Ratings based on 625 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom WA

Food poisening

Posted Feb 26, 2015
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Madagascar

What a Fantastic Vacation

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Entertainment staff Manuel, Karol, Omar, Gabriel were the best.... hard workers, very professional and very very enthusiastic. An asset to this resort
Cons: Get a Tim Horton Coffee shop.
Location: A little far from the Airport but well worth the wait to arrive. Its about 1 hour and 30 minutes from Cancun.
My stay at this resort was from February 9, 2015 to February 22, 2015. My wife and I had a fantastic time. The resort met every expectation. The staff was friendly and would bend over backwards to help you. I would recommend this resort in an instant. Some helpful hints. 1. They were going to charge me $5.00 a day for the safety deposit box. I asked to speak to a supervisor and before I even started my complaint they waived the fee. 2. We used USA transfers to get to the resort from the Cancun airport. Cost me and my wife $135.00 US but they were friendly no stops at any other hotels on the way. And pick us up promptly on February 22 to take us back to the Airport. 3. The hotel was 75% Canadians.... I never ever felt scared .... it was as if I was in Canada. 4. They have three pools area in the resort. A small Jacuzzi like pool, a quite pool and one large pool were all the actives are. The pool chairs are a bit of a problem but I got up at around 8 am every day to put a towel on two chairs.... I never had an issue about getting a chair. However if you got to the pool around 10 am the chairs were all taken. This issue is the same at all resorts I have been to in Mexico. Just be aware. 5. Food was make reservations to the Japanese and the Italian al carte restaurants as soon as you arrive they are the two best and the hardest to get reservations for. 6. If you have any issues as for a supervisor, the supervisory staff bend over back wards to please.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kansas city

Perfect beach vacation

Posted Feb 19, 2015
We had a fabulous time! No complaints at all. Pleased with the room, food, beaches and the resort. Tons of pools to choose from. Fun for all ages. the Tulum beach was long, well maintained and always found a place to lounge. I will say that If you are most intersted in the beach, choose Tulum over Coba. I think Coba is more family oriented with many fun pools and activities for the kiddos, a little walk to the beach for us (we chose to walk, rather that take the trams that were readily available). We decided next time we would choose Tulum for that reason because we were Single travelers with no kids spending most of our time near the beach, but the walking certainly didn't hurt us with all the great food we were eating! Highly recommend this resort!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but long walk to the beach.

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Pros: the weather
Cons: It was over crowded with long waits for bar service.
We had a new laptop computer stolen from our locked room, and the security had NO interest in helping us find it. We also had an electronic device stolen on our last stay with this same resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CANADA QUÉBEC, Montréal

L'hotel est très bien, la plage moins

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: L'amabilité du personnel et la propreté. Sauf les oiseaux qui entrent sur les sites des repas....
Cons: Le transport devrait être administré par l'hôtel , les oiseaux dans les buffets..a surveiller. La plage plus nettoyée.
Location: Visite de Tullum Site archéologique.
L'arrivé a l'hotel est assez difficile, il faut avoir son transporteur et le temps avant l'arrivé est long. Mais pour l'hotel , les repas, la chambre c'est numéro 1. La plage est moins belle que l'on pensait. Pas assez de chaises autour des piscines.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Des Moines,IA

Posted Feb 17, 2015
The staff, hotel and restaurants were very well organized. The only reason that we wouldn't go back is BD Travel agency. Coming back they scheduled us for the shuttle 4 hours and 30 minutes before our flight. They dropped us off 3 h and20 minutes at the airport before our flight. We cannot waste our time this way. We tried to talk to them 3 times,but there were acting very bossy, without any flexibility, hope,an option... We don't want to spend our vacation sitting on the airport. Because of this reason, probably we won't use Expedia for our future trips.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom vancouver canada

Nice comfortable place with lots 2 do. 2 warnings

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Our stay was pleasant. We were right by the pool and the beach is less than 5 min shuttle away. The meals and entertainment were great. Both my boys (10 n 6) were at the beach in the morning and pool in afternoon pretty much everyday we were there. Our entire family enjoyed the nightly entertainment at the Coba or Tulum stages. We didn't feel the need to leave the resort for excursions, but did have a fabulous time at Xel-Ha for a full day of snorkeling. Warning: stay away from the Prestige Club booth at the lobby, it's a timeshare trap. Ate up 2 hours of our family vacation that we can't get back. They will explicitly tell you it's not timeshare, that they are the direct travel agents for the hotel. They tell you that they treat you to a nice breakfast, but to our surprise, we ended up eating the same buffet breakfast we eat everyday except we now have to listen to a salesman while we eat breakfast. Warning: our room had a small amount of mould on the bathroom ceiling. The Coba complex is only 10 years old, but this appears to be a common problem, at least from other reviews I've read. So if you have small children, be sure to check out the bathroom as soon as you check in. We asked for a room change but they said there's no other rooms available. We made the best of it by spending very little time in our room and always keeping the bathroom door closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Hampshire

Posted Feb 11, 2015
This was our first time in an all inclusive hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable but we could hear everything going on outside and in the rooms next to us. Wish it was a little quieter. The pools were clean and the temperature was nice. We enjoyed the variety of food available at all meals but at first was very overwhelming. The hot beverages served were not always hot (lukewarm), I need my tea & coffee hot. We preferred the buffet to the A la Carte Restaurants and liked that there was a smaller version of the buffet near the pool (perfect for lunch). Liked that there was transportation available to different areas of the resort. A lot of algae on the beach (people cleaning it up while we were there but just to much of it to keep up with it). All of the staff were very nice and helpful and knew more than one language (well enough to understand certain things in their everyday tasks). All in all we enjoyed our week long stay there and would recommend this hotel to friends and family. PS- Might not need the hand sanitizer so much at the buffet if they just fixed all the soap dispensers in all the bathrooms (most of them broken or out of soap).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Weslaco, TX

Great experience.

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: The food. The rooms. The swimming pools. The entertainment. Everything.
Cons: The seaweed on the beach needs to be removed. The bottom of the swimming pools were slippery. A hot tub would be nice.
Location: The location was a bit far from the airport. But It was close to Playa Del Carmen for shopping. You could swim with Dolphins by the beach
We were there on a Family Vacation, All the staff were great. The food was fantastic. The entertainment was worth watching and the drink's were tasty. Our group of twelve ranged from 3 to 73 and there was fun for everyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canana

Breathtaking resort with so much to do!

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: There is nothing that we didn't enjoy about this hotel. From the staff, the rooms, the amenities, and everything else, we were very impressed.
Cons: Recommendations: More towels in the room, more outlets, a 24 hour lobby bar, a shower door so the water doesn't soak the floor.
Location: The hotel is approx 90 minutes from the airport. You can take a personal shuttle for a few dollars to playa del Carmen to shop.
We travelled 3 young women together and felt nothing but safe and right at home the entire time. The staff was amazing, everyone was professional and friendly at all times. The nightly entertainment was great, and we had thr options from both Coba and Tulum to choose from each night. The beach was very nice and the pools were beautiful. The A La Cart meals were all to die for. We would love to go back to this resort.