Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by William from San Francisco, CA

Beware: loud beach club next door

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is right next to Mamita's Beach Club, with the loudest (think 50,000 watt subwoofers) music in Playa del Carmen. On weekdays the music goes from about noon til 8pm, while Thursday-Saturday, it goes until about 1 or 2 AM. The bass penetrates the entire property and reverberates even louder inside the palapas / cabanas. Want to take a nap? Too bad. Sleep before 2 am on weekends will be difficult too. The worst part of all this is that the hotel staff is completely dismissive of the issue, and took offense when I inquired about when the music would turn off, and laughed at me when I left 2 days into a 5 night stay for a more tranquil hotel. Beware.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from OHiO

Heaven in Playa del Carmen

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location on 5th which has great shopping and rest...the beach ,pool and beach bar were perfect. The staff real aim to please.
Cons: More towels in the room .
Location: Its on 5th St. need I say anything more , 30 blocks or rest. and stores etc.
Its not one of those mega resorts , so the service is geared to you not the masses. Great beach and staff, got caught off guard no TV, Clock or Radio in room. Found out I can live without it.. We will be back..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JEricho, NY

Nice place, on the beach.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Cons: strong, fast Internet connection should be available in every room
Location: It is very close to marketplace and restaurants, can take day trips to Tulum, Coba and other recreational activities.
nice staff, nice place, beautiful gardens and on the beach! Loved it. Only complain is that their WIFI is very weak , could not use WIFI in room, had to go to places where we found hotspot. by walking around carrying our phone Also no telephone in the rooms, so if we needed any thing , we had to walk to the main office. But overall we ware very happy with our stay. We really learned to relax without phone, TV or WIFI which is very important.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

Spring break couple getaway

Posted Mar 19, 2015
The hotel was better than we had expected and as soon as we stepped in, we loved it. Walking to the beach is about 3-5 mins, and to quinta avenida its about 5-7 mins. Excellent proximity. The food was also very nice too. My boyfriend is pretty creeped out by bugs so he was quite anxious with the whole jungle view cabana but we were okay. There will be bugs but rhey wont do any harm, and they have mosquito sprays in the bathroom too. My only complaint was that they didnt change/wash our beach towels for the whole week.The beach is not so much private as people are always walking from beach to beach and some people not from the hotel just pick a spot and settle there for the rest of the day, this goes for the whole big beach though not just this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Lindo Hotel Perfecta hubicacion muy caro

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
me gusto mucho el hotel pero me parece carisimo la comida que ofrecen esta bien pero no esta muy orientada a la comida para ninos los platos son muy sofisticados y complicados especialmente las cenas
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevan from Philadelphia

Has Las Palapas gone downhill?

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
We have been going to Las Palapas for 5 or 6 years, and this past February our experience was much different. Service at lunch was dramatically poor, and the service staff seemed hurried and often unable to keep up with demand. This may be a transitional problem as Las Palapas merges with an adjacent property. We feel we should give Las Palapas another try next year and see if 2015 was an aberration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dan from DC

Old meets new

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels
If you are looking for something different, this is the place. gorgeous setting in mangrove, yet steps to the beach. The renovated rooms are high end design meets rustic minimalist. Beds are super comfy. The landscape is just so peaceful. Stress melted the minute I got there. The beach is perfectly situated, with lots of chairs, tables, palapas umbrellas, great service... lunch can be eaten beach side. Food: they try! We like Mayan cuisine, and they prepare things that would make a more timid visitor step outside their bounds (corn mold stuffed Calamari...yum!) But, there was some hit and miss, and we ended up eating in town most nights. Breakfast is good, solid. Some would complain about Mamitas Beach Club's thumping music wafting through the air, but unless you are going to be in your room napping all day, it's nothing. Construction next door? Try finding one hotel in Play that doesn't have construction next to it at this point. así es la vida! They are doing their own renovations for the rest of the units May-Nov, so get there before or after.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Pleased with our stay

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels
The rooms are clean. We toured all of the rooms and the Jungle View Rooms are newer then the garden view and ocean view. It's also worth it to pay a few extra dollars to get a palapa roof. They stay cooler during the day and warmer at night. You might be visited by a few creates crossing your roof but they cant get in so dont be afraid. A few times an Iguana blocked the walkways trying to sun themselves but you can easily work around. The best part of this hotel is the food. All of our meals were great. We came here knowing that the rooms have no TV, wifi or phone. Thats what we wanted. There was a hairdryer in our room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bryony from Miami

Great for couples vacation not for family or busin

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
Went on a business trip and the location and staff is perfect but hotel is for relaxation. No wifi, phone or TV in rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas texas

great hotel in downtown playa del carmen

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Had a great experience inside and outside our hotel room. Pleasantly located within walking distance from the beach and the city. Very accessible and the staff were so nice. The food was great at the hotel and the drinks were even better!