Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Great value and breakfast!

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, good breakfast, good price, convenient location.
Cons: I booked through expedia.ca and it took the desk staff quite a long time to search for it. So, a better system to track reservations would be good.
Location: Walking distance of beach and 5th avenue, one block from grocery store, close to restaurants. Any tours will pick you up right at the hotel.
The breakfast buffet is really nice. The hotel rooms are big and clean, and the staff do cute touches like putting mints and a sweet dreams note on the bed in the evening. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to the beaches and 5th avenue, and there are also cheaper restaurants and a supermarket very close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Munich

Very good value for money

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Pros: Very large rooms for a very decent price
Location: Good stop-over on the way to Belize
Excellent option for a short stay. Close to the ADO Busstation (5 min walking). Very competitive pricing for Playa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Immfrom New York

Great stay

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Close to downtown, bus and ferry station (15 min walk or 50 pesos cab ride). Lots of restaurants and a mall just one block from this hotel. Amazing complimentary breakfast next door. Very helpful front desk staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jay Johnsonfrom Swansboro, NC

Awesome Surprise!

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I can't stop saying enough good things about our stay here. The staff was so welcoming and helpful. THERE IS WIFI-- need I say more. Also the breakfast in the morning was "home cooked" and authentic Mexican. They just opened up the little art gallery next door for breakfast. The maids even made little towel animals everyday for us like you see on cruises. And you do receive complimentary bottles of water everyday they even ask you in the middle of the day if you need any more. Also the location is perfect. The Mega grocery store is basically across the street. And you can walk straight up calle 20 to all the shops on 10th Av. and beyond. We never felt un-safe or un-welcome. We will definitely use Hotel Plaza Playa for all our future trips to Playa del Carmen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Good choice for a short stay

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff for sure.
Cons: There were no face towels or any cups. No hair dryer also. I prefer to have them as basic things.
Location: We went to Kaxapa Factory for dinner. It is a very small place, but the owner is the friendliest person I ever met. Food is great, price is great also
Excellent staff. They are very friendly and willing to help all the time. The breakfast quality is good. The location is not the best, but good enough for me. The hotel and the room are quite clean. Shower works great. It has a small safe and a small refrigerator; It's a great place for a couple of days. I would not stay there for a long term just because I prefer to have more basic things such as face towel and cups. My room has two queen beds, but it is small for my family. Not the size I thought. Maybe I got the smallest room? The air conditioner is very close to the bed which was not the best thing for us at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mark W.from Torrance, CA

Clean and a great bargain with an amazing breakfas

Posted Mar 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is about a solid 5 min block to 5th ave and less than a 10 min walk to the beach. I loved how it was close to Mega and some better local restaurants which have the best food and are reasonably priced like El Fogon and the Kaxapa factory. The rooms were nice and clean, nothing too fancy. The breakfast which was included in our package was hands down the best included breakfast i've ever had. There was hot eggs, with beans and a rotating third hot food item such as empanadas, taquitos, or chicken in red sauce. Along with pastries, cereal, coffee and tea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by Danny

good convenient hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2014
very close, almost in front to the ADO for anyone looking for cheap transportation, there is a few restaurants and bars 3 blocks down the road, good A/C and hot showers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by gerry thainfrom canada

very satisfied with hotel and staff.

Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
staff all very nice,although only a few understoodenglish. rooms were very clean.quiet and handy toshopping..buffett breakfast was a nice bonus. lack of english tv stations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, California

Good location & great price

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Located walking distance to main street of PDC with all the restaurants, shopping, etc…..Very inexpensive to stay there. Rooms were fine for the price and staff was good. We only stay one night b/c we were then moving to a resort. Would go back again to this hotel for the simplicity, location & price if staying for a couple of nights.