Ratings based on 598 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB

Very nice hotel but beware of changes.

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Pros: The staff work hard for the customers.
Cons: No saving beach and pool chairs, and especially for hours, reliable and consistant trolley transport with clearly indicated routes.
Location: With tour operators, close proximity to cabs and public transport, one can be doing anything the Mayan Riveria can offer within an hour or so.
Our first week was without transport to the beach (15 min. walk) We were glad to have the trolleys running again, after many complaints from guests and staff. Unfortunately they have reduced access to sister hotel Bahia Principe Akumal, which has the best beach area with a convenient snack bar. (time share sales of Akumal are HIGH PRIORITY) Beautiful hotel, great price, good food, great staff, replenishing of room items etc, hit and miss. The long distance to the beach can be a pain. Both beach and pool chairs are "saved" by 7:00 AM so unless you get up early........you'll need alternate plans. 10-15% of the chairs are never visited or used till mid day, which is an annoyance. Would we go back for the aggravation? Undecided..............
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DIJON France

EXCELLENT SEJOUR

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Personnel charmant. à tous les niveaux. Très bonne nourriture, avec de bons restaurants à thème. Chambre très spacieuse.
Location: Bien situé à 100 km de CANCUN. Visite de TULUM et PLAYA DEL CARMEN assez proches (collectivo) Excursion à EK BALAM et le cenote
Nous sommes ravis de notre séjour de 2 semaines au BAHIA PRINCIPE COBA. L'hôtel n'est pas directement près de la plage, mais l'accès y est très facile avec les navettes du complexe. Excellent aménagement de l'ensemble. Très belles plages. Bonnes possibilités d'excursions. Ne pas hésiter à utiliser le "Collectivo" à la sortie de l'hôtel pour se rendre à TULUM et PLAYA DEL CARMEN.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milton

Wonderful people, great food & good snorkelling

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Enjoyed the resort very much, as well as the beach. Great place to visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore MD

Grand Bahia Principe Coba

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Staff was amazing, helpful and very personable. Hotel was nice. Grounds and pools were up kept perfectly. No complaints
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved It!!!!!

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, restaurants and EMPLOYEES!!!
Cons: The beach (however it is not the hotels fault). They do everything they can to make it nice.
We travel to Riviera Maya a couple times a year and have stayed at a variety of hotels. This trip was wonderful! The property is very well kept. Liked it more than the Tulum side which costs more. Rooms were very large and had wonderful air conditioning. The a la carte restaurants had wonderful service and great food. The only fault I could find was the quality of their beach. They work very hard to remove the seaweed but there are large sections full off it where you just cannot swim. It is also rocky in some sections. Their employees more than make up for the beach!!!!! Some of the nicest and hardest working people I have ever met. Overall, it is a great resort and would love to return!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Great hotel and service as usual. This was our sixth trip by to Coba and it is in great shape as usual.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

vacation

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Great place to stay cant say anything bad about my
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

we have previously been to gran baha principa 3 xs

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Specialty restaurants were very enjoyable.
Cons: Food and beach were the greatest disappointments. Compared to my last visit in 2010 the experience was declined severely. This disappointed as honeymo
Location: purchased excursions and was very disappointed that the guide did not speak English.
this was so extremely disappointing - our honeymoon and the food was less than satisfactory. generally the buffets tables were picked over and same everyday. Beach that was great in the past is now reserved for exclusive guests. We paid a premium price for this vacation and were treated like second class citizens. Went on a tour and the tour guide only spoke Spanish. Room cleanliness was disappointing as you never knew when the cleaning staff would arrive.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Cold (broken air conditioning) and humid ground floor room. It took 2 days of complaining and sleeping in the sweater to had it changed. Buffet is mediocre, especially low quality of meats (dry, chewy). Very nice service and grounds staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too Big

Posted Nov 18, 2014
The hotel is too big. Restaurant service is bad; how can I get good service when servicing hundreds of people at one sitting. Same With food quality,.....Movility whitin the property is not easy due to the size.