Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike M. from Southern California

No frills, but didn't need 'em!; location is great

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Came to Playa to dive cenotes, and previously stayed at the Albatros which used to be next door to this hotel. The location to the beach, 5th ave, and dive shops make this an ideal place to stay for divers. It was an easy walk each morning to Scuba Playa which was just one block over. Also close are great restaurants and shopping on 5th ave just 1/2 block away. Room was clean, not extravagant, if you need a super soft amazing mattress, this ain't the place for ya. But for diving it was great. Wi-fi was fair... although good at times and slow or dropping at others. There was literally only one power outlet in my room so I'm glad I brought a surge surpressed power strip to plug all my electronics and rechargable dive and camera gear into. Also, room had an ocean view but was obscured quite a bit from the trees in the courtyard. But overall nice place, I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Beach front, quaint

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Great for going out and spending money on adventures.
Cons: The overall state of the rooms. The sinks were sometimes hard to get the water to not run on the actual sink basin. Also the beds could be better.
Location: Beach front, enough said. Middle of Playa del Carmen off of 5th Ave allowing for shopping and food. Also centralized for excursions.
The rooms could do with a bit of remodeling to make them nicer, but the overall feel was quaint. It had beach front access and right off of 5th Ave which allowed for a wide variety of food and culture.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Darla from Kansas City

Great location, right on beach

Posted Nov 14, 2013
Pros: Service from entire staff was excellent! Perfect location right off 5th Ave.
Cons: Owner needs to spend $$ for exterior cosmetic repairs. The Staff certainly takes pride in their jobs, but need support from owner to do his part.
Location: Right off 5th Ave, close to many great restaurants. Also, ferry to Cozumel is a short walking distance as well as bus station.
Service from entire staff was superb! Juanita our housekeeper was awesome. We have stayed at this hotel many times and have not been disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 29, 2013
Unexpensive, with a great location and beutiful beach
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rose from Florida

Hotel Right On Beach.

Posted Sep 27, 2013
Pros: Right on the beach! Friendly staff.
Pelicano Inn is a charming, basic hotel, directly on the beach. We had a gardenview room, quiet, very clean. The staff is very helpful. Jessica at front desk does a good job. Roberto in the restaurant goes out of his way to serve you. Already planning a return trip!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

On the beach. Great location. Friendly staff.

Posted Sep 6, 2013
Pros: I liked the convenient location and friendly staff.
Cons: The beds are a little old.
Location: There are plenty of restaurants, stores and shopping nearby.
The staff is wonderful. The location is steps from the beach and the shopping,restaurant and clubs strip. This hotel is for the traveler that is happy with just the basics (bed, shower, a/c).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Memphis,Tn

Awesome vacation

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Pelicano Inn. The hotel staff are very friendly, and extremely helpful at all times, and the rooms are the cleanest possible.. The hotel is quite charming with its old time Mexican architecture and beautiful, tropical gardens. It is quiet and serene. Conveniently nestled between the ocean and 5th Avenue, it is in a perfect location for everything you could possibly want to do in Playa. On the downside it lacked a few amenities, such as a hairdryer, but the gorgeous view more than made up for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eric from Los Angeles

Nice Hotel, close to the beach, needs a pool!!

Posted Aug 31, 2013
Pros: Location, very strategic
Cons: Try to implement a pool
Location: Everything is close probably the best location in playa del carmen
Everything was fine, nice stuff the only issue is that it does not have a pool with was a boomer when we found that out. Other than that excellent location very strategic for the nightlife, restaurants and transportation, very safe zone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roberto from San diego

Posted Aug 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice hotel, specially for the price. I stayed 6 nights and I dont have a single complaint...