Ratings based on 817 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

my review was very nice

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: the service
Cons: yes, faster transportation to and from the lobby and faster service on the beach bar. the wait was over the edge
Location: location was ok, not far from the lobby and the beach
my experience was very nice, fun and the people were very nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Beautiful resort right on the beach.

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Had an amazing time. Very relaxing and great place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pretty but people were awful

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The hotel was beautiful right on the beach. The buffet was the same mediocre food every day. The hotel store prices were insane. And the staff were unfriendly and not helpful. Horrible experience trying to check out. I would never use this company again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston Texas

Bad experience

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Room smelt like the sewer ran through it. Food was some of the worst food I have ever had at any resort. Staff was not friendly at all. Will not recommend to anyone nor will I ever stay at this resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

EXCELLENT!!! The best resort we've stayed at!

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING!! Amazing trip!! The staff throughout this resort were OUTSTANDING. They made this trip extremely enjoyable.
Cons: The internet service - was not always available
Location: Good location, about 40 minutes from the hotel. We visited Tulum, Xel-Ha, Xplore, and went snorkeling. All excursions were GREAT!
EXCELLENT VACATION!!! Stayed at the resort 7/4/14 - 7/12/14. The best resort we've ever stayed at. Our room was VERY CLEAN. The service from the front desk to all the restaurant employees to the room cleaning employees to the all the people just waiting to help navigate us through this very large & beautiful spotless resort were just AMAZING & OUTSTANDING. Always available, always kind and very helpful. The shows in the air conditioned theater were GREAT. The food in the buffet and restaurants was VERY GOOD. The only complaint was that the free internet included was not always working, but that seemed to frustrate my husband much more then me! WE WILL RETURN TO THIS RESORT and highly recommend it to everyone!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bad comunication parts of the resort far frombeach

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Not enouph or incomplete information from the resort and best day travel staff. Beach is nice but some parts of the resort are so far away from the beach and the little train goes back and forth only every 15 minutes. We walked every time because it was too long to wait for the train. Shows were not as good as at some other resorts that we visited in the past. Food was pretty good especially the full service restoraunts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2014
It was beautiful! The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wichita falls tx

Beautiful place but service needs improving

Posted Jul 18, 2014
We enjoyed our stay very much, the food and amenities were great but we had an upgraded package and we didn't figure out all that entails until day three. The concierge was a joke, but it's hard to beat the beauty and food, it's hard not to have a good time in Mexico.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: I like that is very easy to get around, and the design of the lobby. They need to work on designing the restaurants, must of them look like cafeterias
Cons: The restaurants and food
Location: There is plenty to do in Playa Del Carmen, this is one of the reasons we go back.
This is our third time staying at this hotel, we were a little dissapointed with the food at the restaurants, and how difficult they make it to make reservations for each night, but when you actually go to the restaurants must of the tables are empty??? One thing that they need to work on is the concierge services, we stayed at the Platinum Suites, and they don't tell you all the things you are entitle to.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

The blame game

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The pool and beach were great. The food was ok but not spectacular. We enjoyed the Fiesta night market.
Cons: Customer service
Location: Playa del Carmen was nice for shopping and more authentic Mexican tacos.
We went on a romantic getaway and got a room with 2 double beds. We waited for an hour that first day and they said it could not be changed until the next day. The second day we waited for another hour and had to move our belongings by ourselves. We missed dinner reservations for the first two nights because no one told us about the separate concierge. We spent another hour getting a resolution to our dinner and room problems and the front desk blamed the concierge, who blamed the front desk as well as Expedia. He stated that Expedia should have come to the hotel to explain the features like the hotel travel agents. They never offered us anything for our time and inconvenience. The room, the food were nice. The beach and pools were great. But the blame game and poor customer service means we will never return to this resort!