Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by clayton from phoenix

Great find in Playa del Carmen

Posted Jun 18, 2014
This hotel offers a great value. The location is perfect and the breakfast was a nice touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great choice...great location

Posted May 25, 2014
Moderately priced...everything worked well...staff ws really, really great...location was right smack dab in the middle of 5th Avenue. The breakfast is nothing special although the fresh OH and coffee were good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in heart of shopping and nightlife

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, quality of room
Location: On the main street of Playa with shopping and restaurants, but also close to the beach
We have been to Playa several times before and had seen the Hotel Lunata. We decided to stay there instead of our usual beach hotel (Fusion, which is also great). Lunata was wonderful - super friendly staff and a nice room that was very quiet even though it was overlooking 5th Avenue. The room was tastefully decorated, bed was comfortable, and the shower was great. We would definitely recommend it for couples as an alternative to staying on the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by B from colorado

Location and charm

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Pros: Ambiance and location
Cons: Beds
Location: It's all at your finger tips
What a wonderful surprise, darling boutique hotel. great staff (very helpful) great location to shopping, beach, restaurants. Great way to experience Playa Del Carmen
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Becky from upstate NY

Beautiful hotel right in the middle of everything!

Posted Mar 10, 2014
The staff was super nice and welcoming. The grounds were well keep and the rooms were very clean. The hotel had a great location, right on 5 th ave. the only problem I found was the noise from 5th ave at night. It was hard to sleep but I just got a set a ear plugs and slept fine. Great location for young people trying to party!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Grace from Canada

Lovely boutique hotel across from beach

Posted Jan 31, 2014
Pros: All the staff are very friendly, genuinely helpful and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Fabiola, in particular is a gem.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Great location, close to everything!
Second time at the Lunata. Stayed 12 nights in January, mostly in the junior suite facing the yard. The suite is large, decorated nicely, has a small kitchenette, great shower and large balcony with table & chairs. Blackout curtains & sheers. AC works very well and everything is kept spotlessly clean. Most mornings we had breakfast in the courtyard, fresh juice, fruit, cereal, toast & coffee, before heading out. Lunata is so close to everything, so whether you're staying in town for the day or heading out somewhere it is close to all the shops, restaurants, bus depot, ferry to Cozumel, collectivos and taxis. The perfect location. Mega & Walmart are within walking distance. And of course, the beach is right across the street!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sam from New York

Superb - a great option

Posted Dec 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed the weekend at Lunata in Pandora- a great room with vaulted ceiling and private balcony. The hotel is beautiful- hacienda style, very we'll maintained and nicely decorated throughout. For location it can't be beat but the best thing about this hotel is Erika, who provides wonderful service with a smile. A lovely stay and for the price a very good option. The only quibble would be breakfast which is pretty basic but sufficient. Lunata deserves it's 4.5 stars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from Montezuma, New Mexico

La Lunata experience

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Grounds, rooms and staff.
Cons: Maybe a little more on the breakfast side it was simple but fine
Location: The whole street just rocks. There is a passage way down to the beach right there also. Great restaurants and bars nearby Good music, fun people.
What a beautiful oasis right on the main pedestrian street. Erica was fantastic and all the staff were friendly and helpful. I wish I could have stayed longer. I'll stay again the next time in Playa Del Carmen. Don't miss the 12 mile ferry ride to Cozumel also, another great place nearby
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andres from Spain

Right on La Quinta avenue. The hotel is very nice.

Posted Dec 16, 2013
Pros: Location and Hacienda Decor
Cons: Noise! please put triple crystal glass windows. La Quinta avenue is filled with Mariachis and drunk people at night so sleeping may not be as pleasant
Location: The hotel is at the center of all the commercial and restaurants in the area
The staff was amazingly nice. The place was clean and very comfortable. Very nicely decorated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

this is a great small hotel, beach just one block

Posted Dec 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
We really liked staying here. The staff are very friendly, the room is large, the breakfast was outside in a small garden, and the hotel felt peaceful, as opposed to the strip of stores outside. The beach is just one block away and very beautiful, and it was easy to rent chairs for the day. This is a nice alternative to the all-inclusive resorts, if you are looking to try something a bit different from the resort style of vacation.