Ratings based on 215 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SUFICIENTE

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Por su precio y ubicación es una muy buena opcion...Lástima de la obra enorme que están haciendo justamente al lado. Es una pena que estén destrozando el aspecto de pueblo que tenía Playa del Carmen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Would def come back here again. I stayed here for bpm festival and the hotel was in the heart of everything. Breakfast was included, decent portions, free wifi, friendly staff. They have an outdoor pool - I only wish the water was a bit cleaner and not so cold, otherwise I would've taken advantage Of the swim-up hotel room that we stayed in
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Location and friendly staff the best

Posted Dec 26, 2014
Pros: The location is fabulous. Located near everything, yet removed from the main street with all the noise. We enjoyed the breakfasts every day.
Cons: Our shower - glass door came off the track and the water flow and temperature left a lot to be desired. Hotel should provide drinking water
Location: Close to Fifth Avenue. Close to the bus station-you don't need a car and can walk everywhere.
We stayed for a week and enjoyed the friendly environment
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom stockholm

lagom stort hotell och nära till allting

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: enormt trevlig och kunnig personal
Location: närheten till resturanger och shopping samt playan är bra
det här var andra resan till playa del carmen, vädret och de fina stränderna är enorma. sevärdheterna och utbudet på utflykter är bra.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Poland

I've expected someting more...

Posted Nov 29, 2014
The hotel have good opinions, but we were disappointed. First of all - don't take standard rooms - are awful, some with terrible bathrooms, others with no balconies and windows, all smelly. Now next to the hotel is being built new one - so it's very noisy from the morning till late afternoon. Big advantage is the location of the hotel. Breakfasts - average. Staff - nice, helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom brescia

super albergo in super contesto!

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: non ci è piaciuta solo una cosa...doverlo lasciare per il rientro!
Cons: è perfetto così com'è a nostro parere
Location: l' hotel e playa del carmen in generale è comodo per ogni cosa...è il campo base perfetto per escursioni in genere su tutto lo yucatan...
Ci siamo trovati benissimo all' hotel, il personale è fantastico, la qualità della cucina al ristorante Como Como al di sopra delle aspettative...giusto due passi dietro alla ressa della quinta avenida e comodo a d ogni tipo di servizio! lo consigliamo a tutti!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Monterrey

Cerca de la 5ta Avenida

Posted Nov 15, 2014
En general, fue buena la estancia. Solo que en los 7 días que estuvimos, no salía agua caliente en la regadera, reportamos e iban a checar la habitación, pero algunos de los empleados no sabían resolver esto y todavía se ponían a contestar de muy mal modo. El desayuno incluido no se los recomiendo, a menos que coman muy poco.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vail

CONSTRUCTION SITE right next to it from 7Am-6pm

Posted Nov 14, 2014
If you love the sound of driling and banging every morning at 7am than this is perfect for you, sometimes you think the building will fell apart because of the noise and it doesnt stop until 6pm, there is a huge complex beeing build so at leat 6- 8 months from now there will be construction there. Hotel managemnt should make that clear on their website so everybody knows whats going on there and not to try to move you to other small and dingy sister hotels- tell your guests !!!! Staff is ok if you tip them, rooms are really small and there is no extra furniture, not even a suitcase rack, nothing just the bed and an armoire. Asked for a room on the third floor and Marcela toLd me there are no regular rooms on third floor-YES THERE ARE! The included breakfast is simply a joke, they have good breakfast if you pay for it, the included omlets were so bland not even seasoned - ugghh. Fresh orange juice was great, housekeeping lady was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really Nice Small Hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: The free wifi the pools, and free breakfast, and location.
Cons: overall amazing but if I had to say something would be the hot tub wish it had worked during our stay
Location: Walkable to the strip and little stores and resturants
The Tortuga hotel was really nice overall. I would give it 4 out of 5 stars,free wifi and the staff was amazing. The place felt like a little oasis .. It was right on the strip and even though we didn't stay for long was perfect. The one thing I will say is I wish they had a working hot tub but overall very nice, and the hotel staff was amazing especially Raph.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Great Location. No management

Posted Nov 7, 2014
Pros: Convenient location, fairly quiet and safe. Pool setting pretty, relaxing, with plenty of seating to relax and read a book.
Cons: Room cleaning: most days only cursory tidying up, used the same coffe mug for 3-4 days, etc. Only had the cute towel figures (seen in photos) twice.
Potential to be a very nice hotel within a reasonable budget -- good location, quiet, pretty poolside environment and rooms with balconies (note, however, that the pool itself is not practical for swimming -- very shallow). However, management was non-existent. All well and fine, UNLESS you encounter a problem. We ran into a very unpleasant issue regarding the breakfast service. No supervisor/manager of the restaurant or the hotel was available or on premise at that time or at any ither time that I was able to determine. That left the front desk staff, subjected to veiled (but actually condescending and passive-aggressive) "politeness" where I was essentially told that I needed to take up my issues with Expedia since the reservation was booked online through them, that consideration for my complaint was lacking as "Expedia had not yet paid the bill," and that the restaurant staff behavior was understandable, given the poor Minimum Wage pay in Mexico as compared to the U.S., etc. I was offered that the "manager" would be contacted later in the day and an "'answer' MIGHT be available in the afternoon." No "answer" was forthcoming. When I inquired two days later, his "co-worker" had confirmed, that yes, I needed to contact Expedia, nothing further..... I declined to eat breakfast for the remainder of the week (except the final day before leaving to the airport), even though it was included in the price. In fairness, tne service that day was spot on! 2ndary: no jacuzzi x5days