Ratings based on 503 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

EXPENSIVE!!

Posted May 27, 2015
I thought I had booked an all inclusive hotel. Apparently not! I had to pay an extra $20 per person per day. The gym is an extra $10.00 per day. Cocktails are around $12.00 and not as strong. $30 for breakfast buffet per person, and nothing special about the food. Then, lunch and dinner were by menu only, and most dishes were $30 or up, and they had a small portion of food on the plate. If you wanted to go into town to get cheaper food, you have to take a taxi, which would cost $40.00 round trip. There most exciting feature is there trail with a river and mangroves. If I wanted to see mangroves, I can go to Florida for that. Supposively, they are known for their PGA standard golf course, which you have to pay extra. I have been to resorts that are just as beautiful, but cheaper and better food. I am never going to this resort again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, Ca

Wonderful getaway!

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Everything, with the exception of the on-property transportation.
Cons: We loved the on-property transportation, but nothing was "on demand." There were a few times we were left waiting - a call button would be wonderful!
Location: Close to downtown Playa for shopping and exploring, and other resorts for dining. Great proximity to the day-trip destinations as well.
Our stay at the Fairmont was nothing short of amazing. The staff was impeccable; it's refreshing to receive such great service! The resort is absolutely beautiful and offers multiple dining choices with solid service and food. Additionally, we loved being able to choose between the multiple pools and the beach, based on how we were feeling each day. We also had a few last minute requests, that typically would take 24 hours notice, that the staff was more than happy to help with (flower arrangements and other birthday amenity requests). Overall it was one of the best vacations we have had; Fairmont Mayakoba definitely sets itself apart!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom san frrancisco, ca

Beautiful location, beach was not inviting

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: I liked that it was spread out and never really felt crowded.
Cons: It would be nice if there were more dining options. The reservations for dinner were hard to get at the fairmont and nearby hotels.
Location: Playa Del carmen has fun unique restaurants and great shopping
This was a great location for a quiet getaway as a couple. Grounds and staff were excellent. The beach was filled with seaweed that never stopped coming in . They cleaned it regularly but it was tough to swim in and not inviting for taking dips. It was also windy and rough in the water . We heard that the beach has been this way all year, and it's not normal. The restaurants were limited at the fairmont, as only two were open. There are two other resorts nearby (rosewood & the banyan tree) but the reservation options were limited or not available. Because of this we had most of our dinners in playa del carmen which was great. The cab ride is a out 10 minutes away and was $17 each way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2015
We had a wonderful experience. The staff was fantastic, always helpful, and the grounds are so beautiful. Little drive to Playa, but we had a rental car so not a problem. Food is a bit overpriced for what you get. Unless you are eating the all-inclusive food, get out and try the local eateries. We stayed in a Casita room overlooking the mangrove waterways. Really relaxing and interesting how the grounds are set up. Overall, great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Westchester, NY

Great relaxation getaway!

Posted May 19, 2015
My sister and I are both in medical school and we took a trip to Mayakoba to relax between semesters... It was such a beautiful resort and the staff was very helpful but not pushy like at some places (ask you if you want a drink or food poolside but don't follow you around and keep asking). All of the staff was extremely helpful and kind. They made the beds and cleaned the rooms twice a day which was also great. The resort itself is beautiful and the food was delicious! They also provide golf carts and bikes to get around as well as a free boat tour. There is a $20/per person per night fee which includes wifi. We would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Cons: Siendo un hotel familiar, sorprende que no tengan rampas y accesos para carreolas. Falta opciones de alimentos. Los restaurantes son muy caros.
En general muy bien. Muy ameno, limpio y con excelentes instalaciones.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Everything they say it is and more!

Posted May 16, 2015
Well to sum it all up just go! -get the all inclusive for 700us its worth it because you can get it at the hotel but its 200 per day per person -they are in the midst of upgrading all their restaurants one by one -staff is absolutely top notch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Familiar

Posted May 6, 2015
Excelente parandisfrutar en familia, la pasanos increible con mis 3 hijos en la alberca, tobogan y el mar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom mexico

muy bien, lo recomiendo

Posted Apr 23, 2015
la pasamos muy bonito lo recomiendo para parejas!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chambersburg, PA

Beautiful resort with wonderful staff

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The grounds were wonderful, and the staff couldn't have been nicer and more friendly. No question was too silly, nor any request unreasonable.
Cons: I wish at least one of the pools was open after dusk.
Location: The location is about 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, and a quick taxi ride. We stayed mostly on the property and didn't feel the need to venture.
The hotel installation is absolutely wonderful. Though it's a huge area, the mangroves and foliage makes each area feel small and contained. We stayed in an ocean area casita with a plunge pool, and couldn't have picked a cooler, more awesome room. We definitely used the plunge pool and the balconies. We booked a regular room, so the surprise upgrade was just a lot of icing on the trip cake. The large area was still easy to get around because of the resort provided transportation. The restaurants are excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear Gil, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are delighted to hear you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you in the future for another memorable stay!