Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Keep looking...

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Staff was great, Food was average at best, beach was not usable due to algae and seaweed, room flooded from rainstorm, building 1 flooded on floor 1 and 2 from a ruptured pipe, power to the building was turned off during repair (No A/C), pool bar was in disrepair.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB. Canada

Not Worth Your Money, VERY DISAPPOINTING

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: nothing. we won't go back. If you ask for canned drinks, they don't have any or are warm and not cold. They water down their drinks too much.
Cons: The service. Everyone expects tips. The beach is the worst we have ever seen. Seaweed everywhere. a truck drives by every 5 minutes polluting the air
Location: nothing. A cab ride to play is 45US one way from there. The beach is muddy water all the time. You will hardly see anyone in it.
This was our first trip with our 1 and a half year old toddler. We got there around 7pm, we had a long day with a connecting flight. We wanted to check in quick and go eat. we were all over tired and hungry. As soon as we got there there was only 1 available staff to check us in. They where slow to check us in. We had to sit and listen to a marketing pitch about the spa and timeshare presentation they wanted to lock us into doing the very next morning at 8:30am. We just wanted to relax and go eat. After we said no a few times we had to carry our own luggage around the hotel because the bellboy was too busy and we did not want to wait there any longer. There where no elevators in the 3 story hotel which made out baggage heavy to carry up especially with a toddler to handle made it very hard. Our room was just okay, no top safety latch on the door. Our toddler kept opening the door,which we had to put an old ragiddy unsafe crib that we got against the door so he could not leave and fall down the stairs! There was no air conditioning in the lobby, lobby bar or any of the restaurants. The service was slow everywhere. Everyone expects a tip. They have a guy standing at by the entrance of the buffet restaurant every morning bugging you if you have experience the spa or trying to get you to go to the timeshare breakfast marketing scheme. They do not serve water unless you ask, and it tastes horrible. If you ask for bottled water it is warm and it is not always available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plano, Texas

Now Sapphire is a Gem!

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The food, and activities for all ages.
Cons: faster room service, and stop watering down the catsup.
Location: Everything is within a 30 minute drive. The ruins, sinkhole, zip lines, atv's snorkeling, and scuba.
This place makes you feel like a VIP. Forget about what you think all-inclusive hotels are about. This place has the most activities, best food, and beautiful location. The water off the hotel is not the best, but there are places close by to snorkel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Corey, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us through Expedia. We are so happy to read you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We'll share your feedback with the entire staff. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Cordially yours, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Beds were very comfortable, pool excellent.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: Rooms, service, Preferred Lounge, open air lobby area, entertainment staff at pool, room service was very prompt, dining and towel system (no cards!)
Cons: maintenance around pool, pager system reaching to Preferred Lounge (need a repeater in the Lounge to extend signal),lobby furniture needs replacement
Location: Didn't leave the resort but the Crocodile Zoo is at the end of road where you turn in.
The good-Rooms were spacious and beds were very comfortable. Pool is close to the beach and the pool is large. Service was excellent everywhere. Reservations are not needed for the specialty restaurants; they use a pager system so you go put your name in and can go to the lobby area or Preferred Lounge (if you purchased that class of service) to wait for your table. The resort wasn't completely booked so we didn't wait longer than 30 minutes. This was nice because you could go to dinner when you wanted. There was different bands in the lobby every night. The lobby is open air which was great in the evening to enjoy the ocean breeze. The food was average to above average for all-inclusives. Their tortilla soup in the Mexican restaurant and the lobster bisque in the French were very good. Try the shrimp appetizer in the Mexican ..delicious! The entertainment staff by the pool was awesome. Great Zumba and water aerobics instructors! Wait staff walked around taking drink orders. Went sailing every day. The bad-The pool area needs some maintenance. The in pool bar needs some repair and the in pool loungers need to be resurfaced. The ocean had a ton of seaweed and the water was not clear. There was a tractor cleaning the seaweed every morning and maybe it was just the time we were there. Other than that the beach was a nice beach. The buffet was on the smaller side and the salad bar was not as big as other all-inclusives.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Sherry, On behalf of the entire staff of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun and myself, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our Resort, among all others within this destination, to enjoy your recent holidays in Cancun. We are so happy to learn that you enjoyed our resort; the food as well as the service provided by the staff. Our entertainment will be so glad to know that you enjoyed all the activities. We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We wish to have the privilege to welcome you again in the near future. Best regards Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Pool, bar stuff and restaurant stuff.
Cons: Reservations for restaurants.
Location: Did not go outside the resort.
This is a nice resort. We had a good experience. However, there were two things that we were displeased with. one, the beach is terrible. There is so much sea weeds all over the place because of a reef off the beach. Looks disgusting. Good sand though. Two, the restaurants do not allow reservations. I still can't comprehend the logic behind this. Its a hustle to have dinner. They have this stupid policy where you go to a restaurant and they write down your name and then you wait until someone gets up. There were times where we waited for over an hour to get a table. At the so called french restaurant, one night i was called by the hostess that she didn't have a table but if i agreed to buy a bottle of wine, she could get me a table. That was pretty disappointing. Anyhow, overall i thing the restaurant staff was pretty nice. Rooms are cleaned twice a day which is a big plus.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, On behalf of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun, we want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Expedia about your recent stay at our resort. Our goal is to make our guests, repeat guests. We really appreciate your concise review and we will share it with the entire staff to improve our service in all possible ways. We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We wish to have the privilege to welcome you back soon. With kind regards, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Jersey

Nice resort...

