Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Great staff, simple, clean room

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The staff, cleanliness, AC rooms, beautiful balcony and foliage, small, 10% off Zenzi beach club
Cons: Wifi IN the rooms, better beds
Location: Near everything: on the main strip. Zenzi beach club is a 10-min walk, but worth it.
We just returned after a 6 day stay at Hacienda Mariposa. I loved the staff at the front desk but also in the restaurant, who tolerated my request to purchase 2 cervezas when it was too late on a Sunday to buy at a store. We drank those beers on the communal balcony looking over 5th av for an early night in. The room is very clean and subtle gestures like the soap-display in the bathroom, made it feel simply classy. We had a standard room and it was just that: very small, one bed, a TV, fridge, AC, safe, closet, and a bathroom. As all of the other users have noted, the hotel is noisy at night because it's above a restaurant on the main strip. The noise didn't bother me because I was expecting it and I'm generally ok sleeping through noise. My partner brought ear plugs to sleep. The beds are hard as boards: not good for someone like me with sensitive hips. But my partner loved the bed: to each their own. The biggest con for me is that there is no wifi IN the rooms: I felt disconnected from home, wondering if I was missing calls about my dogs, family, etc... but, I was able to connect to the wifi if I was on the side of the bed nearest the door, near the communal balcony. The restaurant has amazing pizza and guests at the hotel get 50% off--which is an excellent deal considering the cost of food on 5th Av. is outrageous (we learned half-way through our trip to walk a few blocks off the strip to find regular-priced food--check out Constituyentes y 20th--30th Av).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Idaho

Awesome hotel in the heart of the action

Posted Apr 8, 2015
This is a charming hotel. The service was excellent the young lady at the front desk went out of her way to make her stay enjoyable. You can sit on the on the balcony and have coffee in the open air lobby. Not much of a view from the room, but the room was stylish clean and comfortable. And who wants to spend time in the room anyway when you're in Playa del Carmen?! The hotel is right on the nicest walking Boulevard in the city. And it is also just a short walk to the beaches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Not relaxing but great for everything else.

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Location and staff were unbeatable.
Cons: Breakfast and the noise!
Location: It is right on the main street full of bars and resturants. Very short walk from the beach!
Overall we really enjoyed our stay. The location is great being on 5th you are close to everything, the italian restaurant downstairs is beautiful and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. We did however have some issues, it is about 2/3 doors down from an extra ordinarily loud Irish pub so you WILL need earplugs if you intend on sleeping before 2am. The breakfast you had to get from the restaurant over the street which have very limited options. Also the last issue we had was that the plumbing can be quite poor which resulted in just simple toilet paper creating a very large flood in the room and even to the extent down in the restaurant below. The staff rectified this pretty quickly and were lovely but it obviously wasn't ideal and had to get clothes laundered for our flight the next day! Overall pleasant but not relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Nice hotel in a perfect location

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The staff, the location, the decoration
Cons: I would have liked to know that some rooms have windows to outside and some don't.
Location: You walk out and you are directly on the most attractive and dynamic street (la quinta) where all the restaurants and shops are ! Amazing !
I spent 5 days at la Hacienda Mariposa and I enjoyed every moment of it. The location is perfect, at the corner of la Quinta (principal street in Playa del Carmen), very close to good restaurants and to the beach. The staff is so nice and helpful. A bonus that I enjoyed a lot: they have a water fountain in the hotel, so you don't need to buy expensive bottles every day...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom milano

Piccolo ma completo

Posted Mar 13, 2015
La zona è perfetta sulla strada principale è un poco lontano dal caos delle discoteche.. Servizio impeccabile solo le camere un poco strette..! Ma ci si adatta..!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Illinois

If you dont want to sleep then this is the place!

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Cons: please change the bed mattesses. My only true complaint
We knew going in that it would be noisy, from reviews we read. That wasn't the problem. The beds were as hard as boards. That made the sleeping difficult. On a positive note: we were upgraded to a two double bed room. The room was clean. The staff was very nice. Thye reccomend a beach to go to, Zenzi (sp?) which was really nice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Calidad del servicio

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels.com
Bueno personal atendimient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Moscow, Russia

Very good hotel on 5a avenida close to the beach.

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Very good hotel in the center of main street of Playa del Carmen - 5a avenida. There are many restaurants and shops close to the hotel. It takes only 5 minutes to get beach. Hotel staff are very friendly. New fresh beach towels are available daily on recepcion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom USA

A simple hotel with location and basic amenities

Posted Jan 8, 2015
You stay here for the location. Period. Right on Quinta Avenida so it's a stones throw from bars, restaurants, and shopping. Perfect if you won't be spending much time in the room, because it's just a basic bed with a dresser and closet anyway. Clean and small and simple. The staff are great though. Ruben is knowledgeable and friendly. They'll help with ideas for day trips or fun.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the 5th avenue

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Location easy to check in and check out
Cons: Rooms noise isolation Any agreement with a close parking lot.
Location: Walk by the beack or 5th avenue.
Close to the main avenue, however its somehow noisy considering that the Restaurant its at the middle of the rooms so if you are looking for a relaxed room this may not be the best option. The rest is quite nice and of course you are paying extra money for being close to the 5th avenue.