Ratings based on 392 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

The beach is awesome, pools nice, hotel eh?

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The staff outside of the room service were very nice and accommodating.
Cons: The rooms.
Location: Nothing really close, cab ride 15 min. to Tulum ruins is about 52 USA $ takes about an hour to walk. Very nice, but do it early as it is very hot out
We booked thru Expedia and per their description if we paid more, we got more IN the room, ie, we had 2 adults, 2 children. We asked for a king bed and a sleeper sofa which is what we thought we booked. We called the resort and were told they were NOT responsible for what Expedia "promised' Expedia said the same about the resort so be were....you know. The extra charge should have been for a private lobby, private pool, and more, plus 1 more meal at a restaurant and. NO ONE treated us differently, we saw nothing special. I did the courtesy email to the resort more than a week in advance and asked for a 3rd floor room with the king bed and sleeper sofa and a view of the gulf just to verifty. We got 1st floor because we were told by a friend who has stayed there that way, no animals can get in as there are no screens) upon check in we got a first floor room with no view, no screen (you need to keep the door closed or you will have snakes, etc.) In the entire room (very small) only a couple of outlets for getting ready, overhead fan w/o Ac, 2 double beds (we pushed together to accommodate three of us) and a board with a mattress that we took turns sleeping on. We tipped the maid and asked for coffee, coke, and more towels, but came back to a room without anything other than clean sheets and often had to go looking for wash cloths etc. That part is the only bad thing I can really say other than you need to be prepared to eat the same buffet items over and over each day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by William from Georgia

Large, beautiful complex

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and good food.
Cons: Bigger, newer safes and free wifi
Location: Very close to Tulum ruins and Akumal Bay for swimming with sea turtles
Easy check-in, clean and comfortable room, beautiful pools and grounds, good food, friendly and accommodating staff. Only thing that could be improved on is tiny toy-sized safe in the room that will not hold even a small tablet, and free wifi limited to a one hour session (timed from log-in) in the lobby. Best buffet of the 6 AI's we have been too. Good for families, would prefer an adult's only for couples as MANY tired and crying children in the restaurants. Very good price for the size/beauty of the facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john from bergen county, NJ

Great time, I'd love to visit again!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Everything, I'd love to return!
Location: I didn't realize that it was about an hour and a half from the airport.
We had a great time relaxing by the pool and the beach. The hotel staff and all of the other guests were extremely friendly. The food was good as long as you don't get too adventurous (stick with the Mexican) and the Tequilla restraunt was great. The poolside entertainment was fun but I wish they played music more often.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex L from Monroe, NJ

Overall pretty good, but there definite caveats

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Room cleanness, convenient access to things, the Delphinarium. food at Coba buffet and at Gran Tortuga buffet, long beach line.
Cons: Drink maker at beach bars. The glass doors in the shower should get some protective edges. Sand dunes should be moved farther to the sea by Tulum
Location: Trips to Tulum, Xel-ha, Xcaret, and of course Dolphins in the premises (!)
It's a huge and sprawling property with at least three different hotels: Tulum, Akumal, Coba (there is also a 4th fourth one, but seem like it's for golfers only). There are "trains" ti run you back and forth and if you want to talk a walk/jog on the beach - it's very long as well. The food is good - a solid set of choices but "no-frills" - and for some reason the sushi and shrimps are only available at buffets at Coba. A very good night entertainment programs set. The towel exchange works by an inconvenient schedule, at times were stuck with our used and wet towels and had to exchange them next morning but then again in morning they were late delivering the clean towels to the towel stalls. The drinks are basically - they are *very good* by the restaurant/permanent bars facilities (but those are not open all the time) - and the beach bars have definitely aging and breaking equipment where the would end up getting 1/2 inch pieces of ice in your pina colada. But the staff is really trying to make do with that they have and overall the staff almost all the time was polite. Also what's up with the beach volleyball - would it kill you guys to let all the guests to play there ? - why it's only for the Sian Ka'an?? From the ala carte restaurants we like the Mediterra and the Tequila.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex L from Monroe, NJ

