Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom sunset beach NC

Limited live musical entertainment

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Pros: The people and service is the best asset this hotel has.
Cons: Live rock music nightly on Heaven side Rock music at pools and beach
Location: Snorkeling at Xel-Ha great day beautiful park
We Booked a deluxe sky terrace room 900 sq ft with jetted tub in bedroom and 4th floor balcony with 2 person hot tub. Stayed on Heaven side in building #2 nice view, a little walk from everything but very quite . The room we were given 2306 was only about 400 sq ft and did not include a jetted tub in the room, the hot tub on upper balcony when filled and turned on circulated an oily residue I think was suntan oil, it took 4 times filling to clear. No loungers on either deck, just 2 plastic upright chairs, not very comfortable for sunning or relaxing. I was very disappointed in the music selections and lack of live music. The music by the pool on Heaven side was basically dance music most of the day, one day they had live music for 1 hour. No music on beach area. In the evening the only live music was a the family side at the Sun Bar, 3 nights 10 pm to 11 pm Each evening there were children running all around inside the bar and sitting on stools listening to the Sony music library inside the bar while the bands were playing. Not what we expected when we booked The Hard Rock Adult Section. The nightclub Heaven was beautiful but not what We were looking for.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andreafrom Queens, NY

Great time

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Huge resort, be prepared to do a lot of walking. Stayed on the adults only side, "Heaven". The rooms are very clean, kind of small and not private i.e. No separate bathroom. Pretty much one open room. Request a pool / ocean view. We were on the first floor and had a view of shrubs and a driveway. Amazingly friendly staff, they are excellent. Resort is far from the airport, about 45 min drive.
3 out of 5
by Ellafrom des moines

Nice pool, "resort credits" misrepresented.

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Was told by staff that would could purchase tequila from the gift shop with our resort credits. We said "great, we want to pick out some tequila!" Another time I mentioned my husband wants to customize what he picks. Never once did they tell us it required a coupon, you can't get it past 9:00 and it is only one little gift box, that you don't get to pick and choose. We saved over $200.00 in the credits for this until out last night. Management didn't care, told us there was nothin they could do and so we lost out on out resort credits. Very upsetting, and there is no one at the resort to help resolve issues like this according to the person I spoke with. I would've been happy with something/anything in return but they were unwilling to do anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, meh food

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Pros: Not crowded
Cons: better lunch options, more entertainment at night
Location: We just went to Dolphinarus which was great.
We stayed on the adult side of the hotel. I think this is a better experience than staying on the family side (with kids), because 1) it's less crowded 2) it has more restaurant choices and 3) it allows you access to much more of the hotel over all. The restaurants are mostly good. Unfortunately, your only lunch option is buffet and it doesn't vary much so it can get boring. There are also 8 or 9 restaurants if you do not have kids, so its hard to try them all without doubling up on dinners. I think if you have kids you only have a few choices which is very unfortunate. The best restaurants were all adults only. But if you don't have kids this is great because nothing is crowded and you get to sit immediately. The week we went there were not many night shows or activities. Not much to do at night. I heard they were opening a night club soon though. Staff were friendly and helpful and great. The room came with $1,500 free credits. These are not free credits though, you have to pay a 20% service fee and that is not for tipping. To use your 1,500 credits at the spa, golf or at excursions, you have to pay around $300 plus however much you plan to tip. I would probably not go back but i had a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Surfer dudefrom Regina, Canada

best food and service in the area

Posted Feb 13, 2014
Pros: Fantastic place. Great spa service. Great food. Many improvements to the beach areas, Great snorkeling.
Cons: Lots of renovations going on.
Location: Anything you can imagine within 30 minutes of resort.
Great service. Great food. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Newly renovated. beaches have sand added now.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Timfrom On The Moon

A great place to trip. I mean take a trip.

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Pros: 4 nights if Furthur.
Cons: That we had to leave.
Best place to trip ever. I mean take a trip. To. You know what I mean. 4 nights of the Good ol' Grateful Dead with my best friends ? Yes please.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by opinionatednycfrom New York

Hard Rock Rocks!

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, everything is new (pool tables, ping-pong in the grand lobby). Excellent customer service. Everyone in the hotel was lovely.
Cons: It's still being renovated, but that did't impact my stay. On heavy rain days there was sometimes flooding in hallways/walkways, but staff responsive
Location: We went to Playa del Carmen for shopping and dinner. Took a cab in. There was also plenty of opportunity to go on excursions.
Just stayed at the HardRock in Riviera Maya for New Years. The moment you enter the facility you are greeted and treated like a rockstar. The space is beautiful, large, expansive facility with all of the Rock Star memorabilia throughout the space. The restaurants offered great food (and lot of vegetarian options for those who are vegetarian.) Drinks were great; there were coffee bars, entertainment each night, numerous swimming pools, mini-cabanas overlooking the water, it was wonderful. And although I was on the adult side (chill-vibe, no children) you can venture over to the other side for events, if you wish, but if you're looking for a child-free environment, the adult-side "Heaven" is the way to go. I used the spa (amazing, for each treatment you get to utilize the sauna, steam room and whirlpool.) The spa is beautiful and treatments on par with treatments I've received at spas in NYC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathyfrom Ontario

Like the adult only option

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: That there were lots of pools and beach areas so it was never to busy
Cons: More plain grilled chicken breast and variety of foods for vegetarian eaters
Restaurants very good and very accommating to what you need or like.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spring Break with Kids

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: Spacious Family rooms Service good generally
Cons: Noise No beach
Location: About 1 hour 15 minutes from the airport, near Excaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum
We had an enjoyable Spring Break with another family, kids ranging 10-15. We didn't spend a fortune on this holiday so I can say I was more than satisfied with our experience for the price we paid. Pros Inexpensive all inclusive Family Deluxe rooms, which were like two adjoining rooms so that everyone had space and privacy. Service good Food was satisfactory and plentiful. Cons Noise. The carts from staff or room service sounded like a train passing through early each morning. Door slamming and echoing design of the open building means you need to be a heavy sleeper to feel rested. Lack of restaurant choices. 20-30 wait for a table on some nights. No Beach Sun loungers all reserved by a towel 6.30 am! I really wish all hotels would be a little more vigilant with this as if you can't beat them you end up joining them. Recommend Day trips to Xel-Ha. We did a beach club day on resort credits which gave us a great change of scenery and my beach fix. Because of previous reviews I was worried about getting hassled to attend a time share meeting. Just be firm and tell them you are not interested. We did and were left alone for the most part. We had $1500 in resort credits but only used a portion on golf and a beach club day. You pay 11% of the total, so it only made sense to use the credit on activities we would have done anyway. You can spend them on certain spa services but you need to book early to get an appointment. They can be used for gold and silver purchases too.