Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great get away !

Posted Jan 25, 2015
No phone and tv in the rooms, so it's the perfect place to ESCAPE! Wifi was only available in the main reception area and slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom west bloomfield, mi

updated recently so still a few kinks to sort out

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Reserved a king, got two full size beds first night and then they changed us to king room. Beautiful property.. Close to downtown shops & nightlife (10 min or less nice walk) . Staff was great. Free breakfast they offered was fantastic. $60 cab ride from airport (30-40 min from cancun airport) they always have security walking around the property so you feel safe. Best coffee was across the street:) renovations to nearby room woke us up one morning.. Also some crazy loud birds so bring ear plugs if you are a light sleeper and like sleeping with windows open:) rent paddle boards for $25 per hour and jet ski ( costs more)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Poor value for the money!!

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: The breakfast was the only thing I liked at this hotel. The breakfast was VERY good. Fresh, good selection, plentiful.
Cons: The service level. Most employees were clueless. But I give 5 stars to Filiberto, Miguel Segura (dinner camarero), and Carlo Ceasar (bartender).
Although clean and located on the beach, I'd give this newly remodeled hotel 2 out of 5 stars. Why? Extremely small rooms. Very basic standard. No TV, no coffee machine, no door to the bath room area itself, (not even a shower door to the shower!). According to the hotel, this is a "modern style interior design attribute", but I'd like a room to feel "completed" and functional when paying over $400/night. The Wi-Fi did NOT work in any other areas than the lobby. And during the last 48 h of your stay it DID NOT work in the lobby either!!! To sum it up: synthetic uncomfortable pillows, 2 bars out of 3 closed around 5pm during our stay, clueless staff for the most part, no "private beach" as the website states. The breakfast is the only thing I'll give 5 stars. I have visited 45+ countries and stayed at countless hotels. This is not a luxury hotel by any means and I didn't expect it to be, but for the price range it is extremely disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Longview

Mahekal was Magical

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Very Relax Feel, we loved it all
Cons: softer pillow lol
Location: it was close to 5th street where there was lots of culture to see.
Our first time in Mexico. and we can’t wait to come back. the staff was class A,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Located on the beach of Playa del Carmen, the hotel grounds are picturesque, tranquil and relaxing. All of the staff were pleasant and accommodating. There is no TV or telephone in the rooms. WiFi is in the lobby (open air) only. For me, the lack of TV and phones contributed to the peacefulness of the setting. The location is about a 7 minute ride into the town center. If you're looking for a glitzy place, Mahekal may not be the place for you. If you want to get somewhat detached from the hub bub of everyday life, in a tranquil environment, I recommendHotel Mahekal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wisconsin

holiday trip

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: The staff was wonderful; truly outstanding customer service. Many families on vacation- great multi- generational experience.
Cons: The food was good, but could be better.
Location: The pedestrian street of 5th avenue Tulum Mayan ruins
A beautiful, comfortable week at a lovely place in a gorgeous setting; truly relaxing.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom tx

Room and building under construction

Posted Dec 28, 2014
We waited an hour beyond when the room was supposed to be ready. No explanation--just excuses. No curtains in the room until they got tired of us complaining at 8 pm. Hammering untill 11 pm until I finally asked them to stop. Walkway to our room constantly blocked by construction equipment and crews. Front desk was especially not helpful. Kept saying we would have to speak with management but management was never around. The wait staff was friendly enough and tried to please especially at dinner times but for most part reception were bad at problem solving and people skills were horrid. Good was only adequate as well. Would not recommend Definitely not worth paying full price like we did. The should have advertised that they had just opened and were still building rooms above us. Would have gone somewhere else with my limited time and money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, OH

Lots of character, wonderful beach, great location

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: The grounds were beautiful. The beach is amazing. The food was good, and the service was great. Location was very good.
Cons: I would have loved a couple more freebies like bicycles, kayaks, snorkel gear, etc.
Location: You can walk to 5th Avenue and shop for hours, or quickly find something good to eat. Many cenotes and snorkeling sites also a short taxi ride away.
This place was great! The grounds were beautifully kept. The whole place had a lot of character; the palapas you stay in are quaint (not fancy or ornate, but simply decorated and constructed). The food was delicious, and I loved having two meals a day provided. It made me feel like I wasn't constantly taking out my wallet to pay for the essentials, but still nudged you away from the restaurant for your third meal. The food service staff was so warm that we really missed them after we left. The beach was exactly what I was hoping for; the water is numerous shades of inviting blue and there was nothing in the sea to make you think twice about jumping in (I never stepped on anything icky or sharp, and never saw a jellyfish or anything else scary).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Benoitfrom Londres

proche plage

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Bel hotel, proche plage, RAS.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super hôtel, très bien situé !

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Le côté "Wild", tranquillité, reposant.
Cons: Plus de standing dans les chambres
Location: Plage, commerces, discothèque
Très bel hôtel, super bien situé, au bord de la mer et à proximité des commerces. La mer est fabuleuse. Les piscines, les services et le personnel sont top.