Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Loved being out of snow

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: The food was fine.
Cons: We were not able to upgrade even though we requested 4 months before we arrived.
Location: We stayed on the resort and do golf on one day
We were disappointed in our room...we had our heart set on the ocean front building. We had to sleep in a full size bed...too small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice Hotel, staff is friendly but unable to help.

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Rooms comfortable,clean. Like the different beech/pool options. like the small town square, nice destination for coffee, ice cream and shopping
Cons: Change the variety of food at the buffets, it seemed the menu was very similar every night.
Location: Easy trip into Playa Del Carmin for the day, or multiple easy excursions options.
Second stay with at this hotel with a group. We had several small issues, the staff was very friendly and nice but did absolutely nothing to resolve any issues. The staff is really motivated by tips, if you tip on the first drink you will get better service than if you give a tip at the end of the day. Several staff members were seen counting their tips in front of guest and making them wait for service (specifically the Lobby bar). Hotel Surveys were passed out during one of our "upgraded meals". There were no pens so only two out of eight were completed. We were then given 15 minuets, while dinning, to fill them out. When the woman came to collect them we explained that were were not finished and she said, "this is my job I have to take them now" and pulled she literally pulled survey from my friends hand. Also, I was the last person to arrive from the group. Two members of the group on two separate occasions tried to make dinner reservations for the group. They were told they could not make dinner reservations until I arrived. (if they did they could not guaranteed that I would be able to dine with them) So, when I arrived we tried to make reservations, everything was booked we had to eat at 9:00 if we wanted any of the specialty restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MA

Nice hotel close to Cancun airport

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Huge, beautiful resort.
Cons: Restaurants need improving. I was sick of buffets and I would prefer to go to restaurants for dinner without reservations because they were required.
Location: An hour from Tulum. 30 minutes or so from Cancun airport.
I've been to nicer hotels....I wouldn't say iberostar was poor, but it wasn't as classy. Maybe because there was a mixture of clientele and it was definitely family based! The resort itself was huge and relatively clean (the staff couldn't keep up with all of the messy kids running around. Lol) depending on how many nights you stay, gives you opportunities to make reservations at restaurants. And you have to make reservations so make sure you do that asap upon arrival. It's too bad we could only choose 3 out of 8. Staff could been more people friendly, but they werent mean or anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bettendorf, IA

A little slice of Paradise...

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: The rooms were clean, beautiful and well stocked with everything you should need. The all inclusiveness is a true value, I ate and drank like a king!
Cons: The language barrier at times can be tough, but thats not the resorts fault it is in Mexico. The buffet food is half good half strange.
Location: There are tons of things to do tours, shopping, jet skis, scuba, zip lines, etc...
Clean, comfortable, lots of entertainment, fine dining, and any cocktail you can imagine! I stayed for 5 days for my Sister in-laws beautiful beach front wedding put on by the Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar Staff. The property is amazing and very large. The staff generally is there at a moments notice to make sure you are having the best possible experience. The wedding went off without a hitch, and my trip there was well received. This facility is 10x more beautiful in person you have to go see it and experience life at "Del Mar"
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Great staff. Friendly, helpful, fun! Beautiful beach! Amazing pool!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Staten Island NY

Nice hotel on a huge territory.

Posted Dec 24, 2014
Nice hotel on a huge territory. If you are close to the beach than u r far away from restaurants and theater and vice versa. Disco and shopping center is about 7-10 min to walk, no transportation is provided. No free WI FI accept at shopping center. U can buy WiFi $40 per week but it's quality is very low. Intertainers are very good and making everything to make us happy and busy. Food quality is very good, but it's variety could be improved much better. I can recommend Mediterranean restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Jersey

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Nice beach but rocks in the water. Bring shoes for going into water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, ON

Bring your walking shoes!

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Food and staff was good, room was spacious and clean
Cons: Better booze selection, not quite top shelf
Location: Beach is well kept and tacos for lunch are a must
Very nice resort, lives up to star rating, however, resort is huge...bring your walking shoes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester Hills, Michigan

Excellent place - wonderful services

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Amenities, parks, food, staff, room.
Cons: I cannot think at one thing
Location: There was no need for us to travel outside the 6 hotel amenities complex.
The second time here and was even better than I remembered. For as long as we'll return to Mexico, we'll go only to an Iberostar resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Had no remote told the staff never brought one to me. The shower was broken no one came to fix.