Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Its a great location but....

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: The location on the beach and close to downtown was great
Cons: See first comment
Location: downtown shops and access to restaurants etc.
We were very disappointed and wouldn't recommend it to anyone . needs a lot of repairs , new pillows , cable tv, light bulbs, everything you can think of , new management. I was surprised it was even listed on Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

February Vacation

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: location was good - Fairly quiet - friendly staff and very courteous - check in and out was quick and easy.
Cons: Availability of ice in rooms - or a fridge in every room - music at this hotel would have been nice - offer taxi to and from the hotel from airport
Location: Good Bars on the beach, excellent food variety, shopping, people watching in the square,
This was a nice experience with a nice view of the beach - on the end of the beach so not many people. Not a lot of music during the week for entertainment. The local bars were not too crowded and service was as on the norm as I was told but there were a few good exceptions. Beautiful sunrises and watching the boats go by. Snorkeling and scuba diving was available everywhere but I didn't partake in any of those adventures. Food was all good every where I went. I would go back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis

great location on beach

Posted Feb 14, 2015
Pros: The beach, the sound of the Ocean, the friendly atmosphere.
Cons: The bathroom in our room needed work. Been patched many times and just was not pretty and some mold due I think to the humidity.
Location: The town of Puerto Morelos is a wonderful place to explore. In walking distance from the hotel. Restraints are plentiful with very good food.
The hotel is basic and that was exactly what we wanted. Loved the beach practically out our front door. The staff was excellent very friendly. The American breakfast was good and served on a beautiful patio.The bathroom could use some TLC sloppy patch work. Over all would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Windsor ON

Value For Money

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Location, food, staff. The latter work very hard and I want to give a bouquet to the cleaning lady especially who did her best.
Cons: It needs painting and general TLC. Larger bottom sheets which would remain tucked in.
Location: The location is great and PuMo is laid back, yet lively, and I hope that the big chains will stay away.
The hotel is very close to the 'heart beat' of the town, yet very quiet. It has the beach right behind it and, though it is narrow, there is hardly a soul. Watching the sea, birds and ships while eating was very enjoyable. The staff is excellent and really tries to please. We had some issues with the lock and a broken window which were both fixed. It is an old hotel and needs repairs and some finishing touches; a comfortable chair would have been nice, a dresser instead of a table with a small drawer and some hooks/pegs for hanging clothes. There is a daily menu (menu del dia) for a very reasonable price and of very good quality with a good variety of vegetables most of the time. The breakfast was included and I found it a bit 'cheap', having to choose between either juice or tea/coffee. The tea was never hot the first few days so we switched to juice after that. Adding some fruit would also have been nice. Or, instead of having to choose between Continental, American or Mexican breakfast, just have a buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Innisfail. Ab. CA.

Older hotel. Excellent location.

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Rooms were very plain but clean. Great covered patio area overlooking the ocean. Nice beach area . Great food & drinks on sight. Right next to more eating spots & shopping . Make sure u barter. Lol. Had a ground floor room. Was better then up stairs in my opinion as u didn't havto Cary your bags up there & u walked out your back door onto the covered patio. Only problem we had was getting locked out late one night . We had entered the room through the front door then set the deadbolt. Asuming the same keys fit the back door we went out onto the patio & shut the door. Couldn't get back in & the front desk girl was gone. Got some help from another holiday'r & climbed in the bathroom window. Got a back door key the next day. Booked our flights through Expedia then they got us a great rate on the room. 65.00 per night.The area is very friendly lots of great places to eat. Great snorkeling reef just off shore. Will be returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom ST. LOUIS

Great stay at a "smaller town " feel.

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Pros: We were looking for a more old time Mexico atmosphere, not an all inclusive, out of the way compound where you have to get a cab to explore.
Cons: Rooms could always be updated, but then the price would be too.
Ok, not a lot of extra's in the room, but the atmosphere makes up for it. It has a small Mexican town feel, with anything you really need. The restaurant staff were excellent in their attentiveness, for instance, the rooms do not have a fridge or minibar, but the restaurant staff will provide you will a cooler, and replenish ice for you anytime you request. Our room was by the pool, in sight of the restaurant, and they would serve us on our "patio table" just outside our room, when we wished that. I think we had the best part of the beach in the area.....picturesque, quiet, and tranquil, or walk a couple of blocks to the town square for more restaurants, shops or what ever else. It's not Ritzy, but it is personal and friendly, and very reasonable. I will go back again, hoping I find it exactly the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Low-Budget Deal

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: The hotel is on the beach, so you can hear the waves at night. The staff was great.
Cons: The beds are hard, the maid only brought clean water two of the five days of our stay (we tipped $2 every day for cleaning).
Location: Great snorkeling three blocks up, in front of Ojo de Agua.
Just returned from five days at Hacienda Morelos. The hotel was in better shape than I expected, but the location and price can't be beat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Great location

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Pros: Location, all rooms faced the ocean
Cons: A few umbrellas around the pool
Location: Within an easy walking distance to the beautiful town of puerto Morelos. Lots of great restaurants, snorkelling, guided tours to all attractions.
The hotel is in the perfect location for exploring the lovely fishing town of puerto Morelos. Our room opened up to the pool and overlooked the beach. All the rooms have an Ocean view. The hotel is barebones, but comfortable and very clean. There is also a restaurant on the property. The beach is beautiful, white sand and while we were there the beach in front of the hotel was being cleaned of seaweed daily. The manager is currently upgrading the hotel, offering more pool side chairs, towel service etc. They will be repainting the rooms and Changing the curtains. Bring your own shampoo and soap. We had concerns about the rude reception we received (one person at the front desk) but have been assured that this problem is being addressed. The manager is very approachable. We loved our stay there and would go again. Book early as it gets a bit pricey the closer to your travel dates (103.00 US).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Concord, California

Great location with dive shop on site

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Very nice view. Breakfast included below average (American applied; Mexican looked better). In poor repair- safe nonfunctional, holes in walls. Could be cleaner. Excellent location
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Oshawa, Ontario

The view gets a 4 rating

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: The view and cleanliness.
Cons: The staff should be more accomodating to the guests, and respect that the paying guests should take precedence over non-paying visitors.
Location: Lots of restaurants and shops and tour places to visit. Easy access to buses and taxis.
Great view, although the balcony should be wider so we can actually face the ocean, but that's minor. The desk staff were not welcoming, and I had to ask for the safe key (twice, as they gave me the wrong one initially) and the WIFII code. My son's room safe did not work, and despite him asking 3 times for a new safe, or alternative arrangements, nothing was done and unfortunately, about $100 US went missing. He put the "do not disturb" sign on his door, but the cleaning lady came in to clean anyway. We were without water for a few hours one day, no apology at all, just a shrug of shoulders. There seems to be no noise restrictions, as on some nights, it was quite noisy. New Year's Eve there were partyers until 8 in the morning. The room was clean and Margarita our cleaning lady was wonderful. Loved that the hotel was steps away from the main town and the beach was great. What I came to Mexico for (the view, beach and weather) I got in spades. Just would have been nice if the hotel staff were more friendly and professional.