Ratings based on 379 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and accommodations.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The location is ideal. It's on the beach and within walking distance to downtown. The renovation is fantastic and staff very attentive. It's a gem. Breakfast is very good with lots of variety. Lunch and dinner were less appealing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Location, room decor, beach
Cons: Bathroom decor and supply ( soup dish, hooks), electric kettle in the room, WF
Location: Great location
It is much better to stay on the second floor room. Half board is great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mahekal Beach Resort

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Cons: Need Wifi in rooms. Which they are working on.
Great location, on the beach. Very friendly accommodating staff. Would not hesitate to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Quiet Getaway - We are going to go back.

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Pros: Nice environment, quiet, friendly people. Hammocks on the porches are great.
Cons: I really wouldn't improve much - except the occasional waste smell on various parts of the beach - not sure where that was coming from.
Location: So much to do - just ask the concierge and don't get sold something in the airport exit hall - just walk right by them.
The place was truly a great escape for us. We did not want a party place, just a place to escape the frigid northeast temps, kick back, and disconnect for a while. There are no TV's in the room (a plus for us), no phones (although I was told that is changing), no internet except in the reception area (changing too), but the rooms were very nice. We loved that each room was its own little mini-double bungalow - not the typical huge hotel with rooms all over. Very much a family oriented rather quiet place. If your other family members want the party scene, then they just have to walk to town (5 minutes) or up the beach to one of the monster hotels with music playing. The staff are very nice, especially the concierges. They were very helpful in booking trips for us and went out of their way. You can also rent a go pro camera from them to record your event - once done with it, they will transfer it to a thumb drive - so bring one along. The waiters seem to always be running from place to place and were very friendly. They remember your name and try to get to know you. The beach was very nice and we never had trouble finding a beach chair and we were there at the peak time. Food is pretty good - not 5 star, but pretty good and we have no complaints. IMPORTANT: Don't expect the typical northeast service level at mealtime, there are only a few waiters so take your time and enjoy your meal, talk to your family, relax and have another drink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
We stayed for 9 days and were very happy with our experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Carmel Valley, CA

The Mahekal Exceeded Expectations

Posted Feb 13, 2015
I am so grateful I chose to stay at Mahekal. Much care has been taken in creating and maintaining this lovely beach front refuge. I wanted a low rise, low key, high quality place, with palapas. Air conditioning was a must, and a pool, without the rush of the large resorts. I can now say this is my most favorite place to go! I have only gratitude and appreciation for the staff, and for the management in taking such care in creating such a beautiful environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Conifer, CO

Don't need to leave the resort

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: The food and service is outstanding. Having separate papalas makes it so personal - not being stuck in a high-rise.
Cons: More toilet paper.
Location: Excellent location, close to 5th ave for shopping.
Everything you need is right there on site. We took our 14 year old twin boys, and they loved all the features.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego, CA

Resort was perfect but...

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Pros: Everything!!!
Cons: Smell of ocean / beach front...
Location: Many restaurants to choose from! Loved it!
The resort was perfect. Staff was amazing -- so genuinely friendly and fun, the food blew us away and we are picky when it comes to quality. The only thing about the food is that much of it was not traditional Mexican. I could live on Mexican food so this initially was a disappointment, however, the food was so delicious I got over it quickly. The room was immaculate. The bed was firm and very comfortable for our taste -- we did bring our own down pillows because we cannot sleep without a down pillow. The pillows in the hotel were firmer than we like. The resort itself was beautiful & perfectly situated on the beach & very close to town. The only thing that made the location not perfect is honestly that it was in Mexico. I hate to say that because I love Mexican culture, the people, the food, everything except the ocean water. The water from shore was not swimmable for me. I am VERY picky when it comes to this (note: many people (adults and kids) were perfectly happy swimming there). The only places I have wanted to swim in the past 20 years are Hawaii and the Caribbean islands (e.g., Caiman Islands & Half Moon Caye). There was a smell that came from the water here that was unpleasant -- like sewage. For that reason we were happy that our room was an ocean VIEW room not an ocean FRONT room. We couldn't smell it from our room. The view of the ocean from the resort's restaurant/bar and pool/hot tub area was amazing (no smell). Pools on site were perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom turkey , istanbul

Fantastic small , cozy , tropical Beach hotel

Posted Feb 4, 2015
Pictures are not really showing hotel..! Much better then in pictures.. Just on the beach , very peaceful and also very close to all Playa del carmen 5.th street attractions , restaurants , cafes and night life .. Lovely people and staff .. All was wonderfull.. Thanks for all Mahekal team .. Ps ; the great hotel tour desk and the guy Boli , he is the one who is trying your stay and tours fantastic with endless helpful manner .. Thanks my friend , hope to see you again...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cold Lake, AB, CANADA

Extremely Impressed!

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Hola! Let me start by saying I've always wondered why people go back to the same place for a vacay. I wonder no more - this place is the reason why! There was a group of us that were there last week all with overlapping days. We all had upgraded packages which give you 1/2 off all your drinks and food. (Just need to dbl check your bill that it's written up that way). Drinks and food were amazing. For a few of us it was more than that, the service was outstanding. We looked forward to seeing Ceasar daily - his English was very good and he is hilarious! He made sure we all had a blast and was able to give us tips on place to check out, etc. The "Captain" as he is referred to (the boss!) was the same. Hard working and honest. Was a pleasure to see him at breakfast and then again at dinner. The 1/2 board worked awesome for our group (breaky & supper) as we were touring most days. The seafood at this resort is freak'n yummy. Huge shrimp. Security is on the beach all night, never felt worried or anything even walking up to the room alone. Wifi is in the lobby only which suited us just fine. (We weren't on vacay to be on the phones.) Same with TVs there are none. Bonus. Weren't there for that either. Each unit has it's own private (or semi depending where you are) patio or belcony with hammocks & loungers. The pics don't do this resort justice unless you go check it out yourself!