Ratings based on 461 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Large grounds and good beach

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Beautiful gardens and good food. Plenty of space on the beach and good staff.
Cons: Noise and smell from restaurant
Location: Only there for 2 nights so did not use facilities.
To get anywhere you have to take a cart (they go very often). Unfortunately our bedroom's balcony was opposite one of the restaurants and so the smell of cooking invaded the room when the doors were open. Also the kitchen fan was noisy. Breakfast excellent and staff attentive. Tips expected on all services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Excellent hotel and very family friendly

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: Large rooms, very nice pools, wonderful staff, very family friendly and good kids club.
Cons: Larger choice of restaurants and food options, better shower amenities in the room and stronger water pressure, the beach area.
Location: Nearby there are 2 hotels the Banyan Tree and Rosewood with a good selection of restaurants but very pricey.
The Fairmont is a proper 5 star resort with excellent amenities and wonderful staff. The hotel grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. There are several pools and they are all great. The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and professional. The rooms are large and well equipped although the bathroom showers and water pressure could be improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Beautiful grounds and natural setting

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The restaurants were exceptional, the pool and beach settings were perfect, the boat tour and walking paths were great, the golf course outstanding
Cons: Don't skimp on the water in the room or charge for water in the restaurants. People want plenty of bottled water and the hotel did not come through.
This is an outstanding property which maintains the natural beauty of this setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Guadalajara

De los mejores hoteles de México

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Personal, instalaciones, el entorno y la ubicación. En realidad el servicio es excelente, el personal se esmera en que tenas una sonrisa.
Cons: Nada
Location: Convenientemente cerca de Playa del Carmen.
Dada su ubicación, dentro del desarrollo Mayacoba y dadas sus instalaciones y personal me atrevo a decir que es uno de los mejores hoteles de México y del mundo. Es la segunda ocasión que nos hospedamos y en realidad nos quedan ganas de no dudar en volver a hospedarnos ahí cuando tengamos la oportunidad de regresar a Rivera Maya.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buenos Aires, Argentina

Great hotel with a different concept

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Everything was great ! Very good service and a different concept of hotel mixed with canals, jungle and beach The only things to improve are the kids club and the entertainment for the family and Also the food quality which is good but not as good as the hotel's service and category positioning We had a great time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The service was amazing! Property is gorgeous!

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Location: Have dinner at Safron at the Bayan Tree next door.
I really loved this property. It is sprawling and beautiful. The design preserves so much of the natural landscape making it peaceful and serene. The service was exceptional. The food was mediocre and expensive. I highly recommend taking the nature boat tour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Beautiful hotel in nature preserve

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Eco-friendly, the nature trail,bird watching,round trip ferry amongst the Mayakoba properties,the guided kayak tour, lobby entertainment,no pool music
Cons: Cost of food and drink should be reduced, service at El Puerto steak and seafood restaurant was very slow the evening that we went (8:30 pm)
Location: We went to Playa del Carmen only once for a Mayan dinner at a well known restaurant and spent the remainder of the time on the resort
We had an outstanding one week stay in a deluxe casitas overlooking the jungle. We were greeted daily by many birds and animals in the forest near our balcony including a vulture and a family of Coati Mundi. Transportation around the resort by free use BMW bicycles or drivers in golf carts was wonderful as the resort is very large and the beach is a 20 minute walk from most of the resort development and casitas. The pools are excellent and well located by the main lobby, mid way between the casitas and one at the beach. The beach is wide and long and we walked for 4 km in each direction. The activities on site revolve around the preserve and we participated in a guided kayak tour (35.00 per person),nature walk around the property, several round trip boat rides around the mangrove lagoons and canals amongst the 3 Mayakoba properties and guided boat tour with biologist on board. Service at the hotel is excellent. The food quality is excellent but expensive as this is not an all-inclusive however you can buy various meal and drink packages (we did not). We enjoyed French Press coffee on our balcony each morning accompanied by a delicious pastry from the market shop at the family pool area. We noticed many families with children under 6 enjoying the kids pool, waterslide, grassy areas, hot pool and shaded pool and beachside cabanas and umbrellas. There is NO loud poolside music or activities which was wonderful. This is not a party resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent. Relaxing.

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Close enough to Playa Del Carmen and far enough to get away from it. Everyone was attentive. No one bothering you to try and sell a time share. 2nd best massage I have ever had. We had just returned from a trip where we were constantly on the go so this was nice, sit, relax, enjoy the beach and the streams that run through it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very Good

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: the staff service.
Cons: The restaurant Menu and food quality of the Las Brisas restaurant. looked like junk food (french fries over fried)
Location: very good location, just 10 kms from Playa del Carmen, full of very good restaurants.
the service, room, pools, everything was clean and confort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very tropical

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Beach was great.
Cons: All the restaurants need to improve on the quality of food. The breakfast was the best meal.
Lovely hotel with really nice staff and the beach and room were very nice. The food at all the restaurants needs to inprove greatly. On a 1 to 10 rating on food, I would give at best a 3. The breakfast was the only meal that was decent and I would give that a 7. Since if was good but not outstanding at all.