Ratings based on 718 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

INCREDIBLE location, great hotel and amenities!

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Pool, beach, service
Cons: Swimming in the ocean experience (rocky, beach is apparently eroding due to a hurricane and sand bags are visible to keep what's left).
Location: 5th Ave is so close and has all the out-of-hotel restaurants/bars that you could want! Shopping too!
We spent five days and five nights at the Gran Porto Real from 4/16-4/21 2015. I went with my girlfriend on our first trip on our own. We're both 25 (for perspective). The location of the hotel was INCREDIBLE. Just blocks away from 5th Ave and all sorts of restaurants and nightlife. We couldn't have been happier. The amenities in the hotel were great! The two pools (one rooftop with a swim-up bar and one on the ocean with a walk-up bar) were excellent! A jacuzzi was offered on the roof, which would be far from most rooms but was very close to ours. The restaurants offered great options (Italian - by reservations, Mexican, a beachside grill, a 24 hour snack bar, a Brazilian steakhouse style option, all excellent!) We failed to check out the spa, but were pleased to learn that the sauna was available at no extra cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Nice hotel and pool

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: The staff was great, the rooms were very clean. It was easy to get a drink just about anywhere. I liked the selection of restaurants.
Cons: I found a lack of vegetarian options in the different restaurants. The beach could use some improvement.
Location: The location was great, a 2 minute walk to 5th avenue with shopping and more bars and restaurants.
We thought the hotel was great especially for the price. The staff was very friendly and always willing to help. If you are looking for a nice beach I would suggest staying somewhere else. The beach also had a bit of a smell to it if the wind was blowing the right way which was pretty unappealing. The main pool can be a little loud with the all the activities going on around there. I generally found them entertaining but I think there could have been more breaks between the activities which were then all announced over the microphone. Overall, we had a really nice stay and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice relaxing getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Gran Porto Real makes for a great stay in Playa!

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: My favorite thing about Gran Porto is the staff. From the moment we checked in and upgraded, to our days out at the pool, everyone was so friendly!
Cons: The standard room we stayed in for 2 of the 8 nights of our trip was a little disappointing, definitely worth upgrading!!
Location: It feels like we are in the middle of everything! From shopping on 5th, to finding other bars and restaurants, to the beach... it has it all!
My boyfriend and I have stayed at this resort twice now and we just can't get enough! The staff is incredibly nice, the pool is great and we love the entertainment in the lobby bar at night! Great view from the balconies of the ocean front hotel rooms, but the standard rooms are lacking space, ambiance and a window would be nice. Overall great place to stay and play!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Wedding Bliss

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: The staff, without exception, were very helpful, accommodating and pleasant. The resort was very clean and modern.
Cons: The mattress was so hard & uncomfortable that it hurt to lie on.
Location: Italian restaurant on 5th under Mariposa Hotel was fantastic. Homemade pasta sauces fresh seafood. Enjoyed ruins at Tulum & snorkling.
The hotel is beautiful & the staff couldn't be more nice or helpful. The room was spacious & well appointed, loved the hammock on the balcony. However the beds were so hard that it actually hurt to lie on them. The food was delicious but after 4 days a larger variety would be appreciated. The Spa was wonderfully relaxing and reasonably priced. My niece's wedding on Saturday was everything she hoped it would be & went off without a hitch. From the ceremony on the beach to the dancing under the stars, everything was just wonderful, again thanks to the wonderfully helpful & accommodating staff. They couldn't do enough for you. We had a great time & wouldn't hesitate to come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Overall - nice resort with a few caveats.

Posted Apr 18, 2015
First the good stuff - All of the staff was exceptional. The Mexican and Italian restaurants provided some of the best dining I've had at an all inclusive resort. The buffet was great. The staff was all over keeping it clean and presentable. Not so great stuff - The rooms did not cool all that well. Keep one of the room keys in the holder by door when you go out. If you remove it, it shuts off all of the lights and the AC. I'm a pillow top bed man myself....so the "mattress" in the room we were in was something at little closer to what I would describe as sleeping on a concrete slab. I took it as the beds just being worn out and needing to be updated. That said, if you like to sleep on a VERY firm mattress, this would be the place for you. Lastly, (and I can't entirely fault the resort here....) the beach was not in a condition that was conducive to getting in the water. I had heard that the beach itself had taken a beating during one of the last storms and they are trying to repair it. There was more seaweed than I had ever seen on a beach before. It also aappeared they were using sandbags to help restore it. It may just take time... Will I stay there again? Hard to say. The price was very good. The staff was exceptional. The 5th ave surroundings were very convenient. If they updated the rooms with newer mattresses, I could get past everything else. I just couldn't bring myself to stay there again if it meant I would not sleep well and have a sore back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
The iltalian restaurant is terrible. The lasagna appeared to be a few days old. Nobody in the restaurant ate it. The drinks are also suboptimal throughout the resort. The main dining area isn't bad. The kids club is very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom grayslake ill

Great place and experience

Posted Apr 13, 2015
We upgraded our room on arrival to an ocean view junior suite, view was amazing. Best hotel on the beach. Specialty restaurants were a wonderful gourmet experience. Dress codes apply. Beach service a little lacking in staff. Totally a great trip. Nice safe area. Walking distance to ferry to go to Cozumel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Gran Porto is immaculately clean! Great staff!

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Rooms are spacious and clean. Food is delicious and the staff is polite, helpful and takes initiative to help.
Cons: More comfortable beds, and seaweed removal on the beach earlier in the day. they also need ot bring in sand as there has been serious erosion.
Location: Very good location, just two blocks from 5th avenue with lots of shopping, nightlife and restaurants.
Gran Porto is a very clean, recently renovated hotel with an incredibly helpful staff. Roberto, the concierge made our stay fantastic! The food is great and there was variety for an all inclusive. We had a great cabana on the beach, the hotel was not crowded and it was quiet. The bed was not very comfortable, a bit hard. The beach is not the most beautiful in Playa due to the boats and the rocky shore and pier, but it was fantastic, the pool was great and we had a relaxing vacation!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Amazing stay at Gran Porto

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Cons: Beach, Seaweed and load music every night from resort down the beach. The beach is somewhat washed away, but there is still beach to lay on and play on. I never got the same answer twice about the seaweed, so I don't know if it is always like that or just the time we were there. I also don't know if the music was just because of spring break, that might not always be a problem. Pros: Everything else was amazing! Staff, Pools, Food, Room, walking distance to 5th ave and ferry There were always activities to do at the resort, the entertainment staff was wonderful and did a very nice job of getting people involved. All the staff at this resort, from check-in, to the restaurants, to housekeeping were exceptional. The area is very safe, we would walk the beach every day and walk around 5th ave each evening after the show at the resort. When we checked into the Gran Porto March 20, they said "welcome home", I thought that was sweet, but didn't think anymore about it. By the time we left on March 29, we were hugging the staff, had tears in our eyes and can't wait to "come home" again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Staff was great
Location: The location was perfect, close to get to Cozumel, close to shopping. all good.
The staff was more helpful than most places I have been too, Very friendly and helpful answering any questions that came up. I would go back in a heart beat. Very pleased overall with this resort, Just be carful when you book your room. Ocean front and Ocean view are two different situations, For the room if you want an Ocean view you better specify that.