Ratings based on 922 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reno, NV

Very nice hotel, but very big!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Overall, I Loved the hotel. The facilities are kept clean. It seems like they are constantly doing maintenance. The grounds and pools are in great shape. The food is slightly above average. My complaints are that the hotel is massive! Depending on where your room is, you may be walking 1/2 (or more) mile from the lobby to the beach. They do have a shuttle, but it's often full and not always timely. They need to do a better job of explaining the options and amenities. They don't communicate very well and the staff can come across as unfriendly and not helpful. Especially in the buffet restaurants and the front desk staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bogota, CO

Maybe a great hotel in the past, not today

Posted Nov 23, 2014
The facilities are big and quite impressive at first sight, however, once you dig into the details it is clear that the hotel has lacked maintenance over the years. We had problems with the doors and the tv in our room. The pools in the exterior, seem quite old and give the impression they need to be renewed. Regarding the service I won't say it's first class, once we showed our discomfort for the room condition they offered s change, however, they cared very little for the discomfort created. Finally, food quality is ok, however, lacks variety and is pretty much the same every day. As for the open bar, the liquor quality is low, and decent brands are not covered and have extra charge. Beer would be your best choice for a drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and huge facility

Posted Nov 22, 2014
I was not able to book at the restaurants for the first 2 notes due to limited availability.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Spokane, WA

Amazing stay!!!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Beach, entertainment staff, food
Cons: Add one more bar on the beach, there was always a long line there.
This is a great resort. I was very impressed. Everything was top-notched. Great food/drinks, great staff, beautiful, swimmable beach, with lots of chairs and shade, gorgeous grounds. The food was great in the buffets and restaurants. Lots of entertainment during daytime and nighttime, live music pretty much nightly. The size of the hotel was about medium, about five minute walk to the beach or the lobby, so everything is within walking distance. The room was nice and specious. The downtown Playa del Carmen is about an eight minute drive, the hotel has shuttle for $4 one way. The only thing that I did not enjoy was making reservations to the restaurants because you had to do that daily, you couldn't book those ahead of time for the whole week. Other than that everything was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lake tahoe

very nice resort!! definitely we will recomend it!

Posted Nov 21, 2014
over all it was a very pleasant stay almost all the staff where, courtegius,and friendly,only a couple of employees where rude,and the front desk very eficcient, the restaurant staff and the cocktail waitress super!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom AB, Canada

Amazing stay

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Loved the hotel. The food was awesome and the a la carts were very very good. Staff for the most party were friendly and attentative. Facility was always clean and there was lots of space on the beach and by the pools to sit and enjoy the weather. There was something different for entertainment every night and transportation to and from playa del carmen was very easy. I would definitely recommend this resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great resort

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Perfect weather, great staff, beautiful resort, comfortable, affordable, incredible views everywhere, and good food. Only problem was a small one. Shower leaked. Would go back for sure.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

A bit disappointing.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: clean property
Felt that there were a lot of cutting corners to reduce costs. ie hot tub in spa had only lukewarm water; limited entertainment in the evenings; very difficult to make reservations for a non-buffet restaurant. Sundry store cannot charge purchases to the room so we had to run back to our room to get cash or credit card for purchases.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Great Atmosphere

Posted Nov 18, 2014
The facilities, pools, buffet, bars, and restaurants were fantastic. Booking a dinner reservation was difficult because the reservations fill up so fast, but the buffets had an excellent selection of food and drinks. We were not completely satisfied with our room, but the friendly and courteous staff more than compensated for that. The complaints on walking distance are exaggerated; even if you were staying at the furthest point from the hotel lobby, it's only a 10 minute walk to the buffets/restaurants. This is a resort that my wife and I would definitely book with again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom boston

Overpriced hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: The service staff were nice, but the concierge and reservations department were bad to deal with.
Cons: Customer dissatisfaction and making the customer happy
Location: nothing near by. $20 cab ride to playa del carmen. Lots of things to do there.
First off, for the price we were paying for the hotel we expected clean sheets. The bed sheets had stains on them and various marks on them. They were cheap thin linen sheets and the blankets had stains on them as well. When you looked at the bed, you didn't want to sleep on it because of the various stains on the items. Secondly, the mini fridge didn't work at all during our stay. Thirdly, they tried to sell you everything they could for additional fees for internet, access, and items. Lastly, this hotel's buffet was horrible. It was subpar food and was meant for hangover food. If you want to pay for an overpriced hotel to get drunk in their pool and wakeup to eating hangover microwavable food items then this is your place.