Ratings based on 405 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Parise

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Love it. Didn't want to leave. It's everything we hope for and more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Barron, WI

Another wonderful stay at Mahekal

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Setting, location, accommodations, staff, pretty much everything
Location: 10 minute walking distance to the heart of 5th Avenue. Great snorkeling near by. Can take a high speed ferry to Cozumel.
We visited Mahekal from March 29 – April 5, 2015. This was our 5th trip to Mahekal in 7 years. I should start out by saying that my wife and I have been to multiple destination in the Caribbean including Dominican Republic, Jamaica, St. Lucia, Antigua, and Mexico. In all of our travels there are only two resorts we've been to more than once; Sandals Antigua and Mahekal. With Mahekal we really feel like we found something special. First off, before we arrived I was concerned that the renovations changed the overall feel of the resort. I was pleased to find that they did not. In fact, I didn’t think it was possible, but they made it better. Mahekal still possesses the quaint, charming, small resort feel type characteristics it always had. Mahekal is the ultimate destination for R&R. The new bars and pools really take advantage of the layout with great views of the ocean. The food had always been pretty average in previous stays, but it was much improved this time. Try the Chilean Sea Bass –the best fish I have ever had anywhere. The staff is world class in every area. They are the best in the business. I would especially like to thank Manuel, Rogelio (Roger), and Vegas on the wait staff. Those guys go above and beyond, and they know who you are and what you like within 48 hours of your stay. Vicente and Jose and a couple of the other bartenders whose names I can’t recall are also true professionals (the Mojitos are the best anywhere). Also a special thanks to Boli
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom California

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Location: great location right on the beach and within easy walking distance to shops and restaurants
Had a relaxing stay with my kids, ages 10 and 14, and mother-in-law--well all loved Mahekal and would come back again. Appreciated being unplugged with no phones or TV; staff was friendly and food good--everyone found plenty to please at all meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ft. Collins, Co

Looking forward to going back!

Posted Apr 8, 2015
We completely fell in love with this place!!! Property is so close to everything, but feels very secluded and private. The excellent staff made our vacation comfortable and stress free. Above and beyond service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Little gem of a resort in prime location.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Great location, not too big but also plenty of space to move around. Very clean and so charming. Wonderful staff and so much to do in that area.
Cons: The room light was a bit wonky (it was connected to ceiling fan and came on randomly in middle of night). Other than that, no complaints!
Location: It's a very short and easy walk to 5th Ave where there are lots of shops and restaurants. They have bikes for you to rent for a small price too.
We loved our stay at Mahekal last week. The staff was so friendly and helpful, the grounds beautiful, and the food delicious. This is a great place for families…two pools, a ping pong and pool table, bikes to rent, ceramics, short walk to 5th Ave where there are lots of shops and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not over the top nice or accommodating, but fun!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
No tv or room phones. No gym....well a tiny room with a machine, but no Bueno. Food included which was nice. Charged for water!!!! -- hello?! Lame. I liked the location for centralness and would return for that purpose. Nice beach and beach service too. Beach cabana rooms are best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel, close to beach and village

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Pros: small, "unplugged"
We just came back from a great family vacation - can't say enough about the hotel staff or the beautiful surroundings. A great, great trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Laid Back

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Good breakfast, fair dinner, beach at water is not private,but great people watching. A good resort for a home base to explore surrounding areas.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Best on Playa del carmen

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The bungalows are nice and comfortable, and the staff
Cons: The food!
Location: If you like playa del Carmen it is very well located. You can go to Fifth avenue walking, and the hotel is right on the beach.
It is the best on the beach, but the others look awful!! It is a very crowded beach and there is nothing quiet about Playa del carmen. Lots of very loud parties in the hotel around, with very very loud music! The hotel itself is very nice, every single member of the staff is adorable. The breakfast is very good but, otherwise the food is really mediocre! Terrible chef!!! Strangely the satellite view on the hotel site must be old it does not the concentration of big hotels around, it shows the way it was years ago! with a lot of nature that disappeared!And a lot of constructions around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel...small beach

Posted Mar 26, 2015
We just returned from our family vacation to Mexico. We have been going to Playa Del Carmen for five years now. We found a fabulous hotel called petite lafitte hich has small bungalows on the beach as well as a small hotel. We love it there. This year we thought we would split up our vacation and try a new hotel after staying at petit lafitte for the first half. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We were only there for three nights. It is a beautiful set up and quite private. We were disappointed that we were not able to use the full facilities as the main part of the resort was booked for a wedding. We paid for the hotel in full prior to our stay. There was no mention or alternatives to make up for half the resort being closed. The area that was closed was the main pool and the main restaurant, in the future the hotel should offer something to make up for the half of the hotel being closed. Beach was crowded. Lots of beach chairs to pick from though. Food was average. There seemed to be many guests that returned year after year. All in all it's a nice place but we prefer petit lafitte.