Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel ok

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Nice hotel but the staff were not very nice they looked very fustrated.. I am not pleased ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Acworth, GA

great stay and lots of options

Posted Jul 19, 2015
We were upgraded to a family suite, close to everything but far enough away to escape the noise. Great specialty restaurants and outstanding staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time of sharing your experience. Our mission is to make every stay as close to perfection as possible and it is with great pleasure we read that you enjoyed your accommodations and our specialty restaurants. We look forward to welcome you next visit and provide you a once in a lifetime experience. Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Hadley, MA

Relaxing enjoyable week

Posted Jul 15, 2015
Pros: The large swimming pool & whirlpools at the spa, the snake bar, the Rock & Boogey Night shows, The pool at bldg. 63
Cons: Open the casino why has it been closed for so long.
Location: The only thing we did near by was to take the shuttle to Playa Del Carmen to see the shops, but it was so hot so not very pleasant.
Check-in was a breeze followed by a quick ride on a golf type cart to our room in building 63. After changing into covered beachwear we flagged down a golf cart driver who was very kind enough to take us on a tour of the resort. Being very hungry after a long flight he took us to a very nice buffet restaurant that fortunately was still serving food very late in the afternoon. We enjoyed walks along the beach and relaxing by the very huge main pool between the Maya & Lindo hotels. The ocean was a little too rough to really enjoy staying in the water for too long however, and you had to walk along the beach to find an area that had less seaweed in the water. Both the ocean and all the pools were very warm. The lazy river ride was fun and tubes were always available. The wave pool is mainly for the young kids to enjoy. The "a la carte" restaurants we dined at were for the most part very good in both quality of food & service. Loved the French restaurants at the Maya & Lindo the most. The buffet restaurants were also good but for the most part pretty much the same food most days. You can order eggs as you like them at the La Marina Buffet. Coffee bar at Maya was great. Drinks at the snake bar were exceptional and fairly good at the pool bar & beach bar. The female concierge in building 63 was not only a beautiful sweet young lady but exceptional in making all our special dining reservations even those we requested later in our week's stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Let us begin by thanking you for having chosen our resort to spend your vacation! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the facilities and services that the resort has to offer; thank you very much for your nice comments about our Concierge staff. Please receive our most sincere apologies for not having the Casino open; we hope to have it open soon. We appreciate your preference and we are quite confident that you will be staying again at IBEROSTAR; we therefore anxiously await your next visit! Sunny regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ellicott City, Maryland

Awesome Resort!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Everything was right there . . . the beach, the pools, the bars, the buffets/restaurants. You don't need to go off the resort unless you want to.
Cons: One of our rooms had a strong cigar odor which housekeeping could have taken care of so we wouldn't have had to address.
Location: Some of our group did a jet ski/snorkeling excursion and loved it.
My husband and I had been to the resort 3 years earlier to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We decided to go back this year and take our adult children and their significant others. It was nice because everyone could do their own thing. Everyone had an awesome time and I'm sure the kids will have everlasting memories of our trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for the opportunity you gave us to host you during your last vacations. Your kind comments about our beach, pools, bars and restaurants are very much appreciated. Your feedback is the best source of information we have to know if we are going on the right track. We regret that you were unhappy with our housekeeping service; we will send your comments to our housekeeping Manager in order to avoid this kind of reports. We hope that you give us the opportunity of serving you at our resort again so we may prove to you our commitment to exceptional customer service and satisfaction. Kind regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

Excellent family resort

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The resort was amazing and big! The workers were very pleasant and hard working! The resort is great for families!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
First and foremost, allow us to thank you for choosing IBEROSTAR Paraiso Maya as host of your holidays. We are delighted to read how great your experience was with us. Thank you so much for your recognition to our staff and for highlighting their work. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again at our hotel. Best regards,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Very poor customer service

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Worst room,very rude employees at front desk,ants inside of the room,no ac at el tapatio restaurant ,horrible beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
We would like to express our sincerest apologies if you were displeased in way with any aspect of our resort. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our rooms and we would like to offer you an apology for the attitude of our Front Desk staff. Please rest assured that we will do our best in order to improve constantly. We hope we will have the opportunity to change your point of view in the future. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Great hotel, nice pools. Staff is extremely nice. Food is good although lacks variety a bit. After 6 days it gets tiring. Gorgeous resort. Wish the beach was good but its very rocky and sea weed makes it impossible to get into. If you don't care for beach, then it should be fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at our hotel. It is an honor to read how you enjoy your stay with us; it is a pleasure to read that you were pleased with our swimming pools, grounds and our food. Thank you for trusting us. We hope that you will stay again among us. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

