Ratings based on 917 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and huge facility

Posted Nov 22, 2014
I was not able to book at the restaurants for the first 2 notes due to limited availability.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lake tahoe

very nice resort!! definitely we will recomend it!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
over all it was a very pleasant stay almost all the staff where, courtegius,and friendly,only a couple of employees where rude,and the front desk very eficcient, the restaurant staff and the cocktail waitress super!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AB, Canada

Amazing stay

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Loved the hotel. The food was awesome and the a la carts were very very good. Staff for the most party were friendly and attentative. Facility was always clean and there was lots of space on the beach and by the pools to sit and enjoy the weather. There was something different for entertainment every night and transportation to and from playa del carmen was very easy. I would definitely recommend this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Perfect weather, great staff, beautiful resort, comfortable, affordable, incredible views everywhere, and good food. Only problem was a small one. Shower leaked. Would go back for sure.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

A bit disappointing.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: clean property
Felt that there were a lot of cutting corners to reduce costs. ie hot tub in spa had only lukewarm water; limited entertainment in the evenings; very difficult to make reservations for a non-buffet restaurant. Sundry store cannot charge purchases to the room so we had to run back to our room to get cash or credit card for purchases.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great Atmosphere

Posted Nov 18, 2014
The facilities, pools, buffet, bars, and restaurants were fantastic. Booking a dinner reservation was difficult because the reservations fill up so fast, but the buffets had an excellent selection of food and drinks. We were not completely satisfied with our room, but the friendly and courteous staff more than compensated for that. The complaints on walking distance are exaggerated; even if you were staying at the furthest point from the hotel lobby, it's only a 10 minute walk to the buffets/restaurants. This is a resort that my wife and I would definitely book with again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Overpriced hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The service staff were nice, but the concierge and reservations department were bad to deal with.
Cons: Customer dissatisfaction and making the customer happy
Location: nothing near by. $20 cab ride to playa del carmen. Lots of things to do there.
First off, for the price we were paying for the hotel we expected clean sheets. The bed sheets had stains on them and various marks on them. They were cheap thin linen sheets and the blankets had stains on them as well. When you looked at the bed, you didn't want to sleep on it because of the various stains on the items. Secondly, the mini fridge didn't work at all during our stay. Thirdly, they tried to sell you everything they could for additional fees for internet, access, and items. Lastly, this hotel's buffet was horrible. It was subpar food and was meant for hangover food. If you want to pay for an overpriced hotel to get drunk in their pool and wakeup to eating hangover microwavable food items then this is your place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom miami

Beautiful hotel on the beach

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The food was good at the restaurant at night and the kids club for the kids are amazing
Cons: The train you have to walk a lot they need to improve that
Location: The resort is a little far from the main street to get the public transportation, and the taxi are extremely over price
We book these vacations with my husband and all 3 kids for me and my husband birthday We reserved at the grand riviera princess with pool view went we got there they give us a room with a king side and a twin bed for 5 people them went i ask for another room they give me something they want not what we had paid for they tell me that was not going to be possible i ask 3 time to speak with a supervisor and the answer was he was to busy p. We got there at 9:30 am and we had to wait until 3 pm so we cant get the room with 3 kids. We were told that they could not accommodate our request ( that we made when we booked the room 6 months previously) The staff at the check-in they don't help at all all they tell you that the accommodations are base on availability went you have paid for those. These is my 8 time going to mexico and never ave had none of these issues. On top of that you may as well have slept on the floor as that was how uncomfortable the beds are.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic 5 star!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
We were booked into the platinum grand yucatan section, which may now be listed as a seperate hotel. Attentive, extremely friendly staff, wonderfull buffet, brandnew facilities, great beach, relaxing pool, stunning setting. Couldnt ask for more
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Always a long wait at front desk. Staff unhelpful at front desk.