Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hiren from atlanta ga

Excellent resort with unbelievable services

Posted Apr 11, 2014
It is beautiful. . Excellent service, high quality of food and all. .. too big and too peaceful. . Very quiet and serene...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great staff, great beach

Posted Mar 22, 2014
we loved our stay at the Fairmont. The staff was exceptionally gracious and accommodating at all areas of the hotel. The beach was not visible from the rooms, but that was OK as it was a short walk or golf cart ride to it. All restaurants were great. We also ate at Saffron at the Banyan Tree Hotel which I would recommend highly as one of the best thai restaurant I have ate at. Overall, great stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joel

The perfect staff

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Everything and we recommended it to all we spoke to.
Cons: Nothing- as close to perfection as possible
Location: The restaurants at Mayakoba and the golf course as well as the town, Tulum and even Chichen Nitza were all within an easy drive.
We have never been to a facility that had such an attentive and energetic staff; from the housekeeping staff to the concierge, the pool boys to the bell staff all were polite and accommodating. The beauty of the surrounding landscape and the excellent transportation made the distances small. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by joel from new Yorkers

The perfect staff

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: Everything and we recommended it to all we spoke to.
Cons: Nothing- as close to perfection as possible
Location: The restaurants at Mayakoba and the golf course as well as the town, Tulum and even Chichen Nitza were all within an easy drive.
We have never been to a facility that had such an attentive and energetic staff; from the housekeeping staff to the concierge, the pool boys to the bell staff all were polite and accommodating. The beauty of the surrounding landscape and the excellent transportation made the distances small. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by D from Elmhurst, IL

Fairmont Mayakoba...luxury all the way!

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: The service was top notch. Hotel and sister properties were stunning. The grounds were amazing! Rooms were beautiful very comfortable and peaceful.
Cons: Food was expensive but not exceptional. No ocean view rooms unless you spend $$$$$$. Free shuttle between properties but cab needed to leave grounds.
Location: Playa del Carmen is a 15 minute cab ride that costs approx. $25 each way for 2 people.
We stayed at the Fairmont Mayakoba the first weekend of March 2014. This hotel and it's sister properties are very luxurious. I've been to this area of Mexico over 6 times and have stayed a only 4.5- 5+ star hotels and this one is the most romantic and luxurious of them all. The service was the best I've experienced anywhere. 5 stars all the way. There wasn't a time when someone didn't greet me. It's expensive but a perfect place for the discriminating traveler. I consider myself to be a hotel snob and this place didn't disappoint. Loved the grounds. The pools were beautiful. The rooms were luxurious. Loved that they had BMW bikes to get around. The only disappointing thing was that none of the rooms faced the ocean unless you can afford to rent the casitas with the private pools on the beach. Getting around the grounds was easy though, either by taking a golf cart that employees drive around everywhere or by bike. Golf course was awesome. Beaches were very private. Definately not a spring break crowd which I liked. Very calm, relaxing, romantic and luxurious. They even allow you to borrow a Kayak and it's free. We were never able to get to ride the water taxis because they were always full although the grounds are so expansive that you don't feel like there's that many people there. We ate at each of the sister properties. One more luxurious than the last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York NY

very large hotel with a lot of things to do

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: The beach, the pool and the restaurants.
Cons: The hostesses at the restaurants could be friendlier. Also, concierge is not very quick in responding to your reservation requests.
Location: We went ATVing and had a blast!!
The Fairmont is an expansive hotel set on an ecological preserve. The beach is gorgeous as are the pools. BMW bikes are provided at the entrances to many of the hotel buildings. The staff is friendly, and some are definitely more accommodating than others. Our hotel room was gorgeous, although the view is truly a jungle like experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anonymous from Scottsdale, AZ

Fantastic facility and staff

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Location: Great snorkeling tour on a catamaran
One of the best resort facilities available. Beautiful and environmentally conscious facilities. Lobby and most rooms are about a mile from the beach, but golf cart service comes by convenient stops every few minutes; facility is about a 10 minute drive; fastest Internet ever in a hotel room!; wonderful, free eco-tour; truly friendly and caring staff; food and beverage prices are on the high side (5x U.S. retail for a bottle of Kettle One via room service, for example, and everything now comes with a high VAT), but the cleanliness, convenience, and beauty all have to come at a cost. Highly recommended. Late January was great weather (occasional storms may quickly pass through, but we never encountered a rain drop in our week-long stay), and the sea temp was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carl from Sweden

All exclusive

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel and surroundings with the canals in Mayakoba. The only thing that's irritating is the cost. For example: The hotel charge an additional Resort fee, $198 per adult and day. Furthermore the prices are in US$, but when you check-out they convert it to Pesos by their own rate.