First time at an All Inclusive

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: We liked the Jr. Suites, plenty of room if you book separate rooms for the older kids. The hotel property was very well maintained.
Cons: Food could be slightly better, fish didn't seem fresh. Some things were overcooked. Buffets were fine.
Location: Stores are on property but go to Playa Del Carmen's 5th Ave. for souvenirs ($30 cab one way). We went on several excursions, which was great.
This was our first time at an All Inclusive and we were very pleased. We picked the Iberostar Maya for two reasons, first was the good overall ratings and 2nd was a tip that booking the Maya allows you full access to 4 of the 5 properties (not the Grand Paraiso - adults only). Some tips: - Check in: It was pretty easy, we recommend booking all of the dinners at that time. That way you don't have to worry about a restaurant being booked during the week. Also, we were advised not to go to the "free" presentation for time shares, which was great advice (it kills a couple of hours). - Restaurants: Dinners were very good, not great. We liked the Japanese Restaurant and the Mexican Restaurant. We really enjoyed the breakfast and lunch buffets, especially at the Mexican Restaurant. Hint: If you're going on early tours, the front breakfast buffet was open at 6:30 AM. - Older Children: We took our 20 year old daughter and 17 year old son and they had plenty to do. Our daughter enjoyed relaxing at the beach and pools and the beverages. Our 17 year old son took advantage of the activities, played volleyball, water polo, water basketball, and just had fun. - Money: There is a no tip policy but we tipped some of our servers and the maids. Had great service as a result. The cash machines charge a lot of fees, so bring cash if you want to go on tours or shop. - Rooms: The Jr. Suites are plenty big for 2-4 persons. We booked 2 rooms because we had older kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
On behalf of the our staff and managers, we would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation. We appreciated your positive comments on our entertainment activities. Our animation staff is highly dedicated to ensure that guests enjoy the swimming pool and beach activities. Our food and beverage department maintains the highest standards in the preparation of the culinary dishes using the freshest ingredients. Our chef daily inspects all of our buffet restaurants to ensure that every day our guests may find new options. In case our guests have special requests, our sub chefs may make recommendations based on our fresh produce that is in stock. However, we regret that our culinary cuisine did not meet your expectations. The culinary experience at our resort is a very important aspect during your stay with us. Please be assured that your comments are being reviewed by our executive chef with the intention of improving our services. Thank you once again for bringing your comments about your recent stay to our attention. Our staff constantly strives to improve our services. We hope that you will consider on visiting us once again and provide you with an unforgettable vacation. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St.Louis, MO

Lovely facilities.

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Fourth time staying at an Iberostar property, first time in Mexico. grounds and resort facilities were beautiful. Food was for the most part "average". Beach was perfect, just plan to get down there early if you want shade. Only downfall was that resort was so large, was quite a walk to whatever you were wanting and there are no ocean view rooms at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico , Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your valuable comments about our resort. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with our grounds and our beautiful beach! About the ocean view rooms, we recommend visiting the IBEROSTAR Grand that have beautiful ocean front rooms; In regard to the size of the property, we would like to remark that we have golf carts and different transportations to the several places that are at the property. Once again thank you for your feedback and your loyalty to our brand. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

et Away May 2015

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Very Clean, orderly, organized.
Cons: Perhaps speed up the check-in if possible.
Location: Near day long excursions such as Explor (awesome but not for eld) and Ciudad Playa del Carmen for evening walk in the pedestrian friendly 5th Avenue.
Six day stay. Food was good. Beverages were good. Beach is great with beautiful sand and good waves to have fun. Some seaweed...but it is the sea. Great pool area. Very friendly, bi-lingual, and accomodating staff. The facility is LARGE. You will walk a lot, or, you will wait 5 to 10 minutes for a cart to pick you up and deliver you to restaurants, gym, etc. If you walk, the area is beautuful. A multi-lingual concierge at each building is very helpful. Fun entertainment IF you want. Comfortable beach to lay under a grass hut and read etc. Very nice all-inclusive resort. Great for families with all ages. We'll look at this resort first when we plan our next trip. Well Done folks!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2015 by Quality Manager Mexico, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for sharing your experience among us. We are glad to read that you took advantage of the activities that our hotel has to offer. Your satisfaction is our main goal and we are proud to know that you enjoyed our pools, beach and our beautiful grounds. We genuinely hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again in the near future and as such, we look forward to your next visit. Best regards,