Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Feb 28, 2015
We have been to the area 13 times. Our 3rd time to an Iberostar. This is just as nice as the higher priced places. The grounds are perfect with a lot of wildlife. I like the smaller resort feel better than the larger, this place was perfect. The rooms were always cleaned and restocked. The buffet food was better than average over other resorts. The service was above average too. I would return without question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom C

Close to shopping and beach. Rooms need updated.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
All good and lots of kids. Front desk not much help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom WI

Iberostar Tucan

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Excellent service, great amenities and good food. There's always something to do with wonderful entertainment. They go out their way to attend to your needs. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

overall

Posted Feb 17, 2015
enjoyed everything except when we arrived at the airport and I paid for our transportation prior they didn't have me on the list. Luckily they called and fixed the problem
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

I'll be back!

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Close to beach (in ocean front room), pools Friendly staff Ease of check in, check out Not too crowded
Cons: The food was okay. I was disappointed by the Mexican restaurant. The beds and pillows could be more comfortable.
Location: Beautiful, clean, and safe location. I'd recommend this resort to people of all ages.
I thoroughly enjoyed celebrating my 40th birthday at the Iberostar Tucan. We stayed in a 2nd floor ocean front room. The beach was only steps away. The pools were also beautiful, although I never used them since I wasn't willing to give up the view of the ocean--the colors of the water were breathtaking!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

Very nice property with excellent staff

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: The Star Friends were some of the most entertaining people on the resort. They seem to love their jobs and do a great job of getting people involved.
Cons: They should have an activity for east coasters to teach them how to not be so abrasive, my goodness. I can see why other countries don't like us.
Location: Playa is super touristy which was a little bit of a turn off but it's still worth seeing, if not to grab a few souveys
The grounds of the Tucan/Quetzel are amazing. The buildings are all very nice (floors, chairs, tables, bars, decorations, etc.) and the jungle in the middle is very unique. You can't see out of any side of it when you're in the middle. There is always some type of wildlife to look at such as all kinds of exotic birds, these furry rodent type things, peacocks, iguanas, flamingos, coy, tortoises, and most importantly...the howler monkeys! The jungle and wildlife are the main reason we decided to stay there. Our room was super clean and incredibly nice. The staff are great. Everyone says hola to you and everyone seems like they really enjoy their jobs. I'm guessing (but really have no idea) that Iberostar treats its employees well. The food was decent enough. A really nice variety of food that didn't really feel repetitive like some people have said. To sum it up we met a couple from Ontario that had been there 7 times because to them, it felt like home. Oh and also the drinks are really good and the beach is as perfect as you can get.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Outstanding first time experience at an all inclusive hotel. Loved this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom G

Entertainment staff was top notch!

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Amazing stay! Actually transferred to Iberostar Cancun which is a five star our last two nights and were completely shocked at how much better Tucan was compared to Cancun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach Wedding

Posted Jan 31, 2015
We had our wedding at the Tucan on Jan 22 2015. they did a great job. Our wedding coordinator, Alexandrea was wonderful. She personally took care of everything and our romantic meal on the beach was first class, along with the entire experience. Watch out for the Zuma music at 4:00 pm. We moved our wedding to 4:30 to not have to compete with it. Our say was great, and the hotel delivered all its promises. The staff is great and the place is very clean. Great beach. There is also some snorkeling about a 10 minute walk south. 40 min walk north to Playa. The 3 year old and 6 year old kids lived on ice cream and did not want to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 29, 2015
PLace was nice. Very well maintained. Grounds were nice. Staff was fantastic. Always smiling and very helpful. Like the nature area between the rooms and beach. Spa was nice but way over priced..........B