Ratings based on 1,154 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, Ma

It was just "ok"

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: It was pretty, the grounds were nice, many different pools to pick from along with nice beach areas.
Cons: The quality of food and content of alcohol.
Location: We left the hotel just once. Ventured into the city for some real food and drinks. The main drag is cool but be prepared to be bothered by the locals.
Booked a month prior to travel. The resort was down a very long and sketchy driveway with some graffiti and aggressive speed bumps. The resort itself was beautiful and very clean. Most staff members were nice and accommodating however we were approached by a few staff members who asked us to sneak food to them. Not sure if they had the munchies or didn't have the means to eat lunch. I was a bit taken back by this but because I have a large heart, I will admit that I gave in. Our first stop was the "Sports Bar" the buffet food was less than "ok" but because we were starving from a whole day of travel we indulged. Oh yeah, we ordered a couple of "drinks" too. We thought the food and drinks we only get better from here.. Unfortunately they did not. By the third day in, it was very OBVIOUS that the alcoholic drinks did NOT actually contain any real alcohol. I'm not sure what exactly was in the drinks to make them taste like alcohol, I'm guessing some chemical that is rotting in the pit of my stomach. I would be my first born on the alcohol we were served not being real. I am confident because I really like drinking and with many failed attempts, I could not even get a buzz going. Oh.. and our room smelt like mold the entire week. I was hoping the room attendants would have taken care of it but no such luck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reims

un merveilleux souvenir pour notre voyage de noce.

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: les piscines, la plage, le jacuzzi privé, le personnel aimable et souriant, Didier de chez air Canada qui parle Français.
Cons: la propreté de la chambre n'est pas toujours parfaite par rapport au prix demandé.
Location: illot bien situé à l'entré de Playa del Carmen. environnement très calme. Nombreuses activités possible (Tullum, chichen itza, sénotés, tortues....
Splendide hôtel, grand, luxueux, magique. Nous avons séjourné 9 nuits dans une très grande chambre au RDC donnant sur la piscine directement. Chambre équipée de clim, grand lit, salon, tv, cafetière, frigo, douche, double lavabo, WC et baignoire jacuzzi. A l'extérieur, vaste espace vert, beaucoup de piscine, beaucoup de buffet (a volonté, vin et apéro compris!), plage privée au bout du domaine avec espace bar all inclusive, transats, salon de massage et snack grillade. Plage propre et surveillé. Restaurant à thèmes (compris dans le all inclusive) sur réservation obligatoire. Que dire d'autre! très bon séjour avec un personnel aimable et serviable. Surtout n'oubliez pas leur petit pourboire de temps en temps, il en ont besoin pour vivre correctement. C'est ce qu'il fait une bonne partie de leur salaire au Mexique. Bref que du bonheur et nous y retournerons bientôt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 16, 2014
great experience, nice service...could be more friendly and some staff were a little careless...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South East, England

Wonderful, couldnt fault it!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: everything!! also the drinks included alot of names overseas brands, not just local stuff!
Cons: the mexican restaurant should be more authentic with its decor! food great though. (and maybe the white wine!!)
Location: took a trip in to Playa del Carmen,lovely town with the usual shops & restaurants.(just turn right out of the shop when the coach/taxi drops you off!)
visited November 2014. absolutly wonderful place! all the staff are so friendly and its surprising what a difference this makes! 1 bad review we read before coming was "the hotels too big and takes ages to walk everywhere" i just want to address that! firstly, you know the size of the hotel when booking and if you dont want large then stay in a small boutiquey place! there is a little shuttle train running from one end and the other if you dont want to do the 10 minute walk along lovely scenery (from beach to reception with pools & restayuarnts along the way) and for us, we specifally choose this hotel for its size - lots of space to spread out, and more amenities (pools, restaurants etc) so ifs thats the only "complaint" we came accross then you can see how good this place is! running out of space so quickly: food: lots of choice for buffet (which has waiter service for drinks & linen table cloths!) & recommend the italian restaurant! drpools: great, some quiet and some with daily entertainment & music all day! beach: white soft sand & clear warm sea - heaven! (go early if you want a sunbed!) cleanliness: 100%, staff dedicated to keeping the grounds tidy, Rooms: spotless! (one night i had some mozzys in my room, straight away someone came to spray after i informed them, and kept checking with me to make sure it was ok!) large rooms, and bathrooms and balconys with nice views of the gardens. overall i couldnt recommend this place more and we cant wait to go back next year!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver

Beautiful resort but horrible buffets and room

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: Restaurants and drinks.
Cons: Food, cleaning staff
We went to this hotel for my husbands birthday. The lobby was very beautiful and inviting. We went to check in and found out that we couldn't get the king bed we booked. Than the they lost one of my bags. Took 1/2 hour to find it. Got to our room and it smelt horribly of mold. Sheets and blankets looked dirty and had stains all over them. The buffet was disgusting. We did enjoy the restaurants though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom boston,ma

Best resort I ever stayed at!

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Staff was amazing! They were so friendly and accomodating. We got a free upgrade too, which made our trip all the better! The resort is just so well maintained and looks/feels like a 5 star resort. The food is probably the best food Ive ever had at any resorts. There were so many swimming pools and chairs. The beach is not the best though- very rocky in some areas. The water and sand didn't have that tropical white sand beautiful teal water feel. But overall wasn't a bad beach. No complaints here! Good price for such a grand hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Great all inclusive

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Great location, clean room, good food & drink at the right price, fun pools & beach
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom miami.

Terrible host

Posted Dec 6, 2014
I lost one day from my 4 days from my trip doing the check in because they can't find my reservation, and then I don't get the room that I pay for. no body took the responsibility. I spoke whit Expedia and they tell me that was a hotel mistake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Just what we expected. Friendly staff, good food, nice evening show.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Fantastiskt hotell, stort med fantastisk mat. Bra familjehotell.