Ratings based on 210 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom atlanta

Really nice.

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Really nice resort. A few things were outstanding....the beach, the views the comfortable bed. Some things were good....the food, the service and the alcohol. No complaints otherwise. I prefer the excellence playa mujeres in the excellence club but the differences between the two are minor and likely personal to me. Great vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Solid 4 Star Hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: Service & Staff. Also, there was a peacock walking around at breakfast.
Cons: Updating rooms. Food.
Location: We didn't leave the resort. They have limited water sports for free like kayaking & snorkeling equipment available.
The best thing about this hotel is the accessibility to alcohol, more specifically being able to order bottle service vs. one glass. We spent much of our time with champagne at the beach and it was great. They also make great mojitos. If alcohol is why you are going for the all inclusive then it was a 5. Service and staff were great. The food I would give a 2.5-3. I am a huge foodie though. Breakfast was probably a 4 but lunch and dinner were less impressive. The rooms could use updating but weren't comfortable by any means. The beach is okay, only lowering the score because there is sea weed. They rake in the morning but that doesn't stop what is actually in the water. Pool is nice. There's 3: quiet pool, indoor pool and large pool with swim up bar. It wasn't the cheapest hotel so although I really enjoyed myself I feel like you could get a better deal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

On the beach and service is excellent!

Posted Jan 18, 2015
The service is excellent and the rooms are clean and on the beach (if you do oceanfront). Food is good (not as good as Excellence resorts) and there is a variety to choose from. Hotel is showing a bit of wear and tear, they need to do some maintenance and upkeep/repair to compete with other all inclusive Mexico places like Excellence resorts and Secrets. But, the staff was amazing and tended to our every need. Also likes that they had shopping and small casino on site as well as golf.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

As advertised, the best

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Wonderful stay, top to bottom. Best all inclusive resort we have experienced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2015 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you for visiting us and for sharing your review about your experience with us. We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future. Best regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Older hotel close to the beach that needs a update

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Food & Staff
Cons: They need to upgrade show its age
Location: Great location many things to do in area
When we arrived they informed us the rooms that I requested were not available however they would upgrade us to non-ocean view villa I would have ordered a villa if I wanted one. The agreed to move us to a ocean view room not the Jr suite I ordered however my son & fiancée stayed in the non-ocean view villa. FOOL ME ONCE I will not return. The staff was very nice & the food was great however the hotel is showing its age no scald free faucet in showers not fun to take a shower. I normally take my family to 5 star hotels during Xmas I would rate this a 2 or 3 star hotel on a good day. 1st time I have ever complained about a hotel anywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2015 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
First of all, thank you for your visit and for sharing with us your feedback. We would like to mention that we are constantly working on areas to be improved. All our facilities follow a maintenance standard roll in order to try to keep our areas impeccable, we regret if we did not meet your expectations. Concerning your room request, please let us share with you that requests cannot be guaranteed. We always try to give our guests the rooms they prefer but unfortunately sometimes the availability does not allow us to do so. On the other hand, thank you for your compliments to our staff and food. We hope to have another opportunity to host you, to improve your last experience. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel- ocean front suites are wonderful.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Only complaint- apparently Expedia booked reservation as two Different back to back reservations so in middle of my stay, the hotel thought I was checking out when actually I was booked for 3 more nights . I had to speak with front desk 3 times to resolve this. But I solely fault Expedia for the confusion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
First of all thank you very much for choosing us for your getaway. We are really happy to know that you had a great experience. It is wonderful to read that you liked our ocean front suites. Regarding the inconveniences you experienced with your different reservations, please accept our most sincere apologies. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

We love this hotel - Our third trip there.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Cons: The mattress had some sag to it in the normal spots. Not enough to complain but noticable.
Location: A beach to die for, private not crowded and clean
This was our third trip back to the Grand. We stayed there 3 years ago then decided to try several other highly rated resorts. After a trip to the Excellence and Valentine we could not wait to get back to the luxury of the Grand. The other resorts were nice, but paled by comparison. If your looking ofr the best, top shelf everything this is your resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and for writing your positive review. We really appreciate your loyalty towards our hotel and we are happy to know that you liked the atmosphere that we offer. Thank you for your remarks about our wonderful beach. Once again thank you for sharing your comments; we hope to have the honor of welcoming you to our resort for another fantastic holiday. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orange virginia

Best hotel I've stayed at ever..

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Everything about this hotel 5 star grounds keeping =perfection. hotel staff best ever. Food and service again the best I've ever had I already plan to return. I expected at least a 9 when I planned trip when I arrived the place was a 20 on a 10 point scale if your going to mexico this is where you stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
On behalf of all our team we would like to thank you for visiting us and for sharing your positive review. It is good to know that we met your expectation and we feel honored to hear that we are the best hotel where you have ever stayed. Thank you for pointing out our staff, we will share your comments with them because comments like yours are the best source of motivation. Once again thank you for your opinion; we look forward to seeing you again the near future. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Very nice hotel but there is a lot of walking

Posted Dec 9, 2014
The hotel was beautiful ! took a little while to check in but besides that everything was good. Be ready to do a lot of walking because the hotel/resort is big! Parts of the beach are not usable due to boulders on the beach But A couple hundred feet down the beach is nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
On behalf of the General Management and the staff, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort on your last holidays. Thank you for pointing out the beauty of our facilities. Concerning your check in please accept our apologies if it took more time than expected. In reference to the size of the resort, we would like to inform you that our bellboys and butlers are always pleased to take our guests anywhere in the property if you do not feel like walking. On the other hand, it is good to read that you had a great time at our beach. Regarding your observations, we are privileged to be located in the second largest coral reef in the world, as mentioned a small part of the ocean is a bit rocky however it is a federal beach and in order to preserve the environment, it must remain untouched. We hope that you did enjoy the magnificence of the landscape! Once again, thank you for your visit and for sharing your review. We look forward to welcoming you again! Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Excellent

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Stayed there for a week and love it!!! Can't wait to go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your visit and for your positive review. We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay among us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind regards,