Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Patricia from Connecticut

Make sure to lock up your belongings!!!

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: The grounds were pretty
Cons: Food, drinks. We couldn't find a bottle or can of beer in any bar/restaurant It was all low shelf alcohol and tap beer. Reception responding to theft
Location: We rode the segways and enjoyed it. The snorkel boat broke down out in the ocean and wasted 3 hours of the families vacation.
We had a housekeeper that was stealing. We traveled with a group of family and friends. My niece was the first to notice $60.00 missing, then her friend was missing 75.00. When my daughter and son went back to the room to check their belongings my daughters 100.00 bill was missing from her purse as well as my son missing 50.00 from his wallet that was in his suitcase mixed in with all his clothes. These rooms were all in the same area in kanetah 4900 area. When reported security (who didn't speak English) came to our room and had a machine that reads what cards had been swiped to enter our room. We never heard an outcome of the situation an apology or anything from the hotel, so we lose. Come to find out one of our room keys was missing also, probably taken by the same housekeeper.....very unfortunate. Food at best mediocre, and the same in every buffet. The restaurant process for reservations is very tedious and quite frankly doesn't make sense. Forget planning where you will eat you just have to take your chances and go to the restaurant, typical wait one hour. Many rules regarding making reservations for the restaurants such as they have adult only nights so our kids who are 17 and 14 (not toddlers) can't go to the restaurants on selected nights, and men have to wear pants and closed toe shoes, while woman can wear anything from short shorts, crop tops right off the beach and flip flops. You should be able to wear a nice polo shirt and dress shorts for guy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful spot for older teenagers.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Clean, friendly quiet. Dark and comfortable beds.
Cons: Transportation from lobby to lobby was slow.
Location: Great spot and lots of other things to do.
The hotel and staff were wonderful. Traveling with teens can be tricky at best. My two had a great time. Lots of things for them to do that were not for little people but growing adults. No fights on the trip... we will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago il

Relaxing getaway at large resort

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Great weather and excellent grounds made for a relaxing spring break. Great beaches.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not happy with the service

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Overall, the hotel is huge, but in the middle of nowhere. You need to expect that in case you need anything, you need to pay more. The communication with hotel staffs is terrible. The hotel staff will tell you a different thing every time for the same question, and the answer is never clear.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vicki from Hamilton, ON

Great hotel with lots to do!

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: Shows, food, pools & beach
Cons: Confusing signage to some restaurants. More consistent transit service between lobbys.
Location: Chichen Itza, Rio Secretio
We visited Grand Palladium Kantenah in Jan 2014. We really enjoyed our stay. There is lots of available activities, the pool & beach areas are beautiful and the overall environment is well tended. There were lots of great animals including iguanas that provided a somewhat 'natural' sense to the place. Shows in the evening were fun, but somewhat bizarre at times. Drink selection was reasonable. The food (especially the a la carte restaurants) was delicious. Warning - I would avoid lettuce or other salads. Almost everyone in our group ended up with traveler's diarrhea at some point during the trip. However, that is pretty normal when visiting a tropical location.
2 out of 5
by Andi from new jersey

Close to the beach yes, but beach is full of rocks

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Food quality Services
Location: Great location to visit several attractions in the area
Food is very abundant but of medicare quality The hotel staff and facilities are good but the quality of the services is mediocre
2 out of 5
by John from Bethesda, MD

Awful Customer Service and Mediocre Food

Posted Jan 2, 2014
We are frequent travelers who have traveled globally for more than 25 years. Collectively we've been to Mexico more than 10 times and we are accustomed to and enjoy the slower pace. However, this property has perhaps the worst customer service we've ever encountered in Mexico or anywhere else in the Caribbean. On several days we made 2-3 requests to have our room made up, which took them until after 5PM to respond. Restaurant service was slow and for the most part lackadaisical. And the food quality was mediocre at best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2013
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by LenchikR from NJ

Nice solid resort

Posted Dec 6, 2013
Pros: Beach and plenty of shade, decent buffet selection, kids club, cleanliness, overall feeling that everything is taken care of so you can just relax.
Cons: Friendliness of front desk and guest relations stuff, more shuttles between resorts
Location: If you'd like to do something outside the hotel, Tulum is not far and is a nice trip, Xcaret, Xplor, Xel-ha, Coba are also nice to visit with kids.
After being to many AI resorts in Mexico and DR we keep coming back to Grand Palladium Kantenah for it's good food, decent accommodations, nice beach, and fun entertainment and kids club.