Ratings based on 651 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice hotel alot to do

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Great hotel friendly service . Food not so good. Pools clean and good temp. Loved the live music and shops available
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice Hotel, if you like walking.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The room was clean, the scenery was nice.
Cons: Could stock the mini fridge with more than 2 beers, the shuttles could run a little faster, the map needs to be redesigned. The pools close too early,
Hotel is nice, and it is spread out. The buildings are far apart and sit in a tropical sitting, with lots of plants and trees. If you don't mind a lot of walking this is a nice place. They turn different animals loose during the week I don't know if they claim these animals are wild but I saw them bringing in the Macaws early one morning, I saw monkeys, 2 days out the 6 I was there, I'm pretty sure they are kept in a cage the other 4 days. The map they give you of the layout is the hardest map I have ever tried to decipher, it is pretty much useless it seems to be orientated in the wrong direction, look at the map and the building should be on the right and it's on the left. The usable beach area is very small, more than 100 people and it is overcrowded, depending on which building you're in it could be a 15 minute walk to get to the beach, 30 if you try to follow the map. They have a shuttle that they say runs every 5-10 minutes, and in actuality it's more like 25-35 minutes. They have concierge sitting out front each building from 8-5 and they are so nice, they try to rope you into taking a no obligation 90 minute tour of the benefits of joining the vacation club, if you tell them no thanks, no more nice, no smiles, will not even look at you when you come or go. There are a lot of places to eat, but they are hardly ever open, I ate at the buffet, didn't try the restaurants as they have dress codes and require reservations, I'm on vacay, don't need the hassle!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Nice ADA access for anyone with a difficult time getting around, it was so nice to see so many elderly people on wheelchairs treated so well.
Cons: food was a bit unedible and facilities were old. Fine place if you are looking for adequate facilities, but terrible place if you are expecting more.
Many things are not included in the all inclusive and the food is terrible. Make sure you book your reservations at the special restaurants maybe even befor eyou check in otherwise you will be stuck at the buffet the whole timn eyou are there. Xcaret is not included in the all inclusive at all. but it is conveniently accessible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los Angeles, Ca

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Very clean, all the animals around and the staff
Cons: Will be be fantastic and amazing with NOT SMOKING inside the hotel, the people smoke all around the facilities
Location: Xcaret park, Tulum, Playa deleted Carmen town
The resort itself is really nice, well landscaped and maintained with a nice balance of tropical areas and typical resort construction. The man-made lagoon is particularly enjoyable, a little bet small and crammed with sunbeds - the snorkeling here was great. The staff were all courteous, friendly and very helpful, very customer-service oriented at all professional. There were only a few negatives,the buffet was good but same food every day and the smoking people.... Please is an awesome place but people SMOK in every place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose. CA

Nice hotel, beautiful surrounding.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
The hotel has beautiful grounds and amazing pools. It looks more like an Eco resort than just a regular hotel, great if you love being surrounded by nature and It's creatures. Concierge service at my building was not the greatest, but fortunately I really had no need for them.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014
I would not recommend this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Won't be back !!!!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Xcraret proximity ... That's it.
Cons: Service, Staff Knowledge and awareness, staff count ... they need to hire more staff ..
We have visited Mexico more that 10 time and have stayed at most of the popular hotels ranging in rating of 4.5 to 6 star. The Occidental was rated 4 n.. we would rate it a 2.5.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Excellent service

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The service at this hotel was great. Everyone greeted us daily, and asked if we needed assistance. The concierge was very helpful and accommodating. We did numerous excursions xcaret park, tulum, coba, paradise beach and the hotel provided us with the best prices & assisted with creating an itinerary suitable to our needs. The manager was excellent.We had an incident where we had lost something of value & they immediately assisted us. My husband wasn't feeling well the last evening & they kindly extended our checkout time @ no cost. The " activities staff " were great & full of energy. Carla was excellent. We highly recommend making reservations atthe restaurant especially el pescador. Request Oberlin as your waiter. He was very kind and funny. Overall stay was excellent. The only con's were that we found the lounge chairs to be uncomfortable. The beach is a cove,/bay so not real beach feel. Prepare to do a lot of walking depending on where you are located. We didn't mind it though & there are shuttles if needed. Lastly, once you arrive by your room beware of the sweet woman or man on staff that will greet you, make reservations for you and try their best to sell you a timeshare or listen to a 90 min. sales pitch while you are catered to in the VIP area. Luckily my husband has experience in sales & was able to end that conversation and save us time! Great place for families and/ or couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Too much noise

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Food, restaurants, connection with nature, pools, cleanliness, kind and friendly staff.
Cons: Better doors and insulating strips to reduce noise.
Location: Close to beach with a beautiful view to the caribbean sea. Xcaret park right next door, as well as Xplor.
Too much noise could be heard from outside and adjacent rooms: slamming of doors, voices from neighbors through connecting doors, utility carts from staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very tiresome..

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Just ok.. Grounds are kept nice.. Not enough transportation to the beach...