Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
We had a great time,food and drinks were great. Our purpose for the vacation was just to relax and not run around. We accomplished that! We know we had options to do the tours and sightseeing but we declined. Thanks for not pressuring us. The employees were very professional from the time we arrived until we left. The ride from/to the airport was even nice. The vans were new and well kept ( I didn't expect that). We will be back!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CT, USA

Fantastic hotel!

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: All of it!
Cons: The food was good, but definitely repetitive in the buffet. We stayed for 6 nights and were therefore only allowed to book 2 nights in the restaraunts
Location: Lovely area, we took a cab (300 pesos), to the lagoons about 30 mins south. Lovely. Go early.
I went for a week with my two daughters (17/19) over Christmas. We had the most amazing time! The staff are incredible, the grounds of the hotel are stunning - we chose it for the surroundings and beach and we're dissappointed. The beach is clean and open to the south, which means you can go for quiet walks without all the crowds. Lots to do, and the Star Friends are phenominal about getting you involved if you choose, and leaving you alone if you prefer. The hotel is part of a private 'compound' called Playacar - lots of shopping and walking paths, as well as other hotels. Free Wifi would be good, but it was $26usd for 5 days, so not bad. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2015 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for your feedback, this will allow us to improve our service and enhance our guests’ vacation experience. Thank you for your praise to our friendly staff, Star Friends, our natural environment and beautiful beach. We feel very happy to know that you had an amazing time with us! Thank you for recommending us. We wish to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to our hotel. Sincerely,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom pachuca, Mx

Excelentes Vacaciones

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Me gustaron las instalaciones que convivían perfe con la flora y la fauna: tZejeres, Monos, pavoreales, pájaros carpintero, tortugas, etc.
Cons: La calidad de la comida del restaurante japonés se puede mejorar pues aunque le ponen mucho empeño el platillo tiene mucho que mejorar.
Location: Caminar en las instalaciones selváticas el muy bonito, en la playa siempre hay actividades.
Pasamos las navidades en el Quetzál y fue un lujo, las instalaciones con flora y fauna, además de cascadas artificiales lo hace un lugar único y espectacular. La alberca es espaciosa y la playa es muy bonita. tienen actividades y el personal siempre es muy amable. la comida buffet excelente, así como la variedad de bebidas. de los rwstaurantes tematicos solo conocí el japonés, el servicio y la manera de preparar los alimentos fue muy circense, lamentablemente la calidad de preparación y los ingredientes del tepanyaqui no fueron los mejores, ahí hay una ventana de oportunidad. Por ultimo no dejen de visitar la disco Mascara que es un excelente sitio para terminar la noche. Muy muy buenas vacaciones.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2015 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Nos gustaría agradecerle por haber elegido nuestro resort para sus vacaciones en la hermosa Riviera Maya. Es un gran placer para nosotros leer comentarios positivos de huéspedes como usted. Apreciamos sus amables palabras acerca de nuestras instalaciones, la hermosa naturaleza selvática, entretenidas actividades, piscinas, la bella playa caribeña y nuestro amable personal. Por otra parte le ofrecemos una disculpa si nuestra comida en el restaurante Japonés no cumplió con sus expectativas. Sin duda, pasaremos su retroalimentación a nuestro Chef Ejecutivo para que tome las medidas necesarias. Esperamos tener una nueva oportunidad de darle la bienvenida a nuestro hotel para otras excelentes vacaciones. Saludos cordiales,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom La Valette

