Ratings based on 685 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Coba beach full of smelly seaweed

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Pictures of the beach on hotel website, wild life ,hard working staff .
Cons: Service arrangement for Coba guests at the beach if they are unable to use Coba beach ,more sun beads and umbrella to accommodate all your hotel guest
It was our third time at Grand Bahia and first time in Coba,Mexico,we stay for ten days with two kids 12 and 5 years old. We did not expect it to be so disappointing because previously we visit two other Grand Bahia locations at Jamaica and Punta Cana and had a good time,we are a beach lovers family so we don't care about swimming pools.During our stay we was permitted to use Acumal beach because Coba beach was full of seaweed the issue is that when you are Coba guest you cannot use any amenity except the sun beds and umbrella at the Acumal ,no beach bar no toilet if you don't have kids it's no big deal but we have kids and it wasn't easy to enjoy Acumal beach because when my five yer old got thirsty and I ask bartender at the beach if he can have something to drink to my surprise we get refusal and he told us to go Coba Bar, what ?? Walk across the beach (about 15-20 min,on super hot day,by stinky sea weedy shore line with 5 yer old kid) back to Coba to get glass of water for a kid!! If you let guests from Coba to use Acumal section you should equally accommodate all your guests since you are not able to clean up Coba beach for your guests,also if you want to have sun bed and umbrella by the beach or swimming pool get up at 6 am to reserve a spot or you will have no luck ,after few days failing to find shade and sun bed for our family ,my husband set up alarm to get up early to reserve us spot ,totally not worth the money and stress !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More staff needed

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Rooms and grounds were very clean. Pools for the kids were excellent.
Cons: More staff was needed, and the staff that was there was not friendly.
Resort overall is nice. My whole family enjoyed the pools and the rooms were clean. The resort was completely booked while my stay. Knowing that, the management should have had more staff, especially in the restaurants. When it came time to eat, I dreaded going to the buffet. There was sometimes a wait to be seated and it would take a long time for our waiter to come by. One time, not coming to our table at all. When we had made a complaint to the manager, we were taken care of right away. But the same issues the next time we ate again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Great place for vacation

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Great environment and frendly Staff. Great food and restaurants .Highly recommended for Families with Kids. I lot of activities for them and awesome Water park. Many thanks to Oscar from Coba Lobby bar and Jose from the Beach Bar. Great service. Will come back again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, florida

the beach is not the best, but it is ok.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: it is a beautiful and good hotel
Cons: rooms
Location: Mexico has a lot to do is beautiful and very safe.
The hotel air conditioner is not good, food was excellent, room cleaning is OK, they have to change the mattress and pillows, they are very hard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice resort but not 5 starts.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Good resort, food is really good, service is good but not great. Rooms are clean but some things need attention such as lamp shades are rusty and a bit dirty. Due to humidity issues, some places in the room showed sings of mold. Quality of toiletries should be a bit better. Bath robe and slippers were a nice touch to our room as well as a free upgrade to our stay. Restaurants were good. The problem is getting a reservation. Eating at the hibachi was impossible. Booking a reservation to other restaurants was also very difficult. I would recommend as soon as you check in to book dinners. The food at some restaurants such as Mediterranean and Pescador is very similar to the buffet food. Silverio was our best server and he was at the seafood restaurant. Ernesto was our server at the Mediterranean restaurant. He did his job as a server but he should be a bit more friendly and warm to the guests. It was my husband's bday and he brought out a lovely piece of cake for him. Thanks for that Ernesto. Arbie the bellman was also very nice and helpful during our stay as well as Abigail at front desk. Food is delicious no complaints. Drinks are good but a bit too sugary for my taste. Hibiscus wet bar and pool were our favorite spot since the main pool is too busy with families and small children. Minibar at the room was really poor. More like a micro bar. One pack of chips, 1 mini snickers, 2 bottles of beer and 2 cans of soda per day. The room service menu was also very disappointing. Be
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Nice hotel , everything is perfect for family fun

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Excellent food, excellent staff, everyone was doing everything possible to comfort us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lebanon, TN

10 time to Bahia

Posted Jul 8, 2015
The staff worked very hard to make our time at the Bahia awesome! We were a large group 28 people. Victor in the Coba lobby was a great help getting use moved around. The food was delicious and no shortages of drinks!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Great vacation. The hotel was large but very easily navigated. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. This is a great resort for kids, and there is plenty to do in Riviera Maya. The only negative I would have to say is the Mosquitos. We got bit quite a bit and it was very itchy and uncomfortable at times. Make sure you pack bug spray and cream for itching. Otherwise very great resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln Park, Michigan

Beautiful all inclusive resort.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: The food, the staff, the pools, and the wide array of activities.
Cons: Mosquito control.
Location: There are many excursions that you can go on, at an additional expense. The excursions we chose included transportation to and from the resort.
Our room was beautiful, with a view of the jungle. It was close to several pools, restuarants, and shopping; all within the resort grounds. It was cleaned every morning and restocked with all of the necessities. The room and grounds were very well kept! Our experiences in the many different pools were amazing. The wait staff at each of the pool bars were extremely friendly. Most remembered our names and drinks of choice. Throughout the day, there are a variety of activities that take place in the pools, such as water volleyball, aerobics, and football. The beach itself was beautiful, with many chairs and palapas (huts) for our use. Unfortunately, our stay was right after a tropical storm, which stirred up seaweed and covered the beach. The resort staff was diligent about removing the seaweed and worked day in and day out to do so. The food was incredible! We had many options to choose from. There were several restaurants that served buffets for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The atmosphere, food presentation, and wait staff was exceptional. There are also many restuarants which require reservations. We enjoyed Makido (a Japanese steakhouse), Portofino (an Italian Ristorante), Gran Tortuga (a Brazilian steakhouse), Oasis (international cuisine), and Tequila (an authentic Mexican restaurant). The night life was also incredible. Each night, there are shows in the theater, outdoor bars with dancing and karaoke, a disco, a sports bar, and many shops. I would highly recomme
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G.

The hotel was nice but pretty far from the beach

Posted Jun 27, 2015
I liked the staff, they are very helpful. The food was okay kind of bland. Overall okay.