Ratings based on 1,398 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
The food was always cold unless you were getting something off the grill. The beach was horrible. The service was excellent. Room was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Nice hotel near the beach but too much seaweed on the beach which cause tbe air to smell fishy. They did try to clean up the seaweed on the beach. Good food and alot of good mix drink. Some of the staff are nice but some time you can encounter some staff who are mean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, safe resort on the ocean.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The swim out suite, pools and it was on the ocean! The rooms were clean and nice. The air conditioning worked very well.
Cons: The hotel should have more trams running to and from the lobby. Add call-in reservations for the restaurants.
Location: Lots to do but I wanted to stay in the pools and relax.
We had a wonderful time at Grand Princess Riviera Resort. I read reviews online that made me nervous but overall it's an very nice place especially for the price. I have traveled the world and stayed in nice hotels for business so this is not my first experience out of the country. We had a swim out suite which was the bomb! I spent all of my time in the water which was lovely. The beach was covered in seaweed which our friends said that this is not normal. I didn't mind walking through it to get out into the ocean. Take a cheap blow up float and you can float out there for hours. Friends took excursions which they enjoyed. The food is good if you don't mind buffet but if you want a restaurant experience you have to reserve a table at an ala cart restaurant. The steak house was very good. I was just too lazy to walk to the hotel lobby everyday to try to get a table at a restaurant. The room was exceptionally clean and the air conditioning worked well. We had terrific pool side service but we did tip the server which was well-deserved. She worked very hard to serve our group of friends. We met nice people and I didn't mind that it was a family resort. Evidently this same resort has adult only section which is an option.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Cons: Everything!
We checked in on a Sunday for our Honeymoon. Our room was cleaned but very hot. The staff was not informative with activities on the resort. Unless you had a dinner reservation at one of the restaurants every evening, which was hard to do, you weren't eating anything on the resort after 1500 hours due to the buffets closed at that time. The beach was awful sea weed covered the beach and resort staff didn't make any attempt to remove it. My husband got sick from the food the second night we were there. When I walked up to the hotel lobby to request assistance from a resort doctor or to even get some soup for the upset stomach, no one would help. We end up cutting our honeymoon short to come home. I would definitely not recommended this resort to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Magical place...July 2015

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Completely loved this hotel. Best staff ever! They surprised us with a cake and song for our anniversary. Facility is nice and there is enough pool space, beach was not so nice but the entire riviera was bad because of seaweed. Food was amazing especially the a la cart (vaqueria, le fleur, and la hacienda are th e best). Only problem is that bith buffets are closed from 3-6 pm and the only thung available is the nasty burgers, decent nachos and fries at the bar. Hotel had live music every night. For shopping in ans out of the hotel, I recommend you pay in pesos because it's cheaper and the exchange rate is better on 5th street (downtown Playa del carmen) rather than the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel plenty of options

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Cons: More evening entertainment options maybe Karioke one night. Free WIFI would be great!!
My family stayed for the week rooms were beautiful staff friendly. Service a little slow at breakfast buffet and at pool bars. Overall many options stayed 6 nights enjoyed a sit down dinner every night enjoyed all the restaurants especially the Oriental cuisine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Great food. Great service. Fabulous pools. Beach was covered in seaweed but this is a problem everywhere in the Gulf of Mexico this summer. Overall, our week was very relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Maravilhoso!!!

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Hotel 5 estrela, GIGANTE e maravilhoso, diversas piscinas, bares e restaurantes. Praia maravilhosa. Quarto muito espaçoso e limpo, funcionarios muito atenciosos e sempre prontos para te atender. Realmente incrivel. A 5kms da Playa del Carmen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from México

REGRESARÉ

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: Las habitaciones con acceso directo a la alberca
Cons: Trato del algunos miembros de personal.
Es un hotel realmente Muy Grande que le vino excelente a mi Plan Familiar. Muy buena comida en los restaurantes de especialidades. La playa tiene algunas zonas con ciertas piedras pero esto ayuda a albergar a peces y poder hacer snorkel sin necesidad de ir a otro lugar, también hay zonas con pura arena y donde la cristalina agua te llega a la cintura a pesar de estar a 60 metros adentro. Los shows nocturnos de buen nivel. El Family Club completísimo y las habitaciones con acceso directo a la alberca son insuperables. Mis hijos, mi esposa y yo deseamos regresar el próximo año.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange, california

Nice hotel, great friendly staff!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Best over all experience. Our first visit to Cancun and it was very memorable. We got upgraded to a platinum suite the staff at the hotel was very tentative and friendly. They accommodate all our needs and were very helpful. Made our visit even better. Can't wait to go back. Great pools and beach was pretty. It had a little seaweed/marsh due to the weather conditions lately but overall not to bad.