Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Un excelente hotel de descanso

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Es un gran hotel de descanso, los empleados son amables y accesibles. La estacia resulta muy cómoda y tranquila. Solo tuvimos un detalle en el restaurante el dia que llegamos de 7 que estuvimos. Mi esposo y yo pedimos un pescado empanizado cada uno para comer, al traerlo nuestra sorpresa fue que venía el filete partido a la mitad en dos platos con verduras. Esto se nos hizo raro y preguntamos al mesero porque venia partido en dos si el cobro sería de 2 platos no de uno a lo que el nos contestó que así venia la porción. Unos dias despues pedimos un pescado empanizado igual para la playa y ese sí venia completo por lo que ahi nos dimos cuenta que el primer día nos habian engañado. Por todo lo demas excelente.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from USA

Manifico Great with AC Boutique hotel in paradise!

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Beach front hotel, very roomy and clean bedroom/bathroom, nice terrace all with ocean view even the partial ones. Nice quiet place, romantic and other
Cons: I am hoping this hotel have sewer system because I learned all the hotels in Boca Paila are dumping their dirty/sewer water straight to the beach!!
Location: All hotels in the near area provide daily shows, there are some shopping and many restaurants on walking/scooter distance
If you are the traveler that love nature, appreciate simple, friendly and comfort this is a great place to stay in Boca Paila, Tulum. Beach front hotel, very roomy and clean bedroom/bathroom, nice terrace all with ocean view even the partial ones. Nice quiet place, romantic and other hotels on walking or scooter distance offer daily shows at night. The staff are super friendly, humble and very customer service oriented. As room for improvement: I am hoping this hotel have sewer system because I learned all the hotels in Boca Paila are dumping their dirty/sewer water straight to the beach!!!! The pool area need some TLC, umbrellas and pool it self need some maintenance or upgrades. As for the guesses they leave their garbage (plastic/glass bottles) behind even in the beach, the hotel stuff does clean daily and keep the hotel tidy, but the visitors don't have any conscience how fragile is the eco system in that area. The hotel it self needs some minor upgrade and the buffet needs more variety and better preparation. Lastly, soft drinks and fruit waters should be included in the package. This last one is information not provided by expedia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yucatan

Posted Jul 6, 2015
la gente muy agradable, el mar perfecto y el hotel igual
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Magical Location

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Chef needs customer services retraining.
Location: Great location with restaurants and shops nearby.
This has been by far the nicest hotel location I have ever stayed at. The hotel is situated in the virgin beach of Tulum. This location is Magical. I loved to be able to step out of my room and have the beach steps away. Other places in the world you might have ocean views but have to walk through a maze of rooms, pools, restaurants, etc. to get to the beach. In Tulum, and in this hotel you walk out of your room and you have the beach in a matter of a few seconds. It is truly magical to not only have ocean views but sleep listening to the waves of the ocean crashing putting you to sleep like a new born baby. I love this place! Tulum and this hotel are at the top of my favorite places to visit. Can't wait to go back. The only problem was the Chef. He had a bit of an attitude problem. The food was good but he needs an attitude adjustment.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but lacking charm and maintenance

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Cons: No one is really taking care of maintenance and service
The hotel is nice, but out of maintenance, the service is bad, and it is apparent clear that nobody is managing it with a bit of care.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Last minute decision to stay here

Posted Jun 9, 2015
I wanted an extra day in Tulum so I stayed at this hotel. It's definitely seen it's day. I'm sure at one point this was a very nice hotel, but it just seems tired and dated to me. The rooms are nice enough, some with an ocean view. When I first checked in, the air conditioning in my room wasn't working. They moved me to the room right next door. No other issues related to that. I chose to stay in Tulum another night because of its peacefulness and quiet atmosphere. All of the other hotels I've stayed at in Tulum have held true to that, minus this hotel. Around 9pm, somewhere on the property, someone began playing loud music. It continued until past midnight. I actually found it quite comical considering there were only a handful of people staying at this hotel. Couldn't have been much of a party...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted May 19, 2015
Nothing beats the view we had from our Cabana. This was the type of vacation I so desperately seeking. Hotel Zone is beautiful with such a relaxing vibe. It definitely beats Cancun or any of the other overly-busy places. Based on the reviews I was not expecting to like the food , but it was great. It was a lot though. Because it is buffet style, after a couple of days of eating so much you really don't need to eat for the rest of your stay. :-) Just kidding it was awesome!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sameer from San Francisco

Amazing quiet hotel right on the beach

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
We had an amazing stay here at Los Lirios. We had an ocean view room and sleeping on the hammock in the breeze and listening to the waves was just pure bliss. Every room has a hammock in the balcony. There is almost a non existing pool but when you are so close to the ocean who cares about the pool. The bathrooms showed some signs of age but its not bad and maintained well. The hotel stay also includes good breakfast and dinner buffets. There are plenty of hotels and restaurants around this area if you want to try them out. Tulum ruins and Grand Cenote are pretty close too. Suggest you rent bikes and ride them to these places instead of paying a hefty price for the tour. You could also get to Coba ruins in about an hour if you drive. If you are travelling to Tulum from Cancun airport, keep in mind it will take you about 2 hr 30 mins to get to the hotel. If you are driving, watch out for the signs carefully, they are in spanish and google maps is not your friend in Mexico. All in all, this is a nice place to stay given its closeness to the ruins, cenotes and the laid back environment. Perfect for both the explorers and the staycationers.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Not a 4 star hotel by any means

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: The staff was very friendly.
Cons: See above
Location: Tulum is a dirty place with plenty of things to do.
The staff was wonderful. The rooms were smelly with a mold or mildew smell, the ac went from 80 degrees to 50 degrees all night long, the bed was uncomfortable, the walls are paper thin, the food was not good at all, the chairs inside and on the patio were very uncomfortable,....that's about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gfamily

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Great Beach! The seaweed was really coming in but the staff worked hard to try to keep up with it by digging holes and shoveling the seaweed in to cover it up. Breakfast buffet was great however the dinner buffet needs imrovements. Good Happy hour. Daily housekeeping needs improvement. Would have liked the floor swept in the 9 nights we stayed. Don't believe we received clean sheets. A couple of times we did leave cash tips for the service looking for an improvement that never came. The bed itself was very uncomfortable. I should not have to hear or feel the springs!