Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom OHiO

Heaven in Playa del Carmen

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location on 5th which has great shopping and rest...the beach ,pool and beach bar were perfect. The staff real aim to please.
Cons: More towels in the room .
Location: Its on 5th St. need I say anything more , 30 blocks or rest. and stores etc.
Its not one of those mega resorts , so the service is geared to you not the masses. Great beach and staff, got caught off guard no TV, Clock or Radio in room. Found out I can live without it.. We will be back..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom JEricho, NY

Nice place, on the beach.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Cons: strong, fast Internet connection should be available in every room
Location: It is very close to marketplace and restaurants, can take day trips to Tulum, Coba and other recreational activities.
nice staff, nice place, beautiful gardens and on the beach! Loved it. Only complain is that their WIFI is very weak , could not use WIFI in room, had to go to places where we found hotspot. by walking around carrying our phone Also no telephone in the rooms, so if we needed any thing , we had to walk to the main office. But overall we ware very happy with our stay. We really learned to relax without phone, TV or WIFI which is very important.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom O

Spring break couple getaway

Posted Mar 19, 2015
The hotel was better than we had expected and as soon as we stepped in, we loved it. Walking to the beach is about 3-5 mins, and to quinta avenida its about 5-7 mins. Excellent proximity. The food was also very nice too. My boyfriend is pretty creeped out by bugs so he was quite anxious with the whole jungle view cabana but we were okay. There will be bugs but rhey wont do any harm, and they have mosquito sprays in the bathroom too. My only complaint was that they didnt change/wash our beach towels for the whole week.The beach is not so much private as people are always walking from beach to beach and some people not from the hotel just pick a spot and settle there for the rest of the day, this goes for the whole big beach though not just this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevanfrom Philadelphia

Has Las Palapas gone downhill?

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
We have been going to Las Palapas for 5 or 6 years, and this past February our experience was much different. Service at lunch was dramatically poor, and the service staff seemed hurried and often unable to keep up with demand. This may be a transitional problem as Las Palapas merges with an adjacent property. We feel we should give Las Palapas another try next year and see if 2015 was an aberration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danfrom DC

Old meets new

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
If you are looking for something different, this is the place. gorgeous setting in mangrove, yet steps to the beach. The renovated rooms are high end design meets rustic minimalist. Beds are super comfy. The landscape is just so peaceful. Stress melted the minute I got there. The beach is perfectly situated, with lots of chairs, tables, palapas umbrellas, great service... lunch can be eaten beach side. Food: they try! We like Mayan cuisine, and they prepare things that would make a more timid visitor step outside their bounds (corn mold stuffed Calamari...yum!) But, there was some hit and miss, and we ended up eating in town most nights. Breakfast is good, solid. Some would complain about Mamitas Beach Club's thumping music wafting through the air, but unless you are going to be in your room napping all day, it's nothing. Construction next door? Try finding one hotel in Play that doesn't have construction next to it at this point. así es la vida! They are doing their own renovations for the rest of the units May-Nov, so get there before or after.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Pleased with our stay

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
The rooms are clean. We toured all of the rooms and the Jungle View Rooms are newer then the garden view and ocean view. It's also worth it to pay a few extra dollars to get a palapa roof. They stay cooler during the day and warmer at night. You might be visited by a few creates crossing your roof but they cant get in so dont be afraid. A few times an Iguana blocked the walkways trying to sun themselves but you can easily work around. The best part of this hotel is the food. All of our meals were great. We came here knowing that the rooms have no TV, wifi or phone. Thats what we wanted. There was a hairdryer in our room.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bryonyfrom Miami

Great for couples vacation not for family or busin

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
Went on a business trip and the location and staff is perfect but hotel is for relaxation. No wifi, phone or TV in rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas texas

great hotel in downtown playa del carmen

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Had a great experience inside and outside our hotel room. Pleasantly located within walking distance from the beach and the city. Very accessible and the staff were so nice. The food was great at the hotel and the drinks were even better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Très bonne situation et service impeccable

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Le resort bénéfice d 'une situation privilégiée: à la fois dans le coeur du quartier le plus animé de Playa del Carmen, mais aussi sur le meilleur tronçon de plage. Seul bémol: la musique provenenant d'un hôtel situé à une centaine de mètres et qui entête parfois.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Davidfrom Austin - TX

Great hotel with amazing staff.

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
I highly recommend this hotel. Its in the heart of the action and yet hidden away from the main road. Special shout out to the staff. Every single member of staff (and there are lots of them) take care of you. They smile, chat and all say good morning. They get to know your name and they get to know exactly what you like. Food is pretty good. Not mind blowing but good. Rooms are clean and well cared for. Grounds are stunning and walking down to the beach was always so delightful. Complaints...well I have to think of something. The beach bar next door plays loud music from around noon to 6pm. Personally I loved the beat but some friends did not like it so much. Its only during these hours though so rest assured you will get a peaceful nights sleep. I will be going back here for sure.