Séjour du 7 au 21 Décembre 2014

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: Variété et soin de la présentation des buffets. Personnel dévoué. Décoration dans l'esprit tropical (à conserver). Proximité et variété d'animaux.
Cons: Trop peu d'animation musicale - d'autant plus regrettable que l'orchestre résident composé à majorité de cubains est excellent. WiFI payant.
Location: Situé dans Playacar, on peut se rendre facilement à Playa del Carmen (début de la Quinta à 3 km)
Dépaysement garanti dans cet hôtel situé dans une petite jungle. Belle plage, grande piscine. Proximité avec Playa del Carmen (3 km) Comportement indélicat de nombreux clients qui "réservent" leur chaise-longue dès le matin. Clientèle essentiellement Russe et Américaine. Animations variées. Présence d'animaux (singes hurleurs qui nous réveillent le matin, coatis, paons, agoutis, iguanes ...) Spectacles souvent de bonne qualité. Un regret, pas assez d'occasions de danser sur des rythmes latinos (Salsa cubana, Batchata, Merengue) Le plus plaisant est l'accueil de l'ensemble du personnel. Dépaysement garanti dans cet hôtel situé dans une petite jungle. Belle plage, grande piscine. Proximité avec Playa del Carmen (3 km) Comportement indélicat de nombreux clients qui "réservent" leur chaise-longue dès le matin. Clientèle essentiellement Russe et Américaine. Animations variées. Présence d'animaux (singes hurleurs qui nous réveillent le matin, coatis, paons, agoutis, iguanes ...) Spectacles souvent de bonne qualité. Un regret, pas assez d'occasions de danser sur des rythmes latinos (Salsa cubana, Bachata, Merengue) Le plus plaisant est l'accueil de l'ensemble du personnel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2015 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Nous vous remercions d'avoir pris le temps d´écrire un commentaire concernant votre séjour a notre hôtel et nous sommes très heureux de pouvoir constater que votre séjour fut des plus agréables. Nous sommes ravis de lire que vous avez apprécié votre séjour parmi nous grâce à notre agréable hôtel avec notre délicieuse gastronomie, les spectacles, la faune étonnante qui circulent librement dans notre propriété, la magnifique plage, les piscines et notre attentif personnel. D'autre part, nous offrons des excuses pour le désagrément causé par d'autres clients, de bien vouloir informer tous nos clients de ne pas réserver des chaises longues, se il vous plaît. Nous apprécions votre suggestions concernant a la musique pour danse avec le rythmes latinos, vos commentaires seront partagés avec le gestionnaire de l'animation. Dans l’espoir de vous revoir très prochainement dans notre hôtel, nous vous adressons nos plus sincères salutations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary Alberta

Holiday in Paradise

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: The grounds are stunning, the pool area is large, the staff are exceptional, the location of our room near the pool was PERFECT (block 21)
Cons: The double beds were small and uncomfortable. tight fit for 2 adults. Wifi was not free but it gave me an excuse to disconnect for the world
We just returned from a heavenly week at the Iberostar Questzal resort. It is a wonderful resort for families and those that want more of a mexican experience and a connection with the natuarl elements. 90% of the resort is open air including most of the restaurants and the lobby. You are surrounded by manicured jungle, waterfalls and wildlife wherever you go inside the resort and there is a real sense of calm and well being as you walk along the garden paths to get from one place to another. This is NOT a hotel. this is a resort experience in the truest sense. The food was surprisingly good for an all inclusive and they offered an excellent variety that changed daily. The staff across the board were as good as it gets. They were courteuous, attentive, fun and clearly liked working for this company. Iberostar runs a very good operation. The transitions from breakfast to lunch and dinner and all of the maintenence and housekeeping seemed to run seemlessly. This is a fairly large resort but it has a real intimate feel to it. They offer some great acitvitiies for kids and adults and there tends to be alot of participation, particulalry in Zumba at 4pm on the beach! Especially if Maricio is running the class! It is a MUST SEE. even if you just go to watch. I rarley go to the same place twice but this resort might be an exception.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
First of all, we would like to thank you very much for your taking your time to share your vacation experience at our resort. We appreciate you compliments about our beautiful tropical jungle, pools, beach, delicious food and our helpful staff especially the entertainers. It is a pleasure to receive such nice words about Mauricio. we will share them with him. We hope to be able to welcome you again to our resort for another brilliant vacation experience. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2014
We had a great time. Only two bad things: buffet food was on the colder side and you had to make reservations for specialty restaurants for dinner and most of the time didnt have availability for what we wanted
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
On behalf of the Management, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent visit. We appreciate your taking the time to write your comments on your experience with us and we are very happy to know that you had a great time in our resort. On the other hand, we regret to hear that the temperature of the food at the buffets was on the colder side. Our Health & Safety Department takes tests constantly to make sure that the temperature is within the safe standards, and our Executive Chef and his team take different measures to try and avoid food getting cold, by placing smaller platters and checking equipment. In any case, your feedback will be passed on to them. Regarding restaurants reservations, we offer our apologize if we could not handle your dinner reservations in the best way possible. Our Public Relation Desk do their best to help our clients but during the high season this is more difficult. However they always have more spaces during the week, after some guests make cancellations. Once again, thank you for your preference. We will be more than glad to have another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great hotel on the beach with a lot of nature

