Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Michigan

First Class Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: The staff were the highlight of this hotel. We also enjoyed the pool, spa, and restaurants.
Cons: The maid service seemed somewhat unpredictable as to when they would come to clean the room. We had one day where we received no maid service at all.
Location: The location is connected to four other Iberostar hotels and a shopping center that are all just a quick golf cart ride away.
Just got back from honeymoon at the Grand Paraiso. I can't say enough good things about the staff. They do an amazing job of making sure your every need is attended to. The butlers are amazing and do a great job making sure you have everything you want in your room. My wife and I came to relax on this vacation and weren't really interested in doing any excursions. The Grand Paraiso was the perfect choice for us. The pools were all very nice and clean. The spa was also very nice and offered an indoor pool and jacuzzi area. We got a little too much sun one of the days we were there so the indoor area was a nice escape from the sun for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Amazing Honeymoon

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Everything was brilliant: staff, food, service, entertainment, accommodation, facilities, beach. Will be going back as soon as we are able!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had a great time

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Loved everything about the hotel. The staff were all so friendly, they make it hard not to love it. I only have two suggestions: 1. Our room smelled a bit funny, smokey or musty perhaps? We did not ask to switch but this should be worked on. Also the bathtub jets had some sort of gunk in them that wasn't pleasant to bathe in. The daily cleanings were excellent though I think the problems are more maintenance. 2. I wish they could keep the warm buffet food warmer and the cold buffet food colder. The French restaurant was our favorite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
The hotel was beautiful: three pools, beautiful details and nice rooms. There was a pretty wide food variety, but you really do need to make reservations right when you arrive. Gentlemen, don't forget pants, because you will not be allowed to eat at any of the nicer restaurants... only the buffet. They said they could let us borrow extra pants the hotel had for loan but they did not have sizes. Pants in the gift shop were ridiculously expensive as well, so we had a make a trip downtown for pants. This was a bit obnoxious, otherwise a great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to know that you had a great experience and that you liked our installations including our accommodations and pools. Moreover, it is good to know that you enjoyed our varied gastronomy. On the other hand we are sorry for the inconvenient that you found with the dress code of our specialty restaurants. As you mentioned in case that our guests do not bring long pants, we provide them. Be sure that we will take in consideration your remark on the sizes. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

25th Wedding Anniversary Trip

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: It's location. Close to the airport. The marble floors. Rooms are well appointed, maid service was excellent. Always prompt, reliable and thorough
Cons: Property maintenance - exterior and grounds kept clean of litter/garbage.
This was our 3rd trip to the Iberostar Properties in the Mayan Riviera. We have previously stayed at the Lindo and Maya, and this was our first time at the Grand. The hotel, staff, food, and activities met and even exceeded our expectations. It is a beautiful property, however, it is showing its age in a few places. Some of the pillars had damage near the top, and many areas needed painting. The grounds although very beautiful, had litter that wasn't picked up regularly. Staff is needed here to ensure the grounds are kept clean. We also thought the design and decorating of the Grand Lobby did not meet the high standard of the rest of the property. (The Mayan Lobby is still our favorite). The French Restaurant at the Maya was very poor, and we were the only couple eating there for our 7 pm reservation - which should have told us something. The French Restaurant at the Grand has a similar, if not the exact same menu, but it was a bit better. The Grand buffets were excellent and so we just decided to eat there all of the time. Pool activities were excellent and staff were very kind and helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and we felt safe and very relaxed during our stay. We plan to return again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Carlos, CA

This Is A Great Resort

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The staff is what makes the resort. Everything else falls into place behind that, the food, activities and grounds.
Cons: No clear distinction between butler and concierge. French restaurant over ambitious. food not up to par with a fine dining experience.
Location: Grand Hotel is part of a larger resort with the grand being the high end option. The location is irrelevant because I never left the resort
This is a really well managed resort. We just spent six wonderful days at the Grand. The staff is wonderful, and any request made was done with a smile and a genuine excitement to help out and make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The food was plentiful, delicious, with more variety than I have ever seen before. In addition it was presented beautifully. The grounds were immaculate. All of the staff spoke some English which was very much appreciated, with the concierge and front desk staff speaking fluently. Communication was not an issue in the slightest. The pool area and Cabana's were our favorite place to relax most days. There were also excellent places to sit on the beach which were all well maintained. There were tons of activities to do throughout the day, and all of the activities were executed in a high quality manner. Our particular favorite was an outdoor Salsa dance party the resort put on one night. The area was decorated beautifully, and the drinks were flowing throughout the night. The only complaint I would have on the service is that the pool drink service was spotty at times. More than once a drink was ordered and the waitress never re-appeared with the drinks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Rest and relaxation.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Had a great week. Great service and food. Enjoyed the golf Course which was in great condition. Beach was nice with plenty of seating. Never had to run down early and save seats at beach or pool. Would absolutely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review about your stay with us. We are delighted to know that you had a great time at our resort and enjoyed our facilities. Furthermore, we would like to thank you for your praise about our outstanding service, delicious food, great golf course and beach. It will be a pleasure to host you again soon for another wonderful holiday. Kind regards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This place is AMAZING!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Words can't describe the beauty of this resort. The staff members are very friendly. The beach is flawless. The food and drinks are great. I can't wait to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for visiting us and for sharing your lovely review about your experience at our hotel. We appreciate your nice comments about our friendly staff, food and beverages, and we are very happy to know that you liked our facilities including the spotless beach. We look forward to seeing you soon. Kind regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Like a cruise ship that doesn't go anywhere

Posted Jul 31, 2014
We came from San Francisco for a friend's wedding on the beach. Everything was great, but the food. The food is not bad, it's just not 5 star (or even 4 star) if that is how they are trying to promote it. For example, the Steak House - - can't touch a Ruth's Chris, or a Morton's or a Capitol Grille. But much better than Outback! So where does that put it? Lots of lobster - - - but it was tough - to get out of the tail, tough to chew on. The shrimp,though, were pretty good - -whether broiled or cooked for a shrimp cocktail. The soda from the fountains was frequently flat. In summary - - I'm not saying it was Denny's or Appleby's quality, but anytime a resort has to be everything to everyone when it comes to food, you just need to lower your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Exceeded our expectations!

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Room, proximity to the Beach, Pool
True 5 Star experience! The room was exceptional. The friendliness and the professionalism of the staff was above and beyond any other resort, hotel or cruise we have been to. The quality of the food is really good! especially the breakfast! Some of specialty restaurants were not up to par with everything else. However Surf and Turf and the Italian restaurant were actually really great! We had a great time and were sad to leave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful vacation and that we exceeded your expectations. Moreover, it is good to read that you liked our accommodations, pool, delicious food and the service that our staff offers. Your opinion about our specialty restaurants will be shared with our Executive Chef in order to keep working on that point because our main goal is to satisfy all our guests´ desires. There is nothing that makes us happier than a guest that leaves satisfied after having spent such a great time away from home. We would like to thank you again and we look forward to your return to our hotel. Best regards,