Ratings based on 105 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Leonard from miami

Nice hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Will stay there again. Paradisaic atmosphere. Great service. Good breakfast. Staff very helpful. We'll worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Seattle

Nice place, great staff

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: I liked the location. It is very close to the beach, great restaurants and shopping. The pool/spa area was great for relaxing and swimming.
Cons: I had some trouble with the air conditioners in my room but overall the room was still comfortable.
I really enjoyed the 8 nights I spent here. The room was nice and comfortable but not anything really out of the ordinary. The staff was great and seemed to be doing everything they could to make my stay as nice as possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great down town hotel with style!

Posted Feb 16, 2014
3 day trip, excellent overall, cute pool and landscape, great restaurant
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by oliveluv from New York, NY

Location, location, location

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Location cannot be beat. You're right in the middle of all of the action, tons of restaurants, bars, boutiques and shops.
Cons: Due to its proximity to all of the action, it can get noisy especially in the rooms facing the street. Also, the pillows are too hard.
Location: Anything and everything you would like on vacation is within walking distance; restaurants, bars, clubs, shops....
La Tortuga Hotel is in an amazing location, within a 3 minute walk to the famous 5th Avenue. The hotel itself is a quaint boutique hotel with great staff who is helpful and friendly. That being said, there are some negatives to the hotel. If you are staying in one of the rooms facing the street ( we were in room 35), be prepared to hear street noise; especially from drunk revelers on Friday and Saturday nights. We woke up at 5:00 am on a Saturday by bunch of happy drunk people singing on top of their lungs. We did ask for a room change, but the staff could not accomodate us since the hotel was completely booked. I also found the pillows to be very hard and not too comfortable. The breakfast served downstairs was delicious and plenty. If you're driving, there is street parking available, so you should not have to pay to park your car in a lot. We highly recommend checking out Playa Paraiso, within 10 minute drive of the Tulum Ruins that was recommended to us by the hotel staff. Overall, we had a nice stay at La Tortuga even with the noise. I would recommend staying at this hotel for anyone visiting Playa del Carmen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by yaya from CA

close to the beach

Posted Jan 26, 2014
close to the beach strip and restuarants . close to everything. the hotel staff is kind the service is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Unexpected stay

Posted Dec 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff here is so friendly that even though the glass door on my shower fell on me and there are some house cleaning issues, the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff made up for it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, convenient hotel!

Posted Nov 18, 2013
This cute boutique hotel is right off 5th ave where all the restaurants, shops, bars are. if you're aiming for a non-touristy/crowded spot, then i wouldnt recommend it. We booked this hotel on a whim and it ended up being perfect for us because we wanted to head down to the beach conveniently with being able to grab a late dinner if needed. the only cons were- our bathroom wasnt in the best shape (mirrors were a bit dirty and toilet bowl was cracked)- but def still usable! Another thing- dont swim in the pool. i watched the cleaner scrub the pool surround and throw it back in the water- gross
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joaquin from Toronto

La tortuga

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
The servĂ­ce was excellent. There was construction in the building adjacent to out room and the noise was nauseatingly loud. As soon as we told the front desk they quickly and happily arranged a room at the other side of the small hotel. In fact they allowed us to move to/ see 3 different options until we were content :) the bar is very quiet so it's really mostly a relaxation hotel. The pool day/night is contantly beautiful andakes you forget how small the place is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jesus from Venezuela

Tortuga is the best

Posted Sep 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Amazing hotel and staff