Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Buenas habitaciones, el servicio y la comida no

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: La playa, la habitacion
Cons: La atencion y la comida
Las habitacion en general estan bastante bien, a mi la primera noche se nos daño el aire y lo arreglaron al dia siguiente, la playa y la vista son hermosas, ellos recogen las algas a diario lo que es bastante bueno ya que cuando se acumulan el olor es muy desagradable.Lo que si tienen que mejorar es el servico de restaurant, el desayuno igual todos los dias ni una variacion, creo que para un hotel de este costo deberian tener un mejor menu. Claramente tienen un problema con su manejo de personal, ya que todos comentan que no se quedan y que tienen falta de pesonal. En general bien pero con potencial de ser super bueno con un poquito de cariño.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Nice beach. Pool was small and only a few lounge chairs.
Cons: Rooms weren't clean. Mildewy smell.
good location, but the rooms were mediocre and not well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Had relatively low expectations and were pleasantly surprised by the size and comfort of the rooms. Restaurant food was subpar but there are plenty of great places to eat within close walking distance along the beach. Overall very good value and would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago, IL

Way Better Than Expected

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Location, friendly staff (we had no problems with security or check in as did other reviewers).
Cons: Wifi Service, quality of restaurant - and some little things like: Put a towel hook on back of bathroom door.
Location: Great location on beach. can walk down beach to other hotels/restaurants - or can walk on main road. Rent bikes one day; ride into town or to ruins
I was skeptical with all the recent negative reviews. Yes, it's expensive - but if you want a comfortable place in a great location, with air conditioning, this is an excellent choice. We had two rooms - B3 (upper floor, king bed, ocean view) and G1 (first floor, garden view - which, still had ocean view from porch). All rooms had porches or balconies that accommodated 2 chairs and a hammock. Some negatives: Spotty wifi, mostly available only in restaurant area - seems to me that his could be easily improved - but you are in Tulum; let it go. Mediocre food. There are plenty of other restaurants within walking distance. We had continental breakfast and nightly dinner included with our rooms. Would have liked them to provide full breakfast on the one room since we unexpectedly had one adult in that room instead of two. No big deal. We ate dinner in restaurant only 2 nights out of our 7 night stay. Mainly we ate at other restaurants in Tulum, then came back to ours for dessert and drinks. It's Tulum - enjoy it.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

No Yoga Centre!!

Posted Dec 28, 2014
I booked this hotel due to the inclusive yoga centre, only to find that in fact the yoga centre hasn't been available for a few years. I ended up leaving early and was refused a refund even though they admitted their website was incorrect and marketing materials needed updating. Aside from that, the hotel staff were pleasant and the hotel was in a good location (about 30 mins walk from the nearest dive centre, 15 mins from restaurants).
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Port Aransas Texas

Great location without a Soul

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: The beaches
Cons: Create a place for guest to gather in the evening. Could be bar, fire pit, or anything that provides things to do. Put coffee out at 6:00
Location: Limited resturuants and shopping 3 miles north. Zama's is good
Tulum has some of the best beaches in Riviera Maya, but is not much to do after dark. Cabanas Los Liros is a nice facility in a beautiful location that with some proper management could be worth visiting. It's location is 3 miles from the limited shopping and dining in the area. The Resturaunt on site is a bit overpriced and not very good. We vacationed in December and during this time of the year it gets dark at 5:30. There are no resturuants,bars or music within safe walking distance and not much with a 5 mile drive. The rooms although clean and in good shape do not have televisions, coffee pots, refrigerators, Internet or bottled water for that matter. This means by 6:30 or 7:00 it's bed time. The resturuants free breakfast was good but did not open until 8:00am. For me I woke up at dawn around 5:30 and had to wait until 8:00 to get a cup of morning joe. The staff was in no way rude, just not very engaging or skilled. Our housekeeping came every day somehow at the very minute we we in the room changing cloths. We always asked that they come back in an hour and not once over the 5 days did they come back or service the room. I would not give up on Tulum altogether, but if you like a little more action you might try Playa del Carmen. If you like the solitude I would try somewhere other than Cabanas Los Lirios until they get new management.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom G

Los Lirios

Posted Dec 17, 2014
The food was terrible, and there are a lot better places to stay in Tulum. We rented an oceanfront room, and could barely see the ocean. Stay at Cabanas Tulum next door, it's a lot nicer!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom montana

Checks all the boxes

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Great hotel right on the beach. Lobby is not a good impression the rooms are much nicer than than the lobby would lead you to believe. Rooms are quite spacious and there are lots of great bars/food around the cabanas. Breakfast is not anything special and they charge you for it, the free breakfast is literally toast and melon. But the view is awesome beach is lovely. Only complaint was the cleaner they used in our room, quite a potent astringent chemical smell, did not seem like an eco friendly cleaner, but at least you know it was cleaned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego

Great location

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Friendly staff, quick check in. Rooms are exactly like picture. Our bungalow was right on the beach, A4. There were mosquito screens on all windows and doors, so there was no problems with them. You can hear the ocean so perfectly even with windows closed. Big patio. Lots of privacy at this hotel. The restaurant was decent, drinks were good and strong. The waiter at the beach was awesome and busted his butt. Perfect location, lots of restaurants to explore within a short can ride. Beach was gorgeous, can go too less or nude if u like, anything goes!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quiet Getaway

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful people, location.
Nice out of the way gem. All cabanas have ocean view, and porch with hammock. restaurant has decent food and good drinks.