Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tx

Great except for club noise

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The room, food and people are awesome. But everyday from 11am - 7pm the music from next door club was so loud and annoying I can not recommend this place to anyone except maybe a short stay. And make sure your room is on north end of property
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice change from traditional mega-resort

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Authentic feel of it, hammocks on the balconies, directly on beach (nice beach)
Cons: The food. It wasn't horrible, but there's room for improvement, mainly the meat (salmon, chicken) being overcooked. Everything else was fine.
Location: Check out bicycles from the hotel and go for a ride in the area. Lots of fun! Lots of cute little eateries/cafes/bars around. Street Wi-Fi available.
We booked our stay as part of an Expedia vacation package. It was a nice change from the traditional mega-resorts in Cancun. Playa del Carmen is a neat little area and the hotel is in a great location. It's directly on the beach and the other side puts you right on 5th Avenue with all the shops and restaurants. Our package inculded half-board which meant breakfast was included and either lunch or dinner. It was nice to have the flexibility. We never had the breakfast since we did tours that provided breakfast, but we had dinner there each night. The food was just okay. All the meat was dry/overcooked, but the Mexican buffet on Sunday night was pretty good. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean. We stayed on the top floor of a palapa (hut). The room wasn't luxurious like in the larger resorts, but it felt more authentic. Felt less like Florida (the way Cancun does) and more like Mexico. Overall nice experience. Nice to NOT have tv's in the rooms. Very romantic & relaxing. Wish we had spent more time at the hotel and on the beach. Nice sandy, white beach, plenty of chairs under "straw umbrellas." (Further down past the pier the beaches are rocky so we lucked up.) I would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Tense and uncomfortable

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Beautiful beach, but getting crowded. Loved the open feel of the Palapas. Breakfast when Gabriel was cooking was great.
Cons: If Las Palapas prefers not to welcome a specific population of guests then they should say so upfront. Would not have spent the $$$ had I known.
Location: Quick walk to the shops on 5th ave. Try Dive Mexico on 20th for scuba and snorkel. Pass on the whale sharks though - inhumane.
I chose the Hotel Las Palapas based on a positive experience I had at her sister Hotel the Mehekal in 2011. The Mehekal is currently closed for renovations. I booked the best room that Expedia showed as being available, which was a Jungle view with 2 Queen beds and a balcony. My disappointment began at check-in with a very hostile Edith who informed me that the room I booked was not available in "my class". Yes in "my class". And since I booked with Expedia the best room she could offer me was a room with a king sized bed and a sitting couch that could be used as a bed for my 6'2" son. The room was located at the very back of the property. Not enough characters to explain, but there were issues. A call to Expedia managed to get us moved to the room I booked and paid for, but not until the next night. There were some very kind hotel staff during our stay. Of particular note - Gabriel and Rogelio. And I saw first hand that reception had the ability to be gracious to their european guests. It is clear they were trying to make a point with their US guests. I can only surmise that current events have brought on this population specific poor customer service. And the icing on the cake was the shuttle ride from hotel to the airport. It was 40 minutes of terse questions from the driver about why americans treat immigration from Chili, Peru etc.. differently than immigration from mexico? He had a CAPTIVE audience. Literally.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Lovely

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Nice location,beautiful surroundings,natural,peaseful,good food,pleasant staff,set out in its own natural place,and plenty of room to feel alone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Perfect place in front of the beach

Posted Jul 11, 2014
I was very happy during my stay at Las Palapas. This hotel fullfilled my expectations and went way too far! Food was excellent and the service , staff, waiters, and receptionist was top of the line! They were very friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel was very convenient , not too close to the 5th Ave which is noisy all day and not too far to walk there! Wonderful location by the beach, great environment quiet and relaxing in front of the beatiful Playa Mamitas. My favourite spot was the nice terrace with a hammock for those lazy days! Thanks Las Palapas, we'll be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautiful, quiet resort

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: The beach, grounds and location were superb as we're all the employees I had contact with.
Cons: the gym could be stand to be updated but was satisfactory.
Location: It's the best of both worlds with the beach on one side and Quinta Avenida on the other.
I stayed at Las Palapas with my husband on our summer vacation this year and loved it! The grounds are so beautiful, green and full of vegetation. It makes it feel like you are in a secluded jungle resort even though you are only steps away from everything that Quinta Avenida has to offer. The beach was very nice and clean with plenty of loungers and shade. It was never overwhelmingly crowded as were some other sections of beach. Our room (we stayed in the basic garden view room) was nothing fancy but was clean and comfortable for sleeping. I loved that we had a little porch with hammocks where I could relax and read while my husband showered or worked out at the gym. We did the flex meal plan which worked out really well for us as you can switch out dinner for lunch if you want to go out to eat at some of the local restaurants during your stay. The breakfast was always superb. Lots of fresh fruit and an omelet/pancake station staffed by a great guy. He was always so friendly, teasing my husband about his terrible Spanish. The dinners were a mixed bag. Sometimes the entrees were very good and sometimes they were average. As far as included meals go they were satisfactory and to be honest, I wasn't expecting gourmet food for the price we paid. That being said the service was always superb and there were a few nights (Mayan buffet especially) that were actually very good. I would highly recommend this resort to those looking for good location and tranquility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice, clean and relaxing hotel next to the beach!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: I like the clean rooms, green areas, the hammock in each room! Beach and pool clean and well take care of Service
Location: Perfect location, nice restaurants and bars
We loved this hotel and we definitely are coming back! This is not an "All-inclusive" hotel but it feels like it. Breakfast, dinner, towels... included! After a horrible experience at The Reef Playacar in Playa del Carmen, we went to Las Palapas and oh my! what a difference! It is pretty basic but clean, quite (not obnoxious drunk people at 11am, in the dirty pool. ) The rooms are really clean, the staff is really nice and welcoming, pool small but well take care of, and the beach amazing! Plus you are a few steps from the 5ta avenida, where you'll find lots of shops, nice restaurants and bars, so you don't have to take cabs or shuttles. I totally recommend this nice, pretty and relaxing hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice location off 5th avenue with excellent beach.

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: The retreat setting was very relaxing.
Cons: Better disclosure about renovation work going on at the property to enable making a better decision about selecting location of the palapa.
Location: A 5 minute walk to 5th avenue. Many restaurant, bar and club options within walking distance. The beach is nice to relax or for walking.
The hotel did not mention that room renovation and construction was going on around our Palapa. If this information would have been disclosed I would have reserved a Palapa in a different location within the property. This is the main reason for giving this hotel a lower rating than what it could have received. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach. Quiet. Close to restaurants.

Posted May 30, 2014
Try to get 2nd floor room. Beach front rooms are expensive but very nice as well
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Right on the beach. Just okay.

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: The staff and the beach.
Cons: Upgrade the rooms.
Location: Located at the northern end of Playa del Carmen which is more cosmopolitan. Tulum is close by.
When we arrived we were told that the hotel was overbooked and they wanted to put us in a nearby hotel. We insisted that we wanted a room like the one we booked near the beach (even though the alternative place was probably newer and nicer). They finally found a room for us but it took several hours and we were tired from traveling to get there. It was not a good start. The room comes with breakfast and either lunch or dinner. I suggest do breakfast and lunch - go out for dinner. The staff are very accommodating and pleasant, and create a nice environment. The rooms are spartan - if you need luxury this is not the place for you. The beach experience was outstanding. Best part of the stay.