Ratings based on 862 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogotá, Colombia

Better than we believe

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: All
All excellent, the services, the room, the pools, the locations,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Never again

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Pool access from room
Cons: Staff service, food.
Staff was overworked, hence too busy to care. Hotel nickel and dimed you for everything, Wifi, room service, everything. Food was spoiled at buffet. Salad lettuce was brown. Some things were ok but about 70 percent was just not good. Hotel only had 1 shuttle to transport you so we walked most of the time. Equivalent to 3 blocks back then 3 forth just to get to main building. Staff would not help with email addresses for our complaints. One staff member even conned us out of 10 dollars for internet access which he had no authority to provide. We got money back but had to hunt them down. We had to make best of it, but will never go back and will never recommend this hotel chain to anyone. Don't go to any Princess hotel!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

PDC Vacation 2014

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Clean, great food, relaxing.
Cons: Need ice machines in each building. More food options after 11PM. UNLESS YOU LIKE HOTDOGS, HAMBURGERS, nachos you have no options.
Location: more than you can expect or count, the area offer a lot to do.
This hotel is very nice, if you can upgrade to a suite with jacuzzi do so and ask for one with the patio pool entrance, it makes for a very enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Good experience, food was good but not great, beach was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Excellent Trip

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: the amenities, service, appearance, size, great place
Cons: The buffet food!
Location: hotel is located on the rivera > Most activities/tours are 30mins away ---dolpnin swim, Xcaret, Explor
Grand Rivera Princess is certainly a 5-star hotel. We arrived at the hotel aprox 2 hrs prior o check in and was greeted very warmly at the front desk given our wristband and was upgraded free of charge to a Junior Jacuzzi suite which was very spacious and clean. The compound is extremely large so there is a trolley to take you around every 15 mins, however at nights it every hour so be prepared to walk if you are someone who likes walking . There are 13 restaurants BUT depending on your package you may only have dinner access to 5/6. Buffet is always open for all 3 meals but take a good advice and make reservations as soon as you check in for the special evening dinners. The pool is everlasting with 2 0r 3 swim-up bars and you can upgrade to the swim up pool to your room. The staff is very friendly and you get prompt service for any problems in the room including being locked out of your safe, within 10mins it was opened. Night life is OK not the greatest but disco is every night and there is a sports bar with 24hr food. This was a great experience and was well worth the package. Oh, be aware of the vacation club offer which is most likely in all the hotels ,its 2-3hrs Not 90mins but you get a mini vacation coupon for your time. This hotel is a go!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Family Vacation

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: everything !c
Cons: Free Wi Fi
Location: down town , and the shopping center .
We stayed 5 night 6 days at the Resort . the family had great time from Sunrise util midnight . food was very good, the staff were very freindly ,the Resort was super clean ,the best entertainment at night time . i really recommend this hote for a nice vacation . we are planing to go back again next year .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome experience!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
I travelled solo and it was the best thing I've done so far in my life. This resort is beautiful and the staff are extremely helpful. If you made eye contact with a staff member, they would always say "hola!" There are so many things to do and there are always beach and pool chairs available. The chairs may not be "in the shade, 63 cm away from the bar, with a tv mounted on them," like some guests would like but there are always some available. It's a big resort but that made it even better for me, it was less crowded!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2014
The staff was very accommodating & the hotel was beautiful
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Never again

Posted Aug 29, 2014
The hotel itself is very nice, nice size room, landscaping beautiful and gorgeous beach. Food at buffett was good but did not try any restaurants. The nightly shows were very good. The hotel is very big and extremely short staffed. Many times we had to get our own drinks during meals and their were nights that they did not have any glasses to do even that so we ended up eating without drinks. There is hardly any entertainment throughout the day especially for kids. Did not get to know any of the workers as they were not that friendly and most of them did not seem happy to be there. Overall, my family and I will never stay at another Princess Hotel again. We made this vacation fun by ourselves. I recommend Iberostar Resorts as we stayed there and they are the best so far. Also, spoke with other guest who said purse stolen and they didn't care to help her, would not even let her see the video, they also could not locate her suitcase for a while. Another guest said items stolen from beach bag by the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent accommodation and gorgeous beach.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Hotel was awesome! My dreamed vacations! Hotel is very close to the beach. More than three pools to enjoy with family and friends. Enjoyable shows and environment!