Ratings based on 841 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Hotel is beautiful, Management & Food Need help!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Beach is very pretty, the hotel is well kept and most of the staff are very nice. This year they seemed to be very short staffed.
Cons: Reception personnel - attitude was the worst I have ever experienced check-in and out. Food really needs improvement. Buffets are not very good.
Location: Beach and pools are nice at the hotel. Whale Shark Swim was very fun.
We stayed in Platinum direct pool area this year but had a better experience last year in regular direct pool access room. Very RUDE reception checking in and out. We requested a room with 2 double beds (We had 3 adults my husband myself and our 18 yr old daughter. So we paid for 3 adults.) I put the 2 bed request on the hotel reservation, had Expedia call the week before arrival and I sent an email. Upon checkin I asked to ensure we had 2 beds. They said yes at 10am, but room would not be ready until 3, after 5 we were given a room with 1 bed. When I complained the lady in reception was rude to me and lied to me numerous times. I insisted that we did not care about being in Platinum area we just wanted a room with 2 beds with pool access. I had to go to a higher manager before the issue was resolved (It took a couple of hours). And there is major construction at the hotel (burning smells, noise etc.) 7/24 Concierge for platinum area was hardly ever available, Platinum Restaurant was not open. Platinum pool bar and beach area were shorted staffed. The working staff -maid and servers were very nice but the whole Hotel seemed to be short staffed compared to last year. Major change from last year. The beach and hotel are beautiful. The food is not very good. We have traveled to the Rivera Maya area for last 15 years, we normally always try different hotels. So we know what to expect this was probably one of our least favorite experiences!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Great resort with lots to do all in one place

Posted Aug 9, 2014
We got a swim-up suite and it was great to walk out the room and be in the pool. The staff was nice and lots of fun. Visited the spa one day and the beach the next and all were fantastic. Highly recommend and would go again. Only downfall was having to book your dinner reservations so far in advance. Doesn't work well for a short trip....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san antonio tx

awful service

Posted Aug 8, 2014
service was awful from the start, it really is a shame that it the service stayed the same pathetic we really felt discreminated at times. we will never come to your hotel again and we will make sure to tell everyone we know about your service very dissapointed with you guys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All around good

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Food good/great we had 4 rooms one smelled bad and had bugs but the others were ok beach was really nice pools were nice good drinks staff was nice and accommodating I would return at some point in the future I would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great hotel on the beach!

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: great location, amazing pool and beach, excellent room and and staff
Cons: later pool hours, improved restaurant quality, more clear info about evening activities
Location: location is perfect! great beach! take a morning trip to tulum for an even more amazing beach and view! also snorkel xtreme was a great excursion!
My SO and I just returned from the Grand Riviera Princess after a 6 night stay. We are young professionals and were looking for an affordable place to spend a relaxing week at the beach and pool- this hotel definitely fit the bill. We arrived several hours early but we were able to get everything except our room key. We stayed in a Deluxe Suite which was beautiful- large room with a king sized bed, sitting area, and small patio. The bathroom had a stall shower and separate toilet, with a large jacuzzi and two sinks. Our room was about 50 feet from the pool, which was absolutely perfect. The grounds of the hotel were well maintained and beautiful with lots of lizards, coaties, and cats roaming about. We found the hotel to be a great size and were able to walk from one end to the other in less than 7 minutes. Our room was centrally located too which was great. The pool was our favorite part of the hotel. The water was bathtub warm at all times and never really seemed crowded. Swim up bars were in several of the pools and had great drinks and service. The beach at the hotel was also amazing. Very clear water, no rocks, and plenty of chairs and umbrellas. We ate at the buffet most meals and went to the themed restaurants four nights. All were okay but not exceptional. In terms of service, everyone working at the hotel was very nice and helpful. Maintenance came immediately to fix our broken jacuzzi. Servers and bartenders were also exceptional. We definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from VA

Great all inclusive on the Mayan Riviera.

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The beach is awesome and has lots of shade and sunny spots. Put your towels out early to get the best chairs. The pool bars are also great.
Cons: The food is food, but not up to premium resort standards. And good luck getting into the premium restaurants unless you pay extra.
Location: We snorkeled in Akumel with the sea turtles and visited the Mayan ruins at Tulum. Avoid 5th Avenue in Playa unless you have money to burn.
This was our first time in Mexico as well as a Princess Resort. In short, we loved this place. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and well kept. There was some wear and tear in the bathroom, but nothing major. We loved all of the pools, amd the grounds were immaculate. The private beach was long and the water was as clear as I have ever seen. We loved the bar and lunch grill on the beach also. The only thing that we think could be improved at this resort is the food service. The buffets have plenty of variety, but it seems that they have difficulty keeping some items hot. We constantly battled with cold pastas and entrees. Also, we only managed to have one dinner in one of the resort restaurants over six days because of the arcane mechanism they have for making reservations as well as the artificial scarcity they create in the reservation system. Our restaurant was only half full despite our having to wait two days to get in. But aside from the food, which is good but not great, everything else about this resort is top notch. We would highly recommend it to people who want to feel safe and well cared for while in Mexico.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, mass

Mosquitos, mosquitos!!!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Our original room was located down near the wet land area and so Our room was filled with so many Mosquitos. I was traveling with a baby and was concerned about bites. I complained several times to the front desk to change to a room where the mosquitos werent as bad... It took me complaining to them the whole day before they were fed up with seeing my face in the lobby and changed my room. Through my observation they seem they keep guest with children down at the end of the resort where the mosquitos are an issue- that seems ridiculous. People may say that it's tropical so bugs are ineviditable, it's not exceptable when my son is sleeping And I have to swat several Mosquitos on his head constantly throughout the night. The room we were moved to had no issues with Mosquitos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Very relaxing experience

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Very clean and well organized resort. Staff was friendly and helpful with everything. Only complaints were the time it took to check in and check out (only one person behind the desk with a line of 8 ) and the swim up pool bars should be staffed with at least 2 bartenders in peak hours. It was took too long to get drinks between the hours of 1-4. Overall experience was mostly positive, food exceeded all expectations and we had no regrets about our choice to stay at the princess.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2014 by Princess Hotels Mexico, Hotel Management
Dear Scott, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Grand Riviera Princess. Your nice words are greatly appreciated as we are certain your review will prove invaluable to other travelers. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and services. We are honored to have had the opportunity to serve you and yout group We hope that you will return again soon so we can extend our usual warm welcome. Best regards, Obed Canche Grand Riviera Princess
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Cons: Royal employees badgering you about their time share presentations.
Location: 45 minutes from Cancun. Not too bad but a little too far to travel to.
Great rooms! Great beach! Beware of Royal employees badgering you when you check in about their time share presentations. More importantly, avoid Elias. Great service other than that and a great spa! Rooms were comfortable, always clean and the air conditioning worked very well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Princess Hotels Mexico, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind words about your most recent stay at Grand Riviera Princess. It is pleasant for us to read that you had a wonderful time relaxing in your comfortable room. Please honor us with your visit in your next vacation. Best Regards, Obed Canche Grand Riviera Princess
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

my review was very nice

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: the service
Cons: yes, faster transportation to and from the lobby and faster service on the beach bar. the wait was over the edge
Location: location was ok, not far from the lobby and the beach
my experience was very nice, fun and the people were very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Princess Hotels Mexico, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice comments concerning your stay at Grand Riviera Princess. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known. Best Regards, Obed Canche Grand Riviera Princess