Ratings based on 865 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UIO

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Good price, nice hotel, awesome service and really good rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach Gardens, Florida

Mediocre Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: It was clean and there were a lot of swimming pools, which as was nice. The beach is also very very nice. We stayed at the beach the most.
Visited this resort in September 2014. After several stays in this area (one being at a Riu Palace Resort, another at a Secrets Resort and others in between), I would say that this hotel is nice but basic and mediocre. Nothing special or extraordinary. The rooms were fairly nice (had the junior deluxe suite), clean but basic. The hotel is huge, be ready to walk a lot. The furthest distance is from the lobby (were the main buffet is) to the beach. The food is were I would say the hotel ranked the lowest. My husband said the beers barley tasted like a "real beer." I could not drink the mixed cocktails because they were all much too sweet and laden with sugar and artificial sweeteners (I think this resorts thinks "everyone" likes sugar-free). The food was very routine--after the third day it kept repeating and even the restaurants served the same food you can get at the buffets. I noticed that they reused leftover food and made different dishes with it for several days. No fresh squeezed fruit juices (only juices that came from packaging), no smoothies that were made on the spot like other resorts do, no smoked salmon, little cheese selection, and basically very little authentic mexican food. Many of the sauces were watered down (such as the nacho cheese). We made it one night where they served grilled lobster tail--which was delicious, but it only happened once (we asked the staff, and they said they only serve it every 10 days...if that. Lucky us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bogotá, Colombia

Better than we believe

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: All
All excellent, the services, the room, the pools, the locations,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Never again

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Pool access from room
Cons: Staff service, food.
Staff was overworked, hence too busy to care. Hotel nickel and dimed you for everything, Wifi, room service, everything. Food was spoiled at buffet. Salad lettuce was brown. Some things were ok but about 70 percent was just not good. Hotel only had 1 shuttle to transport you so we walked most of the time. Equivalent to 3 blocks back then 3 forth just to get to main building. Staff would not help with email addresses for our complaints. One staff member even conned us out of 10 dollars for internet access which he had no authority to provide. We got money back but had to hunt them down. We had to make best of it, but will never go back and will never recommend this hotel chain to anyone. Don't go to any Princess hotel!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

PDC Vacation 2014

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Clean, great food, relaxing.
Cons: Need ice machines in each building. More food options after 11PM. UNLESS YOU LIKE HOTDOGS, HAMBURGERS, nachos you have no options.
Location: more than you can expect or count, the area offer a lot to do.
This hotel is very nice, if you can upgrade to a suite with jacuzzi do so and ask for one with the patio pool entrance, it makes for a very enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Good experience, food was good but not great, beach was nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Excellent Trip

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: the amenities, service, appearance, size, great place
Cons: The buffet food!
Location: hotel is located on the rivera > Most activities/tours are 30mins away ---dolpnin swim, Xcaret, Explor
Grand Rivera Princess is certainly a 5-star hotel. We arrived at the hotel aprox 2 hrs prior o check in and was greeted very warmly at the front desk given our wristband and was upgraded free of charge to a Junior Jacuzzi suite which was very spacious and clean. The compound is extremely large so there is a trolley to take you around every 15 mins, however at nights it every hour so be prepared to walk if you are someone who likes walking . There are 13 restaurants BUT depending on your package you may only have dinner access to 5/6. Buffet is always open for all 3 meals but take a good advice and make reservations as soon as you check in for the special evening dinners. The pool is everlasting with 2 0r 3 swim-up bars and you can upgrade to the swim up pool to your room. The staff is very friendly and you get prompt service for any problems in the room including being locked out of your safe, within 10mins it was opened. Night life is OK not the greatest but disco is every night and there is a sports bar with 24hr food. This was a great experience and was well worth the package. Oh, be aware of the vacation club offer which is most likely in all the hotels ,its 2-3hrs Not 90mins but you get a mini vacation coupon for your time. This hotel is a go!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Family Vacation

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: everything !c
Cons: Free Wi Fi
Location: down town , and the shopping center .
We stayed 5 night 6 days at the Resort . the family had great time from Sunrise util midnight . food was very good, the staff were very freindly ,the Resort was super clean ,the best entertainment at night time . i really recommend this hote for a nice vacation . we are planing to go back again next year .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome experience!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
I travelled solo and it was the best thing I've done so far in my life. This resort is beautiful and the staff are extremely helpful. If you made eye contact with a staff member, they would always say "hola!" There are so many things to do and there are always beach and pool chairs available. The chairs may not be "in the shade, 63 cm away from the bar, with a tv mounted on them," like some guests would like but there are always some available. It's a big resort but that made it even better for me, it was less crowded!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 30, 2014
The staff was very accommodating & the hotel was beautiful