Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vail

CONSTRUCTION SITE right next to it from 7Am-6pm

Posted Nov 14, 2014
If you love the sound of driling and banging every morning at 7am than this is perfect for you, sometimes you think the building will fell apart because of the noise and it doesnt stop until 6pm, there is a huge complex beeing build so at leat 6- 8 months from now there will be construction there. Hotel managemnt should make that clear on their website so everybody knows whats going on there and not to try to move you to other small and dingy sister hotels- tell your guests !!!! Staff is ok if you tip them, rooms are really small and there is no extra furniture, not even a suitcase rack, nothing just the bed and an armoire. Asked for a room on the third floor and Marcela toLd me there are no regular rooms on third floor-YES THERE ARE! The included breakfast is simply a joke, they have good breakfast if you pay for it, the included omlets were so bland not even seasoned - ugghh. Fresh orange juice was great, housekeeping lady was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really Nice Small Hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The free wifi the pools, and free breakfast, and location.
Cons: overall amazing but if I had to say something would be the hot tub wish it had worked during our stay
Location: Walkable to the strip and little stores and resturants
The Tortuga hotel was really nice overall. I would give it 4 out of 5 stars,free wifi and the staff was amazing. The place felt like a little oasis .. It was right on the strip and even though we didn't stay for long was perfect. The one thing I will say is I wish they had a working hot tub but overall very nice, and the hotel staff was amazing especially Raph.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Great Location. No management

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, fairly quiet and safe. Pool setting pretty, relaxing, with plenty of seating to relax and read a book.
Cons: Room cleaning: most days only cursory tidying up, used the same coffe mug for 3-4 days, etc. Only had the cute towel figures (seen in photos) twice.
Potential to be a very nice hotel within a reasonable budget -- good location, quiet, pretty poolside environment and rooms with balconies (note, however, that the pool itself is not practical for swimming -- very shallow). However, management was non-existent. All well and fine, UNLESS you encounter a problem. We ran into a very unpleasant issue regarding the breakfast service. No supervisor/manager of the restaurant or the hotel was available or on premise at that time or at any ither time that I was able to determine. That left the front desk staff, subjected to veiled (but actually condescending and passive-aggressive) "politeness" where I was essentially told that I needed to take up my issues with Expedia since the reservation was booked online through them, that consideration for my complaint was lacking as "Expedia had not yet paid the bill," and that the restaurant staff behavior was understandable, given the poor Minimum Wage pay in Mexico as compared to the U.S., etc. I was offered that the "manager" would be contacted later in the day and an "'answer' MIGHT be available in the afternoon." No "answer" was forthcoming. When I inquired two days later, his "co-worker" had confirmed, that yes, I needed to contact Expedia, nothing further..... I declined to eat breakfast for the remainder of the week (except the final day before leaving to the airport), even though it was included in the price. In fairness, tne service that day was spot on! 2ndary: no jacuzzi x5days
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

a real treat

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: towel art--every nite a new towel figure on the bed---grounds well taken care of
Cons: not much
Location: 5th ave. shoping and people watching---beach club 2 blocks(great place)
great pool and only one block to beach---best staff ever---no kids,very relaxing--very clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Fabulous hotel an oasis in central Playa de Carmen

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The internal design - the environment - and of course the helpful staff
Cons: The taxi that we requested to take us to the airport had been booked - a little stressful waiting when it hadn't been ordered
Location: Visit the Cenotes - swim in natural under water caves. Visit Akumal and swim with 18inch turltes - don't feel obliged to pay for the privilege
Although this is a couples hotel it welcomed my two young adult children. The room was beautifully presented and thoughtfully catered, the water and greenery were calming and a welcome break from the heat. Great that the hotel lends swimming towels too. We loved it and found it extraordinarily relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Erikafrom Texas

Hidden gem...

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
This little hotel was great. It was the perfect place to get some peace and quiet after finishing the tours/explorations of the day. The breakfast served was good. Nothing fancy, but tasty and enough to get your day started. Staff was friendly and helpful, specially Pedro and Rafael. We will definately be staying at Tortuga next time we visit PDC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Grounds and Helpful Staff

Posted Jul 19, 2014
We were late for check-in, but the staff was fast and even helped us adjust our dinner reservations. The rooms were nicely appointed with private pool access on the patios, but we found a baby roach on our sink. The pool and gardens are gorgeous and the hotel is nicely kept. Overall great price point for the location and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

IT WAS AMAZING!!!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
HAd a great time with my WIFE enjoyed the attention and the way they made us feel was EXCEPTIONAL!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dean Taylorfrom Roswell GA

Very nice but not extraordinary

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pool area was very nice, especially at night, staff very nice and helpful, great location, comfortable bed, decent breakfast. However the room and bathroom was very tiny and did not compare to the 4 other hotels we stayed in which cost less. Our view out to the balcony was a wall. Also, there was no elevator and we stayed on the third floor. We paid approximately 25 to 30% more for this hotel and but felt it was not that much better than the others.