Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wales

Hidden Treasure fantastic staff

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Staff are the best 5 star
Cons: They already have improvements in place just makeover new pool area,
Location: playa del carmen is best
Jungle boogie boutique rustic charm hotel, fantastic staff, everything on hand beach, pool, room, so you can relax with every need of relaxing covered.Nature all around you lovely staff food amazing ,clean, good relaxing stay. there renovating soon so just check before booking. but lovely hotel overall . MATTHEW & SUSANA
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Paradise

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Close to beach. Close to 5th Avenue
Cons: Prices for massages and beauty treatments at the hotel were high. Airport shuttle to hotel very expensive.
Location: Great location. Within walking distance to everything you could want on Playa del Carmen. Don't buy jewellery from Quinta Maya store on 5th Avenue.
This was a dream hotel. Fantastic location- beach a few steps away (we fell asleep to the sound of waves), 5th Avenue a couple of minutes away. Quiet and relaxing. Relaxed bar. Option to have lunch and drinks on the beach. Great food. Great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great place to relax.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Loved this place. Very quiet and more family oriented. Not a lot of partying in the hotel but great place to relax and enjoy the beach. It's located right off of 5ta Avenida.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from phila

Nice quiet small groups of rooms

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Great staff. Carlos on the beach, Cesar in dining room. Miriam delightful with her towel sculpture displays. Macarena and Boli concierge were great!
Cons: Lack of phone in room to reach front desk was frustrating at times.
Location: North end of Playa del Carmen, away from beach clubs. Most water activities close. Ruins and cenotes reasonably close.
Carlos serving on the beach, Cesar in the dining room Miriam with housekeeping, and Macarena and Boli at concierge made this a great stay! Nice and quiet at night. Relatively small resort buffered from the crowds. Avenue 5 runs close by but, again, buffered, private landscaped entrance drive into resort makes it feel special. Food good enough not to go out. Barbara at Cyan Dive shop was wonderful. Everything we wanted to do was available in close proximity.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tx

Great except for club noise

Posted Aug 12, 2014
The room, food and people are awesome. But everyday from 11am - 7pm the music from next door club was so loud and annoying I can not recommend this place to anyone except maybe a short stay. And make sure your room is on north end of property
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Nice change from traditional mega-resort

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Authentic feel of it, hammocks on the balconies, directly on beach (nice beach)
Cons: The food. It wasn't horrible, but there's room for improvement, mainly the meat (salmon, chicken) being overcooked. Everything else was fine.
Location: Check out bicycles from the hotel and go for a ride in the area. Lots of fun! Lots of cute little eateries/cafes/bars around. Street Wi-Fi available.
We booked our stay as part of an Expedia vacation package. It was a nice change from the traditional mega-resorts in Cancun. Playa del Carmen is a neat little area and the hotel is in a great location. It's directly on the beach and the other side puts you right on 5th Avenue with all the shops and restaurants. Our package inculded half-board which meant breakfast was included and either lunch or dinner. It was nice to have the flexibility. We never had the breakfast since we did tours that provided breakfast, but we had dinner there each night. The food was just okay. All the meat was dry/overcooked, but the Mexican buffet on Sunday night was pretty good. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were clean. We stayed on the top floor of a palapa (hut). The room wasn't luxurious like in the larger resorts, but it felt more authentic. Felt less like Florida (the way Cancun does) and more like Mexico. Overall nice experience. Nice to NOT have tv's in the rooms. Very romantic & relaxing. Wish we had spent more time at the hotel and on the beach. Nice sandy, white beach, plenty of chairs under "straw umbrellas." (Further down past the pier the beaches are rocky so we lucked up.) I would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Tense and uncomfortable

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Beautiful beach, but getting crowded. Loved the open feel of the Palapas. Breakfast when Gabriel was cooking was great.
Cons: If Las Palapas prefers not to welcome a specific population of guests then they should say so upfront. Would not have spent the $$$ had I known.
Location: Quick walk to the shops on 5th ave. Try Dive Mexico on 20th for scuba and snorkel. Pass on the whale sharks though - inhumane.
I chose the Hotel Las Palapas based on a positive experience I had at her sister Hotel the Mehekal in 2011. The Mehekal is currently closed for renovations. I booked the best room that Expedia showed as being available, which was a Jungle view with 2 Queen beds and a balcony. My disappointment began at check-in with a very hostile Edith who informed me that the room I booked was not available in "my class". Yes in "my class". And since I booked with Expedia the best room she could offer me was a room with a king sized bed and a sitting couch that could be used as a bed for my 6'2" son. The room was located at the very back of the property. Not enough characters to explain, but there were issues. A call to Expedia managed to get us moved to the room I booked and paid for, but not until the next night. There were some very kind hotel staff during our stay. Of particular note - Gabriel and Rogelio. And I saw first hand that reception had the ability to be gracious to their european guests. It is clear they were trying to make a point with their US guests. I can only surmise that current events have brought on this population specific poor customer service. And the icing on the cake was the shuttle ride from hotel to the airport. It was 40 minutes of terse questions from the driver about why americans treat immigration from Chili, Peru etc.. differently than immigration from mexico? He had a CAPTIVE audience. Literally.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Lovely

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Nice location,beautiful surroundings,natural,peaseful,good food,pleasant staff,set out in its own natural place,and plenty of room to feel alone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mandy from Austin, TX

Beach/Jungle Getaway

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We absolutely LOVED our stay at Las Palapas. The Palapas/rooms were adorable, and it was so peaceful. We stayed in the Jungle area, and could easily walk to the beach and restaurants, all within Las Palapas. We saw Coatis, Iguanas, and a little animal like a Capybara. We were here over 4th of July, and the staff (who were kind and funny) created a beach cookout that night, complete with red, white and blue noisemakers, and live music, and a buffet of grilled American staples. We felt better than being at home! The beach is by far the nicest beach in Playa del Carmen. And the location is perfect. It is far enough from town to not hear any noise, but close enough to walk out to go shopping and visit restaurants if you want. We, however chose to enjoy our hammocks and the beach at our little getaway. This is our new favorite place, and will be back as soon as we can!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Perfect place in front of the beach

Posted Jul 11, 2014
I was very happy during my stay at Las Palapas. This hotel fullfilled my expectations and went way too far! Food was excellent and the service , staff, waiters, and receptionist was top of the line! They were very friendly and helpful. The location of this hotel was very convenient , not too close to the 5th Ave which is noisy all day and not too far to walk there! Wonderful location by the beach, great environment quiet and relaxing in front of the beatiful Playa Mamitas. My favourite spot was the nice terrace with a hammock for those lazy days! Thanks Las Palapas, we'll be back!