Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

would definitely stay again

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Great location, clean. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived for the price we paid to stay the hotel surpassed many of the other newer higher rated hotels. Had a unique funky feel. Our room had a deck looking out to see some ocean and some of the main street as well as a loft bedroom. Overall a great stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alberta, Canada

Bugs and rude staff

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Location: Scuba Playa - across the street! Only place to Scuba in Playa
I stayed there for 3 nights. The german girl at the front desk was rude and cold. It was obvious that I was annoying her by checking in and her behaviour did not change over the three days I stayed there. I had issues with an overflowing shower due to a clogged shower drain as well as bugs. When I called down to report this, she said she would call back and did not return the call for 5 hours. I was going to check out early because the bug issue was creeping me out but since it took her so long to respond, it was too late without penalty. When I did check out, I had an issue with my rate as Expedia has a rate guarantee and I was directed to the manager. I have sent two emails and called 3 times and no one has gotten back to me. The "contemporary" decor is really just a cover up for cement floors and rusted stairs. The locals who were cleaners as well as Carlos were quite kind-hearted. Not going back. I will update my review if they contact me regarding my outstanding issues.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom S

Close to the beach, sketchy room

Posted Dec 7, 2014
It's a great location. Easy access to the beach and easy access to perpetual tourist traps and harassment on Quinta Av. The room was clean, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The room had really the poor lighting, the stairs to our loft area were uneven and resulted in multiple stubbed toes and bruises shins (yes I was sober, and yes I was watching the steps). The bathroom shower floor was made up of large round rocks, not the kind that soothe your feet, the kind that cause you to be in a ridiculously awkward and slightly painful standing position. God forbid you fall in that shower, it'd be the end of you. Not terrible, but the key was attached to a giant "K" that made for a super awkward fit in your pants, and not east to carry if you wanted to just pop down to the beach. Those things said, it's a clean spot, staff was super friendly, and there's a juice place that makes killer smoothies and artesian sandwiches directly across the street. If just rather stay somewhere comfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom california

Excellent location but noisy

Posted Dec 4, 2014
The hotel is in a great location next to 5th Ave and the beach. It has a modern look and feel. The beds where uncomfortable and air conditioning was hard to adjust since it was not central air. It would either be too stuffy if turned on low or too cold when on hight. We stayed for two nights and the first was very noisy since the hotel was next to a posh bar and dive hotel. You can hear people until 3AM. The other night was a bit more quite. Good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Wifi signal and speed were not reliable and we often went to the Starbucks across the street to do internet work.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom München

Schönes Hotel im Zentrum

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Zentrale Lage und direkte Strandnähe.
Location: Mitten im belebten Zentrum von Playa del Carmen. Direkte Strandlage und Nahe der Einkaufsstraße. /Fußgängerzone.
Hotel war schön, aber das Zimmer recht klein (hatten das Zimmer Nr. 4 im EG). Es hat eine zentrale Lage und der tolle Strand ist in weniger als 2 Gehminuten zu erreichen. Aufgrund der zentralen Lage war es sehr laut, so dass wir gar nicht schlafen konnten (Bass aus der Disko in der Nähe von ca. 22:00 Uhr bis 5:00 Uhr).Deshalb haben wir nach 2 Nächten das Hotel gewechselt. Kopfkissenbezüge im Zimmer haben muffig gerochen. Der Service war recht freundlich und bemüht. Rezeption ist 24 h besetzt. Wer Party machen möchte und auch bei Lärm schlafen kann, ist in diesem Hotel gut aufgehoben.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom F.

Excelente hotel centrico

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Buenas instalaciones, excelente trato y ubicación, se los recomiendo ampliamente ya que esta cerca de la 5ta av y de la playa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Belize

Nice hotel at a great price

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The rooms are very Clean.
Our stay at Hotel Kinbe was good. Stayed for three nights and have to say that the manger and staff were very helpful. The first night was fantastic. The second night our AC was was not working but we were given another room plus a refund for that night. The third night we were back to a great room. Overall, if you are looking for a comfortable and CLEAN room with walking distance to the beach and main restaurants you should definitely stay here. Thank you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Stop over on the way to Cozumel.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Stairs are not conducive to getting luggage in and out. Shower was a bit rustic.
Location: Lots of Bars and Restaurants. Close to the ferry.
Just fine for what we needed. Room was fairly clean, albeit small. Price was right. Close to Bars & Restaurants. Tends to be a bit noisy at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mexico df

Bonito hotel a buen precio

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Buena opción para visitar Playa. Excelente ubicación, hotel cómodo y limpio. Personal amable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but loud day and night

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The bathrooms need more shelf space.
The hotel offers a great location to the beach and 5th avenue but it's very loud day and night.