Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom dallas texas

great hotel in downtown playa del carmen

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Had a great experience inside and outside our hotel room. Pleasantly located within walking distance from the beach and the city. Very accessible and the staff were so nice. The food was great at the hotel and the drinks were even better!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Très bonne situation et service impeccable

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Le resort bénéfice d 'une situation privilégiée: à la fois dans le coeur du quartier le plus animé de Playa del Carmen, mais aussi sur le meilleur tronçon de plage. Seul bémol: la musique provenenant d'un hôtel situé à une centaine de mètres et qui entête parfois.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ross on Wye, England

Perfect location - beach frontage, close to town

Posted Feb 3, 2015
Pros: The food was good and varied. The staff could not have been more attentive. My Jungle Garden ground floor room was new, large and well-furnished.
Location: Perfect spot. Long beach frontage with helpful staff in Coco Bar and cafe. 5 Minutes from 5th Avenue, main tourist drag for the town, restaurants.
As a solo lady traveller I could not have been looked after better. Keshi guides you to take the correct tour experiences to suit your individual needs. The food varied daily and was of a high quality. Ceviche and Bloody Mary were particularly enjoyed for beach lunches!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best bungalows on the beach!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
I hear they'll be closing in 6/7 months for renovation .... Hope it doesn't lose it's Magic!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Des Moines, Iowa

Fantastic Vacation!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Virtually everything. The staff, the beach, the food, the service and the accommodations were wonderful!
Cons: The water pressure was pretty low.
Location: Located right on the beach and one block from 5th Avenue where everything is located. Restaurants of every kind, bars, music and shopping!
Everything was great about our stay at Hotel Las Palapas!!! The friendliness of the staff and their attention to our needs or wants was unbelievable! The rooms were wonderful, the beach was fantastic, the food was wonderful and overall was one of the best places and vacations we have ever had. Highly recommend!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOISY ! Near a club ! Loud sound, windows vibratin

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Cons: Make sound proof rooms ! And get the club next door closed
Terrible place when you would have expected to have a peaceful and quiet stay. Club music during the day and night coming from a beach club next door. Complain at reception and they will give you earplugs ! Do no stay here if you expect to have some sleep during the nights. If you want a quiet place to stay book further north or south of there ! For $400+ a night, it is not worth not sleeping !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great family hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: The staff and the location were superb.
Cons: The rooms
Location: everything is nearby and yet, this is a very quiet hotel.
We have two kids age 4 and 7. They loved the hotel and its facilities. It felt safe and the staff was just so loving. There were a number of wild animals coming around, such as iguanas, racoons, and a variety of birds. The hotel is very nicely located right on the best beach in Playa, as well as a little walk away from the main shopping strip. The food was amazing, really quality versus quantity. Breakfast and dinner were outstanding! The hotel puts on some entertainment as well that was just fantastic, amazing musicians.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N

We stayed 8 days we had fun

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Best location close to beach also close to 5 avenue
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Nice concept overall but Mamita's is really noisy

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Overall concept: being in little villas almost on the beach and in a palms forest. Employees are smiling. Carlo Ceasar should work on the beach.
Cons: Mamita, Mamita, Mamita to be destroyed. It ruined the calm of this area which is a paradise otherwise. Food can be a better. A real 3 stars on this.
Location: 5th avenue is nice to visit.
We really liked the concept: charming "villas" in a gorgous garden, even if it need to be renovated (rooms and facilities). We visited a renovated room (jungle section). It will be really nice after the renovation of Las Palapas in 2015. Congratulations to designers. Mahekal next to Las Palapas is currently in renovation (open soon). It will be awsome: same concept and design but bigger. They merged. Note: noise of construction is not too bad, but began at 6:00AM. We had a villa in the sandy part on the 2nd floor and really enjoy it. Being in hammocks on the veranda = great experience. BEST beach in Playa Del Carmen. The site is a palms forest well maintain. Wow! The food is OK, but nothing to remember, but eating on the beach was WOW! Special thanks to Carlo Ceasar, Carlos, Paula and Bolli. Everybody was nice. The real issue is Mamita's. A beach club really disturbing. We read comments about it and the answer was that it was quiet during low season. We were in november and the music was really to extremely loud from 14:00 to 17:30 each day and from 22:00 to 3:00 for all WE. We were able to sleep with plugs and being so tired after a long walk on the 5th avenue. For sure, Las Palapas has no control on this, but it was a real issue for us. Rainy days were welcome = no music. We would really like to go back, but we won't because of Mamita's. If noice bothers you, don't go there, but if you don't care, this is Paradise to discover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, Va

Nice rustic feeling close to the beach

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Our staying at Las Palapas was great. We had upgraded to a beach front Palapa for free . But the most valuable asset of this hotel is their staff and of course one of the best beaches at Playa del Carmen. We had an amazing time .