Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, service is superb...!

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: The beach is in restoration.
Location: Tulum, Playa del Carmen.
The service is superb, the architecture is second to none. Greatly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lam

The staff is the best

Posted Oct 4, 2014
The children menu is very limited and I have a hard time with that
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear im a new yorker, Thank you for your review. Our chefs prepare children menus that balance all-time favorites along with nutritious and balanced dishes. I am sorry to hear you found the menus limited. Next time you visit us, please let us know if you have special requirements. The menus are available upon request by contacting us prior to arrival. Regards, Sven Richter Gerente del Hotel Fairmont Mayakoba
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Our stay was lovely.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: The hotel was beautiful and the casita was comfortable.
Cons: Our room could have been vacuum a little more. Crumbs on the carpet. Our sheets had a couple small holes.
Location: We are in our seventies and it was a little far to our room, but we managed and the casita overlooked the lagoon, which was nice.
We enjoyed playing the golf course, the greens were a little hard to putt on. Enjoyed our boat rides and the boat drivers were well informed about the area and sights. Everyone was helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bloomfield, nj

Almost 5 star. Hotel needs minor upgrades

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Service, food, cleanliness, all 5 star. Small beach. Resort can use some minor upgrades.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Beautiful hotel close to beach

Posted Aug 20, 2014
What a beautiful tranquil place. Bicycle transportation everywhere....very relaxed staff very eager to assist in any way. Delicious food. Husband left very expensive pair of sunglasses poolside and they were waiting for him at the loss prevention center.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tx

As a hotel in the jungle away from the beach

Posted Aug 17, 2014
You have to take a cart to go to the pool or the beach, all this distance, the sea doesn't look. Never again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear Emmy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear you didn’t find your accommodations to your satisfaction. Contrary to a traditional beach resort, Fairmont Mayakoba’s grounds comprise five different ecosystems. This gives us the opportunity to offer our valued guests the option to select the type of accommodations that they prefer, ranging from rooms with views to the tropical forest, protected mangrove, pools, our navigable water canals, the golf course, and the beach. I recommend selecting the room type according to preferences, and ask as many questions as possible to make sure your selection is perfect for you. Kind regards, Sven Richter Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Quiet and peaceful resort

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: The resort grounds, ambience, and the courteous staff.
Cons: Internet service should be free for resort guests.
Location: We went to Xel-Ha - which was about 40 minutes from the resort; Also to Xcaret - which was about 20 minutes from the resort.
Fairmont Mayakoba is a beautiful resort. The service was exceptional. From early morning breakfast buffets to evening dinner buffets, the food was plentiful and the resort grounds a pleasure to explore. The staff were very helpful in recommending excursions outside the resort and were very friendly. Thanks to Alexander at La Brisas for introducing me to La Paloma and for making our evenings fun and to Juan Carlos for all of his suggestions of the best places to visit. I am sure my family will heading to this resort again sometime in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbell Ca.

This is by far the best hotel and hotel staff ever

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Alexander, Abraham, and Fransisco at the bar on the beach were the most friendly, knowledgable, and kind people I met on my trip. The entire staff is friendly as well. The resort is gorgeous. I would tell anyone to stay at the Fairmont Mayakoba!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic. This is a winner!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Hotel fantastic. Staff is superb. Food and accommodations are amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your visit and for your review. We hope you visit us again! Regards, Beatriz Fuentes Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Staff to guest ratio was the worst I've ever encountered in mexico. We had a long wait to check in. No bell boy greeting when we arrived via taxi. Service at the pool and beach was almost non-existant. We had long waits to be seated for breakfast every morning. The rooms were wonderful. Very spacious. Very clean. Food was also wonderful. Overall, I think it was extremely overpriced and I will never return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
We sincerely appreciate your feedback on your stay at Fairmont Mayakoba. I regret to know you experienced long waits at the restaurant, and at the pools and beach. You are right, we experienced some long waiting periods at the restaurants just recently, and we are working hard to correct this. Thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and the quality of the food at our restaurants. We hope you can give us another opportunity and visit us again in the future. Sincerely, Sven Richter Hotel Manager Fairmont Mayakoba, Riviera Maya