Overall pretty good, but there definite caveats

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Room cleanness, convenient access to things, the Delphinarium. food at Coba buffet and at Gran Tortuga buffet, long beach line.
Cons: Drink maker at beach bars. The glass doors in the shower should get some protective edges. Sand dunes should be moved farther to the sea by Tulum
Location: Trips to Tulum, Xel-ha, Xcaret, and of course Dolphins in the premises (!)
It's a huge and sprawling property with at least three different hotels: Tulum, Akumal, Coba (there is also a 4th fourth one, but seem like it's for golfers only). There are "trains" ti run you back and forth and if you want to talk a walk/jog on the beach - it's very long as well. The food is good - a solid set of choices but "no-frills" - and for some reason the sushi and shrimps are only available at buffets at Coba. A very good night entertainment programs set. The towel exchange works by an inconvenient schedule, at times were stuck with our used and wet towels and had to exchange them next morning but then again in morning they were late delivering the clean towels to the towel stalls. The drinks are basically - they are *very good* by the restaurant/permanent bars facilities (but those are not open all the time) - and the beach bars have definitely aging and breaking equipment where the would end up getting 1/2 inch pieces of ice in your pina colada. But the staff is really trying to make do with that they have and overall the staff almost all the time was polite. Also what's up with the beach volleyball - would it kill you guys to let all the guests to play there ? - why it's only for the Sian Ka'an?? From the ala carte restaurants we like the Mediterra and the Tequila.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from California

Pretty much paradise!

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: It is about 1hr-1.5hrs away from the airport so that kind of sucks. It is fairly close to Tulum and the ruins located there.
On our first night when we finally settled into the room, my wife noticed that there was dirt and hair in the tub and around the sink. We informed the management of the problem and it went away quickly. Now with that said and out of the way, it was one of the best vacations that I have been on. The Villa, 39 I think it was, we stayed in was RIGHT by the beach. The room was big and open. We did have a roommate, which was a little tiny lizard that would stay in one corner of the room and just hung out there. The buffet was the best eats. We did try the Mexican restaraunt but it was pretty much the normal buffet but with a main course that was brought to your table. So all in all just stick with the buffet and eat whenever you want, or at least whenever the buffet is open :P. The pool areas were very clean and well taken care of. One thing that I really loved about the hotel was the wildlife that just casually wanders around, especially all the gigantic iguanas. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking to visit this area, and I will definitely return here one day. Almost forgot, I highly recommend the ruins and the atv tour through the Mayan jungle, both are offered in the spa area of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sarah from Calgary, AB

Nice & big hotel, plenty to do

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Had a wonderful time at Tulum, was pleasantly surprised by the amount of beach chairs. Travelled in a group of 10 and never had trouble finding 10 chairs together at any time of the day, and also quite easy to find space at the bar at night for everyone. No complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort close to activities

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Every day you receive 2 complimentary 1.5 L water bottles in your room.
Cons: The beds are hard and don't bounce. A real mattress could have made the stay perfect.
Location: We did the Coba Mayan Experience through AllTournatives. That was a fun filled day! We also went to Xel-Ha and our kids (11&15) loved it as well.
We stayed 6 nights at the Gran Bahia Principe Tulum. We had wonderful service, great food and drinks as well as rooms that met our expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeanie from O'Fallon, Missouri

Great time and good weather, right on the Beach

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Expedia.com
Location: the Mayan Ruins, Playa Del Carmen and Xel-ha are a must
We had a group of six, met new friends and enjoyed ourselves to the fullest. The staff and management were very pleasant and accommodating. We did the Xel-Ha and Ruins excursion plus a trip into Playa Del Carmen. Will consider going back. Wish it was closer to the airport, but still so nice and clean. No complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronn from Warman, SK Canada

Family vacation

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: We always were able to find room around one of the pools for a group five. Food was good. Staff was quite prompt to respond to any questions/concerns.
Cons: Just by design of being such a large family of resorts on one site, there was a lot of walking, but if you know that going in, no problem.
This was our second warm winter vacation, first time on the Mayan side. We stayed for one week in March. With a family of 5 we needed two rooms, and the resort was good at accomodating and we had rooms next to each other.