Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by efftee from Arlington, VA

Great smaller, downtown, non-resort hotel.

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff. Cleanliness. Breakfast. Location.
Cons: Nada.
Location: It's walking distance to basically everything in PDC. Eat at Aquachiles on Constitution, just east of 5th. Amazing ceviche tostadas, reasonably priced
This was my 4th time in Playa. I've stayed at resorts in the past, but always wanted to stay downtown where the action is as well as to not be stuck with the same old resort food. This place is a hidden gem. It's just one block west of 5th Ave and a couple blocks north of Constitution. It's an easy walk to basically everything...restaurants, beaches, shops. We took the ADO bus from Cancun airport (runs every 1/2 hour, US$11/person, takes 1 hour) to downtown PDC and just walked up 5th Ave to the hotel; about a 10 minute walk. Check in is at 3pm, but they'll hold your luggage for you if you're early so you can get to the playa! The whole staff seemed genuinely friendly (something some resorts are lacking) and helpful. They take pride in the hotel which is evident in how clean they keep it. The rooms are very clean. Many resorts (even the nice ones) suffer from musty room smell. It's usually due to carpeted floors at the beach that never really dry out. This place has tile floors, as all beach hotels should, and therefore no musty smell! Mopped everyday with new, clean water. I witnessed it. Gracias Anita! Secret food spot: If you're up for a 3.5-4 mile hike on the beach (or can find a cab driver who can find it, though walking up the beach is fun...stop along the way for swimming or drinks at different resorts.) walk north up the beach until you get to Coco's Cabanas. Google it for more info. The lobster pizza is unreal. Prices are very reasonable as well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Francis from Mexico City

Centrally located

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: I liked the location of the hotel, near shops and restaurants, and not too far from the beach.
Cons: The wifi was spotty, and the fan in our room didn't work. They couldn't fix it that day so they changed our room the next day.One uncomfortable night.
This hotel is very well located, near the tourist shopping district, and 3 blocks from the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by john & cecile

far beyond our expectations.

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: the hospitality, warmth, proximity to the action yet quiet. the cleanliness, the rooms, the grounds. it's not too big. oh! and did i say the staff?
Cons: can't think of much. probably the lobby coffee, but i slug way too much anyway, but it was always there & hot. no biggie.
Location: on 10th ave, 1 block from 5th. minutes to stroll to the bars, cantinas & shops. save yourself some trouble & $ & book thru Marco, the concierge.
from the moment of our arrival till our sad departure, we had a wonderful time at "our" hacienda. the staff, to the last, were genuinely warm yet professional. not forced but real. as we have been in the hospitality business for decades, i am well aware of the challenges in our work & this crew has got it down. Marco, Carlos, Jorge, Teresita & everyone else made this stay probably the most special of any, for us. the location was perfect. quiet yet one block up from all the action on 5th ave. noise was never a factor. as always, in the course of our stay we try to check out the other hotels that were on our list & none came close to Hacienda Paradise. next visit to Playa this is a no brainer. if you need the luxury of a multinational hotel & fuss if the elevator isn't close enough, you might think of blowing all that money elsewhere, but if you want real Mexico & real Mexican hospitality, you'll find a home here. we sure did. john & cecile. hasta luego, amigos!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kmf from Playa del Carmen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scotty from Spokane WA

Charming hotel, great service and location

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: The service, the attentiveness of the employees, the location, and breakfast.
Cons: n/a
Location: Close to 5th Ave and the zocalo so we could walk to the attractions, but set back enough (a block away) so it wasn't noisy from the action.
We stayed at Hacienda Paradise in Playa del Carmen several nights -- on our way to and from Cozumel, and found it a delightful experience. The employees at the front desk were super friendly and helpful to us. Our room was clean and comfy and lovely and opened onto the charming court yard with gardens and pool. The breakfast cafe is one of the best we found in our travels in the area for beauty of service wear and quick friendly service. We rented one of their bicycles to get around on one day, and they were so helpful with the details. We also appreciated the coffee and tea service and large water dispenser in the lobby. We highly recommend this lovely boutique hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very loud neighbors until 5am in the morning. Staff were not able to handle the situation. Never stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peggy from North/Central Illinois

Great location for being close to 5th avenue.

Posted Nov 18, 2013
Pros: Location, quiet, a fantastic staff. We enjoyed the breakfast and it was a great value.
Cons: The bed was softer that other hotels we have been at in Mexico; however not as soft as hotels in USA that we are familiar with.
Location: One block away is 5th avenue that has countless dining options and shops. Beach was 3 blocks away.
Hotel was perfect for us and those that do not want to pay the price of all inclusive resorts. The price was good and allowed us to experience the many dining options on 5th avenue that was a one block walk away. Great location, quiet, rooms nice and the staff was fantastic!