Ratings based on 1,366 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belize

Excellent family trip

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Enjoyed spending a couple of days with my wife and two boys. This was my second time at Grand Riviera Princess and I would definitely go again. We enjoyed the room , food, the pool and the entire welcoming environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and big

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Shout out to all the staff very accommodating and helpful especially to our favorite bartenders Miguel, angel and abelardo..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really recommended hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
The hotel is very nice and comfortable , staff attention is excellent. We will surely return .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Too Big long distance walking to the beach.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Hotel ok. Food the same buffet every day. Reservation for restaurant need make a line for an hour. Long walks from one place to other.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Beautiful hotel but poor service, some employees were nice and helpful but others were mean and rude.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

Quiet, low key resort

Posted Jun 26, 2015
We went for our honeymoon. It was quiet and didn't seem terribly crowded. The food was ok. Tended to be tired of it after a week. The staff were great. We felt like the only Americans at the resort, however. From our room it was quite a walking distance to the main building. Enjoyed the variety of choice in places to go (pool, beach). Our room was always cleaned. Staff made sure our requests were met. Overall, a decent place to stay in Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ST.john IN

Beach is too far

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Over all nice hotel but the beach too far from the room also no internet services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Easley, SC

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: The nightly entertainment was awesome!!
Cons: The food was good, could have been better.
Location: The location was great! in the mist of all of the excursions and very close to 5th Ave!!
Overall we had a wonderful experience! The swim-up rooms where great! Excellent choice if you have children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern Indiana

Large resort that has something for everyone

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: I am extremely glad we ignored all of the negative comments about the resort. The grounds were beautiful and well kept.
Cons: My husbands complaint was only two key cards were available per family. Three cards would have been better of three adults.
Location: Playa del Carmen was about 10-15 minutes away. Great shopping deals were available there. 30 minutes to Tulum. 2 hours to Chichen Itza.
My husband, 19 years old son and I just returned from a six night stay. This was our first trip to the Cancun area and first time at an All Inclusive resort. We loved the resort. We elected the transportation to and from the airport available from Expedia which was provided by BD or Best Day travel. It took about an hour to travel to the resort. Transportation was shared with another small group and they were dropped off first. Upon arriving at the resort, we were warmly greeted with a cool drink and directed to check-in. The check-in person offered a map of the property and a quick run through of the restaurants available, recommended getting reservations for the first three days and very brief overview of the activities available. We reserved a Junior Suite Deluxe. We were never asked to upgrade. We were then approached by another employee (Norma) who offered a more detailed introduction. This detailed tour was worth it to us because the layout of the property was better explained, explanation of buffets, beach grill and specialty restaurants, importance of restaurant reservations and all of the activities at the resort. Norma later offered us an opportunity to attend a breakfast timeshare with the promise of gifts but we declined. No high pressure sales. She took us to the buffet for lunch, then took us to the restaurant reservation desk and also showed us that Best Day travel offered excursions to sights outside of the resort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

staff

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: The amenities were big and had options of pools and plenty of beach access area.
Cons: The receptions process for dinner reservations. If you are not part of the platinum club or part of time share you are at the bottom of the list.
Check in staff was not courteous, I didn't feel welcomed and they were rude at times.