "picky" eater. A place to hear some music and slow dance.
Location: We did go for a walk to the little village
1st impression of this hotel, WOW!! Very beautiful, colorful flowers everywhere, staff very friendly. The swim up room we had was awesome! Building 2, close to everything. Everything negative you ready about this hotel, forget it, those people must have a problem. Hotel over the top! Rooms wonderful, beds comfortable, hot tubs inside and out -perfect (could use something to hold curtain outside in place so wind doesn't blow it) Lazy river so relaxing. We were there April 15-20, 2015, water was cool in mornings but by afternoon felt like bathwater! Large bottles of shampoo, conditioner, body wash and lotion so no need to bring those. Included a toothbrush, sewing kit, razor, Q-tips so if you forgot those. There was 1 heated pool by building 6, the handicap accessible pool. Bars everywhere you turned but the drinks were not strong. It took a while in restaurants to get your food but a nice 1-1 1/2 hrs to spent time together romantically is not all bad either! Food was good, a little limited on the choices for "American" tastebuds but I found something at most restaurants and it was delicious. Spice was the best. As for the beach beautiful, easy access and they did an excellent job of keeping seaweed raked up. Water was warm, seaweed didn't stick to you and sandy bottom for a little ways in, just enough to enjoy it and say you were in the Caribbean Sea! Only wish there was some dancing at night but after a full day in the sun, we were pretty tired anyway. Remember to tip!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Luxury with all of the amenities that you could ho

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Quiet location with amazing grounds, friendly staff and great food
Cons: better coffee. We are used to a good cup of coffee and it was very weak and strange tasting.
Just got back from our 10 night stay. This was our first time in Mexico and we are now spoiled for anything else and plan to go back. We had a swim up suite that truly was only a few steps from the lazy river. The food in all of the restaurants was excellent with lots of choices. One of the best parts of the vacation, other than the surroundings were the staff. Everyone says hello and bends over backward to make your stay enjoyable. I spent a lot of time people watching and whether they received a tip or not, the staff always seemed happy to be serving their guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommend!

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: Great food and clean.
Cons: Restaurant music was all over the place, from elevator music to Mexican rap! Could be more relaxing. Keep coffee cup full.....
Just a great resort. Great food, clean, friendly, and loved the layout of the resort. Would love to come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Had a great time at this resort. Excellence club was worth it-we didn't have to leave the pool to get drinks...she just brought them to us. Rooms were sparkling clean and turndown service was fun. Food was excellent everywhere we went - especially love the French place. Service was excellent everywhere. Can't say enough good things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent attentive staff

Posted Apr 19, 2015
All fine. The only thing I didn't like was having the bath in the room and not being able to close of the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Nice resort, a little big for our liking

Posted Apr 19, 2015
The resort was beautiful and food was wonderful! You did have to get up pretty early to be able to find a spot by the main pool, but there were many spots by the other pools. The staff were good, but being a bigger resort than we were used to, we didn't get the same service we were used to. Also, being in a more traveled area, the beach was not secluded and had lots of seaweed and traffic. The sand on the beach, though, was so soft!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Beautiful beautiful beautiful

Posted Apr 19, 2015
The grounds, buildings and rooms are so beautiful and super clean. The workers are very nice, personable and more than willing to help in any way needed. The only slightly negative thing i have to say is the food is about a 7.5 out of 10. Nothing was bad, just not as flavorful and special at times as u would expect when compared to the other qualities of the resort. The flavor market, the grill and the french restaurant were our favorites. Oh and barcelonas buffet was always good. The other thing is the smell of the resort, which i think is the cleaners used started to get to me by the end of our trip. It wasnt a dirty smell or funky just different. I dont know how to describe it. But it definitely wasnt a dirty smell. Overall it was an amazing time and experience and i would def recommend it to friends and family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Wonderful experience. Top notch resort. I only wish they have a faster and more reliable WiFi. Will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom w

Excellente

Posted Apr 14, 2015
We have gone here twice and their sister hotel in playa mujeres 7 times. We stick with a good thing !!!!! We are tryin the excellence in punta Cana in dec and I'm sure it's going to be awesome too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Suburban Philadelphia, PA

Lives up to its name

Posted Apr 14, 2015
This is the second time I have stayed at Excellence Riviera Maya, and I have stayed at the Excellence at Playa Mujeres once. Both facilities live up to the name excellence. The facilities are in perfect condition and are clearly maintained. The staff are exceptional and everyone was pleasant in every interaction, which is hard to maintain, even in the service industry. My only complaint was that the bed was firmer than I like and the pillow not as supportive as I like, but that is my preference and may not be an issue for someone else. I would definitely stay here a third time, and would recommend to anyone.