Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tina from Calgary

Spectacular sea view

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Booked 2 bedroom 2 bath 2nd floor villa 203. Awe inspiring view with huge terrace. Roomy. Beds were fine. Needed more pillows and lightblanket. Need beach shoes for sure and own snorkel gear. Very quiet almost too quiet!! No music outdoors and no music in villa. No entertainment. Bar lacking..expensive and no atmosphere. Breakfast limited and omelettes were $7. 00. View from breakfast area amazing. Lots of stairs. Easy access to all around Tulum, Gran cenote, Akumal beach snorkel with turtles. Saw a mantra ray. Friendly staff. English limited which causes some mistakes like room service. Felt secure. Could use a real hammock! Basic kitchen supplies. No washer dryer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and comfortable.

Posted Mar 13, 2014
Very nice place. Good quality for the price. Clean and comfortable accommodations. Close to Chichen Itza. Food was so-so but staff and service was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

No view.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
We were on the backside and looked out onto a wall of grass. I felt like I was in a bunker. Low concrete ceilings. The rooms were clean. The water was very smelly. Breakfast was good. Too expensive at 180 a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: Location, staff
Cons: Bed was very hard. Food was cold at breakfast that should have been hot.
Location: Good snorkeling and swimming. Close to the Mayan ruins in Tulum.
The hotel is located on a pretty little beach just less than a mile (easy walk) to the village of Akumal. That made it a bit quieter which was perfect for us. The hotel is very clean and nicely done. I would have loved to have gotten a room with an ocean view but we opted for a less exoensive room on the ground floor facing away. Not the best location but the room was nicely done. My only complaint was that the bed was extremely hard. The staff was really nice. I might suggest skipping the breakfast option as it was cold pancakes and cold French toast. Lunch is better. We'd stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paula from Madison WI

Great design and beauty everywhere

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Great style and architectural design. great landscaping and pool and beach area. Quiet. Very well maintained!
Cons: Quality of breakfast and more flexibility to bring some down to your own room to enjoy in your villa
Location: great snorkeling at Yal Ku in north akumal -- fifteen minutes away. Turtles at Central Akumal bay and good reef with live coral and fish there, too.
Really loved it here. Beauty, peacefulness, quiet, water is spectacular. Nothing beats walking right out to beach and then right back to the freshwater pool. We loved the architecture and interior and exterior design. Staff were warm but not intrusive. Only the restaurant manager one morning was severe about me coming up to get a plate of fruit and bring it back down to eat in our villa. You would have thought I had stolen something. As a woman, his tone led me to wonder if he would have spoken to one of the male guests in the same way. Anyway, other than him/that unpleasant moment, it was paradise. Hope to return soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, quiet beach

Posted Jan 27, 2014
We stayed at Las villas Akumal for 4 days (family with kids). While the sand is a bit rough, the beach was very quiet beautiful. The staff were great and very friendly. There is a restaurant, pool, small pool side bar, and a spa. We borrowed snorkeling equipment for free (there's a great snorkeling spot 10-15min walking away). They also had kayaks that we used for free.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Polo from MA

My vacation

Posted Jan 21, 2014
Pros: I was clean, and organized good location nice look from the window
Cons: Noting it was good place, hope stay the same
Location: the best was to be able to visit the historic places and the and near to all locations
I was please with the location and because was near to all places I visited
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, quaint hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 15, 2014
Nice, well maintained hotel on the beach just south of Akumal beach. Beautiful grounds and beach. Staff was friendly and helpful. On site restaurant was ok, not great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill and Holly from Grand Rapids, MI

We had a great time in Akumal.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Very clean, right on beach, quiet. Not an AI as we prefer to explore and cook some meals ourselves.
Location: Akumal Bay with the turtles, we took our own gear. Tulum is OK, Mayil is farther and more private. Have done Coba before. Swin in a cenote.
Las Villas Akumal provided a great experience for us in Akumal. Extremely clean and great kitchen facility if you inclined to cook. We had a car because of a foot problem, and I strongly suggest it if you want to get to the grocery in Tulum or Puerto Aventuras or even to Akumal. We also upgraded on-site to a beach front which was the same price listed when we booked. We felt it was a very wise decision as the beachfront condos have terrific porches (ours - 108 had swinging chairs that we spent many evening hours in watching the moonrise and stars.) Wish I was there right now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Pleasant stay

Posted Dec 27, 2013
Pros: Generally well-maintained, laid back atmosphere, quiet - almost like a private beach, easy access from Highway 307 (once you master the retornos)
Cons: Continental breakfast was complimentary. More variety would be nice. Other items could be ordered for a price.
Location: Away from crowds, but accessible to many places (we had car). 20-25 minutes to Tulum, 25 minutes to Playa del Carmen, 1 hour 15 minutes from airport
Stayed here in mid-December with 5 adult family members. The 3 bedroom plus unit was very large and less than 100 feet from the beach with a view. Staff were friendly and helpful. Beach itself was quiet and beautiful, but if you like swim, it is rocky along the water's edge and a little rough (at least when we were there). Akumal Bay "town" beach is more swimmer friendly, although with more people. You can walk there from Las Villas (20-25 minutes) or drive.