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The staff is the best part of this hotel, all were very friendly and accommodating. The common, open areas are really pretty, and the pool was great!
Cons: A few maintenance items like the missing tile at the pool bar, the upholstery on the dining chairs, especially in the buffet dining area.
Location: We booked a snorkeling trip that was a 10 minute drive from the hotel, that was really fun. The on-site travel agent, Luis, was awesome!!!
We visited this hotel in late July/early August, it was very hot and only a few areas were air-conditioned (sort-of). Our room was the only really cool spot in the whole resort, the restaurants/shops tried to have AC but were pretty stuffy... While we weren't expecting 'adults-only', we were overwhelmed by the number of children, newborns up to teenagers and large family groups. There were a few items that needed attention, like the upholstery on the dining chairs was dirty and worn, the pool bar had a large section of tile missing on the front edge but overall we had a really nice time and enjoyed ourselves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you for choosing to spend your recent vacation at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun. We very much appreciate your time for sharing your feedback with us through Expedia about your stay at our resort. We value your comments and will share them with the staff to improve our service in all possible ways. We always work with the whole purpose to make you feel comfortable. Sorry to hear you were not well informed that our resort is for families and couples. We hope to welcome you back soon. Cordially yours, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Not what I expected

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Our room was hot and everytime we called to see about getting it fixed, they would just send someone up to check and try to change the temp, but the temp never moved! We were sweating all night every night! The food was blah! I felt like I was bothering the bartenders unless I tipped $5 or more for 1 drink! I would tip $1 per drink mostly, but if one was attentive and didn't seemed bothered, I gave $5 and it was appreciated. I know they all work hard all day and some people don't tip at all bc it's all inclusive and I guess that messes it all up for the rest of us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Ahsley, Thank you very much for sharing your review on Expedia about your recent stay at our resort. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvencie you have experienced. We will share your feedback with the operations staff to improve our service in all possible ways. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and restore your confidence in our service. Cordially yours, Oilvia Rodriguez Social Media Coordinator
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NOVE SCOTIA

CANADA DAY !!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Jul 14, 2014
WE ARRIVED AT THE NOW SAPPHIRE ON CANADA DAY, WE HAD OUR T-SHIRTS ON FOR THE CELEBRATION, UNFORTUNATELY THERE WASN'T ONE. THAT WAS OK UNTIL JULY 4 TH CAME AROUND AND THERE WHERE BANNERS FLYING AND LITTLE FLAGS FOR OUR DRINKS, MUSIC PLAYING, AND A STATUE OF LIBERTY PUT UP. WE ALSO THINK THERE WAS A SPECIAL DINNER BUT I GUESS AS CANADIANS WE WERE NOT INVITED SO I AM NOT SURE WHAT THAT WAS ABOUT.. VERY DISAPPOINTED CANADIAN.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Expedia. The 4th of July dinner was for all our guests. You did not require a special invitation. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience. Your very valuable feedback will be shared with the involved departments. We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and restore your confidence in our service. Sincerely yours, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exton, PA

Beautiful beach, but water full of algae...

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Loved mostly everything about the resort, but the water....pictures featured are deceiving, the water is on the green side, not blue..due to heavy presence of algae...choose to stay in Cancun hotel zone if this is really important for you.. Otherwise, great time: delicious food, presentation and service; friendly staff (for the most part), beautiful oceanview rooms w/Jacuzzi on balconies, beautiful and lively centeal pool w/swim-up bar; great music and dancing in disco nightclub. I only attended one of the shows - Rock Circus and Comedy Show - and it was really fun!!! Didn't make it to the other ones.... Dinner at Chibu (Mediterranean) is top-notch; didn't try Paramount (French) as it's adults only, nor Lemongrass (Asian)...Blue Grill is fantastic for outdoors (right besides the ocean) dining. The entertainment team is not the best I've come to love and expect at a 4 stars resort...they need major improvements in this area...but, the one activity I did enjoy and took part in every day was water aerobics :) Resort overall is beautiful; lush vegetation, beautiful grounds, open architecture with expansive lobby...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Oana, Thank you for sharing your feedback on Expedia. We are happy to read you had a great stay at our resort. Our Executive chef will be so glad to read your comments about the food. Thank you for your good comments about the rooms, pools, shows and service provided by the staff. They will be so happy to read your fabulous comments about their work. Thank you on behalf of them. We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We wish to have the privilege to welcome you again in the near future Cordially yours, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland, ohio

Big hotel, beautiful lobby, awesome entertainment

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Everything was excelent, good food, good drinks, great entertainment team, but we were disapointed about the ocean. We expected to see that beautiful Blue turqoise water of the carribean we used to see every year but here it was a pretty dirty color and a lot of plants coming from the ocean. And another not too great thing was that AC was not working very good in the restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Olivia, Hotel Management
Dear Carmy, Thank you for choosing us to spend your vacation at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun. We are pleased to read you had a great stay at our resort. We appreciate your time to share your valuable feedback through Expedia. We will share your comments with the entire staff, especially with our Entertainment team. We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We really hope to welcome you again in the near future. Warmest regards, Olivia Rodríguez Social Media Coordinator Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun