Ratings based on 838 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: I enjoyed the room service
Cons: staff service, and more transportation around to take you around the entire resort,
was there for a few days, resort its self is clean, but the service is horrible, always had to ask for towels everyday, the buffet service was horrible, always had to ask for water and coffee. went to the buffet and she she it was full, when I looked inside they had lots of seat available, so I went in and had a seat to eat. I just think the service could be better
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Disapointment, one after the other

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: The pools entertainement
Cons: Service severe lack of personnel and management Quality control with food beverage Good mattresses Honest, happy staff Transport within
Location: Playa del carmen
Me and my husband came to this hotel for a wedding, with all the positive reviews and the beautiful pictures we had high expectations. As soon as we arrived something felt off. We were not very well greeted and made to wait on the side while platinum members walked right in front of the line, this made us feel as if we were second class customers. The employees were not at all pleasant and didn't even offer us a welcome drink, even thought we were sweating like dogs. I had previously booked the hotel for one person, and added someone to my room and was told by the front desk that their would be no extra charge, which turned out to be a lie. I was charged several hundred dollar at my checkout. The room was a standard size for a mexican resort, what was unusual was the extremely high end fxtures and the extremely cheap and uncomfortable mattress, it seems as if this hotel has it's priorities wrong. We waited over an hour for our luggage to come, and had to call to remind them, the bellboys attitude when he delivered our one piece was revolting, he expected a tip even thought i had to remind them to do their job. Not what i call 5 star service. We arrived for dinner, and had to wait 15 minutes to sit, and then an other 20 minutes to have access to mediocre and bland food. I can honetly say that i would rate the food 2/10. The variety is sad, with next to no mexican offerings, and mostly bland over boiled meats with no seasonings. The pools are nice, but the service is horrible
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IRAPUATO, MEXICO

THE WORST COSTUMER SERVICE I HAVE EXPERIENCED

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: I DID NOT PAY ATTENTION TO THE PLACE DUE TO THE TERRIBLE SERVICE.
Cons: THE CUSTOMER SERVICE. THEY SHOULD GIVE OPTIONS TO THE COSTUMERS INSTEAD OF GIVING THEM TROUBLES
THE EXPEDIA RESERVATION WASN'T RECOGNIZED THEY MADE ME PAY OVER EXPENSIVE ROOM FOR THE FIRST NIGHT IN HOPES THAT THE EXPEDIA RESERVATION APPEARED THE NEXT DAY, THOSE ROOS WERE THE ONLY ROOMS AVAILABLE NOT THE ONES I ORDER AND WE HAD TO STAY 4 PEOPLE IN ONE BED FOR 1 NIGHT. ALL THIS AFTER 4 HOURS LOST THE FIRST DAY AT THE FRONT DESK. SECOND DAY OTHER 4 HOURS ON THE FRONT DESK FIXING THE PROBLEM OF THE FIRST NIGTH AND GETTING THE CORRECT DETAILS FOR MY RESERVATION. THEY WANTED TO KICK ME OUT OF THE HOTEL, THEY DIDNT EVEN WANTED TO GIVE ME ROOM KEYS. AFTER A WHILE I DECIDED TO LEAVE THIS HOTEL AND FIND ANOTHER PLACE AND THEY SAID THAT I NEEDED TO PAY ALL NIGHTS EVEN IF WASN'T GOING TO USE THEM, BY A MIRACLE OF GOD THEY SUDDENLY RECOGNIZE EXPEDIA'S BOOKING, ONLY WHEN I ALREADY DECIDED TO LEAVE THE HOTEL. AT THE END I STAYED TWO NIGHTS AND LOST ALMOST 10 HOURS OF MY FAMILY VACATION DISCUSSING WITH THE FRONT DESK MANAGER. TO THIS DAY, 1 WEEK LATER THEY HAVEN'T REINBURSED MY MONEY. EXPEDIA CUSTOMERS -- DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL. EXPEDIA -- I STRONGLY SUGGEST YOU REMOVE THIS HOTEL FROM YOUR LISTINGS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland, ohio

Gorgeous and very relaxing!

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Hotel was overall fantastic! One major flaw that I believe could be improved was the way you have to make reservations for the restaurants. They only had 1 person working this area and there was always a huge line. Also they only let you book for two days forcing you to have to go back. Because of this we were told are last night that all restaurants were booked. The food was good and the grounds were beautiful. Beach was gorgeous! Pool water was a bit too warm and somewhat not refreshing but not a major issue.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Dont be fooled!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Grounds are nice, kept beaches clean from seaweed.
Cons: Customer service, customer service and customer service. Bars all close at 10 or 11, couldnt get into ANY of the restaurants except for buffet.
Location: Playa de Carmen was amazing!
We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Grand Riveria Princess reort and have to say, SAVE YOUR MONEY!! The grounds are very nice, well cared for indeed. We traveled with 7 couples and all upgraded to the audult only, platinum which essentially have us NOTHING! We couldnt get into a single restaurant, even when asked if we could split the party up in order to make it happen. So.....we had buffet food the entire trip. The wifi in the rooms doesnt work half the time, they were constantly out of towels yet this is supposed to be the low season. When we arrived we were supposed to have had a fruit basket, a beach bag, 3 different liquors along with a stocked fridge with sodas and beer...we had none of that. When we called the front desk to inquire we were told it was because we got a free upgrade which was definately not the case. Even after calling 2 days in a row to complain and get the "welcome package" it took them a 3rd day to get us anything. The customer service was absoluetly RIDICULOUS. The staff all act like you are doing them a favor by being there. Staff hardly even made eye contact or asked how the stay was. I am very, very disappointed in the Princess chain and would NOT recommend anyone to spend their well earn dollars with this chain.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Not good!

