Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boucherville, Qc

An ocean front paradise!

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Very kindly staff, great food and nice beach. Do not pay attention to the road on your way, especially if you are use to all inclusive hotels. Road can be inhabited with a lot of mexican people, workers peraps. But this same road tranforms into a nice place during evenings as you can see small restos, bars and terrasses. Lots of colours! At the hotel, it looks simple but as the time goes by, you will feel the calmness and tranquility of this facility. This is small, the beach is quiet, a paradise on earth. Enjoy having your lunch delivered to you at the beach or at your room. Prices are ok. Take a room with ocean view as you will be able to feel the ocean breeze during night and see the sunshine on the morning. I would go back for sure. Only negative point: room prices are a little bit overpriced...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great place for holidays

Posted Mar 28, 2015
This hotel is perfect for couples and families. It is very beautiful and relaxed, exactly what you need if you are looking for a peaceful place. You will wake up on the beach surrounded by plam trees and the sound of the sea and birds. it feels like Paradise!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NUNCA SE HOSPEDEN EN ESTE HOTEL.

Posted Mar 20, 2015
Pros: NADA
Cons: TODO
Es una burla total. El hotel no corresponde en nada con lo que aparece en las fotos. Los techos que son de palapa tenían huecos, no tienen ni una recepción decente, el mantenimiento del hotel es pésimo, la misma persona que cobra es la que lleva las maletas y la que enseña las habitaciones; no tienen ni una decoración mínima en todo el hotel. INCREIBLE QUE VENDAN ESTO COMO CUATRO ESTRELLAS!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan, USA

Close to the beach

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: I love the close proximity of the rooms to the beach and the peaceful environment.
Cons: Please recycle and provide garbage bins near the beach. ( this is in reference to all the hotels in the area). The restaurant needs to be updated.
Location: Perfect location for kiteboarding
The location of the hotel was very quiet and serene. All you can hear is the wind and the sound of the ocean waves at night. There's a large beach area for the entire guests to relax. The building and facilities were quite old but clean. If you have small children or for senior citizens ( having trouble climbing stairs), avoid the second floor. The steps are uneven in size. The staff were very nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Z.

Just Amazing!!!

Posted Mar 7, 2015
I had a fantastic time at Mestizo. The staff is very friendly and very nice. The beach is amazing!!! After visiting other hotels near by I can say that Mestizo is one of the best hotels in Tulum if you are looking to be close to nature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Minnesota

A beautiful setting

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: The quiet, beautiful beach that was well tended to. (a lot of neighboring beaches weren't). The staff is excellent.
Cons: Air conditioning in rooms.
Location: Almost to the south end of the hotel zone.
We were in room #21, above the "lobby". I use the quotation marks because it is an open air lobby that suits the vibe perfectly. Steps to the beach, ample parking, excellent continental breakfast, awesome staff, quiet, plenty of beach chairs, numerous hanging sun beds. Not 5 star, but a solid 3.5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, On

Beautiful and quiet beachfront spot

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Great staff, gorgeous beach. One of the longest and widest lots of beachfront in Tulum. Beautiful jungle and beach, great friendly staff, we rented bikes from the hotel and biked along the Carretera to the other hotels, restaurants and shops along the road. This is not one of the fancy trendy hotels of the strip, but we highly recommend it as it has a beautiful beach and it's extremely quiet, so you get to unwind and relax. So close to all the trendy hotels and restaurants so this was the perfect choice for us to relax but still be able to walk or bike over to the amazing restaurants and places in Tulum. Will definitely return and tell everyone to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Amazing Staff and Beautiful Beach!

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: The hotel's location was a bonus for us, because it was a little further from the center of town it felt like we had the beach to ourselves.
Cons: The wifi wasn't very strong in our room, though it did seem to work better at the beach.
Location: The hotel is at the end of the road, so I recommend renting bikes to get around. Definitely check out the Yoga class with Eva at Las Renitas for $15.
The hotel was great and located on a beautiful beach. It was the staff that really made our stay wonderful though. Their attention to detail and friendly attitude really made us feel welcome. The accommodations were pretty simple, but they had some really nice touches that were charming. The shrimp tacos and margaritas at the hotel restaurant were amazing! I definitely recommend renting bikes to get around as it is about a 20 minute walk to the center of town where most of the restaurants are. I also recommend pulling out a bunch of pesos before getting to Tulum because the cash machines rarely work and majority of the restaurants only take cash. If you are looking for a beautiful place to relax and unplug from the world, this hotel is for you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Annapolis, MD

Loved everything about this place!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
Paradise. I never imagined such a quaint, clean, wonderful boutique hotel right on the beach. Staff is fantastic. We would move in there if we could!