Ratings based on 1,402 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Beautiful Resort with excellent service

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: This hotel was very large and had so many dinner restaurants. We stayed for 8 nights and didn't make it to ALL the dinner restaurants.
Cons: The main pool could have been cleaned more. There were 9-11 pools at this resort and we seen people cleaning nonstop. Just not the main pool.
Location: The location is just north of Playa del Carmen and there are so many things to do near the resort. Snorkeling at the national reef was excellent.
We loved our vacation at Grand Riviera Princess and I would recommend this resort to others. The service was excellent. They went out of their way to make everything enjoyable. The only unfortunate things were out of the control of the resort. This summer the seaweed was out of control for the entire coast line. In areas of the resort, the smell was bad. The resort did address it the best they could by plowing it up and burying it in the sand. But the smell was still left behind in certain areas of the beach. The only other complaint was other vacationers leaving their resort beach towel spread across lounge chairs to "reserve" the lounge chair. Most days there were more towels on the lounge chairs all day. It became very annoying how rude and obnoxious others were behaving to make sure they had a lounge chair. By the end of the week, I so badly wanted to pick up all the lonely towels and return them to the towel hut.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey, USA

Resort review

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: Staff, pool, rooms. The resort is beautiful.
Cons: Customer Service/Reception. We were told that rooms are assigned the day before arrival. This is horrible. None of our room requests were met.
Location: Resort is conveniently located. Playa del Carmen, Xcaret, Xoximilco and other places are close by.
Resort is beautiful. Staff was great. Beach not so nice; lots of seaweed and rocks. Reception was horrible. We reserved 8 rooms (family reunion). Requested, a couple of times - way in advance, for all the rooms to be close to one another and this was not the case. Also requested at least 2 rooms on ground level because we had a 99 year old, 78 year old and 75 year old and a baby traveling with us (there is only 1 elevator which is close to lobby); also not met. After 3 hours of back and forth with reception, we were able to get 1 room on ground floor. Finally got the 2nd room 3 days after being in the resort. The distance from lobby to beach is very long. Resort has only 1 trolley to take you back and forth and it's usually full. Not recommended for the elderly. No free WiFi (they wanted $20 dollars a day for WiFi). No ocean front rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbia, SC

Amazing resort

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Most amazing resort with everything we needed. Will definitely return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2015
The food was always cold unless you were getting something off the grill. The beach was horrible. The service was excellent. Room was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Nice hotel near the beach but too much seaweed on the beach which cause tbe air to smell fishy. They did try to clean up the seaweed on the beach. Good food and alot of good mix drink. Some of the staff are nice but some time you can encounter some staff who are mean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, safe resort on the ocean.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: The swim out suite, pools and it was on the ocean! The rooms were clean and nice. The air conditioning worked very well.
Cons: The hotel should have more trams running to and from the lobby. Add call-in reservations for the restaurants.
Location: Lots to do but I wanted to stay in the pools and relax.
We had a wonderful time at Grand Princess Riviera Resort. I read reviews online that made me nervous but overall it's an very nice place especially for the price. I have traveled the world and stayed in nice hotels for business so this is not my first experience out of the country. We had a swim out suite which was the bomb! I spent all of my time in the water which was lovely. The beach was covered in seaweed which our friends said that this is not normal. I didn't mind walking through it to get out into the ocean. Take a cheap blow up float and you can float out there for hours. Friends took excursions which they enjoyed. The food is good if you don't mind buffet but if you want a restaurant experience you have to reserve a table at an ala cart restaurant. The steak house was very good. I was just too lazy to walk to the hotel lobby everyday to try to get a table at a restaurant. The room was exceptionally clean and the air conditioning worked well. We had terrific pool side service but we did tip the server which was well-deserved. She worked very hard to serve our group of friends. We met nice people and I didn't mind that it was a family resort. Evidently this same resort has adult only section which is an option.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Cons: Everything!
We checked in on a Sunday for our Honeymoon. Our room was cleaned but very hot. The staff was not informative with activities on the resort. Unless you had a dinner reservation at one of the restaurants every evening, which was hard to do, you weren't eating anything on the resort after 1500 hours due to the buffets closed at that time. The beach was awful sea weed covered the beach and resort staff didn't make any attempt to remove it. My husband got sick from the food the second night we were there. When I walked up to the hotel lobby to request assistance from a resort doctor or to even get some soup for the upset stomach, no one would help. We end up cutting our honeymoon short to come home. I would definitely not recommended this resort to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Magical place...July 2015

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Completely loved this hotel. Best staff ever! They surprised us with a cake and song for our anniversary. Facility is nice and there is enough pool space, beach was not so nice but the entire riviera was bad because of seaweed. Food was amazing especially the a la cart (vaqueria, le fleur, and la hacienda are th e best). Only problem is that bith buffets are closed from 3-6 pm and the only thung available is the nasty burgers, decent nachos and fries at the bar. Hotel had live music every night. For shopping in ans out of the hotel, I recommend you pay in pesos because it's cheaper and the exchange rate is better on 5th street (downtown Playa del carmen) rather than the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel plenty of options

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Cons: More evening entertainment options maybe Karioke one night. Free WIFI would be great!!
My family stayed for the week rooms were beautiful staff friendly. Service a little slow at breakfast buffet and at pool bars. Overall many options stayed 6 nights enjoyed a sit down dinner every night enjoyed all the restaurants especially the Oriental cuisine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Great food. Great service. Fabulous pools. Beach was covered in seaweed but this is a problem everywhere in the Gulf of Mexico this summer. Overall, our week was very relaxing.