Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Des Moines, Iowa

Fantastic Vacation!

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Virtually everything. The staff, the beach, the food, the service and the accommodations were wonderful!
Cons: The water pressure was pretty low.
Location: Located right on the beach and one block from 5th Avenue where everything is located. Restaurants of every kind, bars, music and shopping!
Everything was great about our stay at Hotel Las Palapas!!! The friendliness of the staff and their attention to our needs or wants was unbelievable! The rooms were wonderful, the beach was fantastic, the food was wonderful and overall was one of the best places and vacations we have ever had. Highly recommend!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOISY ! Near a club ! Loud sound, windows vibratin

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Cons: Make sound proof rooms ! And get the club next door closed
Terrible place when you would have expected to have a peaceful and quiet stay. Club music during the day and night coming from a beach club next door. Complain at reception and they will give you earplugs ! Do no stay here if you expect to have some sleep during the nights. If you want a quiet place to stay book further north or south of there ! For $400+ a night, it is not worth not sleeping !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great family hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: The staff and the location were superb.
Cons: The rooms
Location: everything is nearby and yet, this is a very quiet hotel.
We have two kids age 4 and 7. They loved the hotel and its facilities. It felt safe and the staff was just so loving. There were a number of wild animals coming around, such as iguanas, racoons, and a variety of birds. The hotel is very nicely located right on the best beach in Playa, as well as a little walk away from the main shopping strip. The food was amazing, really quality versus quantity. Breakfast and dinner were outstanding! The hotel puts on some entertainment as well that was just fantastic, amazing musicians.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N

We stayed 8 days we had fun

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Best location close to beach also close to 5 avenue
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal

Nice concept overall but Mamita's is really noisy

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Overall concept: being in little villas almost on the beach and in a palms forest. Employees are smiling. Carlo Ceasar should work on the beach.
Cons: Mamita, Mamita, Mamita to be destroyed. It ruined the calm of this area which is a paradise otherwise. Food can be a better. A real 3 stars on this.
Location: 5th avenue is nice to visit.
We really liked the concept: charming "villas" in a gorgous garden, even if it need to be renovated (rooms and facilities). We visited a renovated room (jungle section). It will be really nice after the renovation of Las Palapas in 2015. Congratulations to designers. Mahekal next to Las Palapas is currently in renovation (open soon). It will be awsome: same concept and design but bigger. They merged. Note: noise of construction is not too bad, but began at 6:00AM. We had a villa in the sandy part on the 2nd floor and really enjoy it. Being in hammocks on the veranda = great experience. BEST beach in Playa Del Carmen. The site is a palms forest well maintain. Wow! The food is OK, but nothing to remember, but eating on the beach was WOW! Special thanks to Carlo Ceasar, Carlos, Paula and Bolli. Everybody was nice. The real issue is Mamita's. A beach club really disturbing. We read comments about it and the answer was that it was quiet during low season. We were in november and the music was really to extremely loud from 14:00 to 17:30 each day and from 22:00 to 3:00 for all WE. We were able to sleep with plugs and being so tired after a long walk on the 5th avenue. For sure, Las Palapas has no control on this, but it was a real issue for us. Rainy days were welcome = no music. We would really like to go back, but we won't because of Mamita's. If noice bothers you, don't go there, but if you don't care, this is Paradise to discover.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, Va

Nice rustic feeling close to the beach

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Our staying at Las Palapas was great. We had upgraded to a beach front Palapa for free . But the most valuable asset of this hotel is their staff and of course one of the best beaches at Playa del Carmen. We had an amazing time .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Strasbourg

Toller Garten und jedoch im Stadtzentrum

Posted Nov 2, 2014
Pros: Das Essen, die Gartenanlage, der Strand und die nähe an der Tauchbasis.
Cons: Intimität im Badezimmer Kommunikation mit den Gästen über Arbeiten im Poolbereich WLAN bei der Rezeption funktioniert fas nie.
Location: Direkt an der Avenida 5 im Zentrum von Playa del Carmen mit Geschäften une Nightlife. Tauchen.
Das Hotel Las Palapas ist ein sehr angenehmes und überwiegend ruhiges Hotel obwohl es direkt am Stadtzentrum liegt. Man fühlt sich wie im Paradies und wenn man am Strand entlang läuft ist es das einzige Hotel an dem der Strand nicht völlig verbaut ist. Das Restaurant ist sehr schön angelegt und man isst besonders gut. Buffet ist lediglich beim Frühstück angesagt und ausnahmsweise bei einem Themenabend. Man wird also oft am Tisch bedient. Die Halbpension loht sich wirklich. Die renovierten Zimmer sind sehr schön, lediglich etwas Intimität fehlt im Badezimmer (in der Tür sind Große offene Rillen). Wer mit zwei älteren Kindern unterwegs ist sollte auf ein Zimmer mit zwei Queen Size Betten bestehen, die sind selten. Eine große Enttäuschung war der große Pool. Er war aufgrund geringfügiger Arbeiten im Poolbereich während unserem Aufenthalt (6 Tage) nie zugänglich. Es hätte uns auch nicht weiter gestört, wenn man uns nicht regelmäßig an der Rezeption versichert hätte, dass der Pool bald öffnen würde (am nächsten Tag oder sogar am Nachmittag...). Wichtig war der Pool für uns weil mein Sohn einen Tauchkurs gebucht hatte in dem 3 Tauchgänge im Pool nötig waren. Wer gerne taucht ist in diesem Hotel am richtigen Platz. Die Tauchbasis (CYAN-HA), mit deutschem Tauchlehrer, ist direkt am Strand. Vom Frühstucktisch bis zum Boot sind es 2 Minuten.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Beautiful hotel, but few small improvements needed

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Great position Beautiful beach Food at dinner was very good Beautiful ground Superior room really nice
Cons: Path flooded when rained Air conditioning very loud (could not use it at night) Understaffed at lunch free water in the room Wi-Fi connection
Overall good experience, but it's not great value for money as it is as expensive as an all inclusive but it's only half board and every extra is very very expensive Staff not very accommodating Lovely setting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom CARACAS

los mosquitos

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: la tranquilidad
Cons: el telefono y lA TV DE LA HABITACION, Y LA LIMPIEZA CON LOS MOSQUIOS
todo estuvo excelente, el unico punto fue la prencencia de mosquitos que te micaban a cada rato, parece que solo habitaban el hotel en la playa ni en la calle habia esos mosquitos tan molestos, lastima.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom wales

Hidden Treasure fantastic staff

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: Staff are the best 5 star
Cons: They already have improvements in place just makeover new pool area,
Location: playa del carmen is best
Jungle boogie boutique rustic charm hotel, fantastic staff, everything on hand beach, pool, room, so you can relax with every need of relaxing covered.Nature all around you lovely staff food amazing ,clean, good relaxing stay. there renovating soon so just check before booking. but lovely hotel overall . MATTHEW & SUSANA