Ratings based on 677 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Great vacation. The hotel was large but very easily navigated. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. This is a great resort for kids, and there is plenty to do in Riviera Maya. The only negative I would have to say is the Mosquitos. We got bit quite a bit and it was very itchy and uncomfortable at times. Make sure you pack bug spray and cream for itching. Otherwise very great resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln Park, Michigan

Beautiful all inclusive resort.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The food, the staff, the pools, and the wide array of activities.
Cons: Mosquito control.
Location: There are many excursions that you can go on, at an additional expense. The excursions we chose included transportation to and from the resort.
Our room was beautiful, with a view of the jungle. It was close to several pools, restuarants, and shopping; all within the resort grounds. It was cleaned every morning and restocked with all of the necessities. The room and grounds were very well kept! Our experiences in the many different pools were amazing. The wait staff at each of the pool bars were extremely friendly. Most remembered our names and drinks of choice. Throughout the day, there are a variety of activities that take place in the pools, such as water volleyball, aerobics, and football. The beach itself was beautiful, with many chairs and palapas (huts) for our use. Unfortunately, our stay was right after a tropical storm, which stirred up seaweed and covered the beach. The resort staff was diligent about removing the seaweed and worked day in and day out to do so. The food was incredible! We had many options to choose from. There were several restaurants that served buffets for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The atmosphere, food presentation, and wait staff was exceptional. There are also many restuarants which require reservations. We enjoyed Makido (a Japanese steakhouse), Portofino (an Italian Ristorante), Gran Tortuga (a Brazilian steakhouse), Oasis (international cuisine), and Tequila (an authentic Mexican restaurant). The night life was also incredible. Each night, there are shows in the theater, outdoor bars with dancing and karaoke, a disco, a sports bar, and many shops. I would highly recomme
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G.

The hotel was nice but pretty far from the beach

Posted Jun 27, 2015
I liked the staff, they are very helpful. The food was okay kind of bland. Overall okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

Excellent Hotel with great food and pools.

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The food and the transport between the hotel is excellent .
This hotel is incredible.You can use the Tulum Hotel also .The pools are good,the buffet ,the lobby excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ny

Beach is ugly,staff is rude(most of them)

Posted Jun 14, 2015
I stayed for 1 week overall experience not more than 3 stars.The beach looks really ugly with those "things" they built inside to prevent the waves i guess,whatever the reason was it looks very ugly and no place to swim at all in coba beach.the staff was rude expect some of them specialy in pool bars and buffet.The managment should do something about it.Service was poor.Hotel grounds and pools were ok.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Trip Ever!

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: staff, food, cleanliness, variety of activities for everyone, and family friendly
Cons: tub leaking water. resort is VERY BIG. should provide a 30-45 minutes tour of the resort on arrival day.
Location: akumal beach, tortuga, tulum, tulum ruins, coba ruins, playa del carmen, cenote
Just got back from our trip. It was such a blast, I'm already planning our next trip. Staff was awesome. Food was good. A little salty for my taste but I light sodium consumer. Bathtub was leaking water out of the tub onto the floor. Poor design of the tub. A few towels blocking the water flow, solved it. Great family friendly resort, with enough pools, bars, and activities for guests of all age. Got to see coati, agouti, birds, corral snakes, fishes, tortuga, sting ray, corals, cenote, and mayan ruins. All within minutes of car rides from the resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crystal River

Rest from work

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The attention
Cons: buy new towels and sheets.
Location: play tennis, ride bicycle, and dance
Was nice we love Bahia Principe we been there 8 times 6 in Mexico and 2 in Punta Cana and we really like BP in Mexico, all of then are nice, the only problem it is the Internet they should change the provider (Kubi) P of S , you have a problem changing from your phone to Laptop no matter if you paid 50.00 but the rest it is amazing, the attention it's # 1, also they should buy new towels etc but let's said that's the only complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Changes in a year

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: We have always liked the large size as it gives you a lot of different options every day on what to do and where to go. We both still like that.
Cons: The segmenting was not handled well. It was not explained to us that we could not go to Akumal or Sian Khan. Also Coba buffet is very bland.
Location: We went to Playa del Carmen, Tulum twice, and a Snorkeling Adventure at Puerto Morales. We use the collectivo for our day trips and it is quite easy.
We have stayed seven times at the Gran Bahia Principe. Once at Akumal and Sian Khan and the other five at Coba, plus other resorts in Riviera Maya and Dominican Republic. We have really liked Coba best, especially the Premier lobby and all the people that work there. We were last there in October and there have been a lot of changes from then to now. Before, you could go to any part of the beach, any bar etc. Now Coba and Tulum can reciprocate but can't go to Akumal or Sian Khan. There are also segmented parts of the beach depending on your status. That was a negative to us, but we adapted to it. There have been a lot of positive changes to the grounds, lobbies and service. Our room was always replenished promptly and always very clean and nice. Specialty restaurants have greatly improved their food quality as well, especially the Gran Tortuga. Although not within the GBPs control, the seaweed was worse than usual, but they worked hard to pick it up everyday. Other beaches we visited had the same issue. We really like the staff at the Premier bar & Victor at the Coba bellhop station. Oscar, Marie, Maricela and Lucia are really fun and made us feel special and welcome. We ended up many evenings there because they are so awesome. We have doubts, however, if we will return there, as part of the evolution of the GBP seems to be away from a romantic couples getaway to more of a focus on families with children and large group gatherings. Stayed from 5/19 - 5/28
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Friendly Faces

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The location is prime and the activities are great
Location: Food could be better
The staff was very nice and accommodating willing to help and gave good tips of the excursions and surrounding areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis, MO

Very nice resort with nice beach

Posted May 24, 2015
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Beach is very nice and close to the resort.