Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Second time to Grand Bahia! We love this place!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Everything!!! We had a terrific time!
Cons: Can't think of any improvements off hand
Location: An hour and a half drive from the airport between Playa del Carmen and Tulum. Catch the ferry from Playa del Carmen to Cozumel. Akumal Beach, Tulum
If you are looking for sun and fun, this is it! I have stayed at both Coba and the Sian Ka'an, and see both consistent excellence and effort by this property. After staying at Sian Ka'an (all adult), I was concerned about staying at the Coba which is family friendly as my partner and I are without children. I was happily surprised and had the best vacation yet! The room, the staff, the environment and entertainment are fantastic! This resort is an hour and a half drive from the airport but it is worth it and then some! It's close to everything! Please, if you'd like to save some money and are traveling to Tulum, Playa del Carmen or Akumal beach, consider the Collectivo! It's very much like a public taxi. Many resort workers and other travelers use this safe transportation system. Example...Tulum for two people total trip cost with Collectivo = $25. We went to all three of the aforementioned places and had a blast. Akumal beach is amazing and of course, we swam with the sea turtles. As for resort info, our favorite restaurant was Don Pablo, try the pool bar at the activity pool (hola Pablo) we enjoyed the nightly entertainment and I spent a little time at the Casino and had fun on the slots. Make sure you check out the beach at night.... the stars are incredible. Oh and yes, if you want prime real estate in regards to lounge chairs you should be up early. Carpe diem! I plan to return next year with more family & friends. See you in the Spring Bahia Principe!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Great resort

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Food, staff, amenities, activities
Cons: The lack of air conditioning
Location: The hotel location is great if you want to explore. Xcaret, Xel-ha, Tulum and playa del Carmen were all a short drive away.
Enjoyed our stay here. Food was good and staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Miguel at the Akumal buffet (the one with AC). The only issue we have is with the lack of air conditioning at the resort. The AC in the room was barely enough to keep us comfortable if we also used the ceiling fan and didn't use any sheets/blankets. Eating our meals at the restaurants in the August heat and humidity without air conditioning was torture.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Very disappointing. Never again.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Take care people.
Location: No commens
1 Stuff. We reserved two rooms but we arrive we got only one. Took two hours to get it. We call to front desk 4 times that A/C doesn't work well- no responds. The mattress very firm. The pillow for babies not for man. Fridge never full. Towel like sandpaper, very hard, no soft. 2 Food. Food was OK but main buffet no A/C turn on. Other restaurant has A/C but they keep 78 degrees. Japanizes was horrible, International OK. How you can eat if you sweating. 3 Beach. You must get place at 7 am. otherwise, you NOT able to find umbrella. Is not soft sand. Many big rock at sea. Water was warm, but very shallow. Transportation. They got cars, but not evry drivers speak English. After 10 days I still don't know there routine. Very disorganizer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014
GREAT TIME SECOND TIME AT THIS RESORT IN THREE YEARS
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA, B

not too close to the beach but a free bus everywhe

Posted Aug 8, 2014
it was the best bacation We ever had but toooo hot in July
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Everything was good except the open buffet has no AC and not too many varaities of food for the kids
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort, poor AC

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Spacious, well maintained. Very friendly staff.
Cons: AC needs to be upgraded
Location: Close by to Tulum and Playa del Carmen. Lots of activities within 30 minutes drive.
The resort is very big but doesn't seem overwhelming. It takes 2 days to get to know the grounds and the hotel staff helps you find the destination if you feel lost. The ground transportation, trolleys, are very efficient way to go around. You can use all facilities in all 3 hotels and that made our stay more interesting. We switched pools, bars and food buffets between all 3 hotels. We were able to book 3 a la carte restaurants on the arrival. You need to be quick because the open spots fill quickly. Room was nice and clean and very well maintained on daily basis. The only drawback was the poor quality of AC in the room. With July heat it wasn't able to cool down the room properly and it felt uncomfortable to rest or sleep at night. Pools and beach are great and well maintained. Despite the AC poor quality the hotel offers good value for the money and I would recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort - Terrible Air Conditioning

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Cons: AIR CONDITIONING!!!!!
Lack of air conditioning makes this otherwise beautiful resort unappealing. The Coba Buffet which used to be the only air conditioned buffet for the entire resort is not totally unairconditioned. Our room felt decently cool during the day, but every evening as the sun went down the AC in our room throttled back making it too warm and very humid. The next morning the AC was back up to normal. This happened every single day. The a la carte restaurants that actually claimed to be air-conditioned were not sufficiently air-conditioned to make the dinner pleasurable. Dining in the buffet restaurants (where the bulk of the guests were) was just miserable with sweat dripping down our face as we tried to eat. The paid wifi was almost unusable during the day but ok late night or early morning. I was never able to connect to the free hour of lobby wifi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Wonderful Resort. Tons of stuff to do. My only camplaint is the rooms need beter air conditioners and ceiling fans that are less noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Enjoyable Week at beach

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Beach; Food; Drinks; Rooms; Grounds; Most of the staff.
Cons: AC in all places where people eat. Food quality same at each of 3 hotels. Getting towels without having to keep up with cards. Free Wifi everywhere.
Location: Stayed on property entire time.
Family of 4 going on vacation for week at beach. Hotel is good with nice rooms and great beach to relax and enjoy. Staff is good and works hard. We had some issues checking in with staff and getting wrong type rooms - had to resolve with manager that also took some convincing of front desk staff to call (seemed very reluctant). We ended up working with Yazmin to correct all issues - took some time and several meetings, but she did a great job of making our vacation enjoyable....plus, we got the rooms we requested. AC is an issue at this hotel - rooms ended up being ok to deal with (keep doors closed as much as possible). Places you eat - most don't have AC and those that do, don't work very well. My suggestion - don't go here in summer as too hot...maybe in spring/winter/fall it is more pleasant.