Ratings based on 820 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, mass

Mosquitos, mosquitos!!!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Our original room was located down near the wet land area and so Our room was filled with so many Mosquitos. I was traveling with a baby and was concerned about bites. I complained several times to the front desk to change to a room where the mosquitos werent as bad... It took me complaining to them the whole day before they were fed up with seeing my face in the lobby and changed my room. Through my observation they seem they keep guest with children down at the end of the resort where the mosquitos are an issue- that seems ridiculous. People may say that it's tropical so bugs are ineviditable, it's not exceptable when my son is sleeping And I have to swat several Mosquitos on his head constantly throughout the night. The room we were moved to had no issues with Mosquitos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Very relaxing experience

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Very clean and well organized resort. Staff was friendly and helpful with everything. Only complaints were the time it took to check in and check out (only one person behind the desk with a line of 8 ) and the swim up pool bars should be staffed with at least 2 bartenders in peak hours. It was took too long to get drinks between the hours of 1-4. Overall experience was mostly positive, food exceeded all expectations and we had no regrets about our choice to stay at the princess.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and great location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Cons: Royal employees badgering you about their time share presentations.
Location: 45 minutes from Cancun. Not too bad but a little too far to travel to.
Great rooms! Great beach! Beware of Royal employees badgering you when you check in about their time share presentations. More importantly, avoid Elias. Great service other than that and a great spa! Rooms were comfortable, always clean and the air conditioning worked very well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Princess Hotels Mexico, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind words about your most recent stay at Grand Riviera Princess. It is pleasant for us to read that you had a wonderful time relaxing in your comfortable room. Please honor us with your visit in your next vacation. Best Regards, Obed Canche Grand Riviera Princess
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

my review was very nice

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: the service
Cons: yes, faster transportation to and from the lobby and faster service on the beach bar. the wait was over the edge
Location: location was ok, not far from the lobby and the beach
my experience was very nice, fun and the people were very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Princess Hotels Mexico, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your nice comments concerning your stay at Grand Riviera Princess. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known. Best Regards, Obed Canche Grand Riviera Princess
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Beautiful resort right on the beach.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Had an amazing time. Very relaxing and great place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty but people were awful

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The hotel was beautiful right on the beach. The buffet was the same mediocre food every day. The hotel store prices were insane. And the staff were unfriendly and not helpful. Horrible experience trying to check out. I would never use this company again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Bad experience

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Room smelt like the sewer ran through it. Food was some of the worst food I have ever had at any resort. Staff was not friendly at all. Will not recommend to anyone nor will I ever stay at this resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

EXCELLENT!!! The best resort we've stayed at!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING!! Amazing trip!! The staff throughout this resort were OUTSTANDING. They made this trip extremely enjoyable.
Cons: The internet service - was not always available
Location: Good location, about 40 minutes from the hotel. We visited Tulum, Xel-Ha, Xplore, and went snorkeling. All excursions were GREAT!
EXCELLENT VACATION!!! Stayed at the resort 7/4/14 - 7/12/14. The best resort we've ever stayed at. Our room was VERY CLEAN. The service from the front desk to all the restaurant employees to the room cleaning employees to the all the people just waiting to help navigate us through this very large & beautiful spotless resort were just AMAZING & OUTSTANDING. Always available, always kind and very helpful. The shows in the air conditioned theater were GREAT. The food in the buffet and restaurants was VERY GOOD. The only complaint was that the free internet included was not always working, but that seemed to frustrate my husband much more then me! WE WILL RETURN TO THIS RESORT and highly recommend it to everyone!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bad comunication parts of the resort far frombeach

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Not enouph or incomplete information from the resort and best day travel staff. Beach is nice but some parts of the resort are so far away from the beach and the little train goes back and forth only every 15 minutes. We walked every time because it was too long to wait for the train. Shows were not as good as at some other resorts that we visited in the past. Food was pretty good especially the full service restoraunts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2014
It was beautiful! The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!