Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Can't wait to go back!

Posted Nov 3, 2010
Gran Bahia Principe Akumal is a fantastic hotel. We were there last year and some of the staff remembered us. That was a great feeling. The staff can not do enough for you and they do it with a smile. Our rooms were very clean and our bed animals changed every day. We were always excited to see what animal would come next. We had great weather. October is not crowded and we love that. I would bring water shoes just because there is a lot of coral, but the waves were fantastic and we had a lot of fun playing in them. The food was great we did not get tired of the buffets, something new every night. I think the best thing is the staff. They could not have been nicer and we did not have any communication problems and we do not speak Spanish. I would tell anyone I knew to go to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from peoria, illinois

Tom and Julie slicko

Posted Sep 22, 2010
We loved this hotel. The food choices were excellent. The room was very comfortable, although the walk back and forth to the main hotel seemed long at times after a long day on the beach. The trams were a bit confusing, although after a couple of days we figured them out. We went for a long weekend to just relax and that is exactly what we did. The taxi ride from the airport was twice as much then the ride back to the airport, not sure what that was all about. $150 usd vs $80 usd.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Boulder, CO

Great Value, Relaxing

Posted Sep 20, 2010
Very relaxing all inclusive, nightly entertainment could be improved, but we we're generally tired from the day's activities, very close to Xel Ha and Tulum
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Gran Bahia Principe , Akumal

Posted Sep 7, 2010
The resort : Gran Bahia Principe has three main parts , Tulum , Coba and Akumal . This is very confusing for people that go there for the first time as these three names belong to three cities around the area. The Gran Bahia Principe is actually located very close to Akumal and 15 minutes drive from Tulum. The best part of the resort is actually Akumal because is located near the splendid beach and the main resort facilities. Second best is Tulum and last Coba which has no direct access to the beach. The place is almost immaculate and the garden and beaches are kept constantly clean and tidy . There are several restaurants scattered around the resort but we did not find them amazing compared to the normal catering which was of very good standard . We booked ourselves in the Golden Principe Akumal and our room had an ocean view which was worth every extra penny we spent .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Crawfordsville,IN

CWTNY (Cannot wait til next year)

Posted Jul 25, 2010
This was our second time at these resorts which helps to get acclaimated to ALL they have to offer. We stayed for 21 days and never wanted to leave. We stayed at a quiet pool a few days, at the beach a few days, at the activities pool a few days, at the swim up bar a few days, and a few days at ALL. These resorts furnish the best food we have experienced. We enjoyed Don Pablos twice, mikaldo,le Gourmet, Fruitos de Mar, El Pescadore twice, and Tequila which are the ones where we dined. However, the buffets were also wonderful and had plenty of choices. Wish it was closer to the airport and if the rumor is correct... airport in Tulum in 2 years will be appreciated.
3 out of 5
by Sarah from Dallas, TX

Ok, but we've stayed at better!

Posted Jul 6, 2010
Out of all the resorts I've stayed at in Mexico, this one has the NICEST beach! Lots of beach front and lots of beach activities, some were free and others cost a fee. The alcoholic beverages were above average. The pools seemed to go on forever which was nice but during the day they were hot like bath water so we didn't swim in them very much. The food was average and overall we had a great time and enjoyed ourselves! Here are some of the CONS that are the reasons why we would not recommend this resort as well as go back ourselves: When you check in you must immediately pick out which restaurants you want to eat for dinner all week and make your reservations right then and there. You only get 3 dinners for a 6-night stay which we convinced them to give us 4. We had a hard time getting all the ones we wanted and some we had to eat super late around 10pm. The dinner restaurants were the only places that were air conditioned in the whole resort, however, we still ended up sweating in all but one. The only place to eat breakfast and lunch besides the lousy 24-hour snack bar is the buffet which was so uncomfortable that we were sweating while we ate. That has to have been our biggest complaint is having to sweat while we ate especially at dinner time since we got all dressed up. The beds had a thin padding on them but were still very uncomfortable unless you like a rock hard bed. If you wanted to use the in-room safe you were charged a fee per day, we feel this should be FREE!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great for kids!

Posted Jun 29, 2010
Bahia Akumal was clean and fairly comfortable..beds were a bit hard if anything. Air conditioning in rooms was much appreciated. Only 2 villas have an ocean view which costs extra. Food was passable in buffet, much better in a la carte restaurants. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Hotel is very conveniently located near many major attractions. Highly recommend, great for families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Miami Fl.

see you next year

Posted May 30, 2010
this is the third time i visit Gran Bahia Principe Akumal and it won't be the last. the attention is superb. The location is amazing and one of the best places to go and relax.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Windsor, Ontario

Going back in a few months!!

Posted May 12, 2010
Best hotel in the Mayan! 2nd time there and already going back in a few months. Food, staff, service, hotel, everything is amazing. The grounds are beautiful, the pools, the rooms everything is spotless! Must go! :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Great vacation spot

Posted Mar 10, 2010
Our first room was a on the first floor and it was musty and smelled - we quickly realized the a/c didn't work. I have allergies and in one hour of being in the room had to take my medication (twice). We went to the receptionist and explained the problem, within the hour they changed our room. The second room was stellar - clean, working air, and up high. I had no unusual allergic responses and our vacation was set. We enjoyed the disco, the live music at the hacienda, and the beach front services. We also liked the location of the resort, near Tulum and the ruins, not too far from Playa del Carmen, and the Hidden Worlds Cenote park. We took the collectivo (the local public transportation bus system) once we got to Akumal. I'd visit this location again and recommend other visitors. The one problem is transportation to and from the airport... Expedia didn't have a transportation option when we booked our vacation so we had to find our own--- a friend who had been to the area recommended it to us, but had that not been the case it could be challenging to find a ride (and not go through a time share speech at the airport).