Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Nice staff, hotel right on beach

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Restaurant on site, pristine beach, nice staff
Cons: Citronella candles to dissuade the mosquitoes!
Location: The hotel is on the Boca Paila (the main beach hotel road). An easy drive to Tulum Mayan Ruins and the town
The staff at Kin-Ha were amazing and super accommodating. My son and I loved staying there and would do it again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was like a room in a treehouse.

Posted Jun 17, 2014
It was like a room in a treehouse. I think the place only has 6 rooms? Everything was Sandy and we had a cockroach hanging from our drapes when we opened them for the first time. Its right on the beach so the location is great, but the place is more suited for younger people in their 20's who can deal with that sort of living standard. Cabanas Tulum, The Beach Hotel and the one next to it are a mile down the road. We left after the first night and got a room at Cabanas Hotel for about $150 a night instead. Worth every penny
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the beach.

Posted May 21, 2014
Hotel Kin-Ha Playa exceeded my expectations. The oceanfront room was clean and simple with a heavenly breeze. The bar was great. The beach was right there. The proprietor and staff were friendly and attentive and always on site. This is not a luxury hotel- it's a simple, lovely place with everything you need (including electricity).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from UK

Good location but a bit shabby and overpriced

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Rooms need updating. Generally a bit scruffy.
Location: Nothing much to do here but chill. Several km. from the town and archaeological site, though there are buses to the former.
Location is everything and this is right on one of the best bits of Tulum beach. The downside is that it's expensive for the quality of the accommodation. The facilities are OK, a bit quirky but that's generally a plus for me. Helpful staff, on-site parking (albeit limited).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mom and daughter from Colorado

Location location location

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
An incredible place to stay right on the beach and very affordable. Don't expect a lot of help from the staff, they are friendly, but do not offer much assistance for finding your way around or helping with transportation. Also, if you need ice for your room, bring your own.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by heidi from chicago

No frills but great location

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you are looking for luxury, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a great little place on a gorgeous beach close to fabulous food, this is the one. we are more of luxury hotel dwellers so it started a little rough; no a/c, bad mattress and pillows and shower left a little to be desired. We had an ocean view which saved us, the ocean breeze was enough to keep the room cool all but one night. room was clean but ask for clean towels, not automatic. the staff is absolutely wonderful, very nice, speak very little English though. Restaurant is great, best guacamole and octopus ceviche. there are great little restaurants all over surrounding neighborhood if you explore a little which is what we would prefer to an all-inclusive. Definitely check out the Mayan ruins, so close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Emily from Brooklyn, NY

Simple & Easy

Posted Feb 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just spend 5 wonderful nights in Tulum— Kin-Ha Playa is great place to stay. The rooms are basic and clean. The views from the balcony are spectacular— there's nothing better than going to sleep with the sound of the waves and then walking up the sunrise right outside of your room. The staff are very helpful and friendly— my friends and I enjoyed many beach side margaritas and fantastic guacamole. The quality of the beach was also great— hardly any seaweed accumulation. I'll def. be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Grant from New York, NY

Simple hotel, great location, excellent staff

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: -Staff -Beach -Inexpensive -Decent Mexican food -Location
Cons: More small things that nice hotels do: better soaps, small improvements, higher end bedding, etc.
Location: Near a great stretch of beach, other hotels which have rentals for biking, snorkeling, and other activities.
This is a very simple hotel about 4.5km down the Tulum beach road. The outside environment is beautiful--well taken care of beach 'jungle' and a pristine section of beach. Many other hotels in this area (in particular, those to the north) have beaches which are rocky or dirty--not the case with this hotel. The rooms are basic--a bed private bath and hot shower with nothing but a fan and the ocean breeze in lieu of air conditioning (you don't need it). We stayed in a jungle room, which still had a nice breeze from the ocean. The restaurant was good--much less expensive than some of the higher-end places near by. I like to eat typical Mexican food while in Mexico--huevos rancheros, tacos, fresh fruit, etc., all of which just don't have the same flavor as they do in the U.S.A. I think it may be the water--kind of like New York bagels. The restaurant, run by Corina, is exactly what I look for. Also check out Camello's in Tulum pueblo. If you are looking for high-end cuisine (e.g. Italian, Thai) or restaurants with chef's from New York rather than Mexico, there are plenty around. There are two things that you can't beat about this hotel: the beach, which is a given, and the staff. Ray, Corina, and the rest of the staff were the best of the best. They treated us so well, and were accommodating in every way possible. It was nice to have staff that got to know you and your preferences while you are there. They really made us feel comfortable.