Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom B

Loved our vacation in paradise

Posted Mar 1, 2015
After just the first day we knew we wanted to come back. Booked in White Sands but it was full so they put us in Rivieria villa 60 which turned out to be a great location. Enjoyed the beach, pool, sports section. Loved the no reservations required for the restaurants. Favorites were the Mexican and Japanese. Booked Xcaret on our own and took a taxi (highly recommend doing it that way). Didn't want to come home!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saginaw, MI

Wonderful resort, with so much to offer

Posted Jan 9, 2015
We stayed for 5 days for our honeymoon and everything was absolutely wonderful. We had complimentary room service which was wonderful but the buffets and a la cartes were amazing as well. Everything was very flavorful, and the options were endless. Our room was huge with a king bed and jacuzzi tub on our balcony. The maids made us towel animals each day, and consistently stocked our mini fridge. The beach did have a lot of seaweed the first day we were there but it was cleaned up the next day and we didn't see any again for the rest of the trip. The adult pools, and bars were great. There seemed to be many activities for children as well, but that was on the other side of the resort, which was great. We found something new to do/see each day. It was absolutely beautiful, the staff was nice, the food delicious, and our stay was wonderful. Easy 5 stars.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom M

Very. Mediocre

Posted Dec 10, 2014
This hotel is in need of a reno, badly. The food is also lacking in selection and taste. This resort was okay, but there are so many to choose from and competing for tourists' business that I would certainly go elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Victoria, BC

Lovely resort, friendly & helpful staff

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Wildlife/mangroves, natural & beautifully kept. A la carte restaurants, no reservations needed. Alfredo @ White Sands Lobby Bar was the best bartender
Cons: Buffet food was good and plentiful, but there could be more variation in daily menus; it seemed to repeat from day to day, especially breakfast.
Location: 1/2 hr north of Tulum (shopping/ruins), 15 mins north of Akumal Playa (great snorkeling & beach), 40 mins south of Playa del Carmen (shopping/beach)
Really enjoyed our stay at this resort. Very expansive grounds with lots of walking required, (you can take the tram, but the tram frequency varies between lobbies/villas, and it can be quite a wait at times) the walkways and boardwalks are well maintained and make for pleasant strolls. The beach is long with lots of lounge chairs, and although there is a rocky entry to the water, the swimming is great, and you can snorkel right off of the beach along some good coral structure. The food was good, but the highlight was the unlimited a la carte access, with reservations required at only two of the many restaurants. The most we waited to get in to one of the restaurants was 1 hour, but they gave us a beeper and we went to the lobby bar for drinks until the beeper went off. Some shopping available within resort, gift shops and the like. They have a nightly market at each lobby with local artisans and the usual kitschy souvenir fare. The resort is working hard to be environmentally conscious, and they take their turtle protection seriously, which is great. Exchanging money at the front desk is pretty hit or miss, so if you are a tipper, take lots of small bills with you, though sometimes the bartenders with break larger bills for you if you ask nicely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

beautiful hotel very close to the beach.

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: has many restaurants and beautiful landscapes.
Cons: Security.
Location: there was none. it was a seculuded place, far from the town.
the hotel has beautiful environment, lakes, trees and close to a beautiful white sand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Beautiful!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Fantastic service, staff, food and facilities. We loved every minute we were here! Excellent food variety and plenty of activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta

Plenty of amenities and very friendly staff

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The staff are very friendly and the rooms well maintained.
Cons: Wash the bedspread incl decorative pillow. Eww. A card perhaps indicating "not interested in spa services". Constant hassle became annoying
This is a very large resort. Plenty of places to sit in the sun, from the beach, to the pools (adult, swim-up bar, family and salt water). I really loved the salt water pool, mostly because of the scenery and the sound of the ocean. This area however has THE most uncomfortable chairs I've ever sat on. Metal bars supporting the webbing, so you have to sit just right and laying on the chair is not going to happen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little bit of paradise

Posted Sep 19, 2014
This was our 8th visit to the Grand Palladium White Sands. We stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor and it was fantastic. We had a great 10 days of relaxation. The services provided by the hotel were awesome. Would highly recommend this resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom yeg

Very BIG resort.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
There is a bit of a learning curve trying to figure out where you are and where you need to go, the resort is that big. Lots of places to eat, good kids club, nice beach.