Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: View, pools, food
Cons: food service for removal of dishes used
Location: Zenotes and Tulum
Great for a wedding: one family stayed in one of the haciendas, another family in another. We ate and swam together; danced and had a fantastic time. Recommend the Zenotes for an amazing water experience and then Tulum Ruins.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Look at This Deal!

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: We particularly liked the pool, and the air conditioned rooms. Pool-side service was exceptional. All the staff treated us like we mattered!
Cons: Minor maintenance was a challenge for this property -- chipped concrete in places, worn pool-side cushions and the like.
Location: Centrally located at 15th Avenue and 14th Street -- EASILY walk to shopping, entertainment, restaurants and the beach.
We are not travelers easily taken in by value or price alone -- the important things need to be there -- location, room, feel and ambiance, amenities, and service. La Tortuga presents a nice blend of all of these things and delivers on value too. Our room included breakfast, daily passes to a beach club and discounts on spa services. If you eat breakfast, like hanging at a beach club with padded chaise loungers, couch lounge set ups, tables, decent food, reasonable prices and plenty of choice for sun or shade and you might take advantage of a spa treatment or two, then you cannot ignore the deal provided by La Torguga. When you add up the included breakfast and included beach club passes (every place charges for tables or chaise lounges in Playa now), and toss in your spa discount, the deal is really quite irresistible. An irresistible deal is not enough if your hotel location, room, ambiance, amenities and service fall short. None of these things fell short. Our room, the pool the location and more were all wonderful. This is an in-town property well worth a serious look.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted May 11, 2015
The rooms were clean and properly maintained. The hotel was classy and beautiful overall. Got noisy sometimes due to the construction happening all over but nothing unbeatable. Was close to many expeditions and places. Overall would stay there gain and recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, cozy hotel in the heart of Playa!

Posted May 3, 2015
My girlfriend and I were pleased with our stay. It's a nice hotel in the perfect central location right next to 5th Avenue and the nightlife. A short 3 minute walk to the beach. Once inside you don't feel like you're in the city. There is some daytime construction noise but it didn't annoy us. Didn't start very early nor finish late. Pool and bar area are great, quiet and relaxing. Breakfast at attached restaurant is more than reasonable. Only complaint was the shower water has a bit of a smell but it seems to be a common thing in the area. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Awesome staff

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, room condition
Cons: Breakfast portion could be better
Location: Go to the Quinta Avenida to all sorts of restaurants, ice cream, gift shops.
This hotel is very good, the location is key, the breakfast OK but what makes it really special is the staff that works there. They were all very thoughtful, helpful in many ways and good listeners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Such an awesome hotel for the price.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Great Pool. Rooms over look pool.
Location: Right near the main st. Was a great location. 3 min walk to the beach
Loved my stay at La Tortuga. The location is fantastic being right near 5th Ave. The hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Most important thing was that it was half the price of other hotels and still get great rooms and facilities. The pool was awesome. Would highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Québec

Bel hotel au centre de Playa

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Déjeuner. Emplacement. Calme
Cons: Certaines installations commencent a avoir de l'age.
Location: Tout est près.
Bel Hotel au centre de l'action, restos et bar. Bon rapport qualité prix. Excellent déjeuner. A trois coins de rues de la plage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Beautiful hotel

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: There wasn't anything really that I didn't like. As soon as we got there, we were upgraded to a larger room at no cost.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Very close to the beach. Situated beside a market with many, many shops to visit as well as restaurants. Also an indoor mall if its too hot.
Staff was very helpful. Aways friendly and very professional. Very clean. The food at breakfast was excellent. Very tasty, well prepared and free! The room was always clean and the bed was very comfortable. The court in the centre of the hotel where the pool is was beautiful. Full of trees with a pool that was quite a bit of fun to explore.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

excellent, friendly, very helpful staff.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: staff
Location: everything was easily accessible
enjoyed our stay very much. would definitely go back. in a great location. everything was easily accessible to walk to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Spent 10 days at La Tortuga Hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The greatest asset the hotel has is its staff, they are wonderful, attentive, polite, and very friendly, especially, Rafael, Cesar and Norma, our maid
Cons: I would be nice to have access to a English speaking news channel on TV
Location: Things to do and enjoy in the area around the Hotel are unlimited, The Hotel is located in an ideal area. Shopping and restaurants are numerous
The room was adequate. Making the reservation thru Expedia, you don't expect the best room in the Hotel. The environment and pool areas were relaxing and well maintained. The hotel is located in a very desirable area, of the city and convenient to site seeing and shopping. We enjoyed the 10 days we spent at the Hotel and would return.