Ratings based on 793 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington, TX

Review

Posted Jul 25, 2015
The hotel was clean and the staff were very good. Although the food was good, the selection was limited compared to other all inclusive properties were we have stayed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
The only bad thing was the excessive seaweed on the beach. Otherwise, we loved all aspects of the hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great time!

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Pros: Food, drinks, location, staff, fishing pier, entertainment, shopping, amenities.
Cons: Seaweed stench.
Location: Great location with awesome shopping and restaurants and bars nearby. Went fishing with Captain Rick, which wasn't too far, and it was awesome.
We had a blast at Gran Porto. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. We upgraded our room when we got there with no problems. The food was good (although the beach grill was a little sketchy), with a great variety. Cleanliness was on point. Fished off the pier, which was fun. At checkout, they remove your wrist band, but since we weren't scheduled to be picked up for 2 more hours, they gave us a pass to use at all of their facilities in the meantime. Our friends got married there and it was beautiful. Our only complaint was the smell of the seaweed emanating from the beach. They said they only have seaweed like that every 10 years or so, and this time it was caused by Tropical Storm Bill. We frequent Port Aransas, Texas, which is usually overrun with seaweed, and it's clear right now, so it must have all made its way down there in the storm. And they did have guys out there attempting to clean it up. There was just a LOT of it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ft worth tx

Great place to vacation

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Great place to stay, friendly staff clean best a/c in the rooms great food loved the whole experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Hotel was very nice! Rooms were nice, food was good, and the service was wonderful! Jose took excellent care of us on the beach and Franklin in the main restaraunt was wonderful. There is no direct beach access and you can't snorkel anywhere near the hotel. That was the only negative.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2015
It was awesome! Beach was awesome and the view was breathtaking..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Nice hotel right on the beach and in the city !

Posted Jul 5, 2015
My wife and I stayed here for a week. The people that work here are great and will do anything to make your stay a great one. Just like others mentioned in their reviews, the beach is a little Rocky and the seaweed does pile up, but they are out cleaning it up every morning. I wouldn't have chose a different hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

The beach was eroded and no night life but good

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Grecia, alexis, misuael, and eric were awseome they were worth the trip
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Close to beach. 5ta avenida....

Posted Jul 2, 2015
We went for our honeymoon in early May. We were literally steps away from the beach. Our first time in Mexico and all inclusive. We were pleasantly surprised with how much was included in our price. The staff was absolutely amazing. We were even greeted with some cocktails! The rooms were clean, well stocked and comfortable. The staff was so accommodating. The timeshare wasn't a big deal. We politely declined and that was the end of that. The food was good. Not the best but not horrible. We didn't try the Italian place as they required a reservation and we never made one. The Mexican place was good with the perfect portions of food. The buffet was great for breakfast. Didn't try it for lunch. And had the Brazilian steakhouse theme for dinner once. We ate out a lot but we are big food junkies and like to venture out. The beach leaves much to be desired. It's close but there are sand bags along the whole beach area in front of the hotel. You can walk about ten minutes to a better area but that defeats the point of beachfront. They do have comfy day beds which we napped on a few afternoons. Drinks were good. Overall loved the place and would go back. Lots of seaweed but that's just nature.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradenton, FL

The employees make this hotel great

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Cons: Only one thing....softer mattresses on the beds. We have enjoyed three different rooms completely...except for the hard, hard mattresses
Location: A great central location--close to Quinta Avenida and shops and restaurants.
Employees in two areas make this hotel great: 1) bellboys, in particular Alexis and Aron, and 2) the employees of the specialty restaurant Maria, in particular Ricardo, Enrique, Rene and Luis. Alexis and Aron, bellboys fantastic in every respect...attentive, helpful, made great suggestions, found and brought to us my husbands lost jacket, offered to get tech help to fix my Ipad problem, always upbeat and fun to see often in the lobby!!!! We missed them when they had a day off!! Ricardo, wonderful, wonderful waiter at Maria was so attentive to us that he picked up on the fact that chiles rellenos were my favorite meal (but they weren't on the menu) He arranged with the chef to surprise me the next night with...chiles rellenos! ......and the next night, too!!! Deliciously made by sous chef, Rene, and later, head chef, Luis, topped the chile with a sauce new to me, Salsa Borracha. It is now a favorite of mine, too!!! Thank you, Luis, you are a fabulous cook!!! Enrique, totally personable maitre d', arranged also for my husband's favorite, arroz con pollo. My husband thought it was magnificent!