Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

50th Wedding Anniversary Trip

Posted May 23, 2014
Pros: It is a great place. Highly recommend it. It is close to the "main drag" where all the shops and eateries are. The grounds are wonderfully kept.
Cons: Increase power on the Wi-Fi access point to reach the rooms. We didn't miss it but there were a couple of times when we would have liked to access it.
Location: The location is great. Many shops, hotels, eateries near by. The fising boats, tour boats, parachute boats, etc are all with 15 minutes or less.
MOST ENOYABLE. The entire facility is peaceful and green. Iguanas and birds rule the roost! Not complaining, it was a wonderful experience. The staff are marvelous. The food was very, very good. The rooms were very comfortable and, best of all, NO TELEVISION. NO PHONES. My wife and I would have a wonderful breakfast, go to the beach for an hour or so and spend the next two or three hours by the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by skippy from syney

laid back old charm resort

Posted May 19, 2014
No TV and limited internet not a problem if your looking for a relaxed experience with friendly staff and great service for finding the right tours around. Pleasant mix of local holidayers and tourists and close enough to walk to everything without being in the middle of it all. Top floors are much nicer and feel much more private when sitting in hammock - only complaint was that a requested extension was at a much higher price (direct with hotel) and lesser cabin even though promised both woud be the same. As I'd got a good deal originally I would have been happy if they had of been more honest with me - maybe just junior staff inexperience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by carlapk from san diego

Great value, location and service

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: Location, service, hammocks outside rooms, large closet, bath, room.
Cons: Needs updating, tv, phone, mini fridge
Location: Beach, and main street just outside.
Basic: No tv or phones. Limited wifi, basic conforts hotel. Great service and eager to please staff. Great location and on the beach. For families, not a honeymoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Jill the manager is great. She is helpful and accommodating. Martin is a great server in the resto. Will come back
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Flyleen from London

Beautiful hotel on a perfect beach

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We could not have chosen a better hotel for our family holiday over the Easter break. We have two active boys and they had a choice of three pools and a games room to keep them entertained. Our room was beautiful with two dbl beds and an outside shower as well as an inside one. The grounds were stunning and full of lush plants and palm trees on a perfect stretch of beach. A unique find in such a busy town. We started everyday with their fantastic breakfast and headed out in most days in our rented car for adventures. The guys at the service desk we're amazing and gave us great insider info on places to visit and local places to eat. We rented snorkel equipment from them an they can arrange the best tours. We enjoyed the many cenotes nearby and drive to Coba to see the ruins. We always had lunch at the hotel as we thought it was better than the buffet dinner and there are so many great places to eat just a stroll away. We highly recommend Las Palapas and hope to return again.
2 out of 5
by Pilar from Mexico City

Hotel at the beach

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location close to town.
Cons: Outdated rooms.
Our room 49 was well bellow our expectations and bad located in the hotel, you enter through a back yard not well kept, too close to the neighbor terrace, dark room, we even paid extra for a better room….. In the fitness room two machines were broken, so we couldn't use it. Breakfast was good. We only had lunch, but many items in the menu were not included. Most of the staff were nice, specially the guy at the gate at night, always smiling! Other rooms might be better...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel - it is a party scene

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Stayed one night here recently. The room was excellent - clean and comfortable bed. Every room has two hammocks on it's outside porch which was a great touch. Breakfast and dinner are included at the restaurant which was a buffet. The food was ok - just fine for one night. The only bad thing and I've noticed this everywhere I've stayed along the beach in Playa del Carmen is the noise at night. It is definitely a hip party scene with deep base music bumping in the afternoon and at night. Las Palapas appears to be cultivating a relaxing scene but I don't think you can compete with the noise next door. Fine for one night but I wouldn't last more! Good thing we were off to Tulum instead - much quieter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ruth

Very laid back and easy place for kids and us

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Location: Very close to shops and restaurants but still quiet
I came to las palapas with my daughter and two grandchildren. We were all very comfortable and happy with the lovely staff, the beautiful beach, the wonderful palapas, hammocks, sun, lizards and the whole experience. I hope it does not change as it gets bigger! I heard one woman saying that she came back every year for decades and I could imagine doing the same. This was our second time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M and A from Santa Fe NM

Muy tranquillo

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Quiet, relaxing, great location. Good buffet or cook to order breakfasts, dinners ok but not remarkable.
Cons: More coffee in the morning before restaurants open, with real milk or cream-c'mon guys, for $2-300/night you can do better that
Location: 5 minute walk to 5th Avenue, jam packed with restaurants, bar and retail
We booked at Las Palapas but ended up at adjacent, and now merged, Makahela. Both are jungle garden type properties with beach front and thatched roof palapas. Great beach, plenty of loungers and beach palapas, very quiet grounds except for cacaphony of birds in early morning. Our first unit was 16a which was supposedly ocean view but not much of one, and right next to street with public beach access and path to the breakfast restaurant so not very private. We moved into ann upstairs unit, 11b, with great view of beach/ocean over the dormant volley ball. Wonderful breezes all day so we didn't even use AC although it was mid 80's every day. Rooms wee plain (no TV or internet) but comfortable with walk in tile showers big enough for two Water pressure was OK and plenty of hot water. Mostly a mature, quiet crowd, with lots of europeans, and families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tom m

excellent, clean hotel,

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: beach, food, staff, rooms, quiet
Cons: wifi
Location: close to 5th ave shopping and restaurants. hotel restaurant is superior to most restaurants on 5th ave.
on the beach, superb food, friendly helpful staff. i have stayed there 5 years.