Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico City, Mexico

Luxury beach resort with fantastic golf course

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Great location, nice beach, great pools and golf course. Room was spacious and comfortable. Fantastic staff.
Cons: We arrived at 1.00pm and Check in was very busy with both arrivals and departures and could have been a bit faster.
Location: World class golf, fantastic diving, ruins at Tulum, day trip to the beaches on Cozumel, shopping, dining and nightlife in Playa del Carmen
My wife and I left the kids at home for fur days of adult time. Fairmont Mayakoba was a fantastic way to spend those days. The jungle setting provides a bit of privacy and solitude while still being in a large resort with all the facilities you could imagine. The room was spacious and comfortable with a fabulous bathroom that included a deep soaking tub next to a full wall of glass (but shielded by a wooden screen outside the room). The twice daily service meant that the room was always pleasant to come back to after being at the beach or in town in Playa del Carmen. The real kicker is the El Camaleon golf course at Mayakoba. This is a truly world class course and just a fantastic golfing experience. My playing partner and I basically never saw another player during our round, no waiting and no being pushed from behind. Every hole is stunning and the course condition is exceptional. We took advantage of the ability to try the restaurants not only at Fairmont but also at the Rosewood and Banyan Tree resorts which are both located in the Mayakoba complex. This gave us a broader range of dining options and some truly fantastic food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear Vinnie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed playing at El Camaleon (it is the only course in Mexico that hosts an official PGA TOUR event!) We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, for another memorable vacation. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Not a typical beach resort

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: Rooms, service, and grounds
Cons: Corporate events closed too many of the hotel areas - restaurants, pools and fields.
My wife and I just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at the Fairmont Mayakoba. We were really not sure what to expect based on all the reviews we read. If you want a resort right on the beach this is probably not the resort for you. If you buy into the eco-tourism concept you will really enjoy the resort. We liked taking the BMW bicycles, boats and electric carts to get around the expansive grounds. Listening to the birds every morning and watching the fish swim by our terrace was a relaxing way to get the day started. What also makes this place special is the service. The front desk manager Christopher was fantastic -we arrived a few hours before check in and spent some time talking with him - he gave us a choice of a few rooms - explaining to us the pros /cons of each room. Some were quieter, closer/further away. We will definitely return in the future but most likely with our older kids - more of a family resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Christopher sends his regards! Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceeded expectations..

Posted Mar 13, 2015
You will be less interested in the beach after you look at the property here. Beautiful setting! The food is amazing. Service and staff are the best we had encountered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear The Bairds, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the many ecosystems at the hotel. The hotel's layout certainly provides more opportunities to explore and discover the many animals and plants that call Mayakoba home. We hope you visit us often!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Large grounds and good beach

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Beautiful gardens and good food. Plenty of space on the beach and good staff.
Cons: Noise and smell from restaurant
Location: Only there for 2 nights so did not use facilities.
To get anywhere you have to take a cart (they go very often). Unfortunately our bedroom's balcony was opposite one of the restaurants and so the smell of cooking invaded the room when the doors were open. Also the kitchen fan was noisy. Breakfast excellent and staff attentive. Tips expected on all services.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear Wednee, Thank you for your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our breakfast service. Please accept our apologies for the opportunities with your room. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Excellent hotel and very family friendly

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Large rooms, very nice pools, wonderful staff, very family friendly and good kids club.
Cons: Larger choice of restaurants and food options, better shower amenities in the room and stronger water pressure, the beach area.
Location: Nearby there are 2 hotels the Banyan Tree and Rosewood with a good selection of restaurants but very pricey.
The Fairmont is a proper 5 star resort with excellent amenities and wonderful staff. The hotel grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. There are several pools and they are all great. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The rooms are large and well equipped although the bathroom showers and water pressure could be improved.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you ER for your review and for recommending us. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Beautiful grounds and natural setting

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The restaurants were exceptional, the pool and beach settings were perfect, the boat tour and walking paths were great, the golf course outstanding
Cons: Don't skimp on the water in the room or charge for water in the restaurants. People want plenty of bottled water and the hotel did not come through.
This is an outstanding property which maintains the natural beauty of this setting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our natural setting. We have shared your posting with our Ecology Manager, who is the person in charge of all our "green" initiatives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guadalajara

De los mejores hoteles de México

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Personal, instalaciones, el entorno y la ubicación. En realidad el servicio es excelente, el personal se esmera en que tenas una sonrisa.
Cons: Nada
Location: Convenientemente cerca de Playa del Carmen.
Dada su ubicación, dentro del desarrollo Mayacoba y dadas sus instalaciones y personal me atrevo a decir que es uno de los mejores hoteles de México y del mundo. Es la segunda ocasión que nos hospedamos y en realidad nos quedan ganas de no dudar en volver a hospedarnos ahí cuando tengamos la oportunidad de regresar a Rivera Maya.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buenos Aires, Argentina

Great hotel with a different concept

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Everything was great ! Very good service and a different concept of hotel mixed with canals, jungle and beach The only things to improve are the kids club and the entertainment for the family and Also the food quality which is good but not as good as the hotel's service and category positioning We had a great time
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We have taken note of your recommendations regarding our Kids Club and culinary offerings. Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The service was amazing! Property is gorgeous!

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Location: Have dinner at Safron at the Bayan Tree next door.
I really loved this property. It is sprawling and beautiful. The design preserves so much of the natural landscape making it peaceful and serene. The service was exceptional. The food was mediocre and expensive. I highly recommend taking the nature boat tour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We regret to hear that our food and beverage service did not meet your expectations. Our culinary team has received your comments. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Beautiful hotel in nature preserve

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Eco-friendly, the nature trail,bird watching,round trip ferry amongst the Mayakoba properties,the guided kayak tour, lobby entertainment,no pool music
Cons: Cost of food and drink should be reduced, service at El Puerto steak and seafood restaurant was very slow the evening that we went (8:30 pm)
Location: We went to Playa del Carmen only once for a Mayan dinner at a well known restaurant and spent the remainder of the time on the resort
We had an outstanding one week stay in a deluxe casitas overlooking the jungle. We were greeted daily by many birds and animals in the forest near our balcony including a vulture and a family of Coati Mundi. Transportation around the resort by free use BMW bicycles or drivers in golf carts was wonderful as the resort is very large and the beach is a 20 minute walk from most of the resort development and casitas. The pools are excellent and well located by the main lobby, mid way between the casitas and one at the beach. The beach is wide and long and we walked for 4 km in each direction. The activities on site revolve around the preserve and we participated in a guided kayak tour (35.00 per person),nature walk around the property, several round trip boat rides around the mangrove lagoons and canals amongst the 3 Mayakoba properties and guided boat tour with biologist on board. Service at the hotel is excellent. The food quality is excellent but expensive as this is not an all-inclusive however you can buy various meal and drink packages (we did not). We enjoyed French Press coffee on our balcony each morning accompanied by a delicious pastry from the market shop at the family pool area. We noticed many families with children under 6 enjoying the kids pool, waterslide, grassy areas, hot pool and shaded pool and beachside cabanas and umbrellas. There is NO loud poolside music or activities which was wonderful. This is not a party resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review, we sincerely appreciate it.