Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Very family oriented

Posted Jul 2, 2015
resort very clean food great nice friendly easy access a lot of golf carts to get around all staff is very helpful. Very kid friendly family oriented
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Johnsburg, IL

Family trip at Iberostar

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Pools
Cons: food variety
Location: It is a beautiful location and the beach is great not too far from Playa Del Carmen
Love Iberostar, had a great family trip. This was first time at Iberostar Paraiso Del Mar but have been to Iberostar Tucan/Quetzal. All of the Iberostar resorts are great. This one had the best pool and pool bars. The staff was great and everything about the resort was top notch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Awesome resort

Posted May 19, 2015
This resort is wonderful place to spend vacation. Staff is nice and polite providing excellent service. Iberostar provides high quality service. We enjoyed everything: food, rooms, beach. We would recommend this place for vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Your mention of our cuisine, room, beach and friendly staff are also greatly appreciated. We were pleased to hear that your expectations had been met and look forward to the chance to host you again soon. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Tropical Paradise!

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Everything! The tropical wildlife, the extremely large pool! The beach did have seaweed but seriously, it's the ocean! Just enjoy it!
Cons: Enforce saving cabanas/chairs. Just one morning during our stay I got up at 6 am to save a cabana. Most people saved and didn't even use.
Location: We took a trip to Tulum, snorkeling in the underground cenotes, and snorkeling with sea turtles. Was ok - water was too choppy to see the turtles well
This resort was amazing! I don't understand how everyone finds so many faults in this place! At check in, we asked for a king size bed. Simple as that. We were moved to another building closer to the lobby as opposed to the beach, but we were very happy with our location and our room! Room service also took great care of us, and our mini bar was re-stocked with beer and water every day. We were able to eat at the restaurants every night we wanted. Just go to the lobby around 4 or 5 and see what restaurants had openings. We did take the shuttle into Playa Del Carmen. We were not that impressed. Very touristy. We would have preferred experiencing more of the culture, not the Americanized version we got. Yes, there was more walking than other resorts we've stayed at. My advice: ENJOY IT! When did walking become such a chore?! The grounds are absolutely gorgeous, not to mention all the iguanas, peacocks, flamingos, and coatis roaming around. Get a massage on the beach! Yes, you are paying more than in the states, but it was worth every dime! We thought the buffet food was great! Plenty of variety. We never went hungry. Everything we requested they accommodated. Simply ask instead of just complaining!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
We appreciate the time you took in writing this enthusiastic review. We are glad to hear that we helped with a memorable family vacations. We are grateful for your comments about the tropical gardens, culinary venue and room. We would like to thank you again for all your comments and sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcome you and your family back to our resort sometime in the near future. Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

First time in Mexico

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The variety of animals inside the resort and the cleanliness of the resort.
Cons: more golf carts available for moving around the resorts.
Location: Check out Coco Bongo nightclub, however it can get congested in there, so I recommend paying $10 at entrance to skip the line.
A great experience overall! The resort covered all bases from cleanliness, attentive staff, fresh food, daily activities, and anything else you wish. I enjoyed the size of the resort. However, bring your walking shoes because it can be quite a distance of daily walking from the beach to the hotel, to the shopping center, or simply to the buffet. Beware of time shares when trying to reserve dinner reservations with the concierge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your recent visit at IBEROSTAR Paraiso Del Mar. Your mention of our grounds, culinary experience, daily activities and friendly staff was also greatly appreciated. We were pleased to hear that your expectations had been met and look forward to the chance to host you again soon. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Excellent experience! Hotel extremely clean. The staff is so friendly and helpful! The food was excellent!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: I liked the facilities and the food. The special restaurants were very good.
Cons: The WIFI connection was terrible and very spotty even after we paid extra for the service. Keeping up with my teenager was impossible via text.
Senior trip with my daughter. I was pleased with the accomodations and the food and the kids had a good time. I, on the other hand was very disappointed with the staff and their guest services. They moved me out of my room when I was not present without me knowing and only gave me a few minutes to gather the rest of my things. When I realized I had left some items in the bathroom, I had to call 5 separate times before someone actually got back with me. They didn't let me back in and sent a bell hop after the items, still leaving a couple of items in the room which I never recovered.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from michigan

high school seniors spring break with families

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: The beach was gorgeous. Having access to catamaran every day was a perk.
Cons: Meal selection. Internet access. Quality of alcohol.
Location: We went on two excursion to snorkel, which were fun but pricey. Took theshuttle to Playa del Carmen one evening, was fun to get "off campus" and eat.
First time at all-inclusive. Would recommend for group travel - we had 30 in our group, wouldn't return as a couple. Nice beach and pools. Room was comfortable, although a bit spartan in furnishings. Food was OK. Steak house was disappointing, Japanese was good and gourmet was good as well. Buffet was good for breakfast but could use some different selections over the course of a week. Liquor was low quality. Beer was Dos Equis. Internet access was terrible, only one spot in shopping center to get free wifi. Also needs a business center for printing of boarding passes etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ann from Columbus

All good but the wi-fi

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
This was our 2nd trip to this hotel. We love: the setting. Beautiful vegetation, wildlife, pool and beach. Gated and safe. Staff wonderful. Rooms nice - wish Mexico would discover queen size beds. Food is standard all-inclusive. Ok, not great, tired of it by the end of the week. Worst thing: wi-fi. An outrageous $35/week for each device, and really terribly unreliable service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great trip!

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, towel animals!
Cons: Wifi was spotty - especially in my room.
Location: Great location. Did an excursion to Tolum to see Mayan ruins and snorkel with sea turtles.
We traveled with another couple and the entire experience was wonderful. Friendly and helpful staff, grounds were clean, didn't seem crowded although there were many people there, food was good.