Ratings based on 1,313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Beautiful facility with great amenities

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The food was delicious. There are a lot of pools to choose from. The Chill Out was our favorite area. Service was very good.
Cons: Because the property is very large you have to wait for a cart to drive you to the main lobby or to the beach, they could use more frequent runs.
Location: Playa del Carmen is just 15 minutes away, and the hotel provides shuttle service for $5 -- a cab fare would be $25. Nice restaurants and shopping.
My husband and I went for a long weekend. It was very relaxing, there is plenty of quiet spaces throughout the hotel. We plan to go back with the kids, there are also many options for kids activiities. The food was very good and everything looked very clean. The beach is very nice, although a little rocky, but other than that its very nice. Also there was a lot of security, on the beach and within the resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver,CO

Resort is poorly laid out.

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Everything
Location: There are plenty of adventure trips nearby but I would suggest you explore them on your own for a fraction of the price unless you are a novice.
We've vacationed in Playa Del Carmen a few times over the years. The availability of our favorite resorts was not available for the dates we needed so we booked this resort.The layout of the entire resort was poorly done and was not meant to cater to the handicapped or for any one above the age of 40. There are only two elevators supporting the two Princess resorts and they are tucked away on the far side of both lobbies. The pools are not designed to get in and out of with ease with the old style pool ladders left over from the 60's. The pictures may just fool you as to what reality is as far as which pools you can use and which are for their reserved members. They hit you up when you first arrive to upgrade yourself to a premier member and even try to sell you future vacation packages. There are no clear markings or directions to which areas are off limits to you budget travelers until a security person tells you to move. The food was not exceptional just lots of high carbs. The trolley that takes to and from the buildings is not large enough for the amount of guest staying in the resort and it never comes and goes on a scheduled basis.The beach is thin and probably the worst one in the area although the snorkeling was great.There were twelve and fourteen year old youngsters consuming alcohol along with their parents but that's another story as there is nothing quite like a drunk child This is the place to get drunk on poor quality alcohol and eat mediocre food for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york, ny

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 25, 2015
Beautiful hotel, my husband and I picked this hotel to celebrate my birthday. We were very pleased. We would definitely be returning
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom minnesota

Posted May 25, 2015
It's a big resort with really nothing to do. Should not be rated 4 stars. Will not come here again. Here are my breakdowns of the hotel: Room: We stayed at the family club room. The room was spacious. Smelled moldy, and you are either really cold or really hot. There are no elevators, so it will be a work out for parents bringing strollers. Food: Only 3 buffets, which all closes at 3pm - 5pm...good luck to those who are hungry between those times. We didn't get to try any of the restaurants, because we went during a busy weekend and nothing was available. The foods at the buffet was bland, nothing to be excited for. Room service was a joke! It is not included with the all inclusive package, you pay per item and it stops at 11pm. Beach: 3 words: rocks, corals, and sharp rocks. There is at least 10 feet of rock bottoms until you get to soft sand. Therefore, the kids couldn't even enjoy the beach. We swam most of the time at the pool. Resort: It's a big resort with one trolley that carry maximum of 12 ppl. THERE IS ONLY ONE trolley and it comes every 15 minutes and you literally have to fight for seats. For a 4 star resorts with soo little amenities it is not worth the money to stay. Staff: They could careless about their guests. Seems like all of them expected tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico D.F.

Fabuloso hotel familiar

Posted May 24, 2015
Este hotel fue una gran sorpresa, tiene una calidad en el servicio excepcional, las habitaciones amplias cómodas, limpias y muy lindas, solo hay que mejorar las almohadas, la calidad de los alimentos buena, las instalaciones enormes, la seccion del Princess Family Club sensacionales para familias con niños, la playa linda y segura pero tiene algas. Muy recomendable para familias
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Beautiful hotel, some of the staff must be nicer

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Pools, Areito disco, landscaping, hibachi grill.
Cons: Beach clean, Transportation inside the hotel, client attention, more elevators
Location: Do not lose Playa del Carmen
We have to spend the first and second day changing the room because we request king bed and gave me 2 double beds room, with a dirty cleaning towel and headboard broken (room 8120). Adolfo (check in supervisor) did not help us, we have to wait until the second day, leave that room at 12pm, and wait until 3pm to get the room that we requested with king bed 1 month in advance (Alejandra was very helpful and nice person) After the two days lost trying to get a better room, we finally enjoy the hotel. Beautiful pools, landscaping, fountains, etc. The beach needs to be clean every day, it was very dirty. We were disappointed with the Vaqueria 2 Restaurant, the captain is not nice person, the service was very slow and poor air condition, this Restaurant is better to be closed. Please try to reserve in Vaqueria 1 at lobby area, it looks completely different. The hotel needs more transportation, there are only one train with one car every 20 min, after a long waiting, we have to wait another 20 min because we can not have space in the car. The hotel needs to add another train with more cars. The food and entertainment were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time except one thing

Posted May 24, 2015
everything's good except we had mosquitos in our room and got eaten alive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom winnipeg

Overall great family resort!

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: cleaniless/activities
Cons: a la carte food
friendly staff, efficient service, decent food, lots of pool/beach side space, very clean resort! Had an awesome family trip with baby!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chavez

If you can spare a bit more money stay elsewhere.

Posted May 22, 2015
We stayed 7 days here for our honeymoon and honestly we couldn't wait to come back. We booked our trip through Expedia and on there website it says if you show your marriage license they would upgrade you to the honeymoon suite. Upon arrival I just inquired about the possibility and the gentleman (Jonathan) helping me responded to us we don't do that here. Not even 5 minutes later another customer walked up and explain that it was his honeymoon as well and they upgraded him. It felt like every request we had was no. The buffet was subpar at most. The only restaurant we liked was there version of Benihana's. Some days it took them until 5pm to get to our room to clean and then on top of that they wouldn't leave you fresh towels. When you called the front desk to ask them for towels it would take them 30-45 minutes to get to your room. We had dirty sheets 3 of the 7 nights and when the people are cleaning your room they prop the door open while they are cleaning and the mosquitoes have the open alley in your room and you definitely feel it in the morning. They serve these disgusting burgers and hotdogs in the sports lounge and the beach but you have people feeding the birds at the beach and yes they are popping on us. I could go on and on but the moral of this story is that when you pay for accommodation and customer service you feel you should get it but in this case we felt like after you pay the resort just doesn't care about us as customers. Hopefully this helps!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Beach

Posted May 21, 2015
Over all our stay was ok, but the beds were horribly uncomfortable. Cleanliness of the room was so so. The grounds were beautiful. The food choices left a lot to be desired. Should be more types to choose from not just buffets.