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Spa staff and massages.
Cons: Staff should get some training. Hotel should have Wi-Fi
The hotel is quite clean and looks nice, however the service is terrible. Staff definitely do not receive any training. They are very slow in any request, when they even bother in deliver what you need. Food is not good and though the hotel claims to offer many different restaurants, it is only 2 available as you must book the others with three days or more in advance, which is impossible unless is you call before your check in!! My friend and I were traveling by ourselves and in different rooms and being a woman alone we've experienced a lot of flirting from the male staff. It made us very uneasy about walking alone around the hotel. Some personal and invasive questions were constantly made by them as it was a normal thing and they got to the point of mentioning that they could come to our rooms if we felt lonely. It was choking! Concierge and reception service were extremely slow. I needed to wait more 40 minutes in the heat (there is no air conditioning as the reception area is open) for cheeking in as there were only 3 receptionists for more than 100 people that had arrived just minutes before me, in an excursion. The hotel should have an option of wi-fi service in the rooms and around the hotel for extra charges.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Will never recommend this place

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: The spa. Their staff are the best in the hotel, speak better English and very polite. The massage I did was good too.
Cons: They definitely should train their staff to be more agile, professional and proactive. The hotel should have an option of wi-fi service in the rooms
The hotel is quite clean and looks nice, however the service is terrible. Staff definitely do not receive any training. They are very slow in any request, when they even bother in deliver what you need. Food is not good and though the hotel claims to offer many different restaurants, it is only 2 available as you must book the others with three days or more in advance, which is impossible unless is you call before your check in!! My friend and I were traveling by ourselves and in different rooms and being a woman alone we've experienced a lot of flirting from the male staff. It made us very uneasy about walking alone around the hotel. Some personal and invasive questions were constantly made by them as it was a normal thing and they got to the point of mentioning that they could come to our rooms if we felt lonely. It was choking! Concierge and reception service were extremely slow. I needed to wait more 40 minutes in the heat (there is no air conditioning as the reception area is open) for cheeking in as there were only 3 receptionists for more than 100 people that had arrived just minutes before me, in an excursion. The hotel should have an option of wi-fi service in the rooms and around the hotel for extra charges.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Hotel is beautiful, Management & Food Need help!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Beach is very pretty, the hotel is well kept and most of the staff are very nice. This year they seemed to be very short staffed.
Cons: Reception personnel - attitude was the worst I have ever experienced check-in and out. Food really needs improvement. Buffets are not very good.
Location: Beach and pools are nice at the hotel. Whale Shark Swim was very fun.
We stayed in Platinum direct pool area this year but had a better experience last year in regular direct pool access room. Very RUDE reception checking in and out. We requested a room with 2 double beds (We had 3 adults my husband myself and our 18 yr old daughter. So we paid for 3 adults.) I put the 2 bed request on the hotel reservation, had Expedia call the week before arrival and I sent an email. Upon checkin I asked to ensure we had 2 beds. They said yes at 10am, but room would not be ready until 3, after 5 we were given a room with 1 bed. When I complained the lady in reception was rude to me and lied to me numerous times. I insisted that we did not care about being in Platinum area we just wanted a room with 2 beds with pool access. I had to go to a higher manager before the issue was resolved (It took a couple of hours). And there is major construction at the hotel (burning smells, noise etc.) 7/24 Concierge for platinum area was hardly ever available, Platinum Restaurant was not open. Platinum pool bar and beach area were shorted staffed. The working staff -maid and servers were very nice but the whole Hotel seemed to be short staffed compared to last year. Major change from last year. The beach and hotel are beautiful. The food is not very good. We have traveled to the Rivera Maya area for last 15 years, we normally always try different hotels. So we know what to expect this was probably one of our least favorite experiences!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Great resort with lots to do all in one place

Posted Aug 9, 2014
We got a swim-up suite and it was great to walk out the room and be in the pool. The staff was nice and lots of fun. Visited the spa one day and the beach the next and all were fantastic. Highly recommend and would go again. Only downfall was having to book your dinner reservations so far in advance. Doesn't work well for a short trip....
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san antonio tx

awful service

Posted Aug 8, 2014
service was awful from the start, it really is a shame that it the service stayed the same pathetic we really felt discreminated at times. we will never come to your hotel again and we will make sure to tell everyone we know about your service very dissapointed with you guys.