Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom mexico

muy bien, lo recomiendo

Posted Apr 23, 2015
la pasamos muy bonito lo recomiendo para parejas!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chambersburg, PA

Beautiful resort with wonderful staff

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The grounds were wonderful, and the staff couldn't have been nicer and more friendly. No question was too silly, nor any request unreasonable.
Cons: I wish at least one of the pools was open after dusk.
Location: The location is about 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, and a quick taxi ride. We stayed mostly on the property and didn't feel the need to venture.
The hotel installation is absolutely wonderful. Though it's a huge area, the mangroves and foliage makes each area feel small and contained. We stayed in an ocean area casita with a plunge pool, and couldn't have picked a cooler, more awesome room. We definitely used the plunge pool and the balconies. We booked a regular room, so the surprise upgrade was just a lot of icing on the trip cake. The large area was still easy to get around because of the resort provided transportation. The restaurants are excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear Gil, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are delighted to hear you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you in the future for another memorable stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Nice place; Awful check-in experience; Expensive;

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We were downgraded upon check-in and in spite of confirmation numbers, were told our room had been oversold and the entire hotel booked full ( ummm, sure.... ). The room they gave us was similar in layout, but far inferior in views. Really a frustrating experience after traveling long distance with kids. They eventually moved us back into the rooms we had originally booked midway thru the vacation. Packing and unpacking is never fun. They did offer us a rather measly credit for the inconvenience. Otherwise, the hotel is one of the best combinations of luxury and family-friendliness we've found. I couldn't even get my gets to go down to the beach because the main pool is so vast and accommodating. The place is very expensive, as many others have commented. $40 just to get on the treadmill, really? Felt nickeled and dimed the whole time. Budget an extra 20-30% of your quoted stay rate for extras while there. Definitely eat at the other hotels on the Mayakoba property if you have the extra time, as the 3 restaurants onsite, although good quality, get a little repetitious. The entire development is gorgeous and the fit & finish of the properties are 5 star, for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you MPG for taking the time to write a review. Please accept our apologies for the room assignment. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
One of the nicest hotels it has been my pleasure to visit
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased to hear you liked our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota, USA

Beautiful setting, great pools, great staff

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The best thing about this hotel for us was the amazing pools. I think we tried four out of five. The main pool, with its unique shape, was the best.
Cons: We found the restaurant selections a little limited for a family, and too expensive. Playa had much better dining options.
The Fairmont Mayakoba is kind of unique for this area in that very little of it is actually on the beach. The garden view room we had was excellent however. It was spacious and spotless and packed with amenities. The pools were terrific. The beach is so-so, but swimable. The staff here was outstanding. It seemed they could not do enough to make your stay pleasant. We were sorry to miss the boat tour. Lesson learned, book in advance next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for your review. You are right, it is recommended to book the boat tour in advance, as space is limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico City, Mexico

Luxury beach resort with fantastic golf course

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Great location, nice beach, great pools and golf course. Room was spacious and comfortable. Fantastic staff.
Cons: We arrived at 1.00pm and Check in was very busy with both arrivals and departures and could have been a bit faster.
Location: World class golf, fantastic diving, ruins at Tulum, day trip to the beaches on Cozumel, shopping, dining and nightlife in Playa del Carmen
My wife and I left the kids at home for fur days of adult time. Fairmont Mayakoba was a fantastic way to spend those days. The jungle setting provides a bit of privacy and solitude while still being in a large resort with all the facilities you could imagine. The room was spacious and comfortable with a fabulous bathroom that included a deep soaking tub next to a full wall of glass (but shielded by a wooden screen outside the room). The twice daily service meant that the room was always pleasant to come back to after being at the beach or in town in Playa del Carmen. The real kicker is the El Camaleon golf course at Mayakoba. This is a truly world class course and just a fantastic golfing experience. My playing partner and I basically never saw another player during our round, no waiting and no being pushed from behind. Every hole is stunning and the course condition is exceptional. We took advantage of the ability to try the restaurants not only at Fairmont but also at the Rosewood and Banyan Tree resorts which are both located in the Mayakoba complex. This gave us a broader range of dining options and some truly fantastic food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear Vinnie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed playing at El Camaleon (it is the only course in Mexico that hosts an official PGA TOUR event!) We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, for another memorable vacation. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Not a typical beach resort

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Rooms, service, and grounds
Cons: Corporate events closed too many of the hotel areas - restaurants, pools and fields.
My wife and I just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at the Fairmont Mayakoba. We were really not sure what to expect based on all the reviews we read. If you want a resort right on the beach this is probably not the resort for you. If you buy into the eco-tourism concept you will really enjoy the resort. We liked taking the BMW bicycles, boats and electric carts to get around the expansive grounds. Listening to the birds every morning and watching the fish swim by our terrace was a relaxing way to get the day started. What also makes this place special is the service. The front desk manager Christopher was fantastic -we arrived a few hours before check in and spent some time talking with him - he gave us a choice of a few rooms - explaining to us the pros /cons of each room. Some were quieter, closer/further away. We will definitely return in the future but most likely with our older kids - more of a family resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Christopher sends his regards! Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded expectations..

Posted Mar 13, 2015
You will be less interested in the beach after you look at the property here. Beautiful setting! The food is amazing. Service and staff are the best we had encountered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear The Bairds, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the many ecosystems at the hotel. The hotel's layout certainly provides more opportunities to explore and discover the many animals and plants that call Mayakoba home. We hope you visit us often!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Large grounds and good beach

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Beautiful gardens and good food. Plenty of space on the beach and good staff.
Cons: Noise and smell from restaurant
Location: Only there for 2 nights so did not use facilities.
To get anywhere you have to take a cart (they go very often). Unfortunately our bedroom's balcony was opposite one of the restaurants and so the smell of cooking invaded the room when the doors were open. Also the kitchen fan was noisy. Breakfast excellent and staff attentive. Tips expected on all services.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear Wednee, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast service. Please accept our apologies for the opportunities with your room. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Excellent hotel and very family friendly

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Large rooms, very nice pools, wonderful staff, very family friendly and good kids club.
Cons: Larger choice of restaurants and food options, better shower amenities in the room and stronger water pressure, the beach area.
Location: Nearby there are 2 hotels the Banyan Tree and Rosewood with a good selection of restaurants but very pricey.
The Fairmont is a proper 5 star resort with excellent amenities and wonderful staff. The hotel grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. There are several pools and they are all great. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The rooms are large and well equipped although the bathroom showers and water pressure could be improved.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you ER for your review and for recommending us. Sincerely,