Posted Dec 5, 2014
The best stay ever. Very relaxing and entertaining at the same time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
Thank you for your taking the time to post your feedback about your excellent vacation in our hotel. We feel very proud to know that you had the best vacation ever with us! It is a pleasure to hear that you were able to relax at our resort and also enjoyed the entertainment activities. Our main goal is to ensure a memorable stay to all our beloved guests. We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you next year, and many years to come to our resort. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Idaho

Wonderful Location. Great Value.

Posted Dec 4, 2014
My daughters and I stayed 5 nights from 11/23/14 - 11/28/14. From the minute we arrived, there was an air of friendly helpfulness from the staff. From check-in to daily encounters with the Star Performers and Activity guides. The location was perfect. Playa Del Carmen is a $7 taxi ride away or about a 45 minute walk. The beach was fantastic. The layout of the resort was easy to navigate with Tucan rooms on one side and Quetzal on the other, and an enchanting monkey filled jungle between. I'd suggest requesting a room nearer the jungle to see more critters. The buffet was excellent. Again, the staff was friendly and quick. We never waited for anything. The reservation only restaurants were average but they allowed for different dining experiences. My daughter and her boyfriend intend to return to the resort next year. We met a family who had been coming back for nine years! Enjoy your stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
We would like to thank you for taking your time to write your holiday experience at our resort. We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful time at our resort and we want to thank you for your praise to our exceptional staff, beautiful beach, jungle and our delicious food. There is nothing that makes us happier than a guest that leaves feeling glad and renewed. Once again, we thank you for your valuable comments and it would be a pleasure to host you and your family back at our hotel. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Hotel staff are fantastic

Posted Nov 24, 2014
On numerous occasions requested special help on golf accommodation and transportation. Done without a hitch. Customer service desk staff do their job. Lobby bar was great. Pool bar only fair.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
First of all, we would like to thank you for staying at our hotel and for publishing this comment about your last holiday. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant appointment for golf and also you enjoyed our staff service, lobby bar and pool bar. We appreciate your words and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you next year, and many years to come to our beautiful resort. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, NE

Beautiful beach, pool and wonderful wildlife area

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: Nice accommodations - I thought the shower was very nice, it was a walk in. All rooms have patios/balconies so you have a good view in all.
Cons: The food was just average, but I was really not expecting a lot from an all inclusive resort and food wasn't my main concern anyway
Location: We stayed on the resort the whole time and only shopped a few blocks away at some stores off the resort
This is my first trip to Mexico but this hotel was very nice, the beach was breath-taking and the pool was huge! Plenty of wildlife around the hotel as you walked around it was like being in a zoo. My friend who has traveled the Mexico area many times stated that this hotel had the best beach she had ever been too. Quiet and relaxed. Plenty of chairs, huts and umbrellas. The sand was very clean and the water very blue.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by QualityManagerMX, Hotel Management
On behalf of the Management and staff of our hotel, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your recent visit to the Riviera Maya. We are very happy to know that you had a great time with us during your first visit to Mexico. We really value your comments about our tropical jungle, food, pools and the stunning Caribbean Sea. We hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you to our resort IBEROSTAR for another fantastic holiday. Best regards,