Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Jill the manager is great. She is helpful and accommodating. Martin is a great server in the resto. Will come back
2 out of 5
by Pilar from Mexico City

Hotel at the beach

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location close to town.
Cons: Outdated rooms.
Our room 49 was well bellow our expectations and bad located in the hotel, you enter through a back yard not well kept, too close to the neighbor terrace, dark room, we even paid extra for a better room….. In the fitness room two machines were broken, so we couldn't use it. Breakfast was good. We only had lunch, but many items in the menu were not included. Most of the staff were nice, specially the guy at the gate at night, always smiling! Other rooms might be better...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel - it is a party scene

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Stayed one night here recently. The room was excellent - clean and comfortable bed. Every room has two hammocks on it's outside porch which was a great touch. Breakfast and dinner are included at the restaurant which was a buffet. The food was ok - just fine for one night. The only bad thing and I've noticed this everywhere I've stayed along the beach in Playa del Carmen is the noise at night. It is definitely a hip party scene with deep base music bumping in the afternoon and at night. Las Palapas appears to be cultivating a relaxing scene but I don't think you can compete with the noise next door. Fine for one night but I wouldn't last more! Good thing we were off to Tulum instead - much quieter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ruth

Very laid back and easy place for kids and us

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Location: Very close to shops and restaurants but still quiet
I came to las palapas with my daughter and two grandchildren. We were all very comfortable and happy with the lovely staff, the beautiful beach, the wonderful palapas, hammocks, sun, lizards and the whole experience. I hope it does not change as it gets bigger! I heard one woman saying that she came back every year for decades and I could imagine doing the same. This was our second time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by M and A from Santa Fe NM

Muy tranquillo

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: Quiet, relaxing, great location. Good buffet or cook to order breakfasts, dinners ok but not remarkable.
Cons: More coffee in the morning before restaurants open, with real milk or cream-c'mon guys, for $2-300/night you can do better that
Location: 5 minute walk to 5th Avenue, jam packed with restaurants, bar and retail
We booked at Las Palapas but ended up at adjacent, and now merged, Makahela. Both are jungle garden type properties with beach front and thatched roof palapas. Great beach, plenty of loungers and beach palapas, very quiet grounds except for cacaphony of birds in early morning. Our first unit was 16a which was supposedly ocean view but not much of one, and right next to street with public beach access and path to the breakfast restaurant so not very private. We moved into ann upstairs unit, 11b, with great view of beach/ocean over the dormant volley ball. Wonderful breezes all day so we didn't even use AC although it was mid 80's every day. Rooms wee plain (no TV or internet) but comfortable with walk in tile showers big enough for two Water pressure was OK and plenty of hot water. Mostly a mature, quiet crowd, with lots of europeans, and families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tom m

excellent, clean hotel,

Posted Feb 26, 2014
Pros: beach, food, staff, rooms, quiet
Cons: wifi
Location: close to 5th ave shopping and restaurants. hotel restaurant is superior to most restaurants on 5th ave.
on the beach, superb food, friendly helpful staff. i have stayed there 5 years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

We want to come back

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: Beautiful, preserved green space, very harmonious with the environment. Lovely rooms, good food, nice people.
Cons: Our toilet overflowed the first night and we could not get anyone to come and fix it or clean up. They moved us to a new room in the morning.
Location: Great location, right on beach and 5th Ave. Easy to walk to everything. Best stretch of beach in town.
We loved this hotel! We were in a new garden room which was perfect for us. Staff was helpful and friendly. Compound felt very secure. On-site agency helped arrange excursions and transportation. Lots of attention to detail. It was perfect!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joe from Vancouver

critique

Posted Feb 20, 2014
Pros: ambience
Cons: food services
Location: excellent
exceptional experience except the hotel could have put more emphasis on food services, like attentive waiters at the Adventura dining area
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2014