Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Yonkers,NY

Great environment

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Loved the hotel, staff and entertainment. Food was delicious!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Iberostar Paraiso Beach. It's a beautiful hotel--nice beach, great pool. lovely staff. The hotel is immaculate. The rooms were very clean and the resort grounds were particularly well kept. The only downside for me was the food. Just not too exciting. Lots of it, but nothing was really great. We ate at the Japanese and Mexican specialty restaurants. They were a little better, but still not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seacoast, New Hampshire

Great hotel, extremely large property.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Staff was fantastic, accomodations upscale.
Cons: The food quality in the restaurants was mediocre.
Location: Be sure to take a tour of Tulum and the cenotes.
We celebrated my son's 21st birthday at the Iberostar and everyone really enjoyed the it. My only complaint (which really isn't a complaint) is that the resort buildings are spread very far apart from end to end. Luckily, the resort has regularly scheduled golf carts to shuttle guests from the seaside to various other buildings on the resort. I would DEFINITELY return to this property or another Iberostar in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Wonderful staff! Fun pool bar! Wish there was more restaurants and nights allowed to dine there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Hotel Stay

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Pool and quality of services provided
Cons: Food variety and quality
Resort is quiet with nice amenities. All staff at the resort were very courteous and helpful Pool was excellent and well maintained. Beach during late September/Early October had much vegetation washing on shore. Food was average In previous stays year ago shuttle service to Playa Del Carmen was provided by the resort at no cost. Currently to resort has contracted a service charging $5.00 per person each way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kentucky

Above average resort for the price range

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: The pool is great and so is the beach. We never had a problem geteting chairs at either. The grounds are well kept.
Cons: Room service should include a breakfast option. At least a fresh pot of coffee with cream should be offered. Nothing before 11 am available. Diet coke
Location: Shopping at Playa del Carmen. Xel Ha is a must. Marona Beach has all kinds of activities. Tulem is nice.
This was my second visit to the Iberostar Paraiso Beach. I would definately recommend this resort. The rooms were clean and the staff were accomadating despite the language barrier. There is a wide varity of food offered and a good number of activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Coquitlam, BC

Loved the stay

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Majority of the staff with exception of front desk staff The food The hotel amenities The entertainment The pool and grounds
Cons: the bathroom, the tubs were stained and scratch and the shower heads were for people 5 feet and under. The front desk staff could cheer up
Location: Tulum, Maya Jungle tours (fabricio the tour guide was awesome), Cenotes, and Chichen Itza were all amazing.
I loved the resort it was beautiful and all the staff (with the exception of the front desk) were amazing kind and very helpful. The room was cleaned and cared for everyday and detail was taken to care for our needs without being asked. The pool staff were fun and helpful even when some guest would have tried my patience I give them alot of credit for being so curteous. The resort is large so if you are not a walke then head to the main walkway or call for transportation they will take you everywhere in the resort and no walking is needed but if you like to walk like me they have a lovely scenic walkway and I really enjoyed that. The buffet is beautiful food all day long so no need to make reservations in any of their restaurants but if you want to plan ahead because reservations go quickly. There was no issues with getting a lawn chair either on the pool deck or the beach and me and my family had a great time at the resort. We booked all our excursions there and the people assisting with that were incredibly helpful and we had a good time a both excursions and felt safe and had everything we need because the excursion planner made sure we knew what to bring. My only issues were the bathtubs in both rooms needed to be replace wouldnt have a bath in them but were OK to shower in, and the internet was $40 US for the week for only one device I felt this was a rip off as Whistler Resort hotels only charge $20 CND for 10 devices for the same thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Big group of students

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Beach Pool Cleanliness
Cons: The food and drinks
The hotel and rooms were very clean and beautiful. Most of the staff was friendly and energetic especially the entertainment crew. The buffet food was ok as expected but the hibachi and steak house were very good. Check out the taco bar in the shopping plaza. It is definitely worth the walk. The drinks were ok. We went with 15 people. We drank and are everything and no one got sick. The night club was really fun. Overall we had a great time and deffinitly reccomend this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Great stay

Posted Aug 31, 2014
The hotel was great and staff was wonderful. There were always activities during the day and night so you were never bored. There was a lot of walking but it was worth it at such a great hotel. I was nervous about air conditioning and cleanliness in the room based on other reviews. The air was cold at paraiso beach, but friends at del mar could not change their temp and it was pretty hot in the room. The hotel was extremely clean. I do wish there was better food served, but it was good enough that I ate a ton of food. The best restaurant was the Japanese food. I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

Didn't want to leave!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The beautiful beach, variety of activities offered, cleanliness, friendly staff, wildlife, large pool
Cons: More dining reservations for dinner
Location: 45 mins from the airport/Cancun, 45 mins from the gorgeous Tulum ruins, ~15 mins from downtown Playa del Carmen. Beautiful, beautiful beaches!!!
This place was awesome! The grounds were beautifully kept, the food was good, and the people there were AMAZING! I loved all of the variety of activities offered - I was never bored. Our room was extremely clean (and big). The food was good, the buffet was not my favorite - I would have liked more reservations at one of the sit-down dining restaurants, but overall the food was good and there was a lot to choose from. The facilities were clean and well-kept, and the staff were phenomenal. I had so much fun while staying here, I was so sad to leave. The entertainment staff works HARD to keep people active and laughing - they were great! I really don't have a bad thing to say except that I wish we had stayed longer and had more dinner reservations.