Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy jungle-like hotel

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Beautiful wooden balconies, flowers, and fountains, and nice room interiors, very quiet
Location: Two blocks from main avenue with many stores and restaurants
The hotel was situated above a bakery, and hard to find. Parking was available right at the front gate. The room was cozy, with air conditioning, refrigerator, TV and sitting area. Nice closet and comfortable bed. Many cats were on the premises (and on the stairs,) the hotel has a beautiful court yard with lots of vegetation. Wifi signal was weak in the rooms, but there was a seating area outside the rooms. Overall, this hotel is a hidden gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Great boutique hotel, very attractive

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Location: Wonderful Mayan ruins on the beach, great main street with restaurants and shops, close to bus station
We spent a week in the area, mostly in Cancun and Isla Mujeres, but chose to spent our first night here in Tulum. After a long day spent on airplanes and buses, we arrived in Tulum and found this beautiful hotel a couple of blocks from the bus station. The ambiance was great: lots of plants and some animals - birds and cats. The rooms are attractive and comfortable and the hotel has an attached restaurant and bakery. We enjoyed our coffee and croissants for breakfast. There is also a rooftop area where it was nice to sit with a beer and view the town. We had an air conditioning problem in our room, but the manager (who was very friendly and helpful) immediately moved us to a new room which was fine. There were great restaurants nearby and it was a short taxi ride to the ruins or the beach. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nell from colorado

Traveling thru to Xcalak

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: The Mexican atmosphere
Cons: Hard to get suit cases upstairs
Location: We just spent the night traveling South. But close to town and price was good.
Loved the true Mexican atmosphere. Enjoyed waking up to the Mexico sounds and breakfast down stairs in the little restaurant .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in the center of Tulum

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Staff was great and very helpful. We stayed two nights, the first night the air conditioner was so noisy we barely got any sleep. Had to fix the air conditioner myself to minimize the noise. The second night found a baby lizard in our room, caught it and let it outside. Also the bathroom kind of had a weird smell, kind of like eggs. The room itself was clean and also the hotel has it's own bakery that has great breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unique charm in the heart of Tulum.

Posted Mar 8, 2014
Pros: The charm and bakery below.
Cons: The air conditioner in the room was very noisy and needed repair.
Charming small establishment. Couple blocks off the main street of Tulum. Imbedded further into town than what might be ideal - but the staff was very helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by George from BC, Canada

Small hotel in town on street with construction

Posted Mar 1, 2014
Pros: Wifi, managers information re restaurants, banks, where to get cerversa. Rooms are above a bakery/bistro style restaurant, convenient for breakfast.
Cons: Not particularly good value in our opinion - include breakfast and/or reduce rates?
Location: One block off highway in not so attractive commercial district; no tourist oriented activities nearby; travel required to beach or ruins
Nearby music noisy into the night, awkward spiral stairs to all rooms, dusty from road work on street, in a commercial neighbourhood, not close to the only reason for going to Tulum - the beach (the ruins are ok but there are lots better). We stayed one night and found accommodation on the beach. We booked and paid extra for the 'penthouse', dont think we got it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to downtown.

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Location
We were only there overnight but would have gladly stayed longer. The usual barking dogs at night were a nuisance but overall we had a good experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Frank Lowe from Stockport

Rooftop terrace is lovely garden space to be in.

Posted Jan 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Ideal location for town. Very interesting casa, and lots of cats which we like. We really enjoyed our three nights there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bustoski from calgary

Nice people, nice place.

Posted Jan 12, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: The bicycles
Location: Nice place, near to downtown, love the palms, the atmosphere.
If you want to stay at a beautiful place, with nice staff, excellent food, Maison Tulum is the place. Guillermo is his manager, what a guy, very gentle and kind person.
1 out of 5
by Dina from LA

Bad choice. I really do my homework when traveling

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: Breakfast was good .
Cons: There's HUGE room for improvement in every area
Location: 2 blocks from main street in Tulum Not close to beach Close to Tulum ruins LA BISTECA is a MUST for Argentinian food ADO clse by Try El Camello
I chose this hotel because I LOVE bread and they have their own bakery . Also because it's in town and we only needed a small hotel while doing our tours. It did rain very hard some days and our room got flooded . Remote did not work and A/C devise was very loud .When we told manager about the remote , he said he'll fix it the following day , Next day he said he did not know how to fix it and that if he could find the instructions he'll give the paper to my husband . When the room got flooded , he offered to switch us the following day because at the time he had no rooms available . He said he will switch us to the Penthouse as an apology for having a bad experience . Well , next day he said he was not able to do it because the room was booked already " some one paid a lot of money (?? ) for the room " Then he offered a free breakfast as an apology Customer Service advice : If you offer something to a very unsatisfied guest , DO IT , No excuses. This are guest that are already at your facility. Make them happy. Next day we went to have breakfast and we DID get a bill . No free breakfast . We were moved to a better room that was also leaking buy not as bad as the 1st one . Over all this was a very bad experience . Will never stay at this hotel or recommend this to anyone . Bread was not that great , Another disappointment.