Ratings based on 269 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati, OH

Lots of character, wonderful beach, great location

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The grounds were beautiful. The beach is amazing. The food was good, and the service was great. Location was very good.
Cons: I would have loved a couple more freebies like bicycles, kayaks, snorkel gear, etc.
Location: You can walk to 5th Avenue and shop for hours, or quickly find something good to eat. Many cenotes and snorkeling sites also a short taxi ride away.
This place was great! The grounds were beautifully kept. The whole place had a lot of character; the palapas you stay in are quaint (not fancy or ornate, but simply decorated and constructed). The food was delicious, and I loved having two meals a day provided. It made me feel like I wasn't constantly taking out my wallet to pay for the essentials, but still nudged you away from the restaurant for your third meal. The food service staff was so warm that we really missed them after we left. The beach was exactly what I was hoping for; the water is numerous shades of inviting blue and there was nothing in the sea to make you think twice about jumping in (I never stepped on anything icky or sharp, and never saw a jellyfish or anything else scary).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted May 6, 2014
The staff is extremely helpful in booking site tours. Pleasure to stay there
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TJ from IN

Comfortable room, beautiful beach

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: I liked the separateness of the accommodations , as opposed to one big concrete hotel . The staff, especially one waiter, Rogelio, was very pleasing.
Cons: I would create a separate adult section , and also have a more thorough written idea of the hotel policies, and offerings.
Location: You could walk the beach for miles, or easily access shops and restaurants on Fifth Ave.
This was my first stay at Mahekal Beach resort. My husband and I, wanted to get away from the techno music and all day drinking at the all inclusive we had stayed at in Cancun; I had second hand information that Mahekal was a nice quiet resort. While there was no techno music, or obvious drunkenness, there were lots of children, some of whom were not so well behaved. There were also crying infants that I could hear at times. Unfortunately, our schedule had us going over the Easter holiday. I would go back, but at a time when it would be less children populated. The staff was very pleasing, the food was adequate to very good, and the beach was right there. The other thing I loved was the location. It did not have the noise of being off of Fifth Ave. , but was a couple a blocks away. The resort also had diversity. There were French, Germans, Italians, Canadians , Indians, and Mexicans staying there. So, if you don't want to be captive in an all inclusive, and love the beach, it is a good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet except for the two thumping beach clubs

Posted May 3, 2014
We chose this resort because the reviews said 'quiet resort'. The resort would be, BUT either side are beach clubs and they play thumping techno. Apparently finishes at 8.30 pm most nights but, we were there over Easter. AVOID Easter. Music got louder and louder and went on late. We had to endure thumping techno in our cabana. Not ideal when you have selected a place because you wanted to avoid noise, tv and resort entertainment. Also, children needing to sleep. They moved us to another room that had a plunge pool and was quieter. I feel bad for them as it is a nice resort - simple, clean, no T.V's or tacky entertainment - they are unfortunate to have noisy neighbours. Rooms - the first cabana room we were given had broken tiles in the bathroom and was in dire need of a face lift. The rooms by the garden and the ones with plunge pools are simply done and very nice. The food was good, the staff were, on the whole, helpful and friendly. I have given the resort 4 because it's a good resort. The issues are with the clubs next door. But if that doesn't bother you then there's no problem!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Cons: WIFI
Everything is great. Only complaint: They urgently need a new WIFI router - when the lobby area is busy, you can't even check emails because of connection problems.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sobia from Toronto, Canada

Beautiful beach front room

Posted Apr 27, 2014
My husband and I wanted a relaxing beach getaway after a week in Mexico City visiting friends and family. We planned to stay at Mahekal in Playa del Carmen for 2 nights in a standard room with garden view. We arrived in the morning and were not able to check in until 3, but the hotel staff provided us with towels, stored our luggage and provided us with a place to change so we could enjoy the beach in the meantime. We also enjoyed food and drinks at the Aventura restaurant. Upon formally checking in, we were upgraded to a deluxe ocean front room, which was spectacular- very clean and large, and the room was literally steps from the ocean. The staff were always courteous and helpful despite it being a ridiculously busy weekend - not only was it Easter weekend but the hotel was also hosting a wedding and was booked to capacity. The food was good, not the best but definitely better than expected at a resort. The hotel is located right off of the busiest stretch of Playa del Carmen - so very close to 5th avenue and the bustling nightlife but far enough away from the action when you just want to relax by the ocean. Even though it was one of the busiest weekends of the year, there were always umbrellas, chairs and fresh towels available. The resort package included breakfast and either lunch or dinner and no drinks - we didn't mind as we were not looking to party and enjoyed going out to town for dinner, but this may not be ideal for others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fra from Italy

