Ratings based on 464 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from New jersey

Another Awesome Vacation at the Grand Bahia!!!

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: The pool, food, staff, restaurants, drinks, and rooms!
Cons: More chairs at the coba pool, allow reservations for restaurants prior to arrival
Location: Playa Del Carmen is great to visit. The beach is awesome!
This is our third time back and it was fantastic! Everything was perfect. The food, service and staff were awesome! There were 10 of us both adults and children and everyone had a great experience. The Coba pool rocks! We had the best time with the staff! Big shout out to Alejandro, Edwardo, and David too! (he worked at the towels). The restaurants were great. We loved the rodizio. They now have added a tented outdoor area so you feel like you are eating on the beach. We stayed at Coba premier and it was in front of the pool. Perfect view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very big resort, good amenities.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Well maintained property, many pools, beach front.
Cons: More options for vegetarian food, availability of small snacks like chips, nuts, candy, etc. can be improved.
Location: 2.5 hours from ChiChenItza, 40 minutes from Playa Del Carmen, very close to XCaret, XPLOR parks, around 1 hour 15 minutes from Cancun.
Good experience at the resort. Buffet restaurant seemed a little understaffed. Great resort to enjoy pool time, beach time and walks. Inside the resort, the transportation on the golf carts is very convenient.
2 out of 5
by Koo

Thief

Posted Apr 10, 2014
There are so many thief in coba. I found out my money was gone after we leave hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic on Every Level

Posted Apr 9, 2014
My boyfriend and I just returned yesterday from a few days at the Grand Bahia Principe Coba where we had the BEST time. Everything about our stay was perfect. I had requested a room on the top floor in building 27, the resort made sure they accommodated my request and the location of the room couldn't have been more perfect. Close to everything (lobby, restaurants, buffet, pool) yet so quiet. The grounds of the resort are absolutely stunning. We saw tons of iguanas, coatis and racoons! The pools are gorgeous, and the beach (which is a 5 minute walk or a 2 minute shuttle ride away) is one of the nicest I've ever seen. The staff at the resort was just awesome. They go out of their way to get you what you need and accommodate any request you might have, always with a smile. We really felt like we were treated like royalty. We loved having access to the other 2 resorts (Tulum and Akumal.) We spent some time at all 3 resorts and each of them was equally beautiful. The only minor criticism we had is that the buffet food wasn't always great, which is often the case in all-inclusive resorts. Pretty bland at times, but then again the buffets are huge and there are so many options that you can always find something you like. The drinks were great, you couldn't walk anywhere without being handed a cocktail or a mimosa for breakfast, it was fantastic! All in all a fabulous vacation, and we gave already decided we will be back next year :) Can't recommend it enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by gerard from ottawa on

Great experience

Posted Apr 6, 2014
First time at an all inclusive, and because of the service I will go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent room.

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: The accommodations were first class
Cons: A little more English info around. Directions etc. not a complaint just a thought
Room was very nice. Resort was beautiful, clean and well run. Only complained would be that our room had a musty smell with AC. Room was 30433. Overall it was a very relaxing experience and I would highly recommend the resort and definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place overall

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Great overall. Good entertainment. Kids park is amazing.
Cons: none that I can think of.
Location: There are many places to see and go right near by. Tulum ruins, Xplor, Xelha.. And much more. No lacking of things to do.
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort. The facilities are great. The staff are all so nice and courteous. Rooms are nice and clean. Food was plentiful and well done. Kids park was a great entertainment for my boy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dan from Southern California

Met our expectations

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: The facilities are very nice, the staff is friendly, attentive and helpful, and the beach is excellent.
Cons: Food, maybe. Had to go to Playa del Carmen to watch March Madness. Would be nice to have a Sports Bar with American sports showing.
Location: We enjoyed Tulum (took Tulum Express), and spent an afternoon at Akumal Beach. Great snorkeling off the beach; lots of fish, turtles, and coral.
My family enjoyed our stay at Grand Bahia Principe - Coba. The resort's facilities in kept in excellent condition, the staff was consistently pleasant and helpful, and the beach and pools are superb. For a family of 4 (my wife, me, son 18, & daughter 15) traveling alone (without other family or friends), we needed more activity than the resort could offer us, so we took take several off site excursions: Playa del Carmen, Tulum, and Akumal Beach. Had we been travel with a group I think we would have felt less of a need to make side trips. We also felt the food was medium. Not the quality so much, (and certainly not the quantity), but the flavor manner of prepare. The resort is so large, the volume of food they have to prepare limits what they can do, so I'd say we got our monies worth. I recommend sitting town with one of the "Public Relations" staff soon after arriving to get recommendations on al la cart dining, transportation options, and excursions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deanna from Calgary, Alberta

Great hotel, close to beaches....

Posted Mar 20, 2014
Pros: The staff, the availability and ease of tour bookings. Loved the grounds, the wildlife, the beach and pool access and the food and drinks.
Cons: There is nothing I can think of at this time to improve upon.
Location: Location is great for pool and beach access. I did an adventure tour, it was only 20 mins to get to it. The majority of shopping is fairly close too.
This was my first time experiencing Mexico and the Bahia Coba. It was an amazing experience! The staff were always ready to go above and beyond to make the stay enjoyable and memorable. The hotel was beautiful and with multiple pools on the grounds, always close to water. The grounds were well maintained and the hotel/rooms were clean. The buffet food was great! From pasta to order stations, eggs/omelettes made to order and a kids buffet (just their size too), never disappointed! There are a la carte restaurants on the site as well, so variety is there to take advantage of too. Overall, I'd rate my experience there a 5 :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort!

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Had a great stay from March 3-12. Weather was great- and when it wasn't we went to the spa. Facilities were all lovely and spa was fairly priced. Takes a few days to get your bearings since the resort is so expansive. You never run out of things to do and the staff is always friendly and eager to help.