Ratings based on 136 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom westbury new york

Overall wonderful first time in Mexico

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Beautiful resort, friendly staff, tasty food, lots of food options, great service, sections of rocky areas in water, strict with a la carte reservations, very rough bath towels. Amazing views and pool. WiFi isn't free so I had to go to the shopping center to get free Internet which was a hassle. Great entertainment, staff and services are on time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Beautiful & Fun Resort

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Pros: The STAFF is INCREDIBLE. Everyone is so friendly and they really love their jobs. My favorite staff members are "Star Friends" Rico and Manuel.
Cons: Pool should be heated. Need hot tubs! A more clear schedule of when/where events are happening and where food is offered at what times is needed.
Location: 25 minutes from Cancun Intl Airport. Playa del Carmen, a nice strip of restaurants/shopping is nearby. But there's really no need to leave the resort.
My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights and had an incredible time. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to an ocean front junior suite for FREE. I think the woman working appreciated our patience while we waited for a while to check in. The room was gorgeous and we had an incredible view of the sunrise from our balcony. There is nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of the waves. The resort is absolutely enormous and immaculate. There are peacocks, cats, coatis, flamingos, etc. roaming around. The grounds are gorgeous and spotless and you really get a tropical feel walking through the resort. The lobby area has a really fancy feel to it and it's a great spot to grab drinks before dinner, as the restaurants are nearby the lobby. However, the lobby is at least a 10min walk from the beach. The buffet food is good enough but nothing to write home about. Drinks on the beach and at the pool are watered down, but good. Drinks at the lobby are great! We had dinner at the Brazilian restaurant, which was fabulous. The buffet food offered there was pretty good, but should be eaten as an appetizer! The trick is to eat slowly and wait for the servers to come around with skewers of absolutely delicious meats. Highly recommended! Although the pool is huge and beautiful, its cold. Our favorite spot was definitely the beach. The chairs are comfy and there are tons of shaded spots. The water is clear blue and very warm. Beautiful resort, great experience!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent at best

Posted Jan 21, 2015
This is pretty much what you would expect at a huge, all-inclusive hotel that is built for the masses. The food was mediocre at best, and the facilities were old and out-dated. The staff was pleasant and helpful for the most part. I suppose you get what you pay for, as I know this was the low end of the Iberostar properties in Riviera Maya. We were here for a wedding, so we did not choose the resort. Outside of the overall disappointing cafeteria style food (even the specialty restaurants were bad), we had other problems. Our room safe worked 50% of the time, our clock was broken, shower head was broken, bathroom lighting was horrible, etc. Additionally, for an all-inclusive, I would expect free internet access. We paid the $40 for access (week visit), but the coverage was patchy and it was hard to get a connection half the time. Also, I was disappointed to learn that for a 6 night stay we only got 2 sit-down dinners at specialty restaurants (the others had to be buffet). I would not return or recommend this place to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati Ohio

Loved the location of my room being on the beach.

Posted Jan 18, 2015
A lot of walking. Hugh resort. Great for active people that like exercise. Staff is very energetic. Always something to do, and yet, your not pushed to participate. You can be as laid back as you want. Great place! I will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2015
We had a very nice stay. Facility was well designed and well maintained. Minor room concerns were cared for immediately. If you like to walk, and we do, everything is within 1/2 mile. If you like to ride they have plenty of carts running regularly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom K

Excellent

Posted Dec 27, 2014
I travel about 5-6 times a year and this resort is one of best I 've ever seen not only in Mexico but around the world.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Beautiful grounds and pool.

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Pros: The pool area and property
Cons: food and entertainment
Location: we did not leave the resort, but you could take a cab or arrange for a van to take you to Playa Carmen were there are more bars and clubs.
First room smelled musty and the safe was broken so we asked to be moved, I was told there was no rooms. 10 mins later they called and told us housekeeping could bring us keys to a room upstairs. That room was perfectly fine. My only real complaint was that the food was not very good. The cheese was warm, the soups were not hot, and mostly it was all very bland. I stuck with fruits and salads. The hotel is pretty and the beach was nice too. The water was a bit cool in the pools and the ocean but this was December. It is a big resort and golf carts do pick you up if you don't want to walk. Bellhops were very plesant as was most of the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Plenty to do on the property to keep you entertained. Can walk easily between the other Iberostar properties next to it.
Cons: Update the rooms and try and quiet them.
Location: Never left the property. Went there to golf, lay on the beach and eat and drink too much. Mission accomplished
Hotel is nice but not as much as some of the other Iberostar's I have stayed at. Food at the speciality restaurants is very good but usually will wait in line to get a reservation so make them early. Buffet was not bad but the choice are limited. Service in the restaurants is a little slow so be sure to ask for all that you want when they come by. The rooms are nice but the walls are thin and noise travels easily between rooms. If you are looking for quiet be sure to bring ear plugs because you might have young children in the the room next to you that are up early and making a lot of noise. The golf course on the property is amazing and the staff their goes out of the way for you. All in all it was a great trip and plenty to do there if you do not want to leave the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Beautiful resort

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: everything from the lobby to the food
Cons: bed could have been more comfortable
Location: we remained on resort so not sure
Beautiful resort, close to the beach, great hospitality. I will definately return with my entire family and friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago USA

Excellent!

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: option of decaf coffee in a room.
Location: I stayed at IberoStar Paraiso Beach . Visited: CoCo Bongo. Playa del Carmen
Absolutely great resort Iberostar Paraiso Beach. I stayed November 24, 2014-December 4, 2014. Clean rooms. Great food. Friendly staff. Professionally landscaped resort. Great entertainment with Disco.