Ratings based on 292 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Cons: Internet access was limited in the room and excessively priced.
If you have money, this is the place to be. Excessively priced for the casual vacationer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Beautiful property with incredible staff!

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The staff was ON TOP OF IT........at all times. Anything you needed was there in a jiffy!
Cons: Maybe change up the menus at the restaurants more often just in case some guests would rather not leave the property.
Location: The location is gorgeous and we didn't see any reason to leave the property. My boyfriend golfed and said the golf course was one of the prettiest ev
This hotel is 5 stars! The property is breathtaking, the beds are SO comfortable. They have golf carts that come by every 5 minutes to give you a lift to the beach OR you can just hop on one of the many bikes lying around the property to take a cruise anywhere. This hotel is very kid-friendly, it's definitely not a couples getaway, but it's pretty quiet at night and the beach feels very private.......the whole thing is incredible. We cannot wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio Texas

Nice resort

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The grounds are beautiful and the staff was very welcoming.
Cons: The prices need to be adjusted a little. Breakfast at 30 dollars a day can be rather steep.
Location: The Playa de Carmen downtown was the only place we visited and the prices for anything was high.
We stayed there for 5 days and the resort is very nice. The beach was a little "stinky" and there are rocks that make it hard to play in the water. The pools at the resort did make up for it, but we really wanted to be able to do the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colima, MX

Best Hotel option in Riviera Maya...by FAR!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The hotel area, wáter channels, cenotes, beach area...
Cons: Prices of taxis going to Playa del Carmen are more expensive than going from Playa back to the hotel. More than double
Location: Playa del Carmen, excellent for dinner
Best Choice in Riviera Maya, no hotel in Mexico is as good as this one. This is not your typical huge resort, but a fantastic hotel in a natural reserve, next to a magnificent golf course, I went with three kids, had my doubts about if it was family friendly enough...and it is. Nice beach area, huge pool and good food. Playa del Carmen is 10 minutes away...prices at hotel are a little bit high but it worth it, every penny...probably not best option if you are planning to do xcaret, xelha, and similar attractions, the idea is to stay at hotel.-
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Close to the beach and golf. Staff was friendly. Food was excellent. The casita was very clean and had a beautiful view of the lagoon.
Cons: More night activities for the young adults like dancing, etc. The hotel is very quiet by 9 pm. The hours for the pool should be extended past 5:30.
Location: Location was near Tulum and Xel Ha. However, it is too far from the hotel zone in Cancun but a ferry ride away from Cozumel.
Very relaxing... The food was great. And the accomodations were excellent. The Fairmont is next to a PGA golf course which was in excellent condition. We enjoyed our round of golf. We were also able to enjoy the other restaurants located at other properties within Mayakoba. We also like the fact that they were very eco friendly. You will see a lot of birds and fish especially when you take the boat ride around the property. We will definitely come back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Amazing staff and facilities, food needs upgrading

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Its beauty, the beach and the staff.
Cons: The food at all of the restaurants (our meal at the Lobby Restaurant was inedible). The cold drinks at the Maya Café were always warm .
Location: Take a trip into the Town of Playa del Carmen
Our overall experience was fantastic. I would rate the service and friendliness of their staff as some of the best I have experienced (this includes travel to 5 star resorts in Thailand, Fiji, Hawaii etc.). The staff seemed genuinely happy to be working at the Fairmont. The beach was gorgeous and relaxing and the grounds were spectacularly maintained. However, I would have to state that the overall experience with the different restaurants on the property and on the beach were disappointing. After we discovered the Banyan Tree, we ate all of our meals there which truly lived up to what you would expect at a 5 star resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mayakoba = Paradise

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Complete paradise. Nature reserve within a nature reserve. We were amazed at all the birds species we saw. There is a natural lagoon system that runs through the facility and free boat tours hourly. Strongly recommend doing the boat tour. Food was great, especially the daily breakfast buffet at La Laguna and dinner at Las Brisas. Not too impressed with El Puerto. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beach was not crowded and nice, but there are lots of small rocks at the edge - ouch! Overall, great experience and would strongly recommend to all - couples and families
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Gorgeous room, gorgeous property

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Just returned from an amazing 5-day stay at the Fairmont Mayakoba. The staff was very attentive, making sure all aspects of our trip were beyond our expectations. Frequent golf carts or bicycles are readily available to shuttle you from your room to the beach or pools. The only disappointing part of our stay was the multiple hidden costs--$20/day for wifi (not even free wifi available in lobby) and $10/day for use of the fitness center. These amenities should come standard in a resort of this caliber. The Mayakoba property also contains the Rosewood and Banyon Tree resorts, both of which are also beautiful and have ridiculously delicious restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San diego

Amazing

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Amazing staff and grounds!!! Beautiful beach and room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Fabulous hotel and staff

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Beautiful hotel with immaculate grounds on a pristine beach.