Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Belize

Nice hotel at a great price

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The rooms are very Clean.
Our stay at Hotel Kinbe was good. Stayed for three nights and have to say that the manger and staff were very helpful. The first night was fantastic. The second night our AC was was not working but we were given another room plus a refund for that night. The third night we were back to a great room. Overall, if you are looking for a comfortable and CLEAN room with walking distance to the beach and main restaurants you should definitely stay here. Thank you.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Stop over on the way to Cozumel.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Stairs are not conducive to getting luggage in and out. Shower was a bit rustic.
Location: Lots of Bars and Restaurants. Close to the ferry.
Just fine for what we needed. Room was fairly clean, albeit small. Price was right. Close to Bars & Restaurants. Tends to be a bit noisy at night.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but loud day and night

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The bathrooms need more shelf space.
The hotel offers a great location to the beach and 5th avenue but it's very loud day and night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel kinbe at Playa del Carmen

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Pros: The character and unique design.
Cons: Staff!!!!, rusty in everywhere!
Location: Perfect location, maybe that is why they do not care about other important things!
This is a small hotel full of character in a great location!, But.... have to say that when traveling, even if the rooms wouldn't reach the standards of the guest, sometimes when the staff is nice, helpful and friendly, we don't focus in the bad things of hotels... of course, this wasn't the case, the staff were rather cold and unfriendly, I had to ask for everything instead of being explain about all... for example, I though the safe at the room was not working, I had to go ask them and then they explained me how it works and gave me the left piece needed to make it work.... Weather in Playa is of course humid, so I think the place needs more ventilation cause there's lots of rusty everywhere. Besides this bad things, the place is quite unique in its design, but since people is not that friendly, guest feels like not really comfortable using the pool or common areas....
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Paul, Minnesota

Review of Kinbe

Posted Aug 17, 2014
This hotel was really fun! We like to be a little more adventurous on our trips (stay in the city, take public transportation, go to attractions with out a tour guide, etc.) so we really appreciated the advice of Carlos. He became our fast friend and told us how to navigate Playa del Carmen, where the best snorkeling is, and sent us for breakfast one morning. The bed was really firm so that was a bit of a negative but we knew we were getting a really good deal so we weren't too picky on the accommodations. Thank you again to Carlos!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel to stay with!

Posted Aug 16, 2014
I booked a room with Hotel Kinbe mostly because of the good reviews they had and the location -- they are conveniently located right next to the beach and 1 minute away from 5ht Avenue and all other locations. The staff is pleasant and they cleanup and arrange your room every day! I booked a room with a view to the ocean -- however the view to the ocean was blocked from the other hotel buildings and palm trees - not really a view to the ocean -- however I was pleased with the choice. Next time I will just book a common room -- for a lower price. Having a room right next to the beach and in the very center of PDC has its own pros and cons - it is very close to 5th Avenue and all other restaurants - however it is very loud at night. If you want to have peace - you would not be able to sleep. Overall - a good experience - we will come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Artistic Licence Taken To The Limit

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: It is in a good location
Cons: Be honest with the pictures and do not take such false artistic licence as it is not only unprofessional it is unethical.
Location: It is right off the Quentia or Fifth Avenue. Lots of entertainment, good music and restaurants and lounges. You can also shop till you drop.
I had booked what I was advertised as an Executive Room. Trust me the pictures of this hotel are very deceiving as they have used a lot of unprofessional photography, making everything look much nicer and larger than it actually is in real life. The so called Executive room had no closet, no armorer, no dresser; so in other words no place for one to put their clothes or belongings. The room had not even a chair or a table for one to use a laptop or such.This hotel is vastly over priced as this is at best a $40.00 room and there is nothing not even remotely associated with Executive Class Rooms. The staff are nice and friendly and it is in a nice location.The mini bar prices in the room are NYC pricing. I was told the hotel owners are from Naples Italy maybe they think the hotel is in Naples. I would never stay there again, nor would I ever recommend that anyone does as it is not good value and I have traveled the world
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 3, 2014
The large rooms are a must! We started in a standard room, whih was more like a closet with a toilet. We asked to be upgraded and were much happier. With that said, there was no hot water and the room "felt" not clean. The staff was wonderful and the room in no way ruined our trip. However I would not stay here again.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom a

Worst place to stay in playa!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Kinbe is by far the worst place I've stayed at in playa. I had a loaf with max 3 occupancy charge me for the 3 occupant! The first day there I was on the 2nd floor trying to go downstairs worst experience ever there construction is not on code. The metal that's a decoration around the ceiling fell on me. Luckily it didn't hit me. They didn't do anything about it till the 3rd day. The metal is about 13' long. There phoned never worked. The electricity went off for an hour. There sink in the bathroom pours water and splashes anything around the sink, very small place too. I go to playa about 5 times a yr would NEVER stay there again!!! There's better cheaper places to stay then Kinbe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Stefania, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel. I would also like to explain what exactly happened to help you understand this better. On the Expedia website where you booked your stay, there is an option you can choose for the number of people that will be staying in the room. They give you the option of having the 3rd person as you wanted and the price does change when you select this option. As you booked with the 2 persons option, we did have to charge you an extra fee upon your arrival as you needed the room for 3 people. You are also provided with real pictures of the room you are booking on Expedia, and how many people can stay comfortably in each one, so our guests know ahead of time what they are reserving for. I would also like to apologize for the wall decoration that apparently fell. This has not happened before as they are securely installed with 5 bolts stuck to the wall, more than what is needed for it not to fall. Also, as you know, I came to you personally after this happened to offer any help. No damage was made to you or anyone else and nothing was needed, so we did not further pursue this. We apologize for these inconveniences once more and we hope this helped you to clear up the issues. Stefania Cappelletti Hotel Manager
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but too close to the 24 hr bars

Posted Jun 10, 2014
The hotel was very clean and nice but having never been to PDC before, we didn't realize there would be music blaring all hours of the night from the bars a block up from the hotel and drunk people stomping up and down the metal stairs outside of our room. My husband didn't sleep at all. A great place if you want to party and be close to your hotel but not if you are just looking to relax.