Ratings based on 778 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradenton, FL

The employees make this hotel great

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Cons: Only one thing....softer mattresses on the beds. We have enjoyed three different rooms completely...except for the hard, hard mattresses
Location: A great central location--close to Quinta Avenida and shops and restaurants.
Employees in two areas make this hotel great: 1) bellboys, in particular Alexis and Aron, and 2) the employees of the specialty restaurant Maria, in particular Ricardo, Enrique, Rene and Luis. Alexis and Aron, bellboys fantastic in every respect...attentive, helpful, made great suggestions, found and brought to us my husbands lost jacket, offered to get tech help to fix my Ipad problem, always upbeat and fun to see often in the lobby!!!! We missed them when they had a day off!! Ricardo, wonderful, wonderful waiter at Maria was so attentive to us that he picked up on the fact that chiles rellenos were my favorite meal (but they weren't on the menu) He arranged with the chef to surprise me the next night with...chiles rellenos! ......and the next night, too!!! Deliciously made by sous chef, Rene, and later, head chef, Luis, topped the chile with a sauce new to me, Salsa Borracha. It is now a favorite of mine, too!!! Thank you, Luis, you are a fabulous cook!!! Enrique, totally personable maitre d', arranged also for my husband's favorite, arroz con pollo. My husband thought it was magnificent!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Hotel not maintained

Posted Jun 15, 2015
We were here for a wedding and given a room with no a/c. apparently the entire wing was having issues. I complained several times and finally was given another room by the elevator which was super noisy. The front desk staff needs to be re-educated in customer service. The wedding couple even had to be relocated to the Royal cause their room had issues (water and a/c).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texarkana AR

Grand Porto Real

Posted Jun 12, 2015
I can't say enough about this resort . The facilities were fantastic however, the beach was not. There was evident erosion and sandbags in place all along the beach front. All of the restaurants were impeccable and I would recommend this resort to anyone. I would recommend going further down the beach to enjoy a much nicer beach. 5th avenue is a 2 minute walk from this resort but please be prepared for people to approach you to buy the goods they are selling. We had this happen on the street, the beach and even dining in a restaurant. Also, be warned about those trying to sell time shares. Just simply say no thank you !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mexico

Bien

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Cama, piscina , bar,
Cons: Comida y tener aire acondicionado en la zona de pasillos y cosina
Location: Piscina y mar
Mucho viejas y mucho ambiente desde temprano , agua caliente
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from virginia

Nice vacation

Posted Jun 7, 2015
No complains everything was ok and thank u to enrique from the front desk for helping us in finding a better room. Housekeepink was excellent, not a good beach to swim and/ or to spent time because the water is not good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huron, SD

Beautiful hotel with first class service

Posted Jun 7, 2015
My family stayed in the Jr. Suite and it was so beautiful! Extremely clean. Everyday we came back to a new "surprise". Towel art, fresh flowers on our beds, chocolates, a complimentary bottle of wine, etc. The staff and service was top notch! Very respectful and kind. Ladies, you will feel like a queen! The events at the hotel were very entertaining as well. The beach was a little disappointing though. Not exactly swimming worthy, lots of seaweed and rocks. But we went out on lots of amazing adventures during the day and found places to enjoy the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Nice Hotel in great area for shopping

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Clean hotel and comfortable beds.
Cons: Just the condition of the beach concerning the rocks, not sure the hotel can really do anything about that.
Location: Loved being within a short walk from shopping on 5th avenue! Enjoyed a day trip to XCaret park.
We really enjoyed our stay. Loved the 5th avenue shopping. Beautiful hotel and surprisingly comfortable beds. Good service and were served drinks on beach fairly quickly. Food was good and especially loved Maria's with our excellent waiter Gustavo. Also enjoyed the Italian restaurant. The beach is as described in previous reviews. Seaweed was present, but not bothersome to us, however, the water full of rock and not pleasant for walking out into ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The best hotel I stayed in so far

Posted May 30, 2015
The hotel was clean, staff helpful and friendly. There are many daily activities happening around the poo areal. The best was a bubble pool party but there are many other different activities offered everyday. The hotel has an evening entertainment too, it's pretty impressive. The hotel is a walking distance to the shops and bars at night. Very safe area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami beach

Posted May 29, 2015
Greatttttt timeee..we loved itttt!!❤️❤️❤️❤️ We had a wonderful time me and my husband Leandro... Hopefully we can go back soon!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianaolis, Indiana

Great location!!

Posted May 27, 2015
Definitely the best 3 1/2 star resort I've ever stayed! Comfy ocean front room, great food and nice variety, friendly staff EXCEPT front desk?, and awesome location close to everything!! You don't need to spend the extra money to stay at sister resort The Royal across the street!