Ratings based on 1,315 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CO

Nice Resort!!!

Posted May 28, 2015
Nice HUGE resort! Spacious rooms, beds were very hard though. Was expecting more authentic Mexican food. Restaurant food was better than the buffet food. Be prepared to get hit up at the airport when you arrive with solicitations etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Fort Worth TEXAS

Family Vacation

Posted May 28, 2015
Pros: For sure the well kept grounds. Just so clean and green with beautiful flowers.
Cons: NOTHING!
Location: We did Excaret which was amazing, but that was our only excursion. We wanted to do nothing but stay at the hotel.
We had an amazing time. The first thing that was amazing is the grounds of the place. They were kept so nice. It's was amazing. The kids loved the Kidz club. They didn't want to do nothing but the Kidz Club. The women there treated my kids so wonderful. The rooms with the pools outside your balcony was just amazing. It was so cool to just walk outside your back door and hop on in the pool that was pretty secluded for everyone else. Too cool. The Pirates buffet was nice. It was so cool how they have everything perfect for the family. The staff was amazing as well. All and all the place was beautiful, fun, and you can't beat the beach. Just Amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Beautiful facility with great amenities

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The food was delicious. There are a lot of pools to choose from. The Chill Out was our favorite area. Service was very good.
Cons: Because the property is very large you have to wait for a cart to drive you to the main lobby or to the beach, they could use more frequent runs.
Location: Playa del Carmen is just 15 minutes away, and the hotel provides shuttle service for $5 -- a cab fare would be $25. Nice restaurants and shopping.
My husband and I went for a long weekend. It was very relaxing, there is plenty of quiet spaces throughout the hotel. We plan to go back with the kids, there are also many options for kids activiities. The food was very good and everything looked very clean. The beach is very nice, although a little rocky, but other than that its very nice. Also there was a lot of security, on the beach and within the resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver,CO

Resort is poorly laid out.

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Everything
Location: There are plenty of adventure trips nearby but I would suggest you explore them on your own for a fraction of the price unless you are a novice.
We've vacationed in Playa Del Carmen a few times over the years. The availability of our favorite resorts was not available for the dates we needed so we booked this resort.The layout of the entire resort was poorly done and was not meant to cater to the handicapped or for any one above the age of 40. There are only two elevators supporting the two Princess resorts and they are tucked away on the far side of both lobbies. The pools are not designed to get in and out of with ease with the old style pool ladders left over from the 60's. The pictures may just fool you as to what reality is as far as which pools you can use and which are for their reserved members. They hit you up when you first arrive to upgrade yourself to a premier member and even try to sell you future vacation packages. There are no clear markings or directions to which areas are off limits to you budget travelers until a security person tells you to move. The food was not exceptional just lots of high carbs. The trolley that takes to and from the buildings is not large enough for the amount of guest staying in the resort and it never comes and goes on a scheduled basis.The beach is thin and probably the worst one in the area although the snorkeling was great.There were twelve and fourteen year old youngsters consuming alcohol along with their parents but that's another story as there is nothing quite like a drunk child This is the place to get drunk on poor quality alcohol and eat mediocre food for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york, ny

Beautiful hotel

Posted May 25, 2015
Beautiful hotel, my husband and I picked this hotel to celebrate my birthday. We were very pleased. We would definitely be returning
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom minnesota

Posted May 25, 2015
It's a big resort with really nothing to do. Should not be rated 4 stars. Will not come here again. Here are my breakdowns of the hotel: Room: We stayed at the family club room. The room was spacious. Smelled moldy, and you are either really cold or really hot. There are no elevators, so it will be a work out for parents bringing strollers. Food: Only 3 buffets, which all closes at 3pm - 5pm...good luck to those who are hungry between those times. We didn't get to try any of the restaurants, because we went during a busy weekend and nothing was available. The foods at the buffet was bland, nothing to be excited for. Room service was a joke! It is not included with the all inclusive package, you pay per item and it stops at 11pm. Beach: 3 words: rocks, corals, and sharp rocks. There is at least 10 feet of rock bottoms until you get to soft sand. Therefore, the kids couldn't even enjoy the beach. We swam most of the time at the pool. Resort: It's a big resort with one trolley that carry maximum of 12 ppl. THERE IS ONLY ONE trolley and it comes every 15 minutes and you literally have to fight for seats. For a 4 star resorts with soo little amenities it is not worth the money to stay. Staff: They could careless about their guests. Seems like all of them expected tips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico D.F.

Fabuloso hotel familiar

Posted May 24, 2015
Este hotel fue una gran sorpresa, tiene una calidad en el servicio excepcional, las habitaciones amplias cómodas, limpias y muy lindas, solo hay que mejorar las almohadas, la calidad de los alimentos buena, las instalaciones enormes, la seccion del Princess Family Club sensacionales para familias con niños, la playa linda y segura pero tiene algas. Muy recomendable para familias
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Miami, FL

Beautiful hotel, some of the staff must be nicer

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: Pools, Areito disco, landscaping, hibachi grill.
Cons: Beach clean, Transportation inside the hotel, client attention, more elevators
Location: Do not lose Playa del Carmen
We have to spend the first and second day changing the room because we request king bed and gave me 2 double beds room, with a dirty cleaning towel and headboard broken (room 8120). Adolfo (check in supervisor) did not help us, we have to wait until the second day, leave that room at 12pm, and wait until 3pm to get the room that we requested with king bed 1 month in advance (Alejandra was very helpful and nice person) After the two days lost trying to get a better room, we finally enjoy the hotel. Beautiful pools, landscaping, fountains, etc. The beach needs to be clean every day, it was very dirty. We were disappointed with the Vaqueria 2 Restaurant, the captain is not nice person, the service was very slow and poor air condition, this Restaurant is better to be closed. Please try to reserve in Vaqueria 1 at lobby area, it looks completely different. The hotel needs more transportation, there are only one train with one car every 20 min, after a long waiting, we have to wait another 20 min because we can not have space in the car. The hotel needs to add another train with more cars. The food and entertainment were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great time except one thing

Posted May 24, 2015
everything's good except we had mosquitos in our room and got eaten alive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom winnipeg

Overall great family resort!

Posted May 23, 2015
Pros: cleaniless/activities
Cons: a la carte food
friendly staff, efficient service, decent food, lots of pool/beach side space, very clean resort! Had an awesome family trip with baby!!!