Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Innisfail. Ab. CA.

Older hotel. Excellent location.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Rooms were very plain but clean. Great covered patio area overlooking the ocean. Nice beach area . Great food & drinks on sight. Right next to more eating spots & shopping . Make sure u barter. Lol. Had a ground floor room. Was better then up stairs in my opinion as u didn't havto Cary your bags up there & u walked out your back door onto the covered patio. Only problem we had was getting locked out late one night . We had entered the room through the front door then set the deadbolt. Asuming the same keys fit the back door we went out onto the patio & shut the door. Couldn't get back in & the front desk girl was gone. Got some help from another holiday'r & climbed in the bathroom window. Got a back door key the next day. Booked our flights through Expedia then they got us a great rate on the room. 65.00 per night.The area is very friendly lots of great places to eat. Great snorkeling reef just off shore. Will be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ST. LOUIS

Great stay at a "smaller town " feel.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: We were looking for a more old time Mexico atmosphere, not an all inclusive, out of the way compound where you have to get a cab to explore.
Cons: Rooms could always be updated, but then the price would be too.
Ok, not a lot of extra's in the room, but the atmosphere makes up for it. It has a small Mexican town feel, with anything you really need. The restaurant staff were excellent in their attentiveness, for instance, the rooms do not have a fridge or minibar, but the restaurant staff will provide you will a cooler, and replenish ice for you anytime you request. Our room was by the pool, in sight of the restaurant, and they would serve us on our "patio table" just outside our room, when we wished that. I think we had the best part of the beach in the area.....picturesque, quiet, and tranquil, or walk a couple of blocks to the town square for more restaurants, shops or what ever else. It's not Ritzy, but it is personal and friendly, and very reasonable. I will go back again, hoping I find it exactly the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Low-Budget Deal

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The hotel is on the beach, so you can hear the waves at night. The staff was great.
Cons: The beds are hard, the maid only brought clean water two of the five days of our stay (we tipped $2 every day for cleaning).
Location: Great snorkeling three blocks up, in front of Ojo de Agua.
Just returned from five days at Hacienda Morelos. The hotel was in better shape than I expected, but the location and price can't be beat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Great location

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location, all rooms faced the ocean
Cons: A few umbrellas around the pool
Location: Within an easy walking distance to the beautiful town of puerto Morelos. Lots of great restaurants, snorkelling, guided tours to all attractions.
The hotel is in the perfect location for exploring the lovely fishing town of puerto Morelos. Our room opened up to the pool and overlooked the beach. All the rooms have an Ocean view. The hotel is barebones, but comfortable and very clean. There is also a restaurant on the property. The beach is beautiful, white sand and while we were there the beach in front of the hotel was being cleaned of seaweed daily. The manager is currently upgrading the hotel, offering more pool side chairs, towel service etc. They will be repainting the rooms and Changing the curtains. Bring your own shampoo and soap. We had concerns about the rude reception we received (one person at the front desk) but have been assured that this problem is being addressed. The manager is very approachable. We loved our stay there and would go again. Book early as it gets a bit pricey the closer to your travel dates (103.00 US).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Concord, California

Great location with dive shop on site

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Very nice view. Breakfast included below average (American applied; Mexican looked better). In poor repair- safe nonfunctional, holes in walls. Could be cleaner. Excellent location
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oshawa, Ontario

The view gets a 4 rating

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: The view and cleanliness.
Cons: The staff should be more accomodating to the guests, and respect that the paying guests should take precedence over non-paying visitors.
Location: Lots of restaurants and shops and tour places to visit. Easy access to buses and taxis.
Great view, although the balcony should be wider so we can actually face the ocean, but that's minor. The desk staff were not welcoming, and I had to ask for the safe key (twice, as they gave me the wrong one initially) and the WIFII code. My son's room safe did not work, and despite him asking 3 times for a new safe, or alternative arrangements, nothing was done and unfortunately, about $100 US went missing. He put the "do not disturb" sign on his door, but the cleaning lady came in to clean anyway. We were without water for a few hours one day, no apology at all, just a shrug of shoulders. There seems to be no noise restrictions, as on some nights, it was quite noisy. New Year's Eve there were partyers until 8 in the morning. The room was clean and Margarita our cleaning lady was wonderful. Loved that the hotel was steps away from the main town and the beach was great. What I came to Mexico for (the view, beach and weather) I got in spades. Just would have been nice if the hotel staff were more friendly and professional.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Clerk was rude and not ready for us at check-in. Facilities in poor condition - tv disconnected, air conditioner dripping all over. Half the light bulbs burned out in the room. Common facilities in poor repair.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little Gem in a small fishing town

Posted Dec 4, 2014
It's a great hotel if you are looking for basics. The safe did not work, there is no mini fridge or blower dryer or any sample shampoo or conditioner in the room. The bed and room was very clean. The American breakfast was tasty and the service, Mexican speed, was slower than we are used to. Otherwise the location is only a few feet from central Puerto Morelos, ocean front was amazing and staff were very friendly. Wifi was not always working especially on Sunday's. When you get wifi it was quick. We would definitely come back. Great way to unwind from a hectic life.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Champlain NY

Run-down, poor value, dismal

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Where to start? Rooms bare of decoration, cracked and barely patched plaster, holes where the towel racks used to be, no amenities like shampoo or coffee, non-functioning cable TV, tint pool, a strand that isore seaweed than sand . . . All priced at the level of a real hotel, instead of a flophouse.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Great location but probably won't stay there again

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Location! One block from the town square and it's on the beach - BEAUTIFUL view (every room faces the ocean). Clean pool
Cons: Include hand-towels and wash-cloths in the room, along with a mini-fridge and safe.
Location: Street vendors are close, beach with snorkeling, swimming and fishing right in front of hotel, lots of great places to eat nearby.
It wasn't bad. It was clean and the staff was mostly friendly (don't expect to be waited on or be helped right away if they are talking with friends/coworkers, etc). My only true complaints would be the lack of towels, lack of mini-fridge and lack of a safe in the room. Other than that our stay was fine; it's a very basic hotel room (hard bed, 2 tiny pillows, 1 flat sheet on the mattress, 1 flat sheet as a cover). The location is fantastic, it has a pool and it's on the beach. Towels: They don't provide hand-towels or wash-cloths, only one bath towel each for your entire stay (we stayed 3 days, same towel - they might give you fresh towels if staying longer). I'm OK re-using my shower towel but would've liked a hand-towel at least (wash-cloth would've been bonus!). No pool towels either, they were always "at the cleaners" even though 75% of the hotel was vacant during our stay (maybe they clean ALL the towels at once and it takes days?). We did get a pool towel on our last day though! Mini-fridge: There is no mini-fridge in the room. We had to walk to the convenience store (few blocks away) several times a day to buy fresh (cold) water. Not a big deal, but would have been nice to have. Safe: There are no safe's in the room, so no where to keep passports, cash, valuables, etc. We also had random people going in and out of our room during our stay (repairmen using our balcony to access the room) so it was uncomfortable having to keep valuables on us at all times.