Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by John & Ruth from Sydney NSW, Australia

Avoid this hotel at all costs.

Posted Jan 17, 2013
Avoid this hotel at all costs. After great difficulty finding it, compounded by their telephone not working, we arrived expecting 5 start and saw 3 star accommodation. The rooms were quite small with old and tired furninshings. It was so bad we could not stay there and decided to cancel, knowing we woiuld forfeit 1 days accommodation, but6 found out later thyey kept our entire pre-payment, quoting a technicality. A bad experience all round and certainly one to avaoid!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by red from san antonio, tx

great vacation

Posted Jan 17, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: That you could only eat and drink from the hotel
Location: Great location , beautiful view , awesome setting
Extremely relaxing , perfect for couples and adults who wanna get away from a busy resort and a lot of people
3 out of 5
by Mexican Tourist from PA

Very rustic hotel....

Posted Sep 25, 2012
Pros: The beach was amaizing! the staff was great, very friendly and kind (ask for Freddy and Ivan).
Cons: The room wasn't clean at all! we killed a cockroach in our room!
Location: The location was spectacular!
The hotel was ok, very rustic and nicely decorated. The staff was very friendly (Freddy is the best beach-bartender! ask for him). The food there was really good and inexpensive. Our room didn't have electronic devices, such as T.V. alarm clock, radio, etc. That was not a problem for us! On the other hand, no hot water in the shower, just lukewarm water (that was a torture for me!). Our room was not clean, it seem like they just cleaned it very superficial. We killed a cockroach there! So, you can imagine how clean it was. They supposed to woke us up the day of our departure, and they forgot it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by D. E. from Houston, TX, USA

Best Hotel for couples in Mexico

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Pros: Best Hotel for Couples in Mexico. The 25 rooms guarantees that each guest staying there gets an excellent and very personalized service
Cons: Not staying longer
Location: There is no front entrance and the road that leads to the Hotel is not paved, which makes it a hidden gem in the Mexican Caribbean
The best Hotel we have stayed in Mexico (and I am a frequent traveler to Mexico). The Hotel is just idyllic. The beach and swimming pool are fantastic. Food is superb. And the service is really outstanding. This is by far the best hotel we have visited in Mexico. The experience for couples marrying, going on their Honeymoon or simply taking some time off is worth the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mark from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Couple's retreat

Posted Mar 26, 2012
Pros: The pool and the breakfast
Cons: Minibar availability, or lack thereof!
Location: 15 minutes by taxi, about 180 pesos each way.
What an amazing location? It's about 15 minutes by taxi from the centre of town, so it's a perfect location for those wanting to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Playa central. We loved the friendliness of the staff and the quiet surroundings - it's definitely a romantic location. The breakfasts are delicious - the fruit skewers are a must! What we didn't like, however, were some of the "extras" that we had to pay for - i.e. the minibar fridge was locked, and could only be opened if we purchased $30 of items from the hotel. 60 pesos for two bottles of water was quite steep too! Other than that, we loved our stay. It's a perfect couple's retreat if you're looking to avoid the bustle of town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Excellent hotel but a bit hard to access

Posted Nov 30, 2011
The hotel is beautiful and very comfortable. The only two negative comments I would make are, the road to get to the hotel is not paved making it a little difficult for taxis to get to and from it (you need a taxi if you want to get to the centre of Playa del Carmen or anywhere outside of the hotel). The beach is lovely however there are lots of rocks in the ocean meaning you need to wear shoes (which they do provide). Other than that the hotel is a great place to stay and the rooms are very comfortable. Food was quite nice but a little pricey.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Wonderful Honeymoon

Posted Jun 21, 2011
We chose Le Reve because of a tip from a friend. We have to say that the place couldn't have been more wonderful! Amazing food at the restaurant (Naya). Their Mayan Menu (Order a day in advance) was to die for!!! The views were gorgeous. The Bungalow we stayed in was mere steps from the beach and fairly isolated from the other rooms. Truly the most romantic location we've ever stayed. Highly recommended for couple looking to get away from it all and relax.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautifully located comedy of errors

Posted Mar 16, 2011 on Hotels.com
Small sparsely appointed "hotel" located at the end of a pothole filled dirt road in a run down outskirt area of Playa Del Carmen. The good things: great security on duty all evening, free cooked to order breakfast every morning, comfortable bed, delicious cocktails. The not so good things: we live in NYC, travel extensively, and this is by far the worst service we have ever experienced in a hotel of any ratings category. Just a few examples: napkins not provided during dinner (even after asking 3 times), wrong entree served, no chair cover provided for beach chair (asked FIVE times nicely in english and spanish, every other chair had one), double confirmed massage reservation "vanished," and never anyone at the front desk when you need one - we returned to our room after dinner one evening and the maid had locked the bathroom... we waited 20 minutes for someone to return to the desk. We were looking for a relaxing, romantic vacation and got a stressful headache at a glorified motel that falsely bills itself as luxurious. I urge you not to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from MA

lovelereve

Posted Feb 18, 2011
Most certainly would go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from NYC

Le Reve Hotel and Spa

Posted Jan 30, 2011
Small boutique hotel, aesthetically very pleasing, with a romantic vibe. Food is EXCELLENT. Great place for couples who want to just chill and get away. Would definitely go back. Service could use some improvement, but overall, I would go back.