Ratings based on 500 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2015
We had a wonderful experience. The staff was fantastic, always helpful, and the grounds are so beautiful. Little drive to Playa, but we had a rental car so not a problem. Food is a bit overpriced for what you get. Unless you are eating the all-inclusive food, get out and try the local eateries. We stayed in a Casita room overlooking the mangrove waterways. Really relaxing and interesting how the grounds are set up. Overall, great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Westchester, NY

Great relaxation getaway!

Posted May 19, 2015
My sister and I are both in medical school and we took a trip to Mayakoba to relax between semesters... It was such a beautiful resort and the staff was very helpful but not pushy like at some places (ask you if you want a drink or food poolside but don't follow you around and keep asking). All of the staff was extremely helpful and kind. They made the beds and cleaned the rooms twice a day which was also great. The resort itself is beautiful and the food was delicious! They also provide golf carts and bikes to get around as well as a free boat tour. There is a $20/per person per night fee which includes wifi. We would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Cons: Siendo un hotel familiar, sorprende que no tengan rampas y accesos para carreolas. Falta opciones de alimentos. Los restaurantes son muy caros.
En general muy bien. Muy ameno, limpio y con excelentes instalaciones.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Everything they say it is and more!

Posted May 16, 2015
Well to sum it all up just go! -get the all inclusive for 700us its worth it because you can get it at the hotel but its 200 per day per person -they are in the midst of upgrading all their restaurants one by one -staff is absolutely top notch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Familiar

Posted May 6, 2015
Excelente parandisfrutar en familia, la pasanos increible con mis 3 hijos en la alberca, tobogan y el mar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom mexico

muy bien, lo recomiendo

Posted Apr 23, 2015
la pasamos muy bonito lo recomiendo para parejas!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chambersburg, PA

Beautiful resort with wonderful staff

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: The grounds were wonderful, and the staff couldn't have been nicer and more friendly. No question was too silly, nor any request unreasonable.
Cons: I wish at least one of the pools was open after dusk.
Location: The location is about 10 minutes from Playa del Carmen, and a quick taxi ride. We stayed mostly on the property and didn't feel the need to venture.
The hotel installation is absolutely wonderful. Though it's a huge area, the mangroves and foliage makes each area feel small and contained. We stayed in an ocean area casita with a plunge pool, and couldn't have picked a cooler, more awesome room. We definitely used the plunge pool and the balconies. We booked a regular room, so the surprise upgrade was just a lot of icing on the trip cake. The large area was still easy to get around because of the resort provided transportation. The restaurants are excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear Gil, Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are delighted to hear you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you in the future for another memorable stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Nice place; Awful check-in experience; Expensive;

Posted Apr 16, 2015
We were downgraded upon check-in and in spite of confirmation numbers, were told our room had been oversold and the entire hotel booked full ( ummm, sure.... ). The room they gave us was similar in layout, but far inferior in views. Really a frustrating experience after traveling long distance with kids. They eventually moved us back into the rooms we had originally booked midway thru the vacation. Packing and unpacking is never fun. They did offer us a rather measly credit for the inconvenience. Otherwise, the hotel is one of the best combinations of luxury and family-friendliness we've found. I couldn't even get my gets to go down to the beach because the main pool is so vast and accommodating. The place is very expensive, as many others have commented. $40 just to get on the treadmill, really? Felt nickeled and dimed the whole time. Budget an extra 20-30% of your quoted stay rate for extras while there. Definitely eat at the other hotels on the Mayakoba property if you have the extra time, as the 3 restaurants onsite, although good quality, get a little repetitious. The entire development is gorgeous and the fit & finish of the properties are 5 star, for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you MPG for taking the time to write a review. Please accept our apologies for the room assignment. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
One of the nicest hotels it has been my pleasure to visit
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased to hear you liked our hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota, USA

Beautiful setting, great pools, great staff

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The best thing about this hotel for us was the amazing pools. I think we tried four out of five. The main pool, with its unique shape, was the best.
Cons: We found the restaurant selections a little limited for a family, and too expensive. Playa had much better dining options.
The Fairmont Mayakoba is kind of unique for this area in that very little of it is actually on the beach. The garden view room we had was excellent however. It was spacious and spotless and packed with amenities. The pools were terrific. The beach is so-so, but swimable. The staff here was outstanding. It seemed they could not do enough to make your stay pleasant. We were sorry to miss the boat tour. Lesson learned, book in advance next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2015 by Fairmont Mayakoba, Hotel Management
Dear John, Thank you for your review. You are right, it is recommended to book the boat tour in advance, as space is limited.