Best experience ever

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Excellent service for what you pay. Very professional staff, quiet rooms, beautiful garden, just steps away from the beach.
Location: The Mayan Riviera offers so many things to do. Semi-private tours are the best way to explore the area, rich in culture and natural treasures.
Everything was just perfect: location, staff, room, food and an amazing tropical garden. We really had a wonderful time! Not the right place if you want to party all night, but ideal for a relaxing vacation for couples or families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JC from New York, NY

The perfect getaway

Posted Apr 27, 2014
My wife and I decided to go to Playa del Carmen, since we've never been to Mexico before. We chose Mahekal because of the cool palapa look. We didn't want to do a big casino hotel attraction, we wanted to do something more private, close to the beach and town. We read in the reviews what a great place Mahekal was and how close it was to the famous 5th Avenue (which by the way, is awesome). Great was a complete understatement. It was one of the best trips we've had. The staff was so friendly, they helped us with everything and they made our experience very personable. We felt that they really care for our comfort. The staff has been working there for 10 to 20 years so they really built a nice family feeling. The food was spectacular, every night they prepared something different and each time it was really enjoyable. We didn't find them cutting corners anywhere.. it was a full experience worth every dollar. The only thing that we can recommend is to be careful with the sun, is no joke! make sure you have 50spf.. seriously. 30spf is nothing down there. Definitely, make sure you go out and enjoy the town as well. You can walk the entire fifth avenue, they have great restaurants and bars. There's a lot of excursions to do in the area. We had a great time at Xichen Itza, we highly recommend that although keep in mind is a whole day thing. Also, if you can manage Xcaret.. is beautiful and the show is a must see. We loved Mahekal and we cant wait to come back!
1 out of 5
by ABC from ABC

Mahekal Beach Resort Facts before you book.

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Nothing in particular.
Cons: They should visit some of the resorts in Cancun and try to match them in service while they are charging the same or even more.
Restaurant closes at 9.30 PM ( Very sub standard food) No Coffee shop or even you can get a bottle of water if you need unless you walk up to the bar which closes at 12.00 midnight ( earlier also if the bar man not in mood to serve) No TV in the room. No internet in the room. Very poor internet band width at the main lobby if you want see urgent mails. You can of course have roaming cellular data while paying substantially more to your service provider. No Swimming pool in the resort ( Pools are of the size of bath tubs) Kids up to the age 5 can enjoy these pools. Order alcohols/any cocktails you can make out that they are sub standard. There is nothing called room service incase you like to enjoy a drink or some food at the balcony of your room where they provide a hammock. The hotel provides Breakfast and either Lunch or Dinner. You will experience the terrible interrogation as to which room you belong to and whether you informed the front desk that you are going to have lunch/dinner. The rule is you have to inform the front desk everyday what you are going to have part of your day's plan. Well you have to walk up the front desk to do that AS THERE IS NO PHONE/INTERCOM facility in the room. If you do not have international roaming on your phone there is no way anyone can reach you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nick from Seattle

Best resort we've ever stayed at

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: Everything! I felt like they really took care of us. They go the extra mile.
Cons: fridge in the room (you can rent them for 10$/day no biggy)
Location: you can spend a week at the resort itself - it's like being an arboretum. that said - snorkeling, parasailing, diving, wakeboarding, Tulum Mayan ruin
We have 2 young boys (6 and 3.5). First this place is paradise. Iguanas are out on the rocks and fascinating for the kiddos. The beach is pristine and waves are gentle enough for a 3 year old. There are two pools both w/ shallow spots great for kids. The grounds are immaculate (immaculate!) and breathtaking. The BEST for us though was the people. They learned our names and we have a boy w/ some allergies. They cooked him food special just for him (diary and egg allergy) and they make sure every night something special was set aside for him (no extra charge). They are good people and they take care of you. Another huge plus is that no one got sick. We ate and drank everything. The water they give you at dinner, breakfast, lunch is "purified" comes to them in 5 gallon containers. The ice is even purified. We didn't have any issues at all. The food too - was high quality (very high). I know there are a lot of families out there w/ kids w/ allergies and I'm here to tell ya this place will take care of you. Every waiter seemed to know "ahhh you're the family ### in 19c" - yes we have something special for you little guy. They made sure he was not left out and the chef even came out and talked to us. Another plus - the beach. neighboring resorts have beach chairs in such close proximity. Not Mahekal - theirs are spread out and under traditional umbrellas so you can have some privacy and shade. We will be back!!! I feel like we have family in Mahekal.