Ratings based on 299 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom paris

Hôtel excellent

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: L accueil du personnel très agréable le cadre de l hôtel verdoyant et le choix et la qualité de la nourriture
Cons: Les escursions via les tours opérateurs de l hôtel et le transfert aéroport/hôtel non prévue et cher en taxi 90 dollars
Location: Le fort de TUlum, la plage d Akumal pour y voir les tortues géantes, la plage de diamanté K, les ruines de chiches izta, les cenotes et sian kaan
Superbe hôtel correspondant parfaitement à nos attentes chambres à la décoration moderne accueillante et propre. Le personnel de l hôtel est aux petits soins toujours un mot gentil pour engager la conversation. Niveau nourriture beaucoup de choix au buffet il y en a pour tous les goûts même pour nous qui ne mangeons pas de viande. Attention à éviter les réservations d escursions via les tours opérateurs de l hôtel qui sont plus chères et surtout qui vous vendent un package inexistant il vaut mieux aller en ville à Tulum ou se rendre' sur place en collectivo pour qql pesos. A voir absolument chiches ista les cenotes le fort de Tulum la réserve naturelle de sian kaan et les tortues géantes de la plage d Akumal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice hotel, very green and quiet

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Fantastic choice of food. Spacious and comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff.
Cons: The quality of free bar drinks.
The buffet offers fantastic food, both in terms of choice and of quality. There is an option to book a restaurant for dinner, but slots are limited, so that should be done ahead of time. In restaurant you get much more attention from the waiters. I tried it once and did not bother more, as the standard buffet is already excellent. This hotel is a part of a large resort consisting of 4 hotels and a separate place ("hacienda") for souvenir shops and various activities. As a guest you may visit all places, however, not all restaurants and bars will provide their service. Transportation is easy with hotel trams running to points of interest every 10 minutes or so. The hotel is adult only, so it is very quiet, you hear mostly birds and not people. There is some music and shows in the hotel every evening till 22:30, later on activities take place in hacienda in order not to disturb night sleep. Hotel is not on the beach, it takes ~10 minutes of tram ride. The resort has long beach with a small part of it dedicated just to the hotel. It hosts several attractions, like dolphinarium (free shows once a day, everything else for a fee), boat station (kayaks for free, paid tours, fishing activities), etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Wonderful stay!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
We stayed in the hotel in March 2015 for five days and had a great time. It's a smaller resort, which is lovely and the beach area is amazing. The staff is very attentive, and guests have full access to the three nearby resorts in the Bahia Principe family. If you want the all-inclusive resort experience while still keeping the smaller boutique hotel feel, this is a good option. But bring your mosquito repellent if you plan to spend time by the pool and don't expect the most gourmet food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Friendly staff but slow to act

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: No noise. Accessible to other Bahia Principe properties.
Cons: Buffet items can be changed day-to-day. Staff should act on request immediately. It took many calls to fulfill a request.
Nice hotel but far from beaches. Satff are friendly, however it takes several calls to take action. Generally, food is good. Almost the items are in the buffet for all days.
4 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario

No beach and no gym :(

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Lovely resort. Beautiful rooms. Nice Pools. Very clean. Wonderful staff. That all being said the resort is not on the beach which we didn't find out until we arrived. Having access to the beach requires waiting for a trolly (longest wait was 10-15 minutes) then touring to about 3-4 stops at the sister resorts to pick up more people and then finally getting to the beach. For beach people we found this extremely disappointing but only blamed ourselves for not realizing this ahead of time. Second major problem is also that there is no gym on the resort. You have to go through the same process as getting to the beach. On vacation it's difficult enough to sneak a quick workout in buy typically a quick trip to the gym or a run down the beach solves this problem. At this resort either one would require a potential 1 hour round trip making the workout far from convenient. If you're pool people and aren't concerned about having gym access it's lovely. However, for us there are several resorts I would recommend over this one considering the 1.5 hour drive from the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Mid-Twenties vacation from the kids.

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Resort met or exceeded expectations. We stayed Mon-Sat. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Many options for resturants and buffets- food was all good. Plenty of pools to pick from. We got to the beach around 8:30 AM every morning (sian kaan has its own exclusive area with drink service on the beach) and were able to get a front row cabana, we would stay there until around 3 PM and then head back up to sian kaan and sit around the pool. You are about a 5 min ride by trolley from the beach, so do not expect ocean view. We plan on coming back to this resort or other Bahia Principe. Bring lots of tip money to reward the hard working staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom ohio

SUCH A GREAT PLACE I JOINED THE PRIVILEGE CLUB A+

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: My only suggestion, was not a very good selection of american television channels.Not a big deal, didnt go to mexico to watch tv
Location: we took a trip to the mayan ruins of tulum and coba. both fantastic places. well worth seeing. Shoppingf at playa del carmen was close too.
What a fabulous place. Dont believe the bad reviews. This is paradise. Included in the penthouse jacuzzi is butler service. They do everything from schedule all your dinners to draw your jacuzzi water to leave you champaigne or breakfast in bed. Also included is a pillow menu and scent menu. This is a top notch place. Everything from easy transfer from the airport, easy check in to going out of their way to see you are pleased. Food was excellent, where can you eat unlimited lobster at a buffet?We left a tip after each meal and for our maid service daily. Also the butler at weeks end. The sian Kaan is the adult only part of this 4 resort group, but with privileges to visit all of the other resorts. we saw a mexican show at the La Hacienda, ate dinner at the akumal and coba resorts. all just a short trolley ride away. This was such a nice place we joined the privilege club.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good trip

Posted Mar 5, 2015
This hotel is part of 4 hotels on the very large property. You have access to all 4 hotel pools beach and restaurants. Sian Kaan is adult only which is great compared to the other. But no swim up bar; no food allowed at pools, no beach. They can shuttle you all around the other hotels. The food is desent. Mostly buffet. Staff is very helpful and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Beautiful hotel with no kids!!

Posted Mar 4, 2015
This was a wonderful vacation due to the beautiful surroundings and attentive staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

INCREDIBLE

Posted Mar 4, 2015
Cons: Only suggestion would be for a swim up bar at Sian Kaan.
Location: Playa Del Carmen, Cenotes, Zip Lining, Ruins
Anyone who complains about this resort is NEVER happy. Everything was awesome and I travel a ton. Hardest workers